I was arrested for DUI on friday night and I was just wondering what I am facing? And is it worth it for me to try and fight the charges?
That is a tough question to answer. It depends on the facts, the reason for the stop and whether you took a breath test. There are also driver license issues that must be addressed within 10 days of the arrest.See question
Happened in Sept. 2009. I was 19 years old. No one else was involved. License suspended for 1 year. Since graduated Merrimack college with a Biology Degree. Applying to become an officer in the Navy and need this off my record.
Unfortunately Florida law does not permit a sealing or expungement for any charge resulting in an adjudication of guilt. Your only hope is a governor's pardon and that is difficult if not impossible.See question
I live in MI I went to Florida to satisfy a seven yr old DUI charge and arrest warrant after 90 days the case was dropped primarily because the Breathalyzer test given at arrest was found to be faulty and therefor inadmissible in court...
Yes they can and will require you to attend DUI school. If you were found not guilty after trial and you took a breath test then the administrative suspension could be removed from your DHSMV record. In your case it appears they dropped the charge as opposed to being found not guilty after trial. In order to satisfy the administrative suspension it sounds like you are currently under, the DHSMV will require a DUI school or the equivalent in Michigan. They will also make you pay a fee to reinstate your license. For more details call the Clearwater BAR office at 727-507-4405.
First offense. No prior criminal records.
It's possible that the state attorney will consider a reduced charge of reckless driving. I would suggest you consult an experienced DUI lawyer.See question
This is my second DUI, 16 years apart
NO. Under Florida law DUI schools must be in person.See question
On 22 September 2012 I was stopped by a police officer and told that my license had been suspended since May due to a remaining unpaid balance on a ticket I got in April. That ticket in question, I think I sent the payment before the deadline, ...
The penalty can very greatly depending on what court the case is pending with and whether you have ever been charged with this in the past. On a first time DWLS, the max fine is $500, and/or up to 6 months of probation, and/or 60 days in the county jail. Be very careful not to plea to something that might habitualize you or cause you to lose your license for 5 years. Of course a lawyer would review any possible defenses and negotiate on your behalf with the state attorney.See question
I was pulled over about 4 A.M. officer stating i was going 5 mph over speed limit, then he said he smelled alchol he did field test and arrested me, upon getting to the jail I was given a breathalizer in which I blew 0's, they then changed the ch...
First of all I am not sure why your license would be suspended UNLESS you received a companion civil infraction like a speeding ticket at the same time as the DUI arrest. You submitted to a breath test, blew under a .08 and gave a urine sample. Under that scenario the Florida DHSMV would not take any action to suspend your license while your criminal case is pending. I suggest you run your driver's license number on the free DHSMV website and see exactly why your license is suspended. Regarding the criminal case. it sounds like the state attorney is waiting for your urine results. That process can take a little while. You should consult with an experienced DUI lawyer if you are considering hire a DUI lawyer.See question
I just got a dui its is my 3 one in less than 3 yrs one in Kentucky one in Indiana and the most resent in florida. I refused field sobriety test but blew a. 15 in jail
First of all they will probably charge this one as a felony since the other two are convictions from what you are describing. However, it would be interesting to determine if you were represented by counsel on the other two out of state. The law requires a minimum of 30 days in the county jail however, the state attorney will probably be seeking more than the minimum given the fact that all three occurred within a short period of time. There are alternatives to jail if the state considers them, so consulting quickly with a Tampa DUI lawyer is in your best interest sooner rather than later.See question
I got a speeding ticket on 8-25, apparently it was a duplicate citation number, and there was no record of mine at all. Ive been on the phone about it since 9-6, and JUST NOW, they are getting with the original issuing officer to get him to reissu...
I would never have called the clerk and notified them of the error. There is a six month statute of limitations on any civil infraction in Florida. I would suggest you not give them any information off the face of your ticket as you would be helping them prosecute you. The better strategy is to constantly monitor their website and see if anything appears. After 180 days then give them a copy of the citation along with a motion to dismiss. An experienced traffic lawyer can assist you with all of this.See question
I am currently unemployed because evryone does a background check. I am currently in the process of setting up monthly payments for the court costs on this case.
Lots of firms will take payments for this type of work. Many firms will require a down payment then ask that you pay them monthly or every week.See question