Skip to main content
Corey Ira Cohen
Avvo
Pro

Corey Cohen’s Answers

932 total


  • I am charged with fleeing and eluding or attemptign to elude? my PD said i cannot get a withhold for this charge? is that true

    she is sayingi cant get a withhold and that i will have to be a convicted felon, i do not want that. I am looking for a private attorney to fight the case, i wasnt eluding, i didnt even know the guy was behind me, i was under the influence and n...

    Corey’s Answer

    That is true. However the state could amend the charge to something else and you can get a withhold if they are willing to do so.

    See question 
  • What is my best course of action?

    I got pulled over and charged with DWLS in Longwood, I currently have a DUI pending in Brevard, I went to arraignment today and the judge suggested I hire a lawyer. The state offered 30 days jail at the arraignment, I plead not guilty and the judg...

    Corey’s Answer

    Hire an attorney familiar with the judge and the prosecutor and I think there is a good chance of you staying out of jail.

    See question 
  • charged with pretrial release conditions when never bonded or released Florida

    Was incarcerated for domestic violence the victim got word to me to call them so I did they told me they were going down to signed waiver to drop the charges do too they were mad at me at the time I don't understand when my paper says if Bond how ...

    Corey’s Answer

    Even if guy didn't post bond yet it's a violation and a new charge. Sorry.

    See question 
  • Can getting a $10 failure to present license ticket get me thrown out of PTD?

    I am in PTD in Orange county, Florida for a DUI. I am a student and this was my first offense. All of my fees are paid and all I have left is 30 service hours and telephone reporting system once a month until its over in January. I have heard you ...

    Corey’s Answer

    No. It's a civil infraction which is not a violation. But pay the fee and get it dismissed.

    See question 
  • V.O.P Motion For Dismissal.

    Back in 2013 I got my first felony charge I was 22 and got caught stealing from Walmart. I couldn't afford a lawyer and had no idea what I was doing. I took the first deal they threw at me. 1 year probation followed by 100 CS an anti-theft class a...

    Corey’s Answer

    How will they prove you were out of state? Just someone calling the po and saying it is not enough without some other independent proof. They cannot prove a violation with hearsay alone.

    See question 
  • What is the conviction for a 2nd offense petit theft while awaiting pre trial diversion for the 1st offense in Orlando,FL?

    I was caught shoplifting from walmart a 2nd time even though it was a misunderstanding they still charged me because of my first offense 3 months prior.

    Corey’s Answer

    It look bad because of the prior charge. You will kicked out of pre trial diversion and have to deal with both cases. Call a lawyer.

    See question 
  • Why won't the plaintiffs attorney agree to a diversion program or a plea deal?

    Charged with petit theft and state's attorney will not offer a diversion program and waiting to see if a plea deal can be worked out. Already through pretrial conference. What should I be prepared for at the hearing if a deal can't be agreed upon?

    Corey’s Answer

    If this is a first offense then you will work out a deal. If you have a lawyer speak to them about this.

    See question 
  • Is it possible to sue the court or the judge, personally, or both for lost travel expenses?

    I was summoned to appear in court for Violation of Probation in April. Apparently, unknown to me, one of the stipulations of probation was to get a drivers license reinstated. As I explained to the judge at the hearing, I have been unsuccessful wi...

    Corey’s Answer

    No and depending on who the judge is you may be able to hire a lawyer to waive your appearance or properly continue the hearing for after your trip.

    See question 
  • Will I be able to find a lawyer to help me with my daughter's juvenile case? She is currently on probation.

    My daughter is was due to come off probation on her 18 birthday on July 11, 2016. She completed all sanctions ordered by the court. However she has a new charge as of Thursday, March 26th. She was driving her friend's car without a license and...

    Corey’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    It is very possible that we can resolve the vop without more probation. I used to be a prosecutor in Seminole Juvie so I have a little experience. She needs to resolve the new cases as well.

    See question 
  • What can I do? Do I go to court? How can I not speak against this person?

    I had a domestic violence issue on December 27 2016 with the father of my kids. He charges of felony domestic violence and tampering with witness charge. His been In jail since his court date is June 6 and im being served to testify against him. I...

    Corey’s Answer

    First step is telling the prosecutor in the case or his attorney that you want to drop charges and file a declination of prosecution. Go from there and see where that gets you and him.

    See question