Skip to main content

Douglas Nelson Burnett

Real estate Attorney at Saint Augustine, FL

5.0   34 reviews
Virtual consultation available
Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 25 years
    State FL
    Acquired 1998
    Status
    Member in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Douglas

Learn Douglas’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Construction and development
    25%
    The attorneys at St. Johns Law Group have experience with arbitration, mediation and trial courts related to disputed construction matters, ranging from construction contract disputes, construction defects, non-payment, and lien claims. Our attorneys have extensive experience with Florida’s Construction Lien Law (Chapter 713, Florida Statutes) and the technical rules governing notices to owners, final contractor affidavits, claims of lien and lien foreclosures and disputes.

    26 years, 750 cases

  2. Land use and zoning
    25%
    St. Johns Law Group’s land use attorneys have extensive experience with development and obtaining development rights. Our attorneys regularly help clients with due diligence investigation, contract evaluation, permitting, zoning, and often continue that representation through project completion. When necessary, our attorneys can also litigate (appeals or petitions for certiorari) local government denials of land use applications.

    26 years, 600 cases

  3. Litigation
    25%
    Foreclosures Lien Foreclosure Lien Disputes Bid Contests Defective Work Delay Damages Terminations Contract Disputes Disagreements Covenant Disputes Void Contracts Voidable Contracts Title Disputes Quiet Title Actions Interpleader Actions Lien Foreclosure Lien Disputes Bid Contests Evictions Landlord Tenant Disputes Defective Work Delay Damages Terminations Mediation Arbitration Trial Appeals

    26 years, 2,500 cases

  4. Real estate
    25%
    Mr. Burnett’s practice includes real estate development, real property and construction litigation, land use planning, comprehensive planning and concurrency, development agreements, financing and transactional matters. Mr. Burnett has represented all participants in the real estate development business including landowners, developers, contractors, lenders and brokers. His experience includes management of sensitive and controversial applications for development approval.

    26 years, 1,000 cases

OWNER AND FOUNDER AT ST. AUGUSTINE'S LARGEST LAW FIRM
  • St. Augustine area’s largest law firm with over 200 years of combined lawyer experience. We match clients with attorneys who focus is on the area of law needed for their transaction or case. Our attorneys are licensed professionals who are dedicated to getting the job done.
  • Our attorneys are committed to providing client service with an eye to growing our reputation through customer service.
  • We serve clients throughout the Northeast Florida Region, including Jacksonville, Ponte Vedra, Mandarin, Green Cove Springs, Palatka, and Palm Coast.

  • Doug Burnett is the owner and founder of St. Johns Law Group. Serving as Managing Partner, Mr. Burnett manages the day-to-day operations of the firm and is available to all clients as a resource to support the other attorneys in the firm. Mr. Burnett balances those responsibilities while maintaining an active commercial real estate and complex litigation practice with a focus on land development and subdivisions.
  • Complex real estate matters and commercial litigation. Mr. Burnett practices local government law, including real estate development, as well as real property and construction litigation, homeowners’ association law, land use planning, comprehensive planning and concurrency, development agreements, and financing matters. Mr. Burnett has represented all participants in the real estate industry including homeowners’ associations, landowners, developers, builders, both local and national, contractors, lenders and brokers. His practice includes representation of clients who develop subdivisions, apartment complexes, office buildings, shopping centers and often involves matters such as office space leasing, triple net, NNN, ground leases, physician space sharing and timeshare agreements, contracts, property, construction, business disputes and commercial cases. Mr. Burnett has served as primary attorney on real estate and leasing matters for a major medical company. His experience includes management of sensitive and controversial applications for development approval before planning and zoning agencies, County Commissions and City Councils. Mr. Burnett has successfully handled litigation of complex cases before the Trial and Appellate Courts, as well as contested zoning matters through petitions for writ of certiorari. However, Mr. Burnett believes his greatest value is in helping clients negotiate complex deals, analyze HOA matters, navigate contested litigation and obtain approvals for tough projects.
  • St. Johns Law Group has extensive experience writing title and serving as title agent on real estate transactions. Our attorneys understand that the purchase of real estate is often the largest investment a person will make in his or her lifetime. Our attorneys play a vital role in overseeing all of the important details of your transaction from evaluating the status of the title to pursuing the appropriate legal remedies to clear any title defects. Real estate closings are often a complicated process and we take pride in being available to our clients to walk them through this process and make the closing as pleasant and effortless as possible.

  • St. Johns Law Group closes transactions for clients on residential and commercial purchases and sales, refinancing and related matters at rates competitive with title companies.  We are almost always able to beat quotes you may receive from other title companies. Our attorneys regularly work with brokers and real estate agents from contract through closing to make sure the transaction is efficiently and timely carried out. 

Awards

Gold Client Champion
AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating
Client's Choice 2014,2013
Client's Choice
2014 2013
Top Contributor 2012
Top Contributor
2012

Photos and videos

View more

Location

St. Johns Law Group

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  34 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2014
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Ron | June 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Civil and Property Zoning Disputes
Doug was excellent and very knowledgeable about my issue and case law. He kept me informed and abreast of all relevant developments by him contacting me. Whenever I made a call, he actually picked up the phone. If he was not available for a call, he returned my call within 24 hrs. Communication is absolutely vital and I could not ask for a more knowledgeable and informed attorney in this matter.
Read less
Posted by Carol | June 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend Doug Burnett!
Over my thirty year career, I had much experience working with attorneys. Mr. Burnett was knowledgeable, professional and compassionate. He explained the process very clearly and we had no surprises. He represented our family on a comprehensive land plan issue. I did a lot of research before hiring him and he was always highly recommended.
Read less
Posted by Alex | June 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Founder/Principal
We have hired Doug Burnett on several occasions. Doug has been very successful in matters ranging from land use and zoning to signage and permitting, Doug is an integral part of our team and has helped us achieve our objectives in every case. We often recommend Doug to our friends and associates.
Posted by Samantha | June 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Unparalleled Expertise and Profound Legal Acumen: Douglas Nelson Burnett, an Exceptional Attorney
I am thrilled to share my exceptional experience working with attorney Douglas Nelson Burnett, as his knowledge and expertise have proven unparalleled. From the moment I engaged his services, it became abundantly clear that Mr. Burnett possesses an extraordinary level of legal acumen and a deep understanding of the intricacies of the law. Douglas Nelson Burnett's comprehensive knowledge spans various legal domains, demonstrating his versatility and ability to tackle diverse and complex cases. Whether corporate law, contract disputes, or employment matters, he displayed an extraordinary ability to navigate even the most complex legal situations with utmost proficiency and confidence. His extensive expertise and grasp of legal principles were awe-inspiring. What truly sets Mr. Burnett apart is his unwavering commitment to staying abreast of the latest legal developments. He demonstrates an unwavering dedication to continuous learning and remains at the forefront of his field. This commitment shines through in his interactions and discussions as he showcases a deep understanding of the evolving legal landscape. His ability to apply his up-to-date knowledge to my case consistently impressed me, ensuring that all aspects were thoroughly analyzed and skillfully addressed. Throughout our collaboration, Douglas Nelson Burnett consistently demonstrated outstanding problem-solving skills. He possesses a remarkable ability to identify critical issues and devise innovative solutions. His analytical approach and attention to detail ensured that every aspect of my case was meticulously examined, leaving no stone unturned. Mr. Burnett's strategic advice and insightful guidance were instrumental in achieving a positive outcome for my legal matters. In addition to his exceptional legal expertise, Mr. Burnett's communication skills were exemplary. He effectively conveyed complex legal concepts clearly and concisely, enabling me to grasp the intricacies of my case quickly. His open and transparent communication style fostered a strong sense of trust and confidence. He was always available to address my concerns and promptly answered my questions, illustrating his commitment to client satisfaction. Douglas Nelson Burnett's professionalism and integrity were unwavering throughout our entire engagement. He consistently exhibited the highest ethical standards and genuinely cared for my best interests. His genuine dedication to achieving a favorable client outcome was evident in every interaction. I felt reassured knowing that my case was in the hands of such a reputable and dependable attorney. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly recommend Attorney Douglas Nelson Burnett to anyone seeking exceptional legal representation. His profound knowledge, unmatched expertise, and unwavering commitment to his clients make him an invaluable asset. If you require a highly skilled attorney who will tirelessly advocate for your interests and deliver exceptional results, Douglas Nelson Burnett is undoubtedly the attorney you can trust.
Read less
Posted by robert | January 21, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
law firm
best in town, spot on with trimming and repose in everyway. they were very prompt and attentive
Posted by Kevin | January 18, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding representation!
The St. Johns Law Group handled a personal injury case for a family member. The personal attention and professionalism by Mr. Doug Burnett and Ms. Hillary Mesa brought about a successful resolution. Thank you very much for taking care of this matter.
Posted by Spencer | January 16, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Spencer Harvey
Mr. Burnett and Hillary Mesa helped me greatly with my legal issue. They showed incredible professionalism, responsiveness, and care when dealing with me. I recommend going to St. John’s Law Group for your legal issues, because you will be treated in a great way.
Posted by Dee Brown | September 18, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing
Doug Burnett was a savior. Through the years I’ve retained several attorneys and none of them fought for me the way Doug and the St. John’s law group did. I highly recommend this firm.
Posted by Michael | February 27, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Absolute BEST Construction and Real Estate Attorney in St. Johns County!
During the month of February 2019 our company consulted, and then proceeded to hire, Attorney Douglas Burnett to represent us in a very difficult case related to one of our housing developments in St. Augustine, Florida. Our case involved the release of contractual agreement and services with our Real Estate Brokerage firm who represented us in selling the homes in our development, however, what made this case so unique and difficult was that there were stipulations in the signed contract which were highly damaging and costly to our company. Mr. Burnett laid out a plan for us to follow and to approach the situation. We agreed with Mr. Burnett's strategy and decided to move forward with his suggestions. During the following week, Mr. Burnett engaged in a series of communications with the Attorney who represented the outgoing Brokerage firm. Most of the communications were related to negotiations of several points we requested and contested. Mr. Burnett exerted a great deal of legal pressure on the Attorney representing the outgoing Brokerage point and helped us stand firm in our positions. At the end of the week, the opposing Attorney sent a final communication containing a final settlement agreement in which the outgoing Brokerage firm decided to drop all of their requests and they agreed to all our requests. Within one week of negotiations Mr. Burnett secured a total victory for our company! In all the years of experience that I have had in dealing with builders and developers, and working for them, I have never seen a fast and victorious resolution take place such as this one and in such a swift manner. Mr. Burnett and his staff secured for us an exceptionally great settlement, and at the same time, they did it in an upmost professional manner, as well as the fact that they were very easy to deal with. I am highly impressed with Douglas Burnett and St. Johns Law Group, and I will continue to hire him/them in the future. I will also gladly refer Mr. Burnett to anyone who is in need of his services. Thank you Mr. Burnett!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 26, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Doug Burnett helped our HOA
Mr. Burnett gave our HOA guidance on how to help get a rezoning for a nearby property declined or at least rezoned with conditions. He gave us all of the facts about the proposed rezoning including what we could expect if the straight rezoning occurred. We met with county officials armed with facts.
Posted by Chris Cagle | June 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Representation
Mr Burnett represented myself and my customer, submitting and completing all necessary forms/applications for the variance needed to complete a project. He did a fantastic job and we received our variance to complete the construction project.
Posted by anonymous | June 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Serious, Efficient and Effective
Doug Burnett is a strong leader for his firm and an excellent, highly-competent counsel who will efficiently and effectively get his client's needs met. I had complete confidence in both Doug's recommendations to me during my case and in his ability to move opposing counsel in the direction we desired for the outcome we wished to achieve.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 22, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Administration
He helped on administration issues with state He resolved issues in timely manner.
Posted by John J. Allen | November 21, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
His title is accurate
Doug guided me and my 200,000 square foot commercial project through the labyrinth of rules and regulations imposed by local, regional and State of Florida and national agencies. He is knowledgeable, affable, technically proficient and effective. He is a first class lawyer
Posted by Steven | November 21, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Prompt, professional and knowledgeable
Our issue may have been small in comparison to most others that Mr. Burnett and his law firm were working with at the time. But we were made to feel as though we were the most important and of highest priority. Communication was prompt and professional every time. His knowledge and preparation helped secure a victory for us.
Posted by Clay | October 18, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Trusted Legal
I have referred Doug Burnett and his team of St. Johns Law Group for many years to my real estate clients. One of my most recent client did engage Doug Burnett to represent them in a County PUD application for development of 202 Residential Homes. Doug and his team worked diligently and were successful in gaining County Commissioner Approval for the PUD. Doug and his Staff are very professional and provide a wonderful local resource for many real estate issues.
Read less
Posted by Susan Lester Hartley-Hooper | February 10, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Swift and Effective!
Doug Burnett took action immediately to resolve my case, was well prepared, organized, confident, well spoken and respectful to my needs and concerns, in just a short amount of time. He is well known in our community and I highly recommend his services.
Posted by Gil | January 4, 2015
Excellent and reputable attorney
Mr. Burnett helped us with a case dealing with a latent construction defect. He and his staff were very knowledgable and provided excellent support. Above all, I valued Mr. Burnett's honesty and advice.
Posted by terry | November 28, 2014
Doug Burnett ''Land Use Attorney"
Doug Burnett is currently representing our company providing his legal expertise as we go through the permitting process for several residential and commercial development projects in Saint Johns County Fla. Doug has represented us in the past as well. We consider Doug to be the best lawyer in our area in the area of "Land Use". And we are delighted with every aspect of his representation and will continue to use him in the future and we highly recommend him to the public.
Read less
Posted by Lara | November 21, 2014
Creative and Tenacious Thinker
Doug and I have worked together since 2006. I am an urban planner who lead the NE FL planning practice for Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. when we first started working together. Now, over 9 years have passed and, as we have both become owners of our own firms, we continue to work together on matters that range from land development to expert witness testimony. He has always been extremely passionate about each case, intensely focused on making each one count as if it were the only one. What makes it a pleasure to work with him, aside from his sense of humor and friendship that he maintains, is his ability to see things in different lights and use those differing perspectives to think creatively. This ability has served his clients well, especially in complicated matters where this is a great asset. If you are going to work hard, then do so with those you trust and respect and can enjoy working with while bringing home a success for the client. Doug does this on a regular basis.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.8 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Shareholder
  • Rogers Towers
  • 2001 - 2009
  • Assistant County Attorney
  • Office of the County Attorney
  • 1999 - 2001
  • Assistant State Attorney
  • State Attorney's Office
  • 1998 - 1999

Education

  • Widener University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1998
  • University of North Florida
  • BBA
  • 1994

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Holder v. AUSIT ST. AUGUSTINE, LLC
  • Judgment and Per Curiam Affirmance on Appeal
  • Cintas v. Curb Systems
  • Successfully defended Curb Systems at Arbitration
  • Chase v. Dishmon
  • Foreclosure case dismissed at trial.
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Florida Airports Council
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • Florida Bar, Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Section
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • United States Court for the Middle District of Florida
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • Florida Bar
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • St. Johns County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1996 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1996 - Present
  • Florida Association of Police Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2009 - 2018
  • Salvation Army of St. Augustine
  • Advisory Council Member
  • 2006 - 2015
  • St. Johns County Education Foundation
  • Board Member
  • 2006 - 2011
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse
  • Board Member
  • 2005 - 2013
  • St. Johns County Bar Association
  • President
  • 2003 - 2004
  • Rotary International
  • Member
  • 1998 - 2006
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Florida Legal Elite
  • Florida Trend Magazine
  • 2019
  • Preeminent 5.0 out of 5
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • Top Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2013
  • Featured Attorney Real Estate
  • AVVO
  • 2013
  • Client's Choice Award
  • AVVO
  • 2013
  • Top Contributor
  • The Fund
  • 2013
  • Community Partner
  • Betty Griffin House
  • 2011
  • Selected as Representative of 450th
  • Governor of the State of Florida
  • 2011
  • Heroes
  • American Red Cross
  • 2009
  • Best Attorney/Law Firm in St. Augustine
  • St. Augustine Record
  • 2009
  • Selected City Attorney
  • City of St. Augustine Beach
  • 2009
  • Selected General Counsel
  • St. Augustine Airport Authority
  • 2009
  • Cattle Baron
  • American Cancer Society
  • 2008
  • Certificate of Appreciation
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse
  • 2008
  • Top Gun
  • St. Attorney's Office Seventh Judicial Circuit
  • 1999
View all awards

Publications

  • Public Records and the Sunshine in 2011
  • Local Government Law
  • 2011
  • St. Augustine Record
  • Trial
  • 2001
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Realtor CE
  • Land Use and Zoning
  • 2011
  • Gus Craig Award Dinner
  • David Shoar, Recipient
  • 2008
  • Sieber v. Vilano Oaks
  • Expert Witness on Real Estate
  • 2007
  • Advanced Business Law
  • Advanced Business Law
  • 2001
  • Advanced Business Law
  • Advanced Business Law
  • 2000
  • Advanced Business Law
  • Advanced Business Law
  • 1999
  • Business Law
  • Entity Selection and Formation
  • 1998
  • Business Law
  • Entity Selection and Formation
  • 1997
  • Business Law
  • Entity Selection and Formation
  • 1996
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (10)
Given (44)
Endorse Douglas
Litigation Attorney | Oct 24
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mr. Burnett has in depth knowledge in several practice areas. If you are in need of an attorney in construction development, land use zoning, or civil litigation, Mr. Burnett is the man to call. There are few attorneys who can deliver like Mr. Burnett because Doug Burnett zealously pursues and defends his clients' interests."
Litigation Attorney | Jan 12
Relationship: Supervised lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Nov 20
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Very thorough, very good in terms of knowledge of the law and strategic thinking."
Litigation Attorney | Nov 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is very professional and experienced. I have worked with him in several matters and trust his legal acumen."
Real estate Attorney | Nov 12
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse Doug Burnett. He started with the County and distinguished himself at Rogers Towers before starting his own home grown St. Augustine firm. Doug is very effective before the BOCC and excellent real estate and land use lawyer."
Land use and zoning Attorney | Nov 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Land use and zoning Attorney | Nov 01
Relationship: Co-worker
"Douglas works tirelessly to ensure client success in land use matters and in each area of his practice."
Administrative law Attorney | Oct 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have worked with this attorney over the past 14 years. He continues to represent the St. Augustine airport authority in administrative matters. I have worked with him and against him in the other complex civil and commercial litigation matters. You couldn't hire anyone better."
Land use and zoning Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | May 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Doug Burnett is a tenacious and creative litigator with an amazing ability to apply the law to a specific set of facts."
View more endorsements