I was arrested for shoplifting and it was my first offense and I was never mirandized but when I asked the cops about it they said I didn't have to be mirandized because I was guilty so I'm super confused. I had to be bonded out and everything. No...
You have to be Mirandized anytime you are not free to leave if the police are asking you questions. It is not required just because you are placed under arrest, or whether you're guilty.See question
Service 6 year was sentenced to 20 but got 15 years probation
The maximum term for probation is 5 years.See question
Being charged with attempted rape. Her word against mine. My attorney has not received my discovery file and it has been 8 months.
Have you asked your attorney about it? That's where you should start. There are a lot of variables involved. Just ask.See question
I have been falsely charged with drug trafficking. I was arrested in February of 2016, made bail and the case was bound over to the Grand Jury in March 2016. The DA is blaming the length of time on the state lab, stating that it takes a long time ...
A district attorney in Alabama may re-present a case to the grand jury or even another grand jury, if he or she chooses. The state lab is 2-3 years behind.See question
I'm 18, but the age of Majorty in Alabama is 19. I'm an Alabama resident. I plan to move by myself after graduation( I will still be 18) to Tennessee, where the age of Majotity is 18. Will I be forced to come back to Alabama, or will I be able to ...
You may move to Tennessee. You do not have to be 19 to move.See question
my sister in law assaulted me and I went forward with criminal charges. she is now threatening to do it again and that I better drop the charges....she even told my husband there is nothing he can do to stop it. what are my rights?
You are the victim. This group typically gives advise to those charged, not victims.See question
Hi I'm 15 years of age and my boyfriend is 18 I just found out I am pregnant my parents are fine with it due to us dating for 2 and a half years and they feel as if they shouldn't report it due to him wanting to be there for the baby and him havin...
The doctor or nurse may be mandatory reporters. That means that they must report it if they know all the details. Your boyfriend may be charged with rape in the 2nd degree.See question
Went in bank bad check of personal I left Id also and never received money. Can I be charged and if so with what.
You may be charged with possession of a forged instrument.See question
I received a class c misdemeanor for open alcoholic container. I have absolutely no criminal record besides this charge which is my first. I am recently discharged from the United States Marine Corps looking for a job if this offers any help. I am...
Lawyers expect to be paid like everyone else. You'll likely get a suspended sentence and a fine, but I would call the clerk's office and ask if they have deferred prosecution. You do not need a lawyer for that kind of program. You pay some money, complete a program, stay out of trouble for some time and your case may be dismissed.See question
Possession of controlled substance bonded out 2weeks ago. Go to court monday
Some judges base it on the acts and demeanor of the defendant in court.See question