Skip to main content

Laurence Harry Margolis

Criminal defense Attorney at Ann Arbor, MI

5.0   23 reviews

Call and speak with several attorneys to find best fit for your specific legal issue.
Can't find what you are looking for?
Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US.
Find the best ones near you.
Find Nearby Lawyers

About Laurence

Learn Laurence’s areas of practice.

Licensed for 26 years
State MI
Status Active And In Good Standing
Acquired 2006
Updated 12/26/2022
State GA
Status Resigned Membership
Acquired 1996
Updated 11/03/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Laurence

Margolis Law Firm
214 S Main St Ste 202
Ann Arbor, MI, 48104-2122
Law Office of Laurence H. Margolis PC
214 S Main St Ste 202
Ann Arbor, MI, 48104-2122
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  23 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Rodger | December 27, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI
I was very happy with the plea that Larry got.the prosecutor to agree to. I highly recommend him for defense of DUI.
Posted by Stacy | March 3, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Auto accident/faulty airbags and belts
After 4 months at St Joes and 4 in rehab God's Grace brought me home. Larry helped my family and then me through a very difficult case where he took on a car company and a dealership to help win my case. He was gracious with my son, my mom and me but so willing to put in hard work on the case. He still offers me help as I struggle through therapies. A first class man and top notch attorney. You will not be disappointed with Larry. Thank you Mr Margolis for your continued support!!!
Read less
Posted by Dave | May 22, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney, even a better person!
I found myself in a sticky stituation when I voluntarily appeared for and I found myself getting a little twisted around in deposition. I hired Larry to assist me with some changes to my dep. which pretty much brought my worries to a conclusion. The person I was supporting in the case prevailed, and all ended well. I found Larry personal and straight forward. I felt comfortabel knowing had things gone bad for me, he would have been there for me. He has a great since of humor, and can take it as well as he can dish it out. Do yourself a favor, if you need an attorney contact Larry Margolis.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Immigration Client
I applied On-Line to replace my PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (I-90) on Jul 09, 2018. A week later I received an appointment to have my BIOMETRICS taken. I was given a one year dated decal that validated my PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (I-90) for one year. After six months, I decided to seek consul from Lawrence Margolis, Esq. to explain to me why it was taking longer than normal. He relieved my stress by reassuring me that due to the high number of cases handled at this time, it might take longer and that I had nothing to worry about. But after ten months went by, I asked for further assistance. He referred me to a fellow Immigration Lawyer who explained further how to obtain information from the USCIS site. Fortunately my renewed PERMANENT RESIDENT CARD (I-90) arrived before the eleven month ended. I am thankful that he was able to help me through the stressful period. His Office staff, especially, Brooke Habay, were very attentive and courteous to my communications.
Read less
Posted by MG | February 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Optimal Outcome
Found myself in a tricky spot with the aggressive, "we-have-nothing-better-to-do" University of Michigan Police who threatened me with a felony charge over a minor incident. Larry helped me construct my best possible defense, prevented the felony charge from ever being filed, and on top of that worked out a deal with the prosecutor to eliminate the misdemeanor conviction from my public record upon completing probation. On a personal level, he made me feel calm and like the situation was under control, even when I was panicking about it. Very quick to answer my questions. His conduct in the courtroom was incredible -- he maintains a strong, friendly rapport with the prosecutors that no doubt played into my favorable outcome, but while speaking in front of the judge he is a consummate professional. As a bonus, the man is an extremely sharp dresser. His fee was worth every penny with my future on the line. If you ever find yourself having a conversation with the cops in Washtenaw County that you don't want to be having, call Larry.
Read less
Posted by Ivan | January 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dr. Ivan
My wife and I were very pleased with Mr.Margolis's expertise, attentiveness, and promptness in addressing our personal injury issue. He accompanied us through the details of making a claim and he succeeded in our being compensated for our medical expenses and personal distress.
Posted by Michael | March 30, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Clutch save
I am from New York and had a run-in with the Michigan State troopers which resulted in a serious charge. Larry was able to get the charges reduced significantly I was in court for an hour paid my fines and on my way home before lunchtime.
Posted by Margaret | January 26, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Miracle Worker
Mr. Margolis was able to pull off nothing short of a miracle in a difficult case with a young man facing up to 10 years in prison and possible deportation. He was able to get this young man released after 1 year and the threat of being deported was gone. We will be forever grateful to him. He also treated us respectfully, answered EVERY crazy email I sent and called me with updates. He is awesome.
Read less
Posted by Karla | January 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Really admire his dedication
Dear , Larry I want to thank you for all the hard work you put in to my nephew Kevins case. My family and I cannot than you enough. Your dedication to your work as an attorney amazes me, you have shown as a lot of love, compassion & during the time my nephew was behind bars, while you was busting your butt in this case, you made sure we all remain calmed. The fist time we met you in person, I knew we all knew we made a great decision on hiring you, & seen you giving my mother & sistera hug to confort them & reassure them that you was NOT gonna give up until he was out, was the best thing I've witness. Thank you so much Mr.Margolis I really admire your dedication ❤ -Karla
Read less
Posted by Giovanni and Family | October 3, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent
Mrs. Margolis is a excellent and professional Attorney. He is very responsible and works excellent with criminal and immigration cases. They are very helpful and supports you all the way thru. I can recommend Mrs.Margolis to anyone. We truly Thank God for someone like him.
Posted by Marie | September 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great
Larry took on a tough case that involved my son . Larry did and extraordinary job. We are extremely grateful . And we would highly recommend Larry .
Posted by Eder | April 1, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thanks to laurence i have a apportunity to be legal in the US
What laurence did for me? I had a charge with fleeing from an officer, reckless driving, and driving with out a state license. I pled no content to all my charges,i got arrested for immigration for having a felony on my record, so i had to hired an immigration attorney, then he recommend that i need the felony removed from my record, So he recommend me to hire laurence harry margolis, since i hired him he got on my case no question ask, he got my pled drop, and open my case again,he tried to drop the felony down to something minor,but they would take no deals, so we took it to trial, And with all his hard work,he proved that i was innocent and got my felony drop. So theres no dought that laurence is one or the best attorney theres out there. So if anyone is in need of an attorney, dont think about it twice and hire him cause thanks to him, im with my family,and have chances to get my life together. Im super thankful laurence you did an amazing job.
Read less
Posted by Eder | April 1, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thanks to laurence i have a apportunity to be legal in the US
What laurence did for me? I had a charge with fleeing from an officer, reckless driving,and driving with out a state license. I pled no content to all my charges,i got arrested for immigration for having a felony on my record, so i had to hired an immigration attorney, then he recommend that i need it, the felony removed from my record, So he recommend me to hire laurence harry margolis, seens i hired him he got on my case no question ask, he got my pled drop, and open my case again,he tried to drop the felony down to something minor,but they would take no deals,so we took it to trial, And with all his hard work,he prove that i was innocent and got my felony drop. So theres no dought that laurence is one or the best attorney theres out there. So if anyone is in need of an attorney, dont think about it twice and hire him cause thanks to him, im with my family,and have chances to get my life together. Im super thankful laurence you did an amazing job.
Read less
Posted by Dave | March 29, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, knowledgeable, friendly, and straight forward.
Mr. Margolis was extremely helpful both before and after my case went to the courts. Not only did he lay out all of the options I had at my disposal but he also gave me his recommendation on what he think would be best and what he thought my best, and worst possible outcomes would be. He was able to help me get a lenient judgement by the courts and stayed in contact with me throughout my probation to make sure that things were still going smoothly. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of a good attorney and needs help. I can honestly say that if i did not hire him that my outcome from my case would have been far different.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 20, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
After months of court dates that seemed to always go back to square one with other attorneys Larry was recommended. Larry got my situation resolved faster and more easily than I could have thought possible. I would recommend (and have recommended) Larry to anyone who needs a good attorney who handles himself with tact and knowledge. Thank you again, Larry!
Read less
Posted by Richard W. Miller | October 15, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great attorney - personal, smart, aggressive - and he does it all with ease and a smile!
I met Mr. Margolis in the Fall 2010, literally almost 5 years to the date of this writing. He was referred to me by a professional colleague. At the time of this referral, my life was in shambles due to stress and anxiety over a legal matter which over the course of several months was able to be resolved only because I had such a dedicated and tireless advocate representing me In Larry Margolis. Simply put, he did not let the other attorney representing my adversary in our negotiation get the upper hand - he helped me to stand steadfast and get an appropriate resolution to this matter, which ultimately has allowed me to get on with my life in a very productive manner. If you are looking for a consummate professional who is able to do laps around just about any other attorney without that attorney knowing what is taking place - look to no further than Larry Margolis.
Read less
Posted by Yeva | October 9, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Experience!
Larry agreed to accept my hopeless case, after I was denied by a several attorneys in town. He took my matters very personal, and despite the odds-won my case with ease and confidence. An excellent attorney and an amazing person. Thank you!
Posted by anonymous | October 5, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fantastic Lawyer
Mr. Margolis has done a great job representing and defending our family member during deportation proceedings. Our prior auttorney has mishandled the case due to lack of knowledge of immigration vs criminal law. Larry was able to get the charges greatly reduced based on improper legal counsel grounds. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone seeking legal help for immigration. Thank you!
Read less
Posted by Anita | October 1, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
One in a million!
Larry Margolis took our case when others would not. Larry knew going in that our case would be an uphill battle, however, with his expertise and persistence, WE WON! Larry is very personable, genuinely caring, and so easy to work with. We were lucky to have found him and blessed today to call him our "friend".
Posted by Pete | October 1, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome Lawyer
Larry is a spectacular lawyer! He is thorough, professional, up front, and very knowledgeable. I recommend Larry to all my family and friends!!! He has helped me with simple things as well as complex matters. I cant say enough good things about how Larry handles his practice and his clients! Pete
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 7.3 (Very Good)

Education

  • Emory University School of Law
  • Juris Doctor (J.D.),
  • 1995
  • Miami University
  • Bachelor's Degree,
  • 1990

Associations

  • Washtenaw County Bar Association
  • N/A
  • State Bar of Michigan
  • N/A
  • Criminal Defense Attorneys of Michigan
  • N/A

Publications

  • Institute of Continuing Education (Michigan)
  • Post Conviction Relief and Expungement, Collateral Consequences of a Criminal Conviction
  • 2012
  • Res Ipsa Loquitor (WCBA)
  • Criminal Immigration: Is His Plea Going to Make My Guy Deportable? A Short Admonition to the Defense Bar
  • 2007

Attorney endorsements

Received (0)
Given (2)
Endorse Laurence
Endorsements from fellow lawyers are an important consideration for many when selecting the right attorney.
Divorce and separation

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Ann Arbor Criminal defense Lawyer Laurence Harry Margolis
Laurence Harry Margolis
Criminal defense Attorney
Ann Arbor, MI
Licensed for 26 years