Skip to main content

James Richie Owen

DUI and DWI Attorney at Knoxville, TN

5.0   88 reviews

also known as James R. Owen


Licensed for 25 years

Free consultation

About James

Learn James’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. DUI and DWI
    40%

    25 years, 5,000 cases

  2. Criminal defense
    25%
    Experienced and aggressive criminal defense lawyer.

    25 years, 5,000 cases

  3. Violent crime
    10%

    25 years, 1,000 cases

  4. Domestic violence
    5%

    25 years, 1,000 cases

  5. Expungement
    5%

    25 years, 1,000 cases

  6. Juvenile law
    5%

    25 years, 1,000 cases

  7. Speeding and traffic ticket
    5%

    25 years, 5,000 cases

  8. White collar crime
    5%

    25 years, 1,000 cases

James R. Owen has successfully defended more than 3000 DUI cases in East Tennessee and Knox County.

Photos and videos

Licensed for 25 years
State TN
Status Active
Acquired 1997
Updated 11/19/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact James

The Owen Law Firm

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  88 customer reviews
5 Star
 
97%
4 Star
 
3%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | July 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent outcome!
James was able to get my DUI case dismissed completely. He has always been friendly and professional. I highly recommend him, you won't be disappointed!
Posted by Tom | July 9, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Client
James was exceptionally competent, caring, and communicative. It was such a relief that we hired James - especially give the successful outcome!
Posted by Sergio | April 1, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Sitation dismissed (no any points)
I was stopped for using the phone (but I only looked at the navigator) and driving on the left lane, but the lawyer helped to remove all the violation and prove my innocence. Quickly and efficiently.
Posted by anonymous | January 20, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceeded Expectations
Mr. Owen exceeded all of our expectations and got our case dismissed. Very thorough and well prepared.
Posted by anonymous | December 9, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Positive Comments
I really appreciated that I did not have to do anything on the court date and he walked me through what to do during the process which made the whole situation less stressful.
Posted by Steve Bennett | August 25, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great job
Great job and he talks with you personally I’ll use them again if I have too.
Response from James Owen August 27, 2021
Thanks for your kind words. I was so happy that we got your case dismissed. I hope you do not need me again. But, if you do, I will be happy to help.
Posted by Jami | June 29, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
I will definitely refer people to Attorney Owens. He was very attentive and thoroughly explained all the processes we would go through. He is an excellent attorney!! His staff was also very helpful.
Posted by Steven | March 25, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent and Professional
Mr. Owen was the right choice for my case. He and Jody were always available to help and explain the progress and dates of my case. With every meeting we had I felt Mr. Owen was working hard and doing everything possible for the best outcome. And Mr. Owen was able to get my case dismissed, the best outcome possible. Thanks for all you hard work, very much appreciated. I would recommend Mr. Owen to anyone facing legal issues.
Read less
Posted by Bart | January 12, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Criminal Defense Attorney
James is an Excellent Attorney. He understands the stress of a legal battle and is always available to answer questions or assist in resolving the case. He provided all the information and resources we needed in our case. He worked well within the system to resolve our case and obtain a favorable outcome for all involved. We highly recommend him!
Read less
Posted by Andy | July 10, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Extremely satisfied
James was up front about what he expected as a result of my case, with likely outcomes. He got me the best case scenario, and his price was reasonable.
Posted by anonymous | May 14, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Case dismissed
Mr. Owen represented me in a case which was my first offense, and by following his recommendations my case got dismissed entirely. He is professional and efficient, and essentially handled everything.
Posted by Laura | March 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Atticus Finch
In my opinion, the best way to describe James Richie Owen lies in a quote (regarding the lawyer Atticus Finch) from the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel To Kill a Mockingbird. “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view.” That’s the kind of lawyer James Richie Owen is. I’d never been arrested and was extremely scared of what would happen to me. From the day I met James (in my first consultation) all the way to him getting my case dismissed many months later, I always felt James listened to me describe the details of my case as if it was happening to him; and I strongly believe that’s how my case ended with a dismissal. James Richie Owen will fight for you as if he’s fighting for himself. I highly recommend and respect him as a lawyer and a person.
Read less
Response from James Owen March 9, 2020
Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy we got your case dismissed.
Posted by Ariel | January 31, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding citation
Initially met with Mr. Owen, he explained what “could” happen and what could be done. He is a very clear and direct counsel. He requests what he needs from you and takes care of the rest. All or most communications will be handled through Ms. Jody, his paralegal or aid, but he will make himself available to speak if you make that request. Thank you for being very informative throughout the process. The consistent line of communication and response to emails gives reassurance to your clients during the stressful moments.
Read less
Posted by Paula | January 13, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Teacher
Mr. Owen was wonderful. He represented me in a traffic citation. I was able to simply turn the matter over to him and did not have to worry about anything. He took care of the case and I had no more worries! I would hire him again in an instant.
Posted by Travis Thompson | November 2, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
mr. Owen did exactly what he said he could do, and a mans word is everything I need to know and he nwent above and beyo0nd nwith me and just letting you know he is one of the best in Knoxville and I wojuld recommend him for anyone.
Posted by Tommy | September 17, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Couldn't be happier
I hired Mr. Owen to take care of 2 tickets for me. One was in a personal vehicle for 17 over and the other was in a commercial vehicle for failure to stop at a stop sign. The speeding ticket was reduced to 4 over and the commercial ticket was dismissed altogether. I 100% would suggest him to anyone and will definitely call on him in the future if I need his services.
Read less
Posted by James | May 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Made the right choice
James Owen and team handled a minor in possession case for us. Removed the fear and worry and guided us to an excellent outcome. Professional, friendly and great with parent and young adult both. Highly recommended!
Posted by Dustin | April 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Easily Had My Charges Dropped
I hired James to fight for me against my accused drag racing charges. I talked to many attorneys, most seemed unsure or skeptical because of where I received the ticket and how tough their court/judge in that city can be, and while Mr. Owen obviously couldn’t make any promises, he was confident enough in his abilities to make me decide to go with him over the others. It was mandatory that I not get any type of moving violation because my job requires me to drive. Court session was quick and easy as he took care of everything and managed to get all of my charges dropped and expunged off my record. Very happy with the outcome, I would definitely recommend him to others, the money you spend is worth it to have a clean record!!
Read less
Response from James Owen May 3, 2019
Thank you for your kind words. I was so happy that we were able to keep you driving and keep your record clean. Drive Safe!
Posted by anonymous | April 16, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer
Mr. Owen was, not only able to get my case dismissed, he was able to do so without me even having to pay court cost. I would definitely hire him again and I highly recommend him!
Posted by Kris | March 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Criminal Defense Attorney in East TN
Attorney Owen’s representation of me far exceeded my expectations. His is an erudite attorney who paid exquisite attention to the details of my case as I explained to him during our consultation, and he followed by aggressively defending me during my first and ONLY court appearance. My case was dismissed, and he filed a motion for expungement the same day. He is worth his weight in gold. Additionally, his fee was far less than the fees requested by other attorneys with whom I spoke.
Read less
Response from James Owen March 8, 2019
Thank you for your kind words. Especially "erudite" which I had to look up. I am so happy we were able to get your case dismissed.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Owen Law Firm
  • 2016 - Present
  • Founding Board Member and Secretary
  • Friends of Knox County Recovery Court, Inc.
  • 2015 - Present
  • Attorney
  • The Garza Law Firm, PLLC
  • 2014 - 2016
  • Supervisor for DUI Court Lawyers
  • Knox County Public Defender Community Law Office
  • 1997 - 2014
  • Law Clerk
  • Law Office of William F. Travis
  • 1995 - 1997
View all work experience

Education

  • University of Memphis - Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1997
  • East Tennessee State University
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1994

Legal Cases

  • State Of Tennessee versus Davis
  • Appeal dismissed in favor of the Defendant
  • State of Tennessee v. J.M.
  • DUI charge reduced to Public Intoxication, 30 days unsupervised probation.
  • State of Tennessee v. F.S.
  • Case dismissed at motion to suppress because Tennessee law states that a red light violation does not occur when the driver enters the intersection on yellow.
View all legal cases

Associations

  • National Advocacy for DUI Defense
  • Superior DUI Defense
  • 2017 - Present
  • National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • Top Attorney
  • 2017 - Present
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys
  • Top Attorney
  • 2016 - Present
  • American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys
  • Memeber
  • 2016 - Present
  • Friends of Knox County Recovery Court
  • Founding Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • Friends of Knox County Recovery Court
  • Secretary
  • 2015 - Present
  • DUI Defense Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Knoxville Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Tennessee Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 1997 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • BV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • Top 100 Lawyers
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2018
  • BV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • ASLA Top 100 Lawyer
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2017
  • Top Ten DUI/DWI Attorney
  • American Institute of Legal Counsel
  • 2017
  • Superior DWI Attorney
  • National Advocacy for DUI Defense
  • 2017
  • High Professional Achievement and High Ethical Standing
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • Top Ten DUI/DWI Attorney
  • American Institute of Legal Counsel
  • 2016
  • Top Attorney
  • CityView Magazine
  • 2015
  • Certified DWI Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing
  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • 2014
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • CLO New Lawyer Training Session
  • Introduction to DUI practice in Knox County
  • 2011

Attorney endorsements

Received (19)
Given (38)
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Owen is a highly intelligent and aggressive trial lawyer. He is very experienced and among the toughest in the courtroom. The representation you will receive from him is top notch."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse James Owen. I have seen James in court for his clients many times, and he is an experienced, knowledgeable, and well-respected attorney who works hard to zealously advocate for his clients. I would be pleased to recommend him to my own clients for consideration whenever the need arose for his criminal defense expertise."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have seen Mr. Owen in action and he zealously represents his clients and consistently receives positive results for them. I wholeheartedly endorse him."
Unknown Attorney | Jan 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Violent crime Attorney | Apr 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer. As a member of the DUIDLA, Mr. Owen is committed to excellence in defending DUI cases."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 10
Relationship: Other
"Highly respected and overall a great attorney. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"James is a highly skilled and respected lawyer"
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. As a fellow member of DUIDLA, I can attest that this lawyer knows how to defend his clients. Education, passion, and hard work."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"James and I attended the NHTSA DUI Standardized Field Sobriety Training together as well as the TACDL DUI seminar. His knowledge of DUI law is second to none. Not only is James an excellent attorney but he is also a great person who is easy to talk to. I have no doubt that any client faced with criminal charges is in good hands with James."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Dec 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I had the fantastic opportunity to work with James early in my legal career. James is passionate about providing quality legal representation to his Clients."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 29
Relationship: Co-worker
"James is a fantastic lawyer who has the experience and know-how to accomplish amazing results for his clients. You will have a hard time finding a better, more likeable attorney to handle your defense."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Attorney Owen has handled thousands of DUI cases in Knox County as well as general criminal cases over the years. His extensive exposure to the court system in Knox County through his years as a former public defender have also made him very familiar with all the judges and prosecutors and with what can be done with a case."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"James and I have handled cases together and I have had the opportunity to see him in action many times in DUI Court. James had handled thousands of DUI cases during his career in Knoxville and Knox County. He takes the time to help his clients understand what they are up against, goes through the evidence against them with a fine-toothed comb, and isn't afraid to take them to trial. He is well-respected by the judges and prosecutors. He is worth every penny of his fee."
View more endorsements
Knoxville DUI and DWI Lawyer James Richie Owen
James Richie Owen
DUI and DWI Attorney
Knoxville, TN
Licensed for 25 years
Free Consultation