Skip to main content

Mark Steven McDaniel

Criminal defense Attorney at Memphis, TN

4.9   93 reviews

also known as The McDaniel Law Firm

Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 41 years
    State TN
    Acquired 1983
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Mark

Learn Mark’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%
    DUI I Theft | Assault & battery | Sexual assault | Possession of child pornography | Rape | Murder | Sex crimes | Drug charges | Violent crime | If you have been charged with a crime, you need to call Attorney McDaniel for a free consultation.

  2. Personal injury
    20%
    Car accidents | Slip & fall accidents | Motorcycle accidents | Brain injuries | Trucking injuries | Wrongful death | Railroad accidents | If you are hurt due to someone else's negligence, call now.

  3. Federal crime
    15%
    Federal Drug Charges/ Weapon Charges/ Mail Fraud/ Child Pornography/ The McDaniel Law Firm has over 35 years experience defending Federal charges. Call today to discuss your case. Free Consultation available!

  4. Speeding and traffic ticket
    15%
    Attorney Mark McDaniel has over 25 years of experience as a city court prosecutor so he understands exactly what is needed to successfully defend traffic offenses. Call today to have him review your case.

OVER 35 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE - CALL 901-527-6518 FOR A FREE CONSULTATION.

Navigating the criminal justice system is a formidable task. If you are facing criminal charges, there is no substitute for experience, advocacy and knowledge. Armed with over 36 years as a criminal defense attorney combined with over 20 years of service as a prosecutor, I am well prepared to guide you through the entire legal process and to work diligently for the best possible outcome.

Photos and videos

Mark McDaniel, Sr.  - Attorney
Kim McDaniel  - Legal Assistant
Mark McDaniel, Jr. -   Attorney
View more

Location

The McDaniel Law Firm

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  93 customer reviews
Posted by anonymous | July 27, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding
I hired Mark McDaniel Jr. and could not be happier that I did. He was genuine and professional from the very start. I've never had to hire an attorney before but just from speaking with him during the free consultation, I knew I could trust him with my case, and I wasn't wrong. He is/was ethical and never over-promised anything. My case was dismissed, I paid zero court fees, and this case will be expunged from my record, all thanks to this fantastic attorney. I feel like I can breathe again. I promise you this -- the McDaniel Family is a family you want in your corner. Thank you so much again, Mark Jr. I hope I never to need your counsel again, but if I do, you'll be the one I call! :)
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel September 29, 2021
We appreciate your taking the time to give us this glowing review. We wish you all the very best!
Posted by Tierra | June 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Nothing But Pure Awesomeness!
My experience with the McDaniel firm was nothing short of amazing! From day one, they made me feel welcomed like I was family. They never once made me feel like I just “hired” them! Both Jr & Sr Attorney worked hard for me & got to business from day 1! The bonus and extra special part of this firm besides Jr & Sr is the wife/mom! She handles all of the office work and helps with the behind the scene and she is simply an Angel from God. I had never seen a family work so pleasantly and professionally together! If I ever needed an attorney again, with no hesitation it would be the McDaniels’. I am so pleased with the service I received and would recommend this law firm to anyone in the world! Thank you so much for your services, hospitality, and actually treating me like more than just a client! I am more than thankful for you all!!!!!!!!!!
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel July 2, 2020
You are a truly beautiful person - inside and out! We are truly blessed to have met you and LOVE that we were able to get this outcome on your case. We wish you and your family great things and hope you will keep in touch. Blessings and stay safe!
Posted by anonymous | March 19, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Elite Practice
Extremely satisfied. Outstanding law firm with the dedication needed to successfully resolve any traffic case. Hired them with the expectation of a dismissal in court and that was the precise result. Would exclusively retain this practice moving forward.
Posted by anonymous | October 20, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Incredible
Mr. McDaniel is an incredible attorney! He was very upfront and clear about what to expect. I love how he was very to the point - he cleared away all of my questions in a timely, precise fashion, without wasting any time or dragging it out. He was very prompt in all of his responses to me. When he called me and told me that the entire case was dismissed without going on our record and without even having to take a defensive driving course or anything else, I was stunned! This guy is good! He is deadly in court! He will get whatever you need done for you! He left me totally impressed by his speed, clarity, straightforwardness, confidence, and ways of getting my bad looking case turned into a good one!
Read less
Posted by Keith | September 28, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Perfect Outcome
I called Mr. McDaniel a day after I got a speeding ticket. I was very nervous seeing that this was my first ticket and, being a CDL holder. He told me what the reality could be seeing that I was a class A driver but, I remained hopeful. I got a call today telling me that my ticket had been dismissed. I hope to never need him again but, if I do find myself in this situation I won’t hesitate to call. Thanks Mr. McDaniel you helped protect my lifeline. 5 STARS
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 13, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Traffic Ticket
Mr. McDaniel was very thoughtful and understanding in resolving my son’s traffic ticket. My son just turned 18 and he was concerned the ticket would adversely affect his driving record. Through Mr. McDaniel’s expertise, this did not happen.
Posted by anonymous | August 22, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Honest and hard-working Attorney
Mr. Mark McDaniel Jr. was brutally honest about my situation from day one and worked hard to give me the best outcome and consultation. Not only was Mark hard working throughout the process, but he put me at ease as this was my first offense and I was very concerned about my future. Thank you so much Mark! I would definitely recommend the McDaniel Law Firm for your legal needs.
Read less
Posted by Eric | August 18, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome Attorney!!
I missed my court date for a traffic ticket. Mr. Mark McDaniel jr, went over and beyond to settle my case. He was was very truthful and honest from start to finish. I was very impressed with his communication,I didn’t have to call or email him for updates , Mr.Daniel made me feel very comfortable during this short process. If anyone needs a honest lawyer that will go to battle for you call Mr.McDaniel jr, you won’t be disappointed. Mr.McDaniel jr, says what he mean and mean what he says..Great Attorney!!
Read less
Posted by Joey | July 30, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awsesome!
Made me feel comfortable on the first call. Handled everything that was stated. Would highly recommend them for any legal needs.
Posted by Arelis | June 9, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Service
Needed an emergency representation for a ticket while overseas and they made it easy and provided great service!
Response from Mark McDaniel September 29, 2021
We are most happy that we could assist you in this matter. Best wishes!
Posted by Anna | August 5, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you so much!
I reach out to his office at 9:15, on the day of court! Court was at 9, due to the pandemic we were scared to death to go to court for a traffic ticket, proof of insurance and expired tags! This court date had been postponed monthly since March, this time it wasn’t. Immediately the law office gather all the information from us, open a file and by 1 pm they had everything under control, case dismissed, just pay court costs. Thank you so much, top notch service! We highly recommend this law firm.
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel August 7, 2020
We are very happy that we could help and could keep you from coming to courthouse during this time. We wish you all the very best! Stay safe!
Posted by anonymous | June 15, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent and thoughtful/considerate legal representation!
I give Mark McDaniel Sr. high praise indeed for how he handled my case. We discussed the likely options in our very first meeting and the final results were as expected or better. Whenever a new and unfortunate twist came up he responded immediately, and in way that minimized its adverse impact. In addition, his office staff was supportive and understanding at all times. I am sincerely grateful to him and his team for their counsel and guidance.
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel June 16, 2020
Thank you so much for this very nice review. We are very happy that we could get this case worked out favorably. We wish you truly great things going forward. Blessings from all of the McDaniel family!
Posted by Melissa | June 3, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience
I can't say enough good about this law firm. I reached out from out of state (Texas) and Mark McDaniel Jr. was on top of helping me. He answers text quickly and truly is a man of his word. I would recommend him to anyone that wants a fast, honest, and prompt attorney. Thank you so much for helping us.
Response from Mark McDaniel June 4, 2020
We truly appreciate your review of our services. Thank you for taking the time to do this. We truly strive to serve and are always pleased to hear positive feedback. We truly wish you all the very best.
Posted by Jerry | March 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Terrific service
My daughter got a speeding ticket. A lawyer friend recommended Mark McDaniel. I spoke to Kim and expressed to her my concern about our insurance going up and also points that may be added to my daughter's driving record. Kim reassured me that this was something they could handle. I sent a picture of the ticket. They took care of the rest. I did not have to appear in court. They kept me up to date through out the whole process. My daughter's ticket was dismissed with no court costs. Best money I've ever spent.
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel March 9, 2020
Thank you, Jerry, for this wonderful review. We are thrilled that we could get these charges dismissed for your daughter. Best wishes to you both!
Posted by anonymous | February 26, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Superior/Trustworthy Law Firm
I got myself a simple assault charge which was about to turn ugly. Because, I had never been in any trouble before, I was scared out my mind. So, I called around for great lawyers in Memphis and decided to go with the McDaniel Law Firm. The minute I spoke with Mark Jr., I immediately felt at ease. He was easy to talk to and he listened to me with compassion. He gave me the outcome that I was looking for with the case getting dismissed and expunged! I just want to say thanks to the entire team and I would recommend you guys to any of my family/friends.
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel March 9, 2020
We truly appreciate your taking the time to review our services and are all very pleased to have your charges completely dismissed and expunged. If you are ever in the neighborhood, please drop by to say hello. God bless!
Posted by anonymous | December 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mcdaniel law feels like family.
Attorney McDaniel, along with his wife and son, guided me through a threatening legal battle. They answered every call, question and decision for me. The legal system is overwhelming. They helped me make it
Response from Mark McDaniel March 9, 2020
We are very pleased that we could help you navigate the legal system and that everything worked out well for you. We wish you all the best!
Posted by anonymous | November 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
THE BEST!
The McDaniel Law Firm is THE BEST! Mr. McDaniel represented me approximately 25 years ago. Not long ago, I found myself in an unfortunate situation. I contacted The McDaniel Law Firm and was represented honestly and professionally. Mr. McDaniel Sr., Mrs. McDaniel and Mr. McDaniel Jr. are truly THE BEST!
Response from Mark McDaniel March 9, 2020
Thank you so much for this review of our services. It is truly a pleasure to assist good folks like yourself. We wish you great blessings ahead!
Posted by anonymous | September 26, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
Mr Mcdaniel and his son helped me with my traffic case. They were very thorough, easy to communicate with and supportive. The case was dismissed. Ms McDaniel was also extremely supportive and communicated with me constantly providing much needed reassurance and keeping me informed. I would very highly recommend them. M from Memphis
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel September 27, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so very happy that this case worked out so well. God bless you!
Posted by Jeremy | September 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent representation and outcome!
I hired the McDaniel law firm after seeing positive reviews on line for their excellent service and dedication to securing the best possible outcome for their clients. I'm happy to report they not only met my expectations but exceeded them. Based on their representation my ticket was not only dismissed but all court fees were waived as well. Truly an excellent outcome! Thank you McDaniel Law firm!
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel September 9, 2019
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We truly love to serve and are thrilled when there is the best possible outcome - complete dismissal of all charges. It was a pleasure working with you. We are here if you ever need any legal advise or service of any kind in the future.
Posted by Shelia | August 15, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dedicated
I was looking for an attorney to represent my son, I contacted McDaniel law firm after an exhaustive internet search. I spoke with Kim regarding my son's case. She was so kind, patient and very understanding and honest. She connected me with Mark Jr., needless to say I was very impressed with Mark Jr. He represented my son and kept me informed in every detail regarding my son's case. Mark Jr., kept me informed during the the court proceedings for my son. I enjoyed working with him.
Read less
Response from Mark McDaniel August 16, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our legal services. We meet some wonderful people through our practice and you are most certainly one of those people. We truly wish you both wonderful days ahead. God bless you!
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Judge
  • Town of Rossville
  • 2019 - Present
  • Judge
  • Town of Oakland
  • 2019 - Present
  • Judge
  • City of Piperton
  • 2019 - Present
  • Chief City Prosecutor
  • Town of Collierville
  • 1992 - Present
  • Sole Practitioner
  • Mark S. McDaniel
  • 1983 - Present
  • City Prosecutor
  • City Of Rossville Municipal Court
  • 2015 - 2018
  • City Prosecutor
  • City of Piperton
  • 2013 - 2018
  • City Prosecutor
  • Town of Oakland
  • 2013 - 2018
  • City Prosecutor and Legal Advisor
  • City of Germantown
  • 2013 - 2019
View all work experience

Education

  • University of Memphis - Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1983
  • Middle Tennessee State University
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1980

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Murdaugh v. Young
  • Successfully contested a will based upon undue influence.
  • State vs McKim
  • Overturned by the Tennessee Supreme Court

Associations

  • Tennessee Municipal Judges Conference
  • Member
  • 2019 - Present
  • Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers
  • 2005 - Present
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Tennessee
  • Licensed Attorney
  • 1983 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Super Lawyer
  • Mid-South Super Lawyers
  • 2020
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2020
  • Super Lawyer
  • Mid-South Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Super Lawyer
  • Mid-South Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • Super Lawyer
  • Mid-South Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • 10 Best Law Firms Personal Injury
  • American Institute of Personal Injury Attorneys
  • 2017
  • Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2017
  • Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2016
  • Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2015
  • Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2014
  • Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2012
  • The 2006 Bar Register of Preeminent lawyers
  • The Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers
  • 2006
  • The 2005 Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers
  • The Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers
  • 2005
  • Who's Who in American Law
  • Who's Who In American Law
  • N/A
  • Mid-South Super Lawyer
  • Mid-South Super Lawyers
  • N/A
  • America's Leading Lawyers
  • America's Leading Lawyers
  • N/A
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Tennessee CLE Seminar
  • Proving Damages in a Wrongful Death Case
  • N/A
  • Continuing Legal Education Seminar
  • "How to Get Your Brother-in-Law Out of Jail"
  • N/A
  • Continuing Legal Education Seminar
  • General Sessions Practice
  • N/A

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (3)
Endorse Mark
Criminal defense Attorney | May 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have professionally known Mark McDaniel for over 34 years. He is very knowledgeable in the area of criminal defense. He is a highly ethical lawyer whom aggressively defends his clients. I have worked with Mark in the criminal defense realm. He has the respect of the prosecutors and Judges and obtains the best results for his clients. If a young lawyer was starting in the practice of law, they would be well served emulating Mark."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"It has been almost 30 years since I first sent a client who needed a criminal law attorney to Mark. I heard back from that client about what a great job Mark did for him. Since that time I have given his name to anyone who has asked for the name of the best criminal defense lawyer in the Memphis area. I have never heard anything but highest praise for Mark's work on their behalf. He is the one I would send a family member to if (heaven forbid) they ever needed a criminal law attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 22
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Very knowledgeable and professional."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I enthusiastically endorse this lawyer for his knowledge of the law, his strength of character and his zealous representation of each of his clients."
General practice Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I wholeheartedly endorse Mr. McDaniel. He is one of the finest attorneys I have had the privilege of knowing in this community. His work ethic is unparalleled and is rivaled only by his grasp of the law."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mark McDaniel exhibits and possesses all of the characteristics of an outstanding lawyer and more importantly of an outstanding person. Mark can talk the talk and walk the walk in every aspect of his life. A more devoted lawyer, husband and father one will not find."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"As a young lawyer starting out in criminal defense Mr. McDaniel has been a wealth of knowledge and experience that has aided my practice greatly. I would highly recommend him in any legal matter."
Personal injury Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mark. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Memphis Criminal defense Lawyer Mark Steven McDaniel
Mark Steven McDaniel
Criminal defense Attorney
Memphis, TN
Licensed for 41 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available