I was arrested in 207 in palm beach Florida an I wish to talk about the charge. I pleaded guilty so I need to talk to some one
Please don't put personal information on AVVO! ALSO You would need to post about this in Florida. Michigan lawyers likely only practice in Michigan and wont know about Florida lawSee question
He is a good student and has good grades and is on the swim team. This is his 1st offence. What do I do now?
Best thing to do is to hire an attorney! AVVO Is a great place to find a 10.0 rated attorney.See question
I have 1.5 months left and my next appointment is in one month, will I need to go back after 15 days? Does it automatically get discharged? I am with the 48th district court.
Usually probationary matters are discharged automatically at the end of probation. Of course with 48th district court (pending on your judge) everything is more difficult. Two of the judges there will likely schedule a hearing once your probation was complete. You will be discharged at the hearing.See question
i have outstanding court fees ($1300) from a DUI but will be moving to the UK in a month as i have been granted a visa to live with my fiancee. will this affect me leaving the country or returning to the USA
It may possibly cause hindrance on you returning to the USA. When charges aren't paid on an OWI, the court will usually issue a bench warrant. This could be seen by border patrol agents when they run your passport. Will they actually bother to detain you when you come back? Possibly not, however why risk it when they could? It is possible that they allow you enter the US, detain you and transfer you to the local police.See question
at the Pretrail the plea agreement was a year supervised probation haft to go back to to court in one month to sign the plea deal. what does that mean. Have the prosector already tallked to the judge about this or will. That be when i find out ...
I don't really know enough about your case to be able to answer your question. Usually for misdemeanor cases (which most OWIs are) there isn't really a deal with regards to sentencing. Your lawyer may have told you what he believed would happen but ultimately it is up to the judge and isn't known until sentencing date. Usually your plea agreement for misdemeanor cases only consists of what the charges will be in exchange for a plea. You could be talking about a PSI report from a probationary agent. This report is given after you enter into a plea. This is a mere recommendation to the judge as to what he believes your punishment should be.
If it is a felony OWI, then there could be something called a Cobbs agreement which allows a Judge to make an agreement with a Defendant concerning the sentence the Court will impose if the Defendant pleads guilty or no contest. This is done at the time of the plea. After this you usually go and see your probation officer for a PSI report. At sentencing, if a judge refuses to honor the Cobbs agreement, you may withdraw your plea. While I suppose a cobbs agreement could be entered into in misdemeanor cases, in my experience it is rare.
As to whether or not you will lose your license, I'd need to know what exactly you plead guilty to and how many priors you had within what time period. This should have been a discussion you had with your lawyer prior to pleading guilty to anything.See question
On saturday night i left the bar at 1:30 am to drive to a nearby hotel. While checking my gps a blew out my tire on a curb in a mall parking lot i immediately called onstar to have my tire changed. They said they would be a couple hours so i put m...
While not impossible, there would need to be special circumstances for a OWI to be reduced to a careless driving. Usually the plea reduction to this type of offense is Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI). That doesn't mean you have to automatically take that plea. While OWI's are always difficult cases, there are several defenses.
You need an OWI attorney ASAP.See question
By Michigan laws
In Michigan, you can expunge (also known as setting aside) your criminal conviction after 5 years from the date you are finished with probation, sentencing, or incarceration whichever is later.
You may expunge a felony if you have no more than two misdemeanors. You may expunge up to two misdemeanors if you have nothing else on your record.
Additionally, you may not expunge certain offenses including any traffic related offenses (including OWI/OWVI, driving on suspended, etc). It is important to note that driving on suspended is considered a misdemeanor for purposes of expungement. Also it is important to note that offenses that were dismissed under 769.4a, HYTA or other statutes ARE considered convictions for purposes of determining eligibility for expungement.
Note that this is the law as of beginning of 2015. The old law before that was much different.See question
Felony intent - preparations arson i took a plea na aa anger mangerment. 15 days work force and community service for cost and fines i did everything but community service when the max time is 10 years go to court and lose 15 when im on 3 year pro...
Much depends on your specific judge and your guidelines. Guidelines are derived based on past criminal conviction and other factors.
What is clear is that you need a criminal defense attorney at once!See question
there is a strong case for non culpability and police misconduct
You absolutely need an attorney! Have you ever heard the saying a defendant who represents himself defendant has a fool for a client.See question
im not sure what to put here
Sentencing varies and depends very much on his plea, his specific judge and other factors not mentioned here.
The best thing you can do for him is to get the best attorney you can afford. AVVO is a great place to look.See question