My child support was based off my w2. I am thinking that is wrong since overtime is not guaranteed. My support is 1000 a month. I pay for my child's car note of 400. Car insurance of 200. Cell phone of 70. 100% of College expenses. Any medical bil...
Your payments depend upon a number of things; did you agree to these terms, how long ago if so, has your income changed, have the needs of the children changed, has the mother's income changed. Go visit with a Family Law Attorney that practices in the County where your divorce was granted and be prepared to answer these questions. You may be entitled to a modification. It is unusual to pay full support while also paying all of college.See question
My ex’s boyfriend hits my daughter. My daughter sent me a letter complaining about it. She said she tries to tell me thru the phone, but can’t because her mom is always listening to our conversation. I confronted them on the phone, but my ex answe...
It may well be abuse contacting DHS and local law enforcement is correct if you believe abuse is occurring. In MS, however, spanking is not a crime unless it arises to the level of abuse. You say "hitting" which is not legally defined. Err on the side of caution for your child but more details would be needed to answer beyond this and the other responses.See question
I filed a motion to modify child custody in Oklahoma. My ex is trying to modify child support in Mississippi and also trying to change jurisdiction to that state. I’m in Oklahoma attempting to object changing of child support in Mississip...
The answer depends on which state has jurisdiction. That is determined by where the original custody order was entered. Jurisdiction can be moved under certain circumstances. If the case started in your state start by contacting a family law attorney there. They should be able to tell you if your case should be there or MS. You need to speak with a lawyer and they will need copies of the filings from both states.See question
Is there anything I can do with out getting a lawer
DHS in Hinds County has a visitation assistance program. Contact DHS for Hinds County and ask about this program. It will require paternity and child support being established.See question
Will be moving from one city to another within Mississippi but different counties. I will be filing for child support and a legal custody agreement after the move.
Mississippi has a 6-month residency requirement. If you and the other parent can agree to an Order it can be in the current county, if not, it may have to be filed in the prior County where you resided for at least 6 months. Talk to an attorney about where you reside, where he resides and how long you each have been there. It could be the same Judge and may not matter...See question
I am unmarried and 4 months pregnant. The father of the baby is in critical health conditions and has been given 2 weeks to live. Is there a way to establish paternity before the baby comes? Can he sign an acknowledgement of paternity before the b...
Yes, well at least you can have a DNA test done. Contact
Capital DNA Testing, LLC
It's likely not possible to establish paternity prior to the birth of the child, but the DNA can be collected and even tested prior to the birth.See question
Hi. I am the Complainant. My husband didn't answer the divorce. We a have 1-year-old. During our 1.5 yr separation (lived 1400 miles away from each other), my husband got angry in heat of argument & hired attorney to send me a C&D letter 1.5 yrs ...
You have to go to Court to prove abandonment. It must be corroborated, meaning the witnesses are necessary. Try phone, email, and text to get in touch with your attorney. If you are having difficulty you may contact another local attorney in Oxford or the MS Bar for assistance.See question
I am about to enter a custody battle with my ex, we were not married and he wants shared custody when our son is born. I don't agree, it doesn't seem right to me to shuffle a small child around. Is it possible that he could get shared over joint?
Shared custody is not likely with a newborn if one parent opposes it. See an experienced family law attorney in your area. Your ex, or you, would also have to determine paternity prior to him having rights.See question
My daughter says my husband(soon to be EX) gave her liquor and said to her I would love to have just 30 minutes of oral sex with you, then paid her $20 to keep it to herslf. Totally distraught right now, need to know what to do. Please respond!
Call the Police and DHS. Protect your child. Talk to your divorce lawyer about it as well.See question
My sons "biological father" hasn't seen him since he was younger than a year, my son is now about to be 4. I moved to another state last year with my son and boyfriend who has been there since my son was a year. Biological father and his new girlf...
No. You will not be charged with kidnapping. Get a lawyer file a paternity/custody action. Discuss the issues you raised in your question with the lawyer. Then follow that lawyer's advice.See question