Skip to main content

Jason M. Melton

Personal injury Attorney at Spring Hill, FL

5.0   8 reviews

Licensed for 20 years

Free consultation

About Jason

Learn Jason’s areas of practice.

Whittel & Melton, LLC is a full service Florida law practice with an emphasis on representing clients in all Personal Injury cases as well as Wrongful Death tragedies, Criminal trial & DUI Defense, and Labor & Employment disputes. The firm was formed when Gainesville & Ocala Attorney Robert G. Whittel and Spring Hill & New Port Richey Lawyer Jason M. Melton joined their respective practices to better accommodate their clients throughout Tampa Bay including Tampa, St. Petersburg, Brooksville and The Villages.  As the firm grew, we expanded our operations back to South Florida where we started as State Prosecutors in Miami to serve Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties from our Boca Raton office.

---

Education

Juris Doctor, The Catholic University of America

University of San Diego School of Law
Comparative Law Institute, Florence, Italy

B.A., Southern Methodist University

Jurisdictions Admitted to Practice
Florida
U.S. District Court, Middle District of Florida
U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida
United States Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit
Professional & Bar Association Memberships

Hernando County Bar Association
President, 2007-2008
Executive Board Member 2005-2007

5th Judicial Circuit Professional Panel

Appointed 2014, 2015, 2016 by Chief Judge

Teen Court Judge

Florida Justice Association

The Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers

The Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

American Association for Justice

Traffic Court Rules Committee, Florida Bar

Citrus County Bar Association

Citrus-Hernando Inn of Court

Previous Experience
Assistant State Attorney, State of Florida, 11th Judicial Circuit
U.S. Attorney’s Office, Northern District of Texas, Dallas, Texas
U.S. Small Business Administration, Office of General Counsel, Litigation, Washington, D.C.
State Attorney’s Office, Montgomery County, Maryland

Photos and videos

Jason M. Melton, Esq.  - If you or a loved one has been injured or charged with a crime, contact us online at www.flcounsel.com , www.thefllawfirm.com or call 1-866-608-5LAW(5529) to meet with an attorney about your case.
Licensed for 20 years
State FL
Status Member in Good Standing
Acquired 2002
Updated 11/23/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Jason

Whittel & Melton, LLC
Whittel & Melton, LLC
One Progress Plaza
5107 Central Ave
Saint Petersburg, FL, 33710
Whittel & Melton, LLC
5318 Balsam St #A
New Port Richey, FL, 34652
Whittel & Melton, LLC
111 West Main Street #303
Inverness, FL, 34450-4807
Whittel & Melton, LLC
2441 NW 43rd St Unit 5B
Gainesville, FL, 32606
Whittel & Melton, LLC
3700 Airport Road
Suite 401
Boca Raton, FL, 33431
Whittel & Melton, LLC
510 Co Rd 466 #201W
The Villages, FL, 32159
Whittel & Melton, LLC
600 SE US Hwy 19
Crystal River, FL, 34429
Whittel & Melton, LLC
123 N Florida St
Bushnell, FL, 33513
Whittel & Melton, LLC
150 W Flagler St Penthouse II - 2900
Miami, FL, 33130
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  8 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Hunter | September 24, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experienced, Reliable Lawyer
I am currently represented by Jason in regards to an insurance claim. If you're looking for a lawyer that has the experience and skill to work in your best interest, Jason Melton and his team is your go-to. This was my first time seeking counsel, I was not dissapointed.
Posted by anonymous | October 21, 2011
Srpassed Expectations!!
We needed a good lawyer - somebody who understood both the law and the community - Mr. Melton was great - the conclusion of our case was really better than we had thought was possible.
Posted by anonymous | July 31, 2011
Injury LiabiliatyCase
I choose Mr. Melton through his web site information. He was excetionally knowledgeable of the laws concerning injury liability. His representation and knowledge resulted in a very positive outcome on my behalf.
Posted by Peter S., Spring Hill, FL | March 23, 2011
The Real Deal
I hired Mr. Melton to handle a Criminal Case where I had three very serious charges. Mr. Melton took the time to listen to what had happened, explained thoroughly what I was facing and told me the worst and best outcome that I would be facing. He kept me informed as to how things were progressing prior to court and in the end, he was able to get my charges dropped and keep me out of jail. Although I never plan on making such a stupid mistake again, I always keep him in mind when I hear of anyone needing a lawyer. He doesn't back down and doesn't just make deals to move onto the next case. He's a fighter and worth every penny.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 23, 2011
Excellent Personal Injury Attorney
I was in an accident and contacted Mr. Melton to help me. He was very knowledgable and kept me informed every step of the way. Anytime I called the office the staff was helpful and all of my questions were answered quickly. My case was resolved faster than i expected and I am very happy with the results.
Posted by Gregg | March 22, 2011
Diligent, Responsive and Fights for you
The whole staff at Whittel & Melton was nice and always ready to help. However, I worked mostly with Jason. He demonstrated that he understood what to expect with our case and better that he cared about what was happening. I was very pleased with the outcome of our case.
Posted by anonymous | March 2, 2009
Straightforward and honest
Mr. Melton represented me in my DUI 10 months ago. From the very beginning, he explained to me what was at stake and eventually was able to get the prosecutor to reduce my charges. He was also able to get my driver's license back while I was waiting for my criminal case to be resolved. I would recommend Mr. Melton because he does not sugar coat things and would respond to my phone calls in a timely manner. His staff is also very nice.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 29, 2008
What you need, fair and hard working!
I had the experience of working with Jason Melton and what I can say is this, he is honest, and will fight hard for you to ensure you are represented in the best possible manner. While I am not willing to go into specifics about my case, I can tell you that you wont regret working with him. If you need a straight shooter, Jason Melton is worth a look.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 15 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Whittel & Melton, LLC
  • 2009 - Present
  • Owner
  • Law Offices of Jason M. Melton, P.A.
  • 2006 - 2012
  • Assistant State Attorney/ Prosecutor
  • State of Florida
  • 2002 - 2005

Education

  • The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2002
  • Southern Methodist University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1996
  • University of San Diego School of Law
  • Italy
  • N/A

Legal Cases

  • State v. MM
  • Withhold on Careless Driving - DUI Dismissed

Associations

  • National Academy of Motorcycle Injury Lawyers
  • Founding Member
  • 2018 - Present
  • United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • 5th Judicial Circuit Professional Panel
  • Attorney Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • American Association for Justice
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • Florida Justice Association
  • Eagle Sponsor
  • 2012 - Present
  • Florida Justice Association
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Citrus-Hernando American Inn of Court
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Florida Bar, Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Section
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Florida Bar, Trial Lawyers Section
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Florida Bar, Criminal Law Section
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Hernando County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • Florida Bar
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Florida Justice Association
  • Eagle Associate
  • 2011 - 2012
  • Florida Justice Association
  • Soaring Eagle
  • 2009 - 2011
  • Hernando County Bar Association
  • President
  • 2007 - 2008
  • Hernando County Bar Association
  • Vice President
  • 2006 - 2007
  • Hernando County Bar Association
  • Treasurer
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2004 - 2008
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • English

Awards

  • Top 20 Biker Injury Lawyer in United States
  • Biker Justice America
  • 2021
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Thomson Reuters
  • 2021
  • Super Lawyer
  • Thomson Reuters
  • 2021
  • High Stakes Litigator
  • America’s Top 100 Attorneys
  • 2020
  • Top 20 Motorcycle Injury Lawyer
  • Biker Justice America
  • 2020
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2020
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • Life Member
  • Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum
  • 2015
  • Life Member
  • Million Dollar Advocates Forum
  • 2015
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2014
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2013
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2012
  • Appointment to Traffic Court Rules Committee
  • Florida Bar
  • 2011
  • Appointment to Traffic Court Rules Committee
  • Florida Bar
  • 2010
  • Top DUI Criminal Law Blogs
  • Criminal Justice Degree Online
  • 2010
  • Appointment to Traffic Court Rules Committee
  • Florida Bar
  • 2009
  • Nominee for Florida State House of Representatives
  • Flroida Democratic Party
  • 2008
  • Endorsed, Florida State House of Representatives
  • St. Petersburg Times
  • 2008
  • Appointment to Traffic Court Rules Committee
  • Florida Bar
  • 2008
  • Appointment as Judge
  • Hernando County Teen Court
  • 2008
  • Appointment to Traffic Court Rules Committee
  • Florida Bar
  • 2007
  • Appointment as Prosecutor
  • State Attorney's Office, 11th Judicial Circuit
  • 2002
  • Deans Award
  • The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
  • 2001
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Hernando County, Florida College Scholarship Awareness
  • 4th Amendment
  • 2007

Attorney endorsements

Received (42)
Given (58)
Personal injury Attorney | Jan 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have had the pleasure of working on several complex injury cases with Jason. He is an aggressive litigator who has an uncanny ability to break down a complicated case and come up with a winning strategy. I highly endorse Jason as he is a true rising star in our profession."
Personal injury Attorney | Nov 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Jason is an outstanding lawyer who has a well deserved reputation among his colleagues and clients. I've had the privilege of working with him on several matters. His professionalism and dedication are unparalleled. I highly recommend him."
Car accident Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jason is an absolute fighter. In my experience if you want someone on your side after an injury in Florida, its Jason and his team at Whittel and Melton."
Unknown Attorney | Dec 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Car accident Attorney | Dec 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He has a sharp legal mind and is a tough advocate."
Personal injury Attorney | Dec 05
Relationship: Other
"Jason and his office are truly passionate about representing their clients. I would endorse him without reservation."
Personal injury Attorney | Dec 05
Relationship: Other
"Jason is an excellent attorney in Florida. I proudly endorse Jason Melton."
Car accident Attorney | Dec 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer"
Car accident Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jason Melton is a hard working attorney who takes the time to get to know his clients and the case files for his clients. With an attention to detail and a steadfast work ethic, Jason Melton gets the job done."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Melton provides impressive legal service to members of the Tampa Bay area, ever ready to assist with their personal injury or general litigation needs. You can depend on him to follow through with legal matters in a timely fashion."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. With a wealth of knowledge and experience, combined with a passion for diligent representation, Mr. Melton is an excellent advocate for his clients."
Personal injury Attorney | Jan 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Jason Melton for several years. He is very knowledgeable in many areas of the law and always open to giving his best advice."
Personal injury Attorney | Jun 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Melton is exactly the type of lawyer I'd want handling my case if I had been injured. He truly cares about his clients, and he is a fearsome advocate when it comes to getting them the help they deserve."
Personal injury Attorney | Oct 11
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jason Melton is an effective litigator and very passionate for his clients."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I highly recommend Jason. Jason is a highly skilled lawyer who truly cares about his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Jason. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Car accident Attorney | Jan 16
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jason is a great person, friend and excellent attorney. I have hired him for my personal cases and trust him immensely. I have worked with him many times in the past. He will do an excellent job."
Car accident Attorney | Nov 22
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"A great lawyer! Knows what he's doing and works hard for his clients."
Personal injury Attorney | Jul 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Jason for many years ans he is an outstanding attorney. I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Jason is a very intelligent and strategic attorney. He is always willing to go the extra mile for his clients and continues to represent them at the highest possible level. His clients have made a great choice in hiring him and any potential client would be lucky to have him on their side."
View more endorsements
Personal injury
Car accident
Car accident
Car accident
Personal injury
Car accident
Medical malpractice
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Personal injury
Car accident
Car accident
Car accident
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Car accident
Car accident