Skip to main content

Caleb Winslow Ballew

Family Attorney at Huntsville, AL

5.0   24 reviews
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State AL
    Acquired 2010
    Status
    Occupational License - Authorized to Practice No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Caleb

Learn Caleb’s areas of practice.

Caleb W. Ballew joined the firm of Martinson & Beason as an associate attorney in October 2012. Caleb’s practice areas include divorce, domestic relations, criminal defense, general civil litigation and estate litigation. 

Caleb was admitted to practice law in Alabama in 2010 and is a member of the Huntsville-Madison County Bar Association, the Family Law Section of the Alabama State Bar, and the Alabama Criminal Defense Lawyers Association. Caleb is also a contract attorney for the Alabama Education Association and enjoys representing public school teachers and administrators.

Caleb holds a B.A. from the University of Virginia and a J.D. from the University of Mississippi, where he graduated cum laude. In law school, he participated on his school’s Moot Court team, winning a number of litigation scholarships during his tenure there. He volunteered his time with his law school’s Innocence Project and worked as a research assistant for author Curtis Wilkie on the book The Fall of the House of Zeus.

Since starting as an associate with Martinson & Beason, P.C., Caleb has been honored to receive an award for volunteer lawyer of the month in Madison County, participated and graduated from the Diversity Leadership Colloquium, and was even a guest at the White House for a State Dinner in honor of the French President in 2014.

Caleb grew up in Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina and is the oldest of three children. Caleb is married to Kourtney Ikard Ballew, a native of Madison County and an attorney as well. He enjoys running and disc golf as hobbies in his spare time.

Photos and videos

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.avvo.com/assets/badges-v2.js"></script><div class="avvo_badge" data-type="reviews" data-specialty="78" data-target="http://www.avvo.com/professional_badges/4317519"><div class="avvo_content"><a rel="me" targe

Location

Martinson & Beason, PC
115 Northside Sq
Huntsville, AL, 35801-4822

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  24 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | December 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Caleb Belles
I’ve had two cases with Martinson and Deason. This firm is very knowledgeable and professional. The first case was a success, we decided to use them again. This second case was with Caleb Ballew. We’re very impressed with his knowledge of this type case and his timeless in the matter.
Posted by Umbreous | December 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Criminal defense
I was nervous at 1st because he was court appointed, and we all know how that can go and plus I never really been in trouble. Once we actually set down and talked I felt better & was more comfortable with him as my attorney. He is very knowledgeable of this system and how it works, he responds to messages/emails/calls in a timely manner. Very professional, great personality and easy to talk to..There are so many great things to say about but all in all HE'S AN AWESOME ATTORNEY!!! I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND HIM!
Read less
Posted by Jon | August 15, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Attorney!
Great experience with Martinson & Beason! Caleb Ballew was extremely knowledgeable, capable, and responsive! Caleb handled a child support arrangement change quickly and professionally. I highly recommend Caleb and this firm and I will definitely continue to go to them for any future legal needs.
Posted by Chris | May 5, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding attorney!
Caleb represented me in my divorce case. He has excellent interpersonal communication and explains complex legal issues in layman's terms that are easy to understand. He is very knowledgeable of the divorce laws and performed well above my expectations. Highly recommended!
Posted by Sandra | April 26, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review
We hired Caleb Ballew for a family law matter and found him to be caring and intelligent with great insight and ability. He explained the law very well and was fair and honest. We highly recommend Caleb for legal counsel.
Posted by Janet | April 12, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent choice
Caleb Ballew was a perfect choice for me to have handling my very sensitive and emotional family case. He knew exactly what to do when to do it and get an outcome result that was for the highest good of all involved. I will be forever grateful for what he did for me and I will always call him first if I need legal help again! You Rock Caleb!!!
Read less
Posted by Mike | March 5, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Positive Results in a Marriage Matter
Caleb Ballew and Stephanie Nunez did an excellent job with my divorce. I was referred to them by a fellow member of the American Legion. It was a very difficult time for me and their professionalism and positive attitudes led to as good as possible an outcome. In addition to their professional services being excellent, they charged a fair rate for their services and completely documented all charges. They were always available to discuss any questions. I would go to them for any legal services they say they are capable of providing.
Read less
Posted by Tim | December 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great attorney
I highly recommend Caleb! He was frIendly, smart, and easy to work with. He worked hard for my case and helped in some situations over custody that made it easy to work with. His desire to win the case was felt at every guen
Posted by anonymous | December 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
BEST LAWYER IN HUNTSVILLE
Caleb is amazing! He helped me on a very difficult custody case. He is very diligent and stays on track with what direction to go regarding litigation and without holding any judgement towards his clients. He prepped me for the worst but we ended up with the best case scenario! He was there every step of the way...hiring him was life changing. I highly recommend him.
Read less
Posted by Jonathan | December 5, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Service and Professionalism
Mr. Ballew and his team has an over the top attention to detail and professionalism that gives you a feeling of comfort during the process. Constant contact and step by step guidence through the matter was a relief for me and my family. The matter was resolved in a timely and favorable manner. I cannot overstate the care given and overwhelming feeling that you are in the right hands with his team. I highly recommend Mr. Ballew and his team at Martinson and Beason.
Read less
Posted by Melvin | October 3, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lawyer!
I had 3 cases to deal with .. The BEST lawyer I have ever had!! Caleb helped me get through this whole process! I couldn't have asked for a better lawyer!
Posted by Michael | August 14, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Custody
Simply put, Caleb was an asset to our custody case. I credit his extensive knowledge of family law with our successful settlement. But more than professional skill, Caleb (and his assistant, Stephanie) consistently showed real compassion when addressing my wife and me. He kept us calm and level-headed, even when the case got frustrating. Honestly, I wouldn't trust my family's affairs to anyone else.
Read less
Posted by Jerry | December 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Child Custody
Caleb has represented us in the custody hearings for our granddaughter. From our initial case in 2015 to a successful Pendente Lite and final hearing in 2017, Caleb has provided excellent representation. Caleb has also given us the all-important laymen's explanation and counseling on the operation of the judicial system. Very glad to have found Caleb.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce Attorney
For 15 months I was represented by Caleb during a contested divorce. Caleb's dedication and professionalism are beyond reproach and resulted in an acceptable position for both parties. He is willing to fight for you if/when the need arises and was always looking out for my best interests. Highly recommend.
Posted by Rachel | June 19, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Experience with Caleb and his staff
I am a family law attorney in another jurisdiction. I worked with Caleb and his team on a unique family law matter involving our two jurisdictions. Caleb was extremely kind, thoughtful, and attentive. He helped us problem solve issues and he was very knowledgeable about litigation and family law issues. I would highly recommend Caleb and his team.
Read less
Posted by Renee | February 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
An Amazing Attorney Experience...
It's all good--what I have to say about Caleb Ballew. From our first meeting, as he listened intently, I knew he was my legal support!And, that was exactly what he did...for about two years (while my ex-spouse dragged our divorce process on and on). He was consistently calm, confident, and professional, even as we moved through new the territory of same-sex divorce in Alabama. I felt as if I was his only client and that my case was his most important. What more could you ask for during a difficult time? I have no reservation or hesitation about recommending Caleb Ballew for your legal representation.
Read less
Posted by Kourtney | July 15, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent Lawyer
Caleb Ballew is a great attorney and will fight for his clients no matter what the circumstances may be. He is very intelligent and knows the law and can apply his knowledge to your case. I highly recommend him.
Posted by Ruby | March 25, 2015
The best knowledgeable attorney Huntsville, AL has to offer...
Last year, I was petitioned to the courts for custody of my son. Feeling hopeless and distraught, I started searching for legal services. After speaking with several different attorneys, Mr. Caleb Ballew was the only person who took a genuine interest in my case, asked questions about the petition, and offered me an affordable rate. Because of this, I was able to retain him immediately and provide all the documents required to move forward. He took my case seriously and represented me well in court. Afterwards, I was confident we won the case. The following week, I received the judgment showing I did indeed win. He is a spectacular attorney, very knowledgeable, and easy to work with. I recommend Mr. Caleb Ballew to anyone in need of legal services.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 4, 2015
Caleb Ballew is a Lawyer who truly cares about his clients.
I can't say enough good things about this fine young man. Last August I was in the beginning stages of a nasty divorce. I didn't have much money and I couldn't find anybody to represent me for the amount I could afford. I was at the lowest point in my life and that's when I met Caleb Ballew. He made quite an impression right from the start. He actually cared and wanted to help me. Caleb met with me and helped me get started with legal assistance. He was polite, kind, caring and wise beyond his years. I remember asking Caleb if there was anything I could do to repay him for all his help. His reply was...PAY IT FORWARD. I will never forget his kindness and I promise to pay it forward for the rest of my life. I only wish there were more Caleb Ballew's in this world. You are going to be very successful Mr. Ballew!
Read less
Posted by Joe | December 13, 2013
Termination of Adult Adoption
Mr. Ballew agreed to handle my adoption "unraveling" challenge with surprising eagerness and respectful understanding of my goal. He was very personable allowing me to be totally open, honest and trusting of his maintaining confidentiality. This case was unlike any that had been submitted in Madison County before: how to "unadopt" someone. Mr. Ballew pursued the Probate Judge vigorously attempting to set up a meeting with he and myself. He kept me informed of the status of my case throughout the postponements in meeting time. I am 100% satisfied with his professional services.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 15 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 175-200 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.6 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Associate
  • Martinson & Beason, PC
  • 2012 - Present
  • Associate
  • Christina Dixon, Attorney at Law
  • 2011 - 2012
  • Intern
  • Kevin W. Frye, PLLC
  • 2009 - 2010

Education

  • University of Mississippi School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2010
  • University of Virginia
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2007

Associations

  • Diversity Leadership Colloquium
  • Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • Alabama Education Association
  • Network Attorney
  • 2013 - Present
  • Madison County Volunteer Lawyer's Project
  • Volunteer Attorney
  • 2010 - Present
  • Huntsville-Madison County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Alabama State Bar, Family Law Section
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Alabama Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Volunteer of the Month - February
  • Madison County Volunteer Lawyer's Project
  • 2013
  • Moot Court Board Member of the Year
  • University of Mississippi School of Law
  • 2010
  • Litigation Scholarship
  • University of Mississippi School of Law
  • 2009

Speaking Engagements

  • Know The Risk
  • Legal Risks of Drugs & Alcohol
  • 2016

Attorney endorsements

Received (13)
Given (17)
Endorse Caleb
Litigation Attorney | Jun 05
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I had the pleasure of meeting Caleb several years ago — as opposing counsel.I found him to be professional, bright, and most importantly, compassionate and committed to the rights of his client. During our case, Caleb was always keeping his client apprised of the happenings in our case. Caleb's warmth and professionalism allowed us to amicably handle our case together. I would highly recommend his legal services to anyone in need."
Litigation Attorney | Nov 14
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Caleb was counsel for another party in a particularly delicate litigation between family members arising out of a Will Contest and a challenge to a Trust provision. Caleb impressed me with his knowledge, skill, demeanor and professionalism throughout the case. I am honored to have worked with him toward an amicable resolution and I endorse him without reservation."
Probate Attorney | Jun 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Caleb is a bright and conscientious young lawyer. He works hard for his clients to get fair and appropriate results."
Family Attorney | Feb 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have had several cases with Caleb. He is a hard-working, strong advocate for his clients."
General practice Attorney | Jan 27
Relationship: Supervised lawyer
"Caleb is diligent, eager and resourceful, and I recommend him without reservation. If you are in need of legal counsel, I would encourage you to consult with Caleb during your decision making process."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I worked with Mr. Ballew on a case involving an alleged theft from Walmart. He is very passionate about his work and a zealous advocate for his clients. Mr. Ballew knows the law and is not afraid to fight on behalf of his clients! I endorse this lawyer."
General practice Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mr. Ballew is diligent, prepared, and seems to genuinely care about his clients."
General practice Attorney | Sep 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Caleb is a very sharp lawyer. I've seen him take an adverse witness on the stand seeking justice for his client. Justice was found. His client was vindicated. Hire this lawyer."
General practice Attorney | Jul 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Caleb has a sharp mind and zealously advocates for his client."
Family Attorney | Jul 15
Relationship: Other
"Caleb Ballew is a zealous advocate for his clients. Whether you are looking for an attorney to represent you in a family, criminal or other matter, he is personable and knowledgeable to help you."
Appeals Attorney | Jun 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Caleb. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
General practice Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Caleb is extremely knowledgeable, especially in the areas of Criminal and Family law, and is a zealous advocate for his clients. He can handle just about anything thrown at him, and handle it well. He would be one of my go-to guys if I ever had to refer a friend or family member to an attorney."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Litigation
Landlord or tenant
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Child custody
Lawsuits and disputes
Criminal defense
Criminal defense