Skip to main content

Brian Andrew Kirlew

Criminal defense Attorney at Miami, FL

5.0   30 reviews
  • State Years
    New York - NY 11 years
    Florida - FL 14 years
  • Licensed for 11 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2012
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 14 years
    State FL
    Acquired 2009
    Status
    Member in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Brian

Learn Brian’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%
    The Kirlew Law Firm, PLLC is one of South Florida's premier criminal defense firms. We offer aggressive and effective representation for individuals suspected of, arrested or formally charged with any law violation in State and Federal Courts throughout Florida. The Firm maintains a limited national practice devoted to very serious cases.

  2. Family
    25%
    The Firm also maintains Family Law practice including Divorce, Paternity, Child Custody and related family law issues. Brian Kirlew litigates all of the contested cases that the Firm handles. He is assisted in the preparation of the files by Heidi Kirlew, Esq., who focuses her practice on Family Law, Real Estate & Business Transactions.

  3. White collar crime
    25%
    Whether in State or Federal Court, the Kirlew Law Firm is prepared to represent individuals or businesses under investigation, under arrest or the threat of an indictment in all areas of While Collar Crime, including but not limited to mortgage fraud, RICO, securities fraud, medicare fraud, staged accidents, insurance fraud.

Brian Kirlew began his legal career as an Assistant Public Defender at the Miami-Dade Public Defenders office. He received his law degree from Nova Southeastern University College of Law and his undergraduate degree from the University of Central Florida. During law school, Brian pursued his passion in litigation and criminal defense. He won the prestigious Feinreder Moot Court Competition finishing 1st out of 100+ students. Brian competed on five interscholastic Moot Court and Mock Trial teams in Orlando, New York City, Washington D.C. and San Diego.

 

During his last semester of law school, Brian was a certified legal intern at the Miami-Dade Public Defenders office where he participated in two felony jury trials. Brian was recognized for excellence in the art of courtroom advocacy with the prestigious Order of the Barrister designation at his law school graduation. After law school, Brian became an Assistant Public Defender in Miami and worked in that capacity for six years. The Miami Chapter of the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers recognized his tenacity and dedication by awarding him the Gregg Wenzel Outstanding Young Lawyer in 2012.

 

After leaving the public defender’s office, Brian opened the Kirlew Law Firm where he continues to practice criminal defense in state and federal court, in addition to civil ligitation in state and federal courts. Brian has succesfuly represented hundreds of clients obtan favorable resolutions to their cases. Brian is the incoming President of the Miami Chapter of the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. Brian has previously served as FACDL-Miami’s Young Lawyers Committee Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Vice President. He is also a an executive board member of the Dade County Bar Association and the Statewide Chapter of the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. 

Photos and videos

Location

The Kirlew Law Firm, PLLC
2103 Coral Way
Suite 306
Miami, FL, 33145

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  30 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Jose mogollon | February 7, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing individual with and honest heart always willing to help those in need
He help me with my probation transfer out of state with triumph result's and he still helping while being of state
Posted by Candace | August 31, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Courtroom Powerhouse
I have seen Mr. Kirlew in the courtroom, as he avidly represented those in need of criminal defense. He stood by their side in the most pivotal moments of their life. Mr. Kirlew is an excellent attorney, knows the law thoroughly, and is a force to be reckoned with in the courtroom. I later found myself in need of representation for a divorce and family law issues. Mr. Kirlew stood by my side during my darkest of times. The situation was not easy on me or my child. And he stood by me through thick and thin. Not only would I recommend this attorney wholeheartedly, but I am also grateful for his dedication to his Clients, the law, and his practice.
Read less
Posted by Fidel Guillermo Maceda-Johnson | November 12, 2020
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
My go to for referrals
Mr. Kirlew is a very knowledgeable attorney with lots of trial experience. I have referred him several clients and they are all very happy with his services. I myself consult with him issues involving criminal and family law that could affect my client’s cases. I highly recommend him. He is a true champion for his clients.
Posted by Pete | April 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Legal issue
I'm an accountant plus have a car rental business, i was put in a position with a legal issues which could affected my life and livelihood. had a very good friend who is an lawyer too referred me to The Kirlew Law Firm although for years i had an lawyer that i used for all my legal problem but since my friend the lawyer spoke so highly about Brian & Heidi Kirlew i decided to take a chance with them. I made an appointment with them. I met spoke to Brian Kirlew and was totally impressed how professional he was plus canned i went them to handle my case. Now with that said the best part of course the case was completely dismissed without me ever having to go to court at all. I want to thank them for the wonderful (best) job they did and the hard work that they put into to resolve my case. If anyone ask me for a lawyer is sure will be them....
Read less
Posted by Kimberly Gonzalez | January 15, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing
At The Kirlew Law Firm the staff is extremely positive, and welcoming. When meeting Brian he observed how tense and nervous I was and made me feel comfortable instantly. I trusted in him and guarantee he would do what it takes to defend my case. You are always updated on your case and you are free to call if you have any question regarding the case. I am so glad and wouldn’t have choosen any other attorney to fight and represent my case. The case was dismissed and I owe it to Brian Kirlew who is extremely knowledgeable, talented and experienced in the court room. Pays extreme attention to detail. He is a Great person and understanding. I am forever thankful for Brian and Kateryn.
Read less
Posted by Scott | January 2, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top Criminal Defense Attorney
Brian Kirlew is the best attorney that I have ever dealt with. He is very honest and straightforward from beginning to end. He explained everything to me in great detail and worked hard to get all charges dropped. If you want the best attorney that will deliver the results you want, then Brian Kirlew is right for you!
Posted by Daniel | August 31, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing lawyer
Brian did an amazing job. He was very professional and very attentive to everything I needed and wanted. I am grateful to him for his services.
Posted by Shalom Pahima | October 11, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Brian
I first found the Kirlew law firm. by doing a google search. I needed a legal representative in court. Mr Brian Kirlew was amazing , professional and understanding. He got the job done and made everything as stressfree as possible. I highly recommend The Kirlew law firm to anyone who needs legal representation.
Posted by Juan | September 26, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I was facing life
On January 2016 I was arrested, and i was facing 25 to life. Thanks to the Profecionalisim, knolage and drive to help his clients which are very important to him i got 18 month and 42 months probation. I thank God for having put Mr. Kirlew in my path and life .... Now im home free and happy.. Thanks Mr. Kirlew. GOD BLESS YOU!
Posted by Felipe V | December 27, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer
Brian Kirlew is an expert in the laws, excellent person. He fought for my case from the foundations and with incredible results. Thanks to all of Brian's team for being the best. 100% recommended in criminal defense
Posted by Maria | September 9, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
BEST Attorney !!!!
Brian is the best attorney I ever met. He helped me with my family legal issue that needed to be resolve in a short period of time. Brian took care of my concerns in an expeditiously manner. I really recommend Brian, his service was excellent!! In the future if I need an attorney again, I will not think twice to request Brian's service. Brian is a very professional and intelligent attorney. Thank you.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Man of Honesty and Integrity
I don't know where to begin..... Brian is the 1st lawyer that I have ever had. He is very helpul, reliable, always availble when needed, and knowledgeable. Brian and his staff of great people ensured my family and I that they would see to it that our situation was resolved in a timely manner. Brian kept his word, and delevered! I would recommend Brian to all my family and friends, because his knowledge in his field is outstanding..... for a job well done DONT GO TO COURT WITHOUT Brian Andrew Kirlew ON YOUR SIDE
Read less
Posted by Jorge | May 24, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer in Miami
Brian Andrew Kirlew is an excellent example of what a lawyer is meant to be. on point,with all his services and just a call away of any questions you may need answered. Easy to talk to,down to earth. My Father in law and I were searching for the best we could find . Brian Andrew Kirlew Was very professional as of the moment we contact him ... We spoke of the Issue of my brother in law and he spoke to us with the truth and most of all with respect and understanding. Upon hiring him to represent my Brother in law Brian Andrew Kirlew went into action not a minute wasted. He achived what we thought was impossible the situation was not a good one, but Brian Andrew Kirlew use all his resources and skills to put into action the results of a lawyer who knows what he is doing. My father in law was very pleased with Brian Andrew Kirlew results .very flexible in finace situations and will work with you along the way. In our experience Brian Andrew Kirlew was the lawyer who pulled us through not only with his services but professional matter . He is someone you can count on to push on and complete the task at hand . In conclusion Brian Andrew Kirlew made the impossible, possible Brian Andrew Kirlew easy to contact and will give you results if your looking for a lawyer look no futher. Thank you Brian Andrew Kirlew
Read less
Posted by bryant | May 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
the dragon lawyer
3 open cases with out of state probation and Brian kirlew beat the charges and had my 15 years probation terminated. Thanks to brian kirlew I got my life back... I recommend brian kirlew every chance I get... thanx brian kirlew
Posted by Cora | May 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome Attorney
He is a great lawyer,he kept me informed at all times about my husband case. He did a great job with getting what was needed to make a great outcome for us. I'm so thankful for all the work he done on my husband case. Mr. Kirlew really worked miracles on our case. I Wouldn't ask for anyone else. You will receive the best defense when you choose Brian Kirlew. He is down to earth, understanding and passionate about all his cases. Even though he has many clients he treat us like we were the only one. He answered any questions I had no matter what day or time it was, except family time which is important when u are an attorney and I respect that because he is family oriented. He also treated us like family. I would refer him to anyone that needs an attorney.
Read less
Posted by Karina | March 24, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended. You'll be glad you hired him.
I was fortunate enough to have a close friend who went to law school with Brian and put me in touch when I found myself in a mess. I am someone who likes to make educated, calculated, rational decisions and Brian recognized that from the very beginning. He took the time to thoroughly explain the process, my options and all possible outcomes. It wasn't a situation I would ever want to find myself in, but Brian's support, confidence, professionalism and expertise put me at ease. You want this guy in your corner.
Read less
Posted by Christina | March 7, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce with children
After trying to handle my divorce for over a year on my own, I was getting no where fast and being bullied by my ex-husband's attorney who was making an attempt to clean me out and disrupt my children's lives in an effort to prevent her client from paying child support, while making every effort to leave me with nothing. I was referred to Brian and after my first consultation I knew he was the attorney I needed to hire. An aggressive litigator, knowledgeable on the laws who actually cared for the best interest of me and my children. He took the burden off my shoulders of dealing with the paperwork, filings, and the stress of dealing with the opposing attorney who was trying to make my life miserable. Hiring him was the best decision I could have made because I could now focus on my children and my career, which ultimately provides for my children. He always kept me up to speed on what was going on in the case, never sugar coating anything and always giving the best advice while giving me free will to make the decisions I felt were best for my family. About 8 months after I hired him, I was not only divorced but prevailed in the case. While my ex-husband fought to take everything from me in spite, he ended up with nothing but a delinquent debt from his attorney. The parenting plan and child support order were resolved with the best interest of the children and 6 months later, my children have a stable environment with a set routine and we couldn't be happier. My ex-husband and I have adapted to the parenting plan put in place and have a working relationship thanks to the foundation that Brian set for us.
Read less
Posted by Stephanie | March 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best guy around!
I was referred to Brian by a close family friend. I hired him a little late into my case and even though he was a bit "skeptical" about me he still took on my case. We had a fee bumps along the rode due to myself and Bruan still stood by my side and defended me. He is one patient and understanding man I proudly say. He kept his word and kept me from doing jail time, which was my biggest fear/ concern. I'd be more than comfortable hiring him again in the future, if needed. & I would recommend/ refer him to any of my family or friends. Thanks again Brian!
Read less
Posted by Candace | January 27, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Looking for a Trustworthy Lawyer?
I was in a sticky situation a few semesters before I could apply for graduation from college. Although I have never been arrested prior, I could possibly have served jail time and/or probation. I remember being completely stressed until my aunt recommended Brian to help me with my case because my family refused to put my fate in the hands of a public defender. Since I have met Brian, I have known him to be very helpful, understanding, down to earth, and real! He won't sell you a dream, but he'll do everything in his power for your benefit. I can't thank him enough.
Read less
Posted by Mandell Sundarsingh | January 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Diligent, knowledgeable and responsive.
In my experience with Brian, he is extremely diligent and will treat your case as if it is his only one. He was thorough, responsive, and achieved better than the desired result. I would definitely hire Brian in the future.
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner/Attorney
  • The Kirlew Law Firm, PLLC
  • 2014 - Present
  • Assistant Public Defender
  • Miami Dade Public Defender's Office
  • 2008 - 2014

Education

  • Nova Southeastern University College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2008
  • University of Central Florida
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 2002

Sample of Legal Cases

  • State of Florida v. Seay
  • Negotiated plea.
  • State of Florida v. S.H.
  • Probation with a Withhold of Adjudication
  • State of Florida v. Young
  • Charges were dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Dade County Bar Association
  • General Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • General Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Miami Chapter
  • President
  • 2016 - 2017
  • Dade County Bar Association
  • Board of Directors
  • 2015 - 2017
  • Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (Miami chapter)
  • Executive Board
  • 2013 - 2017
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Greg Wenzel Outstanding Young Lawyer Award
  • Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Miami Chapter
  • 2012

Attorney endorsements

Received (19)
Given (18)
Endorse Brian
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Brian is an excellent defense attorney. He fights for his client and gets amazing results. I wholeheartedly endorse him and would feel comfortable with him handling any criminal matter."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have observed Brian Kirlew's work inside and outside of the courtroom for the past 10 years. You will not find a more knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fearless attorney in Miami. I highly recommend Brian for all of your legal needs."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 16
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Mr. Kirlew and I began our legal careers opposite each other in the courtroom. We have gone against each other in motions and jury trials. He knows what he is doing, he is incredibly passionate in representing his clients, he is personable in front of a jury, and he is straight forward with the court, the prosecutor and his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mr. Kirlew since 2005 in a professional capacity. I respect his work ethic. He is passionate about defending clients going through court matters in Florida."
Litigation Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am happy to enthusiastically endorse Brian for any litigation issue. He will provide excellent representation."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Brian Kirlew since he was the President of the Student Government Association Senate at University of Central Florida. He is a zealous advocate and compassionate human being. I would highly recommend Brian to any family member, friend or colleague who needed help with a criminal, administrative, constitutional or other legal matter."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have had the pleasure of knowing Brian for over 10 years. He is one of the most knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys in the South Florida Area and I fully endorse him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 07
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. If I needed a criminal defense attorney I would hire Brian Kirlew."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer without any reservation. He is an extremely passionate, intelligent, and dedicated advocate. His trial skills are extraordinary and his clients rave about the outcomes that he's able to obtain for them."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"In trouble? When your back is against the wall, and you need a real warrior in your corner, call Brian Kirlew! Experienced, knowledgeable, respected and fearless, he is the man you want in your corner. Look no further, call him now! Bob Pardo"
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Brian is as diligent and dedicated to providing the best possible defense for all his clients. I can vouche for his effectiveness as a fellow lawyer in the community as well as when we had cases against each other when I was a prosecutor. I endorse Brian."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 23
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I worked as an Assistant State Attorney against Mr. Kirlew. He was a zealous advocate for his clients and an excellent trial attorney. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Brian is the advocate of all advocates. He is knowledgeable, diligent, caring, and works hard to get his clients the justice they deserve. He is exactly what a lawyer should be. I would not hesitate to refer him clients because I know that he will stand up for them to no end."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 10
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mr. Kirlew is a skilled and diligent attorney. With a passion for criminal defense, he has spent years in the courtroom fighting for every client, leading to stellar results. I fully endorse this attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 08
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Brian is one of the best criminal defense lawyers and the upmost professional."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Brian. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Unknown Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Personal injury