Skip to main content

Jason Peter Wapiennik

International law Attorney at Livonia, MI

5.0   38 reviews

also known as Jason P. Wapiennik

  • State Years
    Illinois - IL 8 years
    Michigan - MI 14 years
  • Licensed for 8 years
    State IL
    Acquired 2016
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 14 years
    State MI
    Acquired 2009
    Status
    Active in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Jason

Learn Jason’s areas of practice.

2
Practice areas
  1. International law
    95%
    Customs & Trade (Administrative & Litigation), U.S. Customs & Border Protection

    15 years, 700 cases

  2. Estate planning
    5%

    14 years

I am the customs lawyer/attorney who founded Great Lakes Customs Law in 2009. The customs law firm helps importers, businesses, and brokers comply with the laws enforced by U.S. Customs & Border Protection (sometimes called CBP or Customs). If the CBP took money from you, contact us today!

 

Customs Money Seizures

We fight to get seized currency returned for people who have experienced a customs seizure. Having your money taken by CBP is potentially a very serious crime and could result in the permanent loss of your money. So if customs took money when traveling with more than $10,000, schedule a free currency seizure consultation with a customs attorney. 

 

Defense against Customs Penalties & Customs Seizures

Our customs lawyer also has a range of other practice areas, including defense against customs penalties and assets seized by customs, and prior disclosures. We defend against Customs penalties for commercial violations under 19 USC 1592.

 

 

Location

Great Lakes Customs Law
Jason P. Wapiennik, PLC
32437 Five Mile Road
Livonia, MI, 48154
Great Lakes Customs Law
333 S. Wabash Ave.
Suite 2700
Chicago, IL, 60604
Great Lakes Customs Law
560 N. Milford Road
Suite 260
Milford, MI, 48381
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  38 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Veronica | September 12, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Service
Great service, always received prompt attention . My questions were answered in detail and very quickly. I highly recommend their services 100%.
Posted by Ling Yu | June 28, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Service
Great service, always get prompt update of each progress, and detailed explanation when you have any questions or concerns. Really appreciated Jason's help!
Posted by Alaa | May 25, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Doctor
Very professional ,up to the point, respect your time was very nice dealing with him
Posted by anonymous | May 1, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Service: Case resolved successfully
After leaving a message with Jason's office, he contacted me promptly and listened very carefully to the details of my case, and from the very beginning of our interaction it was obvious to me that he is a true expert in his domain, as he was familiar with many similar situations and knew exactly what could or would happen and where my case could go wrong. He requested a reasonable fee for his services, and (to my relief) made it contingent upon a successful resolution of my case. Overall I am very happy that Jason worked on my case, and would recommend him to anyone who might require his services.
Read less
Posted by Florian | November 7, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top Service from Jason and greatlakescustomslaw
First i need to say im from germany and its not so easy for me to find a good attorney in USA, but then we found Jason and i can also admit that he have a Great service + i always received a prompt attention from Jason. Im really happy with greatlakescustomslaw! Best regards Florian S.
Posted by anonymous | August 26, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend Jason
I always received prompt attention. I am very happy with my experience working with Jason. He is very nice person and helped me understand and guide me through the whole process.
Posted by Johnny | April 17, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great attorney
He is an honest and a great attorney. He has lots of knowledge to solve an issue.
Posted by Eugeni | October 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Wapiennik
Great service and always received prompt attention ! Fill out a petition to the CBP, resolve the case to a happy ending. Thank you !
Posted by Elias | May 19, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best
Jason resolved my issue with the best service. He eased my worries and was very informative through the entire process.
Posted by Mohammad | December 13, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great service
He knows what he do and give his clients full attention and follow up with them in a good way. The best thing was taking care of all details.
Posted by anonymous | July 8, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended
Jason was easy to deal with, professional, responsive to phone queries/emails and thankfully my issue was positively resolved.
Posted by Alberto | January 22, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
the best . excelent service . i recomend him 100 percent
i read good reviews about jason and they turn out to be very accurate . he is the best and did exactly what he offer , always answear quick and resolve ass he offer .
Posted by Tan | November 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding attorney!!
Mr. Jason Wapiennik was a pleasure to work with. He responded quickly to my never-ending questions, and he worked very hard on my case. We received our money back from Customs as Mr. Wapiennik had predicted during our first consultation. Having Customs confiscating your money is a traumatic experience. However, Mr. Wapiennik has the ability to calm the situation due to his experience in Customs Laws. I highly, highly recommend this attorney!!! His attorney fee is reasonable.
Read less
Posted by Guia | June 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, honest, efficient, understanding
Title says it all! Jason took on my case and from start to finish, handled it professionally, kindly, and very efficiently. The entire process was painless, his rate extremely reasonable, and the outcome was exactly as he predicted. I truly appreciated the fact that he took the time to inform me of all status updates regarding the case, regardless of the time or day (I've never worked with a lawyer who replied even on weekends!) Thank you so much Jason!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 18, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great service and appreciate the help from Houston customer
Was coming to the States for international residential work assignment and accidentally encounter difficulty with Customs. Later noted about Jason from the website and contact for consultant. He presented good understanding and knowledge in the matter I am facing so I made a service agreement with him to have him handle my issue. I am glad making that decision and now the task was completed meeting expectation. Along the work progress, he had done great services in communication, update the progress, education to ensure I know what is my rights and what decision I can make (without pressure even some decision may end up causing him more work without additional fee) and help make life much easier on support documents to use in my case. All for all, it has been my pleasure in receiving legal service from Jason. All I would have changed if I could have gone back would be my reach-out to Jason earlier instead of running in circle for almost 2 months with no result.
Read less
Posted by William | December 22, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Service
Jason was honest from the very beginning and explained the whole process clearly and professionally. He was always prompt in answering call or emails. We are happy with the results and glad we used his service. He offers a great service. Thank you!
Posted by anh | December 2, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jason was always on my side
I was so anxious and nervous when I get seizured but thanks to Jason, he put me at ease. Told me every step we could/will take, let me review everything he was going to send to the CBC, answered all my questions thoroughly and responded very quickly. He was professional and guided me through everything. I would recommend him to anyone that has to go through it.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 30, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great attorney
Jason is great! He helped us get our money back! We appreciated his help. He is very professional and knowledgeable. He is always there when you have questions.
Posted by Wagdy | November 29, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
NewArk Case
Jason was very professional in dealing with my case, I have received prompt attention at every step of my case, I got his contact from the internet and was worried at the beginning but he contacted me by phone explaining every step and possibilities and finally my case ended successfully, Thanks Jason
Posted by anonymous | January 31, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Always Prompt
Jason was very knowledgeable in the specifics of the case. Always replied to my concerns within a day or two. Would hire him again easily.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 20 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 375-500 per hour
  • Contingency 10%-33%
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 6.8 (Good)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Great Lakes Customs Law
  • 2009 - Present
  • Edmund Maciorwoski, PC
  • 2007 - 2009

Education

  • Ave Maria School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2008
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2005

Sample of Legal Cases

  • United States v. Ramos
  • Settled
  • 2015-3901-000043-01
  • $19,000 returned

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Polish

Honors and Awards

  • Kosciuszko Foundation Scholarship
  • Koscuiszko Foundation
  • 2006

Publications

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (7)
Endorse Jason
International law Attorney | Dec 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I strongly endorse Mr. Wapiennik. It has been my pleasure to have Mr. Wapiennik as my go-to resource for customs and international trade law. Mr. Wapiennik's knowledge of this niche and complex area of law is thorough and up-to-date."
Personal injury
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Livonia International law Lawyer Jason Peter Wapiennik
Jason Peter Wapiennik
International law Attorney
Livonia, MI
Licensed for 14 years
Free Consultation