Skip to main content

John Andrew Morey

Landlord or tenant Attorney at Orlando, FL

4.9   40 reviews

Licensed for 15 years

Free consultation

About John

Learn John’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Landlord or tenant
    40%
    Evictions, eviction defense, tenant lockout, security deposit disputes, 7 day notices, drafting commercial leases, drafting residential leases.

    16 years

  2. Personal injury
    35%
    Car/Auto Accidents and Slip and Falls, Wrongful Death, and Premises Liability.

    16 years

  3. Family
    10%
    Going through a divorce? Need to file for a divorce? We can help!

    16 years

  4. Litigation
    10%
    Being sued? Need to sue? We can help! Let our experience work for you.

    16 years

  5. Estate planning
    5%
    Make sure you are the one that decides what happens to your assets and minor children upon death.

    16 years

EVICTIONS, CAR ACCIDENTS, PERSONAL INJURY, LITIGATION, REAL ESTATE, DIVORCE...WE CAN HELP!

Attorney John Morey is a native of Tampa, Florida. After moving to New York he attended the State University of New York College at Brockport where he earned a Bachelor of Sciences in Psychology. Mr. Morey earned his Juris Doctorate from the Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law where he graduated in the top 25% percentile of his class.

 

Mr. Morey has been dedicated to being a zealous advocate for his clients since the first time he stepped into a courtroom as a certified legal intern for the Seminole County Legal Aid Society, Inc. The experience he gained while working with underprivileged clients has proved to be invaluable throughout his legal career. Mr. Morey’s passion for the law and dedication to his clients is exemplified by his continued work for the Seminole County Legal Aid Society, Inc. as a practicing attorney.

 

Mr. Morey has successfully represented clients in a wide range of legal issues – ranging from civil defense and plaintiffs’ work to divorce and corporate litigation. He is kind and patient with his clients, while tough with their opponents. Mr. Morey takes a commonsense approach to the practice of law in order to resolves his clients’ issues in the most efficient and cost-effective manner possible.

Awards

Client's Choice 2015,2014,2013
Client's Choice
2015 2014 2013

Photos and videos

Licensed for 15 years
State FL
Status Member in Good Standing
Acquired 2007
Updated 11/23/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact John

Morey Law Firm, P.A.

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  40 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2015
Client's Choice
John received a significant number of 4+ stars in 2015
Posted by Susan Constantine | February 9, 2012
The best Lawyer in town!
Dear Orange County Bar Association, Attention: Lawyer Referral Department Re: Recommendation of John Morey P.A. 2/9/2011 I want to thank you for referring John Morey to me in a highly contiguous 16 year post marital dispute. The courts stated that our case was the worst divorce case in Orlando on record. With 21 volumes of motions, orders, and pleadings a resolution appeared dim. Over the years, I hired “I thought” the top attorneys in town such as, Bill Barnett, Diane Holmes, Tonya Plout, and Andrea Black. I paid $350 – $400 hr. (over $150,000 total) without a resolution, which resulted in financial hardship. None of which were successful in understanding the root issues and solving the problem until hiring John Morey. I have been in a proactive litigation with my ex-husband for the past 16 years. My ex-husband is (was) a powerful man, wealthy, controlling, and narcissistic who terrorized and abused my children and myself for 21 years. These types of high powered men love “the game” and the fight. John Morey took the time to listen to me when I called him in tears with ongoing episodes. I was frustrated/stressed, and reaching my limit. John was not only the best attorney I have ever had in 16 years he “GOT IT “done! I finally have seen justice served after all these years and it is because John Morey never gave up, had a plan, executed the plan, and carried it out with excellence. In my eyes, John Morey is my “hero” and I am so thankful you recommended him to me, I got everything and more than I asked for… A success story! Warmest gratitude, Susan Constantine
Read less
Posted by Stephanie | January 4, 2013
BEST MOVE WE MADE
After leaving an nationally known (attorney) firm, due to lack of attention or knowledge on our case, we retained Mr. John Morey. Given short notice, he handled our upcoming court date, with complete success, alleviating our fears. We've never had to leave a message at his firm, the phone is always answered, our emails are always returned, in a very timely manner. He has answered our questions, knows our case and has counseled our fears. We are impressed with Mr Morey's knowledge and the complete attention to our case. We've never had to repeat our case from the beginning each time, as we had in the past with another firm. His personal style has made us feel comfortable and secure, that he is taking care of us and even though we are paying clients, we've never felt like "another case". I would recommend Mr. Morey to my friends and family, and have.
Read less
Posted by Peter | April 28, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Tenant Dispute
Was so glad I retained Mr Morey for my legal advice and hired him as my attorney to represent me . Mr Morey was absolutely awesome in winning my case against a tenant. Would recommend him Highly!!
Posted by L R. | January 13, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Legal Representation.
The Morey Law Firm was recommended to me for legal representation in a matter that looked impossible to overcome. Mr Morey’s knowledge and interpretation of the law, his expertise and his patience is exceptional. His representation in and out of court was admirable. Great communication skills and very transparent. My son and I are both pleased with his services and the exceptional job he has done in our legal battle. Thank you Mr Morey and to your entire staff.
Read less
Posted by Sam | January 12, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce sucks.. BUT JOHN MADE THE PROCESS SMOOTH
I recently had to go through a divorce. It was emotionally taxing and overall miserable. However, I found an amazing law firm that got me through it with minimal emotional stress. The Morey firm explained every part of the process to me, and the team were there every step of the way. I never want to go through a divorce again but will definitely use the Morey law firm for all my legal needs in the future.
Read less
Posted by Janet | November 7, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Morey - Review
Mr. Morey is an intelligent attorney with a professional manner. My lawsuit was a small claims case he filed for me against the defendant, and he won every part of it for me. He fully answered my questions about each step in the process. He knew exactly how to handle the case, and presented the evidence in the best way and at the correct time to have the most impact. In the courtroom he was polite but firm. He was a gentleman, and even helped the opposing party when they had difficulties with the video call and audio on it, so that we could get started. I am very pleased with the services he provided and would use his firm again in the future if there was a need.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Eviction
John Morey handled my case during the Covid Pandemic. It took a long time for a resolution but he won my acrimonious case through perseverance and hard work. I'm very thankful for the result he gave me.
Posted by AC | February 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding and Trustworthy
John and his team is quick with communication and throughly with details about my questions. John resolved the complex real estate matter with my rental property's former property management. I appreciate his professionalism, sound advices and accurate resolution for my case! Highly recommended!
Posted by Karla | November 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Security Deposit Received
I decided to hire an attorney to send a demand letter to my ex LL to return my $1,100 security deposit. I suffered a lot of mental damage during my stay at the property up to recent having to spend money to get my money. Although I didn’t receive my attorney fees, I did receive my entire deposit. John Morey communicated every step of the way and also advised that I shouldn’t create more issues trying to pursue further because most don’t even get that back let alone the fees. At least I did get my security deposit. John Morey was very professional and never treated me like I was a burden even when asking questions I already knew answers to. My nightmare is over and I have Mr. Morey to thank for that. If I ever need future services and his firm is able to represent I will definitely hire him again. 2 thumbs up and I recommend him 1000%.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 8, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Compliments for John Morey
John Morey and his staff handled our motion for garnishment professionally and effectively. He answered our questions quickly and precisely, We are pleased with the outcome.
Posted by Dan | June 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
In Touch, able and a successful Outcome
John and his team are beyond excellent, they represented me in a civil matter and through diligence and excellent research and preparation prevailed. I will use John and his firm anytime I have a legal need and recommend him without hesitation. John was always available and in touch, a real rarity today!
Posted by Arnold Sr. | May 23, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A well oiled war machine think tank. Morey is the new Superman!
My case was tactfully thrown at me with one weeks notice by the other parties evil attorney that only had LIES for their ammo. I am nothing but amazed by his professionalism, integrity and diligence. Each step was explained to me clearly, while the affirmative expectations were always realistic and tackled assertively, he took every one of my phone calls if he was in the office or returned them within 24 hr tops, he answered all my e-mails, he kept me at all times informed. His paralegal was as accessible, friendly and diligent. Legal troubles are unpleasant and stressful, finding a good attorney is not easy, finding a good attorney that keeps you informed is a luxury. You would be in great hands! God bless you for helping my family Mr. Morey! I CERTAINLY recommend Mr. Morey while looking forward to much success! *****
Read less
Posted by Sophie Maingot | August 4, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Exceptional!
It very hard to find people who truly cre these days but John Morey is certainly one of them. I've contacted lawyers in the past with either no response or an experience that cold and uncaring. John was very prompt with getting back to me and really took the time to explore all my options and putting himself in my shoes to help me make the best decision with my eviction case. Something that has been stressing me out for days, but after talking with John I feel much better about my next move and the situation at hand. I would recommend him to anyone in my same situation. I hardly write an online review for anyone but my experience with him was truly one of a kind and deserving.
Read less
Posted by Michael | July 24, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
We've hired a lot of attorneys--John Morey is THE BEST!
We were being sued by a foreigner who tried to extort triple the refund of a custom-made order by attempting to discredit me; who pursued accusations/charges through the Sheriff's Office, which the detective dismissed; who finally resorted to a contingency lawsuit. We hired Mr. John Morey to file a motion and represent us at the hearing. He was OUTSTANDING. He understood our case and made recommendations which saved us potentially thousands of dollars in representation fees. We highly recommend John Morey. He is extremely competent, compassionate, and professional. We definitely will utilize his services again in the near future.
Read less
Posted by Chrishanda | June 23, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Mr. Morey is a great representation of what a lawyer should be!
My mother was going through an illegal eviction and was experiencing harassment from her property manager and their hired attorney. We had 2 days until her court hearing. Mr. Morey was willing to take her case, but didn't want to charge my mom the outrageous retainer because of the short notice. Instead of blowing us off he offered a colleague by name and number along with other possible options. We took his advice and my mother's case was dismissed, no lawyer fees or court fees, as well as her being offered a new apartment. I recommend him for his professionalism and his fairness and honesty. That's rare for a lawyer. Although we did not retain him he wished us luck and was concerned about the outcome for my mom's sake. That's was comforting. If you are looking for someone to take your needs seriously and treat you like you matter Mr. Morey is the lawyer for you! A class act!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 24, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Verified Review Avvo verified that the reviewer consulted or engaged this lawyer
15-minute advice session
Only did 15 minutes but I received a lot of good advice. Pretty amazing how much advise considering it was so short of a time. I highly recommend.
Posted by anonymous | November 3, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Verified Review Avvo verified that the reviewer consulted or engaged this lawyer
Landlord & Tenant advice session
First time using this service by I will highly recommend it to people I know.
Posted by Stacy | May 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Made the process so easy
We had been dealing with a squatter living in a house that was left to myself and 7 relatives. I hired Mr Morey's firm to represent us in an unlawful detainer case to get the person out so the house could be sold. The process was quick and everyone at the firm was easy to talk to. Everything was explained in terms I understood and the squatter was out in such a short time. Highly recommend them.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney and compassionate professional.
John went above and beyond to assist me with my case. I contacted him very late in he process and he was still willing to review and discuss my options. He worked the weekend to get emergency filings completed and truly made me feel like there was a possibility of a favorable outcome.
Posted by anonymous | November 6, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
execellent
normally when you hire an attorney you dont get to speak to them but john was always there to answered any questions I had. Thank you I will hire you in heart beat again. also hes staff was aswome
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 7 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 250-350 per hour
  • Contingency 33%-40%
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Morey Law Firm, P.A.
  • 2008 - Present

Education

  • Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2007
  • State University of New York, College at Brockport
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 2003

Legal Cases

  • In Re the Marriage of SK and IK
  • The trial court's decision was upheld.

Associations

  • Orange County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2022
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2017
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2015
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2015
  • Top 40 Under 40
  • The National Advocates
  • 2015
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2013
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2013
  • Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2012
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2012
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Foreclosure Defense
  • Wrongful Foreclosure - Know your Rights! At the downtown Public Library! Free to ALL!
  • N/A

Attorney endorsements

Received (10)
Given (15)
Endorse John
Foreclosure Attorney | May 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"John is a fantastic attorney. Knowledgable, professional and dedicated. I personally refer cases to him because I know he will give them the best infomation and help. I am very selective who I refer to but I never hesitate to refer to him or his firm. I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Mar 20
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mr. Morey and I have handled several litigation matters together. He has the highest of ethics and diligently advocates for his clients. He has taught and guided me throughout his practice and is a stickler for details! I proudly endorse Mr. Morey!"
Unknown Attorney | Feb 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer A knowledgeable contributor to the AVVO legal community."
Personal injury Attorney | Jan 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am also an attorney in Orlando, Florida and I hired John Morey, Esq. as my personal lawyer for a car accident in which I was involved. Mr. Morey is highly sophisticated in personal injury and civil litigation. Mr. Morey is a walking encyclopedia of information and I HIGHLY recommend his legal services! I trust Mr. Morey completely and refer all of my family and friends to him. He is ABSOLUTELY SUPERB!"
Foreclosure Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Jun 08
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I have had John Morey on the opposite side of a few cases over the years and find him to be a tenacious litigator. He is one of a few attorneys that I refer cases to when there is a conflict that prevents me from taking the case. I think he is an excellent lawyer."
Family Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"John is a very skilled lawyer who is efficient and professional. I highly recommend him."
Family Attorney | Oct 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Sep 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"John Morey is an exemplary litigation attorney in the legal community. He is commmitted and dedicated to the practice of law. His knowledge and experience with litigation battles ensures maximum results for the client. I have referred him clients who have all been very pleased."
Foreclosure Attorney | Sep 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"John Morey has always handled all his cases with a high level of commitment and integrity. His main aim is to achieve the best possible outcome for his clients and he has manged to do so on every matter I have worked with him on. I have no hesitation in recommending him as a lawyer who will obtain results to my clients/"
View more endorsements