Skip to main content

Rhonda Kinard, Ph.D

Criminal defense Attorney at Mobile, AL

5.0   81 reviews

Licensed for 13 years

Virtual consultation available

About Rhonda

Learn Rhonda’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    45%
    Both Federal and State levels.

  2. Appeals
    25%
    Attorney Kinard can appeal the decision in your case.

  3. Family
    15%
    Contested divorce | Uncontested divorce | Separation | Child custody | Child support | Alimony | Adoption | Call Attorney Kinard for all your family legal needs.

  4. Personal injury
    15%
    If you have been injured due to someone else's negligence, you need to stop worrying and call Attorney Kinard now.

PASSIONATE ADVOCACY. PERSONAL ATTENTION.

Rhonda Kinard, an Alabama native, has practiced law for several years in Alabama and Virginia courts. In 1999, she attended the University of Alabama at Birmingham, where she earned her Bachelor of Arts in Sociology. After college, Dr. Kinard earned a Juris Doctor from Regent University School of Law, graduating amid the top of her class. She graduated from Regent University School of Business, earning a Masters in Business Administration, cum laude. Finally, she graduated from Northcentral University, earning a Ph.D in Business with a specialization in Criminal Justice. While at Regent Law, Dr. Kinard interned at the United States District Court, Eastern District of Virginia, for the Honorable Raymond A. Jackson. Additionally, Dr. Kinard completed an externship at the Supreme Court of Alabama for the Honorable Tom Parker.

After law school, Dr. Kinard began her legal career by accepting an offer to serve in one of the seven legal clerkships at the Supreme Court of Virginia. From 2009 - 2011, she served as a judicial law clerk to the late Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, the Honorable Leroy Rountree Hassell, Sr. She also served as law clerk to the Honorable Charles Russell, Senior Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia.

From 2011 - 2014, Dr. Kinard served as a prosecutor for the Newport News Commonwealth Attorney's Office, where she gained extensive litigation experience in both bench and jury trials. She has litigated thousands of criminal cases, including criminal and traffic misdemeanors, firearm offenses, drug offenses, white collar/property offenses, burglary, arson and violent felonies such as armed robbery, aggravated assaults, sexual offenses and homicide. Dr. Kinard's years as a prosecutor has shown her the devastating impact crime has on not only the victims but also on the defendant, as well as family members.

Dr. Kinard served as an Adjunct Professor at Regent University School of Law, where she taught criminal law and criminal procedure classes. Dr. Kinard also taught Business Law courses at ITT Technical Institute. Previously, Dr. Kinard served as an Adjunct Professor at ECPI University, where she taught criminal justice and business classes. Dr. Kinard is licensed to practice law in Alabama, Virginia, and California. She is also licensed to practice in all U.S. District Courts in the State of Alabama, which include the Southern District, Middle District, and Northern District of Alabama.

Licensed for 13 years
State AL
Status Occupational License - Authorized to Practice
Acquired 2011
Updated 11/10/2022
State VA
Status Active
Acquired 2009
Updated 10/10/2014
State CA
Status Inactive
Acquired 2010
Updated 12/02/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Rhonda

The Kinard Law Office, P.C.

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  81 customer reviews
5 Star
 
99%
4 Star
 
1%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Chassity S. | October 23, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Worth Every Penny
Attorney Kinard did an excellent job representing me. She is one who you can be open and honest with. She's upfront and does as she states during consultation. I had complete confidence in her abilities, so I didn't question her decisions. I literally did not worry about anything concerning my case. Even when I didn't understand decisions being made by court personnel, Attorney Kinard provided reassurance it was still working together for my good, and she was right. Now, if you want mediocre services, this is not your attorney. You will pay for the services rendered, BUT Attorney Kinard is worth every penny. Thank you, Attorney Kinard, for your due diligence and perseverance. I pray you continue to prosper in all you do. Let God be your guidance and voice of reason. Take care, God bless you. #Romans 8:28, #Psalm 37, #Hebrews11:1 #Proverbs 3:3-5
Read less
Posted by Leah | December 1, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Attorney!
I wish I could give Attorney Kinard 10 stars, because 5 stars isn’t enough to describe the level of service this firm provides. Attorney Kinard is a powerhouse! She is very confident and knowledgeable of the law. Attorney Kinard also employs the best assistant I’ve ever dealt with. LaTanya is so quick to respond and is on top of everything! I highly recommend Attorney Kinard.
Read less
Posted by Paul | November 27, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
Attorney Kinard has represented me for 5+ yrs for various legal matters related to custody. She is exemplary in her conduct, professionalism and legal aptitude. I trust her. She cares about her clients. Picking the right lawyer is an important decision, and time has proven my decision to work with Attorney Kinard as one of the best choices I have ever made, bar none. Thank you Attorney Kinard and Ms. La'Tanya!
Read less
Posted by Jason | August 29, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Attorney Kinard is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!
We hired Attorney Kinard for a case after the defendant appealed the first ruling. She was very motivated to get this settled for us. Although it wasn’t the exact outcome we wanted, we are very pleased with the settlement that was received. Thank you Attorney Kinard for you help!!!! We will definitely hire her again IF we need an attorney!!!
Read less
Posted by Melva | August 12, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best!
Attorney kinard was the best representation I’ve had thus far! She is very sweet down to earth and understanding and to top it off she’s very knowledgeable and thorough. She was very aggressive in my case and definitely got results i court. You won’t regret hiring her!
Posted by Andrés Saucedo | August 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
an angel of help among us
If you are looking for justice for yourself and your family, she is the right person, the most professional and humble person I have ever met; Thank you La'tania for helping me reunite with my children, God bless you today and always, and please continue to be that angel who brings families together. My most sincere thanks for your help and may your life and that of your loved ones be filled with blessings today, tomorrow, and always, yours truly, Andrés Saucedo
Read less
Posted by Monica | August 4, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Service
Attorney Rhonda Kinard provided outstanding estate planning services. She listened to what I wanted to accomplish, provided excellent guidance, presented viable options where needed, and gave me a plan that fits my needs. I walked away being extremely impressed with her and fully satisfied knowing my family will be taken care of when I transition.
Read less
Posted by Aurious | March 14, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Simply Superb
Despite being in Washington state they, Rhonda and her legal assistant Latanya, expertly managed all required paperwork and proceedings keeping me abreast of all. There were times where some items seemed last minute, but when looked at objectively and against the backdrop of the COVID pandemic, I can only appreciate the lengths she went through on my behalf. Their no-nonsense approach kept me on the proper path. THANKS SO MUCH!!
Read less
Posted by Glenn | February 2, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Greatly Appreciated
I am extremely satisfied with the service provided Attorney Kinard is knowledgeable and very professional Everything was in a timely manner and I was updated throughout the process Thanks You
Posted by Jennifer | December 6, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Custody Case
Attorney Kinard was very helpful through my case. I originally had a different lawyer he wasn't very good so I switched to Attorney Kinard. She was very prepared for court and had all of her facts in order. If you need an attorney she is definitely who you should hire. I appreciate her and her services so much. I wish I would've hired her first.
Read less
Posted by Roosevelt | November 4, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hard working lawyer
Kinard law firm didn't a great job she got me 50-50 custody of my child with no child support. She's smart and she took the time to explain to my family what's was going on even tho she didn't have to. She took very good care of me i was so emotional that day i just had lost my grandfather an she was patient with me
Posted by Kel | August 16, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing
Once I had a consultation with Ms. Kinard, I knew for a fact that i would hire her for my child support review. I wanted to be protected and she most definitely came through. She’s highly educated, experienced & knowledgeable at what she does. Highly recommended!!! THANK YOU!!
Posted by Celena | August 10, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE
With the lifechanging event such as creating my Last Will and Testament, I was truly nervous and emotional about walking this VERY important road in life. However, I wanted to assure that my affairs were in order. At our initial meeting, Ms. Kinard made me feel so comfortable, I immediately hired her without a second thought. She's extremely knowledgeable, professional, patient, caring and most of all, comforting. I am SO glad I was referred to Ms. Kinard. This was the best decision I've made!
Read less
Posted by Donya | July 28, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Phenomenal Lawyer
Rhonda is professional, aggressive and confident. She did exactly what she stated she would do. We WON our case!!! Ex husband was too afraid of being exposed and cross examined by Rhonda during a trail. He agreed to settle, giving me everything I asked for. I could not be more pleased with her service. She handles her business and nothing to play with. Her assistant -LaTanya is on top of it as well. This is an exceptional law firm!!! I highly recommend.
Read less
Posted by Cynthia Marks | July 7, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Attorney
Amazing Attorney!! Mrs. Kinard handle my divorce and got everything taken care of when no one was on my side. She's an amazing attorney she gave me back my faith and I'm very satisfied with her work. I will recommend the Kinard's Law Office to anyone.
Posted by Todd | June 17, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonder Woman!!!
Mrs. Kinard is a highly aggressive and confident Attorney. She handled my daughter's case and the out come was exceptional. Her attentive and expedient actions show her willingness to serve her clients w the utmost professionalism and a reassurance of being in good hands!!! Highly recommend her services to anyone who is looking for the best representation!! Thank you Mrs. Kinard!!!!!
Read less
Posted by LaMarcus | May 5, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great service!!!!!
Great and very professional! They treated me as family, we won case and I’m very thankful for your service!
Posted by LaToya | April 8, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolute Best Experience
I was referred to Attorney Kinard by my sister and she assured me that my matter would be handled with the most professionalism and SHE WAS RIGHT!! Attorney Kinard made me feel empowered, answered my questions and was the epitome of class and professionalism. I literally felt like I had a SUPER HERO on my team. She and La'Tanya were amazing to work with and I was very pleased with the outcome.
Read less
Posted by Antonio | February 12, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best attorney ever!!!!
Very helpful, nice,very knowledgeable, thanks for all you and your staff did for my case,i will surely recommend you if needed again.
Posted by Darcy | January 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best attorney ever!!
I just want to thank attorney Kinard and her staff on a perfect job representing my case. I couldnt ask for anything more. Ms Latanya was there for me everytime i called with knowledgeable information and uplifting words of encouragement. Attorney Kinard was on point with all of my concerns and related them perfectly in court. Kinard law firm has absolutely been a blessing!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Adjunct Professor
  • ITT Technical Institute
  • 2014 - Present
  • Adjunct Professor
  • Regent University School Of Law
  • 2014 - Present
  • Attorney
  • The Kinard Law Office, P.C.
  • 2014 - Present
  • Adjunct Professor
  • ECPI University
  • 2013 - 2014
  • Prosecuting Attorney
  • Newport News Commonwealth's Attorney Office
  • 2011 - 2014
  • Judicial Law Clerk
  • Supreme Court of Virginia
  • 2009 - 2011
  • Clerk
  • United States District Court
  • 2008 - 2009
View all work experience

Education

  • Northcentral University
  • PhD - Doctorate
  • 2022
  • Regent University School of Business
  • MBA - Master of Business Administration
  • 2009
  • Regent University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2009
  • University of Alabama - Birmingham
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2003
View all education

Associations

  • Alabama State Bar
  • N/A
  • Mobile Bar Association
  • N/A
  • State Bar of California
  • N/A
  • San Francisco Bar Association
  • N/A
  • Virginia State Bar
  • N/A
  • Virginia Women Attorneys Association
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top 100 Lawyers
  • The National Black Lawyers Association
  • 2022
  • Top 10 Attorneys Under 40
  • National Academy Of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2017
  • Top 40 Lawyers Under 40
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2017

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Regent University Preview Week
  • "Don't Fail The Bar"
  • 2013

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (12)
Endorse Rhonda
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 01
Relationship: Other
"Attorney Kinard is punctual and diligent. I recommend hiring her for your case."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 24
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. I worked with Rhonda in the Newport News Commonwealth's Attorney's Office. She is very professional and can litigate an incredible case. I would hire her in a split second."
Family Attorney | Sep 22
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Feb 03
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I have personally had the opportunity to oppose Ms. Kinard in several bench and jury trials. I found Rhonda to always be well versed in the law and a zealous advocate for her clients. Her demeanor was always amicable although firm in her position. Anyone seeking a competent zealous attorney will not be disappointed in her representation. I endorse Ms. Kinard."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 07
Relationship: Supervised lawyer
"I'm not sure I've met a lawyer who takes her work more seriously than Ms. Kinard. She is intelligent, motivated and skilled, and her experience as a prosecutor gives her a unique perspective as a defense attorney. Don't hesitate to ask her for help."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney. Your rights will be protected."
Litigation Attorney | Oct 20
Relationship: Co-worker
"Ms. Kinard is an excellent attorney. Very knowledgeable, she is the consummate professional whose work ethic is second to none. I highly endorse Ms. Kinard."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Capable and pleasure to work with!"
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Divorce and separation
Criminal defense
Child custody
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Mobile Criminal defense Lawyer Rhonda Kinard, Ph.D
Rhonda Kinard, Ph.D
Criminal defense Attorney
Mobile, AL
Licensed for 13 years
Virtual consultation available