Skip to main content
Aaron J. Slavin

Aaron Slavin’s Answers

225 total


  • I was involved in a car accident,Does a Florida Police Officer have the right to go through my purse while I'm sitting in my car

    I was involved in a car accident at 8am,where I am at fault,I rearended a car.Both drivers were taken to the hopsital.The driver who I rear-ended was taken to the hosipalt where she later passed away of a heart attack. The Police Officer at the sc...

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree with the previous attorney. If the police have reason to believe that you were impaired (especially in a traffic fatality case), they can do a "forced" blood draw. Regarding the search of your purse, that is a pretty fact specific question and would depend on what the Officer's motives were. I'm guessing he/she will say that you were incoherent and he/she was only looking for your identification (when he "unexpectedly" came across your medication).

    I am also a former State Prosecutor (in Pinellas County) and former member of their DUI Manslaughter squad. I've handled many of these types of cases and they are extremely emotional and difficult to defend (because someone was ultimately killed).

    I'm attaching a link to my law firm's page on DUI Manslaughter, which is the likely charge that the State Attorney's Office will be investigating.

    http://www.slavinlawfirm.com/lawyer-attorney-1492077.html

    Obviously, this charge needs to be defended aggressively because of the serious consequences (including a "minimum/mandatory" four (4) year prison sentence and a maximum of 15 years in State Prison).

    Should you have any specific questions or would like to discuss this matter in person, please contact my office for a free consultation.

    I wish you the best of luck on what will be a lengthy and stressful case.

    My best,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • Wtf how do i get the news website to take down the article about me + what am I facing

    i am being charged with robbery via sudden snatch with no weapon i need to know the minimum and maximum. i have no prior records and I am 19 yrs old. the stupid news put up an article about me which is not 100% accurate cuz the police are mo...

    Aaron’s Answer

    Robbery by Snatching is a Third Degree Felony, Level 5 offense, which is punishable by up to five (5) years in the Florida State Prison system. As far as the media is concerned, you really don't have any control over what people write or post on the Internet. I'd try not to focus on that and get a good attorney to help you out in this situation.

    There is no "minimum" sentence. Assuming you have no prior criminal record, you may not score "mandatory" prison. That doesn't mean you can't, or won't, go to prison. It just means that the Judge is not "required" to send you to prison. A lot of other factors will decide what the State Attorney's Office and the Judge are looking at in terms of sentencing.

    Because you are under 21 years of age, you may be eligible to be sentenced as a "Youthful Offender," which can help greatly. There's a chance that the Judge might "withhold adjudication," so you don't have a Felony conviction on your record.

    Our Office handles lots of violent crime cases in Pinellas County. I worked for that State Attorney's Office for over five (5) years, so I have a pretty good idea what the Judges and State Attorney's Office will be looking for.

    If you have any case specific questions, please feel free to call my Office and set up a free consultation to discuss your case. Remember, most of these cases do NOT go to Trial, so the people commenting in the newspaper might not have a big effect on the ultimate outcome of your case.

    Good luck.

    My best,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33712
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • I was charged with g/theft dwell/prop $100 to under $30.00 third degree 2nd offence i have 19 .8 points what is the maxium sentc

    i am going to trial what is the maxuim sentence if i loose in court

    Aaron’s Answer

    Grand Theft from a Dwelling is a Third Degree Felony and the maximum penalty is five (5) years in State Prison. However, the previous attorney makes an excellent point regarding your criminal punishment code scoresheet.

    In my experience, with the amount of points that you have, it would be unlikely that a Judge would give you the maximum five (5) year prison sentence; however, you could certainly receive a lengthy county jail sentence or a prison sentence.

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    St. Petersburg, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • I recently got a ticket , but the officer wrote down the wrong statute code on the ticket. If i go to court ,can i get the case?

    I recieved a traffic ticket for not stopping at a traffic light at a intersection. This is in the state of florida so the florida statue is title XXIII Chapter 316. 074 (1) but he wrote on the ticket 316.047(1) instead and also wrote the reason of...

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree. The police officer can amend the citation and it is pretty clear that it was a mistake (as he wrote the description of the offense on the ticket). I wouldn't count on that making a difference.

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • Can I get a felony drug conviction overturned in Florida?

    Possession of prescription drugs without a prescription. I did have an attorney, but he did not inform me that I would loose my drivers license.

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree with Mr. Trabin. Sometimes, you need to be careful what you ask for. If you move to withdraw your plea, the State can ask for a penalty that is harsher than the one you initially received.

    Also, most counties discuss the possible suspension of your driver's license right on their "Change of Plea" or "Rights Advisement" form. If you signed one of those forms, you may be out of luck.

    You may want to consider taking the drug class and speaking with the DHSMV about getting a hardship / business permit.

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • If i have warrent to be arrested in america while i am outside of america and decided to travel to europe do they get me thier?

    if i have warrent to be arrested in america in a crime while i am outside of america and decided to travel to europe do the european police get me thier? ,

    Aaron’s Answer

    In my experience, the warrant would need to be for a pretty serious Felony charge for the United States to extradite. I would be a good idea to have the contact information of the U.S. embassy and/or consulate's office in each of the countries that you visit. It never hurts to be prepared for the worst....

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • 4th DUI hardship reinstatement

    I just completed the Level II DUI class and evaluation and was referred for more treatment, does that mean they don't believe I've been sober almost 7 years now or are they just trying to protect thier occ. license?

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree with the two (2) previous attorneys.

    Anyone with a fourth DUI is ALWAYS going to be referred for treatment. And yes, it is a money maker.

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • How fair are the judges in pinellas county florida

    i got caught sellin cocaine to a kid, bout 12 yrs old... well that is what the charge is however, i was givin it to him for HIS DAD...so the kid was basically the runner however the police aint care im 19, no job(which is why im dealin), in ...

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree with the previous attorneys that this is a bad set of facts. Selling Cocaine is a 2nd Degree Felony (regardless of who you sell it to). The fact that it was sold to a minor (12 year old) will make it more aggravating to the State Attorney's Office and the Judge.

    I prosecuted cases in Pinellas County for six (6) years and some Judges are more lenient than others. However, I think any and all Judges will be troubled by this case.

    You should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can try to mitigate this situation before it spins completely out of control.

    Feel free to contact my Office if you would like to discuss this issue in person.

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • What will happen if I cop for the second time technical

    late for curfew and missed job search appointment.

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree with the first two (2) attorneys. More information is needed to determine what "may" happen to you on this Violation of Probation (VOP). Its unclear whether the underlying (probation) charge was a Misdemeanor or Felony. That would make a difference on what the State will seek as well as what Judge you will go in front of.

    If you'd like to set up a free consultation to discuss this matter in more detail, feel free to contact our Office. We handle a lot of VOP cases in Tampa.

    Good luck,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question 
  • I am on 3 years Felony probation but i recently received a citation for retail theft could my probation officer give me a techni

    technical since it's my first time for retail theft. Some of the stuff was my personal stuff that they said i stole and there was a few other things in my sisters diaper bag that i was carrying but i had no idea was in there. What do you think wil...

    Aaron’s Answer

    I agree that you will need to retain an experienced criminal defense attorney to handle these matters. Even though you were given a citation (usually called a "Notice to Appea" or NTA), the Retail Theft charge is a criminal offense (Misdemeanor), which will violate your Felony probation.

    Assuming your Felony Probation was a Third Degree Felony, your maximum exposure will be five (5) years in the Florida State Prison system. While that is unlikely to occur, you may certainly be looking at jail time on this Violation of Probation.

    An experienced attorney can look at the new Retail Theft charge for any possible defenses that you might have as well as negotiate with the State Attorney's Office for a favorable resolution on your Violation of Probation (VOP) case.

    You should know that it is entirely possible that your Felony Judge may take you into custody for Violating Probation. Sometimes, on a Felony VOP, the Judge will hold you with no bond.

    This should be taken seriously.

    Feel free to call or email with any further questions or to set up a free consultation to discuss this matter.

    My best,

    Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.
    SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC
    4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211
    Clearwater, Florida 33762
    727.474.3785
    1.877.HIRE.SLF
    aaron@slavinlawfirm.com

    See question