i was in a car accident and the person who hit me had no insurance, we went to court and agreed on them paying me 100 a month until they paid the 5,000 balance. they only paid two months and its been 2 years and i have not received any payment. Wh...
Under Florida law (FL Stat 324.022) every vehicle owner or operator has "financial responsibilities" and must maintain a minimum $10,0000 for property damage caused to others. If they fail, their license can be suspended.
The Bureau of Financial Responsibility (http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/frfaqcrash.html) will take action to help you. Here is what they will need from you. 1) Crash Report from a law enforcement agency that investigated the crash. The report must indicate a moving violation charge. 2) Proceed to obtain a final judgment from a Florida court against the at-fault party. Once a final judgment has been rendered and thirty days has expired from the final judgment date, obtain a certified copy from the court and send the certified judgment.
Then, here’s what will happen: If the party had no insurance at all, then the judgment will be immediately enforced and the at-fault party's license, tags, and registrations will be suspended for 20 years or until the judgment is satisfied. The reports and judgment must be sent to: Bureau of Financial Responsibility, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, Room A212, MS 98, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585.
In the unlikely event that you an issue regarding the nature of your final judgment (the restitution component) then give me a call….www.soudlaw.com.See question
I was in a car accident yesterday & The other party was at fault (I was just driving through a green light and he thought he would have time to make a left hand turn but did not and I t-boned his car) My car is totaled. I provided the officer with...
Ok, if you have personal physical injuries as a result of the accident, then hire a local, small to mid size law firm and they will help you with the car damage issues. It is not unusual for injuries to "set in" several days after an accident. If you are not physically hurt then handle it on your own by: 1) call the other person's insurance and ask for a claim to be established (assuming it's not done already) and when claim is established, ask the ADJUSTER to send out an APPRAISER to look at your car. Decline to give a recorded statement. 2) You have the right to fix your car anywhere you want, not their APPROVED repair firms. So when the appraiser is done, be ready to tell them where you want it taken, towed and repaired, all at their expense. I always recommend clients take their damaged cars to the a dealership, since the insurance company is paying for it. 3) Ask for a rental car be established with direct pay from the at-fault insurance company and when you pick up the rental, do not use your debit/atm card for any reason....it's not available.....Hope that helps. God bless.See question