Skip to main content

Matthew Van Steenkiste

Family Attorney at Troy, MI

5.0   11 reviews
  • Licensed for 16 years
    State MI
    Acquired 2007
    Status
    Active in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Matthew

Learn Matthew’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    35%

    17 years, 350 cases

  2. Family
    35%

    17 years, 110 cases

  3. Debt collection
    15%
    Representing Debtors in Collection Matters.

    17 years, 410 cases

  4. Wills and living wills
    15%

    6 years

In his very first year as an attorney, Matt made over two hundred in-court appearances throughout the State of Michigan where he began to form what would become an extensive network and friendship with the Attorneys, Prosecutors and Judges which inhabit the counties of Oakland, Macomb, Wayne, Washtenaw, and Lapeer, those counties in which Garmo &Kiste regularly work.

 

Dedicated to his work, Matt prides himself in the level of service which he provides his clients regardless of the level of difficulty of their case. Always in contact with his client, Matt represents every client with the mindset that he would do the same job for them that he would do for his own family.

 

A graduate of Wayne State University, one of the greatest advantages of hiring Matt is the connections he brings to the process. Admitted to practice in the State and Federal jurisdictions of Michigan, typically Matt will have had a similar case to yours;and will know the prosecutor or City attorney assigned to your case. Likewise, if you case concerns a credit card or an unpaid debt, there is a good chance Matt may have worked for the debt collector, or may know the attorney your creditor has hired.

 

 

A certified public mediator and a member of the Macomb, Oakland and American Bar associations Matt has been before every Judge in Oakland, Macomb, Wayne, and Lapeer Counties.

 

These relationships and past experiences all help Matt to understand and anticipate a Judge’s reactions to your case, to know how your prosecutor will want to proceed, and to negotiate with your adversaries’ attorney, and to obtain the best deal for his clients in efforts of removing as much uncertainty from the legal process as possible.

 

 

Unlike many attorneys, Matt offers the personalized attention to each of his clients that they demand, and promises to represent each of his clients as if they were his family.

 

Every day Matt looks forward to doing everything he can to earn your business and make you a client for life. Matt’s primary source of clients is from his own current and past clients and he looks forward to assisting your friends and family as well.

 

 

Matt’s Direct Phone Number is, ext. 1.

 

He can also be reached via email at 

Photos and videos

Location

Matthew Van Steenkiste
50 W. Big Beaver Road
Suite 240
Troy, MI, 48084

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  11 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Craig | May 13, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
When I first spoke with Matt he was very helpful and showed genuine interest and care after I explained my situation we hung up and I called back 10 minutes later and hired him when he accepted my case he and his staff worked on my case very diligently calling me with updates keeping me in the loop the one thing that sets Matt apart from other lawyers is he never let me worry and that was huge for me then as expected he won my case with a dismissal I will always use Matt for any legal matters that come up in my life thank you Matt.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 19, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Emperor of Equitable, Foreman of Fair, Sovereign of Serenity
I can’t articulate the scope of ugliness my divorce wrought on my life in 4000 characters, so I won’t try. The volume and degree of betrayals, lies, and slander were enough to make Jesus beam back to heaven instead of redeeming mankind. Matt proved himself not only a shrewd litigator, but a stabling force in an otherwise disorienting ordeal. I began my case blindsided, branded and buried. I ended my case with the fair and reasonable outcome I sought, and my self respect well intact. Matt is genuinely sympathetic, but he isn’t concerned with the emotion of the case. When you are in the fight, every indignation seems consequential, but Matt has a real skill at identifying and isolating the core elements of the case. The court clearly appreciates this. In an environment full of emotional embellishment and accusation, factual minimalism is rare and refreshing. As hard as it was to stand pat in court while a seemingly endless arsenal of absurdities we’re fired at me from across the aisle with little or no return fire, Matt kept me focused on outcomes. We were dragged to court more times than I can count, over matters too small to mention. We never lost. Taking the high road both in the courtroom and outside it is insanely difficult and exceedingly rare in contentious divorces. The degree of difficulty is precisely why it is appreciated and rewarded by the court. I can’t imagine where I’d be now if I had chosen a different attorney. Worth noting, I spent half of what she did on her attorney. If you want an attorney that’s going to play in the mud, look elsewhere. If you want an attorney that’s going to help you navigate the irrational and get you what you deserve with a clear conscience, you owe it to yourself to sit down with Matt.
Read less
Posted by Shelly | February 21, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
I hired Matt as my divorce attorney. He made this whole scary, and intense process, a lot less messy. Matt is a very honest lawyer, and made me feel more at ease about the situation I was in. He was kind and understanding, and did a great job at keeping me informed about every step. I highly recommend Matt, if you want an attorney who is honest, and fair, and gets a great job done!
Read less
Posted by Betty | June 4, 2015
Best lawyers in Michigan.
In 2014, I filed for divorce from my husband of 20 yrs. I was scared and unsure about everything. I had 2 teenage boys that I was very concerned about and no idea of where to begin. Matthew settled my nerves and my fears and gave me the strength and courage to start a "new life" on my own. He is very professional, respectful and supportive. He has a talent of understanding people; he is very knowledgeable about his professions. Not only he fights hard for me, he also personally cares about my well being. Matthew stays in contact and doesn't over bill and use time unnecessarily. With his effort, my divorce process went very smoothly, I truly appreciate all his efforts and supports. He must be one of the best lawyers in Michigan. He will be the first lawyer I call if and when I am in need.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 24, 2013
Great Lawyer
I cannot say enough great things about this group, particularly Matt. I was in a position where I had no idea what to do or what to expect, and from day one, Matt made sure that everything was laid out on the table. He told it like it was; no sugar-coating or unrealistic expections, which was something that I really appreciated. There was never a moment where I felt like I was unsure or needed to question his approach to my case. This ordeal ended up being so much better than I could have ever expected because Matt represented me. I have complete confidence in his expertise and will not hesitate to recommend him to anyone who needs legal assistance
Read less
Posted by Anthony | February 22, 2013
STANDARD OF EXCELLENCE
If you want a Lawyer who is Trustworthy, Responsive, Knowledgeable and will Keep you Informed to what options are available to you. Mr. Matthew Van Steenkiste is the lawyer for you and yes he will have your overall best interest in mind and will fight for you. He will go above and beyond his call or duty. (He offers Hope) I am so thankful to have had him as my lawyer.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 28, 2012
Very happy with his service
He was compassionate and yet realistic. He would take the time to listen to you and help you as much as possible within reason. I feel that he was very level-headed, attentive and knowledgeable on my legal matters and explained the steps in layman's term which eased my mind so I could focus on living my life.
Posted by Robert | June 13, 2012
Debt Resolution
Mr. Van Steenkiste is an excellent advocate and ally. He is compansionate and presents realistic solutions and pitfalls in resolving your lawsuit. I highly recommend Mr Van Steenkiste having used him as a prior client.
Posted by Keith | June 6, 2012
Matthew Van Steenkiste Representation
Matt Van Steenkiste represented me on two occasions. The first case was a mortgage settlement where Matt successfully negotiated a minimal settlement that I was extremely happy with. The second case was a divorce case which Matt helped me to successfully negotiate an extremely fare settlement in very turbulent situation. I would describe Matt as knowledgeable, professional, calming, and aggressive. Matt gave me a peace of mind that I was being represented by someone who cared about my situation.
Read less
Posted by John | June 5, 2012
Use this firm if your being sued by creditors
I was being sued by 2 different creditors @ the same time. Thats when I knew I needed a professional to help me with my situation. I needed an attorney that specializes in credit card defense. Then I found Matt's firm online. The process was as simple as hiring his firm and getting the results I was looking for. I would highly recommend his firm to everyone who is being ued by creditors. Thanks again Matt John H. Lansing, Mi
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 5, 2012
My experience with Matthew Van Steenkiste
First of all I would like to point out the main reason I chose Matthew Van Steenkiste to represent me was because of the dignified and honest way I felt I was treated over the phone when inquiring about his services before hiring him. Matthew did the job he promised. He was very accessible through out my case and remains that way even now that my case is over. He has been very professionaI in every aspect. And most importantly I do not feel like just another case when dealing with Mr. Van Steenkiste. But rather an important client treated with all the dignity and respect you would expect every professional in his field to treat their potential clients with. But which I found is not always the experience you will receive. I will continue to use Matthew as my attorney for all my legal needs.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Garmo & Kiste PLC
  • 2008 - Present
  • Associate Attorney / Clerk
  • The Law Offices of John DeMarco
  • 2004 - 2007

Education

  • Wayne State University Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2007
  • Grand Valley State University
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 2004

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Oakland County Ex Parte PPO.
  • PPO dismissed at hearing.
  • Loitering while the Presence of Drugs
  • Dimissal

Associations

  • National Association of Consumer Advocates
  • 2014 - Present
  • Macomb County Bar Association
  • 2007 - Present
  • Oakland County Bar Association
  • 2007 - Present
  • Michigan Bar Association
  • 2007 - Present
  • Federal Bar Association
  • 2007 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2022
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2021
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2020
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2017
  • Top 40 Lawyers Under 40
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2016
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Nation's Top One Precent
  • National Association of Distinguished Counsel
  • 2015
  • Michigan's 10 Best
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2015
  • Top 40 Under 40
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2014
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2014
  • Full Service Law Firm of the Year
  • Corporate INTL
  • 2013
  • Certification of Mediation
  • Wayne State University Law School
  • 2007
  • Thomas M. Sykora
  • Grand Valley State University
  • N/A
  • Romeo Firefigthers
  • Romeo Firefigther's Scholarship
  • N/A
  • starkweather award
  • starkweather gallery
  • N/A
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Romeo Career Days
  • The Legal Profession
  • N/A

Attorney endorsements

Received (7)
Given (9)
Endorse Matthew
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Matthew Van Steenkiste is a fierce advocate for his clients. He is well respected across the legal community inside and outside Metro-Detroit. I have seen him fight for his clients' interests and deliver solid results. As a fellow defense attorney, I not only endorse Matthew for his criminal law practice, but his skilled handling of family law matters, PPO issues, as well as other areas of law where he has experience. I would recommend him without reservation."
General practice Attorney | Oct 27
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. Matthew is a knowledgeable, compassionate attorney. This makes him an asset to his clients and an exemplary advocate in the legal field."
Debt collection Attorney | May 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Matthew is an outstanding attorney with an impeccable reputation in the legal community. Through the years of knowing Matthew as a professional, and as a friend, I have always found him to be extremely knowledgeable and trustworthy. I have recommended many clients to Matthew and will continue to do so knowing that they are in excellent hands. Matthew has proven himself as an exemplary attorney."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Co-worker
"I work with Matt every day and know him to be a very hard working and dedicated advocate. Matt has a great personality and as a result I know that much of his business comes from client referrals."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Attorney Matthew Van Steenkiste. I find him very trustworthy and an excellent lawyer. I have no hesitation in referring cases to this attorney because I know very well that they are in good hands. He works very diligently in cases I refer to him."
Family Attorney | Jun 08
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I got to know Matt through a difficult divorce case in which we opposed each other.Though Matt vigorously advocated for his client, he was able to be fair minded in reaching a settlement. Though Matt was my adversary, I found him to be cordial, respectful, and professional. As divorce attorneys, I have always felt that we have a duty to be part of the solution and not part of the problem. I believe this can be done without unnecessary drama, and while still protecting the rights of the client. I believe Matt also shares this philosophy. This makes him a pleasure to deal with, even in the most difficult situations. I would recommend Matt to any client who wants a reasonable and rational attorney, who will still fight for them."
Debt settlement Attorney | Jun 05
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse Matt Van Steenkiste. I have known him for over seven years and also work with him. He has a great work ethic and very passionate about his work."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Chapter 7 bankruptcy
Chapter 13 bankruptcy
General practice
Immigration
Litigation