I went to jail on a drug charge and they pit me on probation and I get off on the 22nd this month but I need it to be off to work at a daycare
Yes. You need to go to the courthouse in the county where the charge was brought. Go to the clerk's office with $180.00. Luckily the fee was recently reduced from $450.00.See question
son was arrested for 5th DUI
You can expect your son to be charged with a felony DUI offense. It carries a minimum punishment of 150 days in jail and a 8 year loss of license. He needs to hire a well qualified lawyer as soon as possible.See question
I was born in Tennessee but moved to Michigan 25 years. I have 3 dui's in Michigan, over 9 years ago. In Michigan your 3rd dui is a felony, but not in Tennessee. Will Tennessee laws still consider me a felon with my 3 dui's from Michigan? I'm aski...
Yes The felony in Michigan will be a felony in Tennessee.See question
I was at a bar and didn't have that many drinks. Got very sick and don't remember a lot of the night. I think I might have been slipped something in a drink. Do they test for anything like rufies or ghp?
The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation has a cutoff of .08 BAC. If the blood level is .08 or higher they normally do not retest it for drugs absent special request by the police or district attorneys office. If it is below .08 BAC, it will be retested for drugs.See question
I have no criminal record and plan on taking the required Wine Vendor ABC class again before going to Court. Do I plead guilty that day in court or defer and speak to the DA's office first or plead innocent. I made a careless error after carding...
My standard response is you need a lawyer in every criminal case. If you can't afford a lawyer, you can apply for a public defender. A criminal conviction has collateral consequences. It may impact future jobs being the most common. Don't handle you case alone.See question
I got a DUI ten years ago...and I just recently got another one. Trying to figure out if it could possibly be charged as DUI 1st?
It depends. The period runs from arrest date to arrest date. If it is outside the ten years, it is a first offense DUI.See question
How long can a person be held in jail in TN pending a misdemeanor charge? For example if the person was arrested 01/01/2016 will their time expire 01/01/2017 even if there has not been a conviction since misdemeanors are only 11/29?? Where can ...
A citizen who is arrested in Tennessee who can't make a bail bond must have a preliminary hearing within 10 days if the case is in general sessions. There is no hard and fast rule on the time a case must be tried. After 6 months, one can file a Rule 48 motion if the case has not been send to the grand jury.See question
I own and register a vehicle, and allow an adult 30+ year old child to drive the vehicle because he/she is unable to purchase a vehicle. Can I be charged with a DWI/ DUI/ Impaired if he/she is charged? He/she is is on the insurance as designated d...
Under Tennessee's DUI owner statue, one can be charged for a DUI if they own the car but another person is operating the car under the influence. I have only seen someone charged with this type of charge if they were in the car at the time of the incident. Tennessee courts have not addressed whether the aider or abettor must be present in the vehicle. Normally, the facts are someone allows a person to drive their car under the influence while they are a passenger.See question
A police officer pulled me and fiance over because he recognized my car and my fiance and then arrested us. We had just taken my son to work on way home is when he saw us and pulled us over..We were not speeding or anything. As soon as he got to w...
Yes the officer can pull him over. According to your post, the police officer had personal knowledge the driver did not have a valid license.. The officer saw him driving. it is my position the traffic stop was valid based on the personal knowledge of the officer.See question
New year's eve headed to work. Driving slow had time drizzle of rain vehicle had front end issues going out at anytime. Trooper pulled over i stopped but not to far over as not to get in mud or rough shoulder with the vehicle the way it was. He a...
It is common practice to retest the blood sample if the blood alcohol level is below .08 BAC. On the toxicology form, the police have the option of checking a test for blood alcohol and a toxicology test. They often request both even if there is no evidence of drug use.See question