I have never attended a driving class before
Yes, under Florida law if you elect to complete a driver improvement school to keep the points off you still have to pay the ticket at the clerk's office. The fine doesn't go away if you elect traffic school. Contact the clerk of court in the county in which you received the violation for further details.See question
I have never taken a class before
Yes. Just because you elect traffic school doesn't mean you don't have to still pay the ticket. Electing traffic school allows you to get no points, it doesn't remove the requirement of paying the ticket. Contact the clerk of court in the county in which you received the ticket for additional information.See question
this is also my first time arrested in florida. im also in a 6 month rehab as we speak. i only have 3 months left so jail time is out of the question or i get kicked out of the program. would community service be an option. thank u]you
It's possible, depending on your record, that you will be able to obtain a non-jail offer from the state attorney. They may be ok with community service and possibly a class or even a no return to the area in addition to possibly a fine. The fact that you are in rehab may help as a bargaining chip in negotiations.See question
I bumped into a car leaving a parking lot of a bar. However, I continued going and got pulled over and arrested for dui and hit & run. I thought I had passed the field test but then he officer asked me a question in which I couldn't understand b...
Unfortunately, if you lose the formal review hearing you will be required to not drive for 90 days. There is no way around that. To the DMV its black and white, they don't take into account your family, that you have to drive for work, or anything else. During this 90 days of hard time you might want to complete DUI school and any recommended counseling.See question
A few weeks ago a captain of the highway patrol came to my home telling me that I was under arrest for driving on an expired license but i was never stopped driving any vehicle he simply rung my doorbell and said "I saw you driving earlier". Does ...
It's possible, although that isn't usually the way things happen. He now has to come to court and prove that you were the driver. If it was an FHP Captain I highly doubt that he has a video in his car. You should consult an attorney in your area to explore the exact facts of your case.See question
I've been out of the country for more than 5 years, and that charge was in August 2003 and it is still open.
Is the case still pending, meaning the case was never resolved? Or did you plea to the charge and you are on probation but you did not complete all the terms of the probation. Depending on the county that your case is pending(and depending on whether the case is in VOP status) you may be able to hire a lawyer to get the state attorney to stipulate to return the case to the court document. In addition, your license may be suspended and if the warrant is set aside then your license may also be eligible for reinstatement.See question
I must have criminal records in Broward and Dade.
To acquire your criminal records and determine exactly what is in your past order your background at the link below. This is the official Florida Department of Law Enforcement link and NOT a third party. Then if all of your issues are in Broward and Dade then just call the clerk of court in those individual counties. I will attach link to their websites below.See question
That is first name is last name, middle name first name, etc....
Probably...because most convictions transmitted between the clerk and the DHSMV are done by driver license number and not by name.See question
im 19 , and I got caught. The police were called, they took me to jail for like 6 hours, then they said that i have to go to court. I dont know what to do,and what to expect . should I get a lawyer? I cant go to jail ;I'm in college .. I have drea...
First of all you are a first time offender. Manatee county probation department runs a program called pre-trial diversion that you may qualify for and after approximately 6 months your case will get dropped by the state attorney if you complete all the terms and conditions. The $200 you are referring to is a civil penalty that the retailer is entitled to under Florida law. Try to scrape up the money to hire a lawyer.See question
Arrested for a DIU without being read my rights.
Yes an officer can arrest for DUI without reading you Miranda. Miranda applies when you are in custody and being interrogated. So if you were not read Miranda then possibly any answers you gave in response to questioning may be suppressed. However, don't count on the whole case being tossed. Consult with an experienced DUI lawyer quickly.See question