Skip to main content

Arturo Corso

Criminal defense Attorney at Gainesville, GA

5.0   46 reviews

also known as The Corso Law Center, The Washington International Law Center

Virtual consultation available
Virtual consultation available
  • State Years
    New York - NY 5 years
    Dist. of Columbia - DC 5 years
    Georgia - GA 27 years
  • Licensed for 5 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2019
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 5 years
    State DC
    Acquired 2018
    Status
    Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 27 years
    State GA
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Active Member in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Arturo

Learn Arturo’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    75%
    Criminal defense has always been my passion and therefore my specialty. Believe it or not, defending your client is as much about relationships as it is about your command of the law. Carefully cultivated relationships with judges, prosecutors and police officers over the years is what I first draw upon to get the best results for my clients -- results that other lawyers without those relationships could never achieve.

    24 years, 3,000 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    10%
    This specialized subset of criminal defense is somewhat unique in its application of suppression law to limit evidence that will slay a defendant in front of a jury simply because of the nature of the layman's preconcieved notions of impairment and the stigma which attaches to anyone accused of driving under the influence.

    24 years, 1,000 cases

  3. Appeals
    5%
    Clients who feel they made the wrong selection of an attorney at the trial phase of their criminal case are coming to this firm more and more for appellate relief. Whether it is a motion for new trial, a direct appeal, or -- the granddaddy of them all -- the Petition for Habeas Corpus, we stand ready to assist the defendant who has been left behind when the wheels of justice grind past them.

    24 years, 50 cases

  4. Business
    5%
    Over the years, clients who have been happy with my work in their one-time exposure to the criminal justice system have come back needing a business lawyer. I have been able to draw on my experience over the years in real estate litigation, construction disputes and contract law to provide our clients with an ally that is as comfortable in a negotiation as we are in front of a jury.

    20 years, 500 cases

  5. Immigration
    5%
    Because there are so many immigration consequences of criminal conduct, my criminal practice necessarily involves navigating the immigration process, be it in avoiding removal or sometimes even hastening an unavoidable deportation such as to minimize incarceration times.

    24 years, 200 cases

A SKILLFUL, WINNING, PASSIONATE DEFENDER OF YOUR RIGHTS.

Call today!

Arturo Corso founded The Corso Law Center with a commitment to serving the immigrant poor among a community long barred from economic and social justice. Priority number one has been access to courts. Since 2001 he has amassed an impressive collection of impossible victories for his clients, and in so doing, has attracted clients from every corner of the State, whether business owners with dozens of employees or the indigent individual.

Fully fluent in English and Spanish, Arturo has concentrated almost exclusively in criminal defense – though he has a wealth of experience in almost every area of law. In 2009 he was selected as a “Rising Star” by Georgia SuperLawyers Magazine, an honor bestowed on only 43 Georgia lawyers under the age of 40. Since 2016 he has been named a Georgia Super Lawyer every year.

Now in demand across the East Coast of the US, as well as in Mexico and South America, Arturo founded The International Law Center and is admitted to practice at the Bar in New York and Washington, D.C. While assisting a diverse and growing clientele in both State and Federal Courts, Arturo and his firm have demonstrated a tremendous commitment to ensuring equal rights and opportunities for citizens and non-citizens alike. That dedication, together with an impressive record of pro bono service, makes Arturo and his firm a proven asset for both client and community.

Awards

AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating
Client's Choice 2022,2017,2013
Client's Choice
2022 2017 2013
Top Contributor 2012
Top Contributor
2012

Photos and videos

Location

The CORSO LAW CENTER, LLC

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  46 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2022
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by anonymous | September 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing!! A true gift to have found Arturo
Arturo is compassionate, proactive, and truly a gift to have found. He has helped me and my family navigate through a tough time and I am blessed to have found him. He is incredibly knowledgeable. I can't say enough about his integrity and skill. He is always onto the next step before it becomes an issue. He has done things for my situation that I don't believe any other lawyer could or would have. I highly recommend him!!!
Read less
Posted by Michael rea | April 19, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent services
The Corso law firm is an excellent choice for a wide variety of situations. Arturo Corse is very friendly, attentive, and professional. He takes the time to keep you update and takes all steps necessary to win the case. 5 star for sure!
Posted by Max | May 3, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you so much!
Arturo was super nice, professional, and had great attention to detail. Glad he could help me with my tricky traffic ticket!
Posted by Betsy | April 30, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent service
Arturo was compassionate, kind, and professional. A divorce case that had been in the courts for over a year was solved within a few weeks with Arturo. I can not thank him enough!!
Posted by Willie Wilson | September 25, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great attorney! The best around!
Words doesn’t do him justice! I don’t what to really say but he is well worth hiring for your needs! Very easy to work with and Rosie ! They done me a wonderful job and got everything dismissed ( some serious charges) he does his job like no attorney I’ve ever used for anything, so with that said , if you need a great attorney that does his job give the a call!!!!!
Read less
Posted by Vivian | November 2, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Clearing of Our Son’s Name
As recent clientele of Arturo Curso, we want to share some of the thank-you letter we wrote to him and convey our highest recommendation of his services. Here is some of our letter: Arturo, we want to give you proper thanks for your work, faith and dedication resulting in the clearing of our son’s name and bringing about the Judicial Declaration of his innocence from false accusations. We are ever grateful to have been guided to you to handle his case; words aren’t insufficient to express our gratitude! It is clear that you have a gift, passion, and dedication to your profession and especially to do right before God and those you are given to represent. Through this experience, we have come to realize the tough job GOOD lawyers have and the difficult positions they are put in. We want to accredit you for being a major part in returning peace to our entire family so that we can all once again move ahead in our lives with peace, joy, hope, and forgiveness. This was a traumatic and very difficult ordeal for our son and family. It was crucial for him to have such a good lawyer and defender to literally save his life!! The work of a good lawyer is far-reaching and far beyond what anyone can see in this life! We take nothing for granted recognizing the hand of God in our daily lives and throughout this case. Because of your faith too, he was able to work through you to free our son! Sincerely and Ever Grateful
Read less
Posted by Kelley | April 5, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
NOT GUILTY on Four Felony Charges
Arturo Corso not only took a professional interest in my criminal case, but he took a personal interest and stood beside me reviewing the facts and evidence and building a strong defense based upon the facts and the truth. Arturo did an outstanding job with his presentations, arguments, and selection of expert witnesses in support of the trial. After a week-long trial and facing Life in Prison, the jury returned a NOT GUILTY verdict on all four felony charges: Rape, Aggravated Sexual Battery, Aggravated Assault, and False Imprisonment. If you are facing criminal charges in the Metro Atlanta Area, look no further, set up an appointment with Arturo Corso, hire him and let him start building your defense now. In closing, Arturo believed in me, believed in the truth, and the truth won, and I get to return to my family and friends to enjoy the rest of my life.
Read less
Posted by Winona | March 5, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best Lawyer Ever
My family and I hired Attorney Corso at the twelfth hour for my son. He was very compassionate, personable, just a superb attorney all around. He treated my son and I with the upmost respect and made us feel very comfortable and kept us in the loop on everything that was going on on my son‘s case. I would recommend him to anyone no matter how little or small I have confidence Attorney Curso can get the job done! It wasn’t even all about the money for him. He genuinely want my son to have the best outcome. And we got just that! Attorney Curso thank you for helping to save my sons life from the system. You will never be forgotten!
Read less
Posted by Cheryl | February 6, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Patience!!
Took a while for this case with the pandemic mess and everything being postponed or closed. Thank gosh, he didn't give up and had patience and confidence and faith even when I seemed to have none. He worked hard, stayed focused and helped me write a letter for the judge to hopefully help my sons case. We are so happy that he worked and worked and got us a deal that we were happy with. I Thank him from the bottom of my heart that he did all this for us. I am grateful and thankful he was our lawyer. The best dressed lawyer I have ever known! I would recommend him to anyone that needs someone that will not back down and get the best outcome possible. Great Job Arturo! Thank you Cheryl
Read less
Posted by Lonny | January 11, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Need a Lawyer Corso Law Center- Arturo Corso, The Best Choice You Can Make
I have several personal experiences with Arturo Corso and the Corso Law Center. The two biggest events in my life to date, would be my divorce and a DUI arrest. Arturo and his team took care of both with great care, compassion and professionalism. In December 2021 I was pulled over for suspicion of DUI. I refused field test and was arrested. I call Arturo an hour after being released and he picked up the phone. He clearly explained how the process typically goes, answered all my question and soothed my personal anxiety as I have never put myself in a position like this before. Thirty days later we have the ALS hearing this was just to determine whether they would or would not suspend my license. Arturo told me what typically happens with DUI cases in Forsyth County Georgia, they are zero-tolerance. He was confident he could keep my license form being suspended and that is what we were there for. After reviewing the video of the arrest, with honesty Arturo told me that the video it did not help me. Arturo spoke with the arresting officer and the county solicitor as I sat in the hallway. I could hear very little. I did hear the solicitor say to the officer, I will support you either way. The officer said I am here ready for the hearing. I heard Arturo ask to address the officer but could not hear what he was saying. Then I hear the Solicitor say, ‘this guy hired the right attorney”. Long story short I do not have a DUI. As we were signing the necessary document Arturo said let’s get these signed and we can talk about the details further outside “because I feel like I just robbed a bank”. Arturo was able to negotiate the whole case at the ALS hearing which doesn’t happen, especially in this county. Making the choice to choose Arturo Corso now, means yes you have made the right choice.
Read less
Posted by Delveccho Waller | November 25, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Heaven sent !!
Mr corso is a man of great spirits and truly a great lawyer he has help me with so much from being a lawyer/friend/even guidance he’s very great at what he does and takes his job serious. He’s and outstanding person he Aims to please and we do everything in his power to help you and treats you like family he’s truly heaven sent god bless him and his family !!
Read less
Posted by ADRIENNE | December 22, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome attorney
Mr. Corso represents our business as well has handling a variety of personal issues. Very satisfied.
Posted by Richard | December 10, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best Choice - Caring, Compassionate, and Devoted Attorney
By recommendation, we employed Mr. Corso's firm for my spouses DUI charge which was further complicated by an immigration case. He wanted an attorney that spoke Spanish, and Mr. Corso and his paralegal are fluent in Spanish, which made the process much easier for him. Mr. Corso's office visited the jail, met my spouse, and explained everything to him. My spouse called the office daily to check the progress of the case and everyone he spoke with was caring and compassionate people. Even the other inmates in the jail said what an excellent attorney Mr. Corso is. His firm went out of the way to help us and they always made us feel like our questions were valid and that we were important to them. There is not a better criminal attorney in Hall County - hopefully I will never need another attorney, but if I do, they will be the only ones that I would allow to handle my case. We appreciate everything that he and Rosie did for us; the law firm is amazing and they are genuinely wonderful and caring people.
Read less
Posted by Stephen | November 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hands down best attorney around
Arturo’s experience is nearly untouched, and his practices are just short of magic. The man truly believes in what he does and he has passion for law. During my case he was very comforting, and he was always available to talk with myself and my family if need be. I wI’ll recommend him to anyone and everyone looking for legal counsel.
Read less
Posted by Mark | October 29, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Intelligence and Compassion: A Winning Combination
I am a professional in the medical field and I have had interaction with many attorneys over the years. Some attorneys were good. Some attorneys were not so good. So, when I needed an attorney of the highest calibre for a family member, I searched hard and long. Mr. Corso's reputation as an excellent barrister convinced me to give him a call. I can now speak from experience and say unequivocally that Mr. Arturo Corso is without peer in his field of expertise. His intelligence and compassion for the defendant goes beyond simple duty to a client. Quite simply put, he becomes Involved! Involved with the case, involved with his client,involved with family. He immerses himself in each case until no nuance escapes his attention. His passion for, and expertise in, the subtleties of the law and how it involves each specific of the case is impressive. In short, I would recommend Arturo Corso, without reservation, as the finest attorney I have ever had the pleasure to know.
Read less
Posted by Mrs. Gonzales | October 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best Attorney- immediate results!
I called Mr. Corso's law firm in hopes that he could alleviate a situation that went from worse to nightmare but instead he resolved the matter without lengthy court sessions or jail time. He was extremely generous with his time from the beginning when I explained the situation until the end. Mr. Corso & his staff provided us with additional support even after the typical business hours. This law firm is professional & compassionate. They are attentive & prompt- like family! I felt relieved once I realized how extremely efficient the law firm was handling the case. Mr. Corso & his staff continuously updated us on anything related to the case. When it comes to hiring the best... Arturo the Attorney -Mr. Corso's Law Firm is highly recommended. They got immediate results on a difficult & complicated case. Thank you.
Read less
Posted by Sallie | October 26, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Experience is Key
I've known and worked with Arturo Corso for over 20 years. He is an exceptional lawyer, and excels in all arenas, including federal law. He has a passion for helping others, and always goes that extra mile for his clients. I would not hesitate to hire him if the need arises.
Posted by anonymous | October 26, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
God sent
Arturo is not just an attorney but a friend (that's how he treated me and my family). He is very knowledgeable about the law and takes the time to explain everything to you, not just tell you what he thinks you should know. I hired him to represent my son and daughter (a few times for my son) and he took his time with us each time. He is a very compassionate person, he's just a nice guy! I am so glad that I found him and recommend him to everyone that inquires about an attorney.
Read less
Posted by Jim | August 29, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent, highly professional experience
Arturo handled two different situations for us involving commercial leases. Because of his expertise, attention to details and passion to find a resolution, in both cases, we were able to find an acceptable solution that resolved our concerns in a manner that was favorable to us and avoided costly litigation. Would recommend Arturo without hesitation.
Read less
Posted by Nikki | July 14, 2015
Reputable, professional and compassionate
Mr. Corso has been an outstanding support and helped me put a very sensitive legal matter successfully behind! Mr. Corso has shown not only excellent legal expertise, but also compassion and understanding, which in my case made a huge difference. He gets things done! That makes a difference, and brings peace of mind!!
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 500-1500 per hour
  • Contingency 33%-50%
  • Pro bono 10 %
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Senior Washington Counsel
  • The International Law Center
  • 2017 - Present
  • Founder
  • The CORSO LAW CENTER, LLC
  • 2013 - Present
  • Principal
  • Arturo Corso, Attorney at Law, A Professional Corporation
  • 2001 - Present
  • Managing Partner
  • Corso, Kennedy & Campbell, LLP
  • 2007 - 2013
  • Assistant District Attorney
  • District Attorney's Office, Northeastern Judicial Circuit
  • 1998 - 2000
  • VISTA Attorney
  • Greater Boston Legal Services
  • 1997 - 1998
View all work experience

Education

  • Georgia State University College of Law
  • J.D.
  • 1996
  • Johannes Kepler University
  • 1996
  • Emory University
  • B.A.
  • 1992

Sample of Legal Cases

  • State vs. Mosby
  • Reversal
  • State vs. Acosta
  • Acquital, of course!
  • State vs. Escando
  • Not Guilty
View all legal cases

Associations

  • E. Wyclif Orr, Jr. American Inn of Court
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Life Member
  • 2006 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Georgia Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2019
  • Georgia Super Lawyer
  • Law & Politics Media
  • 2018
  • Georgia Super Lawyer
  • Law & Politics Media
  • 2017
  • Georgia Super Lawyer
  • Law & Politics Media
  • 2016
  • Georgia's Outstanding Young Lawyers
  • Atlanta Magazine
  • 2009
  • Rising Star, Georgia Super Lawyers
  • Law & Politics Media
  • 2009
View all awards

Publications

  • Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers Listserve
  • Sentencing of Persons Convicted of Driving without a License
  • 2009
  • Harvard Business School Publishing
  • Sexual Harassment Law and Policy
  • 2001

Speaking Engagements

  • GACDL Winter Conference
  • Handling Stress
  • 2019
  • Georgia - Alabama Chapter Conference
  • Pressing Motions to Suppress in Immigration Proceedings
  • 2018
  • Institue of Continuing Legal Education in Georgia
  • International Law and Domestic Relations: Immigration Issues You Must Know When Handling Divorce
  • 2014
  • The Dreamers
  • Ga Immigration Laws
  • 2011
  • Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity Seminar
  • Immigration and Criminal Activity
  • 2011
  • Freedom School
  • Immigrant Education
  • 2011
  • GACDL Spring Conference
  • Economic Consequences of 287G Program
  • 2010
  • Federal Defender Cinco de Mayo Event
  • Immigration Consequences of Criminal Convictions
  • 2010
  • Federal Defender: St. Crispin's Day Seminar
  • Immigration Consequences of Criminal Defense
  • 2008
  • 2006 State Senate Campaign
  • Democratic Candidate for State Senate District 49
  • 2006
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (24)
Given (16)
Endorse Arturo
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"One of the best attorneys in Georgia. The compassion he has for his clients and his tenacity is unmatchable. I have seen his passion first hand when I personally worked with him on cases, and I would trust him to represent me if I ever needed it."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo is a very knowledgeable and tenacious attorney. He doesn't shy from any case or from helping any client or fellow attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Arturo Corso because it's as simple as he gets the job done! He works and fights for his clients and is an amazing advocate in and out of the courtroom!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Talented, meticulous, forceful. Arturo is one of the best lawyers in the state of Georgia. A great lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Fantastic Attorney, Mentor and Friend."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo is a gifted, and dedicated advocate for his clients."
Immigration Attorney | Sep 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo has assisted me several times with tough immigration questions I have come across in my family law practice. He is very knowledge of the immigration laws and a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Arturo Corso for your immigration law needs."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo is a gifted advocate who fights tooth-and-nail for his clients. I have had the pleasure of seeing him fight for his clients in court on numerous occasions and his tenacity is unmatched. I endorse this lawyer without reservation."
Unknown Attorney | May 28
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"Arturo is brilliant, caring, hardworking, zealous - everything you could hope for in an attorney. He fights harder for his clients than anyone I've seen because he truly cares. He is a wonderful professional who is well-respected in the legal community. He has been a wonderful teacher and mentor to me."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Arturo is a terrific attorney, one who zealously represents his clients. He has been a wonderful advocate for his clients in all matters we have referred him. I heartily recommend him for your criminal defense needs."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo is a compassionate, skilled attorney who aggressively defends the rights of his clients, and is not afraid to fight for those rights in court."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 07
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Arturo is an excellent advocate and a very skilled litigator. We represented co-defendants in a case and worked very well together to get our clients the best possible results."
Immigration Attorney | Mar 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"If you have an immigration issue, Arturo is the attorney for you. He knows the ins and outs of immigration law and how to guide a criminal case to completion in order to have a minimal impact on immigration status. Arturo has helped answer questions for me on several occasions, and I don't hesitate to send anyone with immigration issues to hire him!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I've had the pleasure to see Arturo in court on a couple of occasions; he is very aggressive in his defense of clients. Arturo is passionate about his work and strives to be the best that he can be. I would not hesitate to have Arturo represent a friend or family member. I endorse Arturo Corso."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have worked with Arturo on several cases as co-counsel. His aggressive approach to defense work ensures that his clients are receiving the best representation possible. I strongly endorse Mr. Corso."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo is a bulldog of a lawyer devoted to protecting his clients' constitutional rights. His litigation skills are unmatched. If I were ever arrested, I would undoubtedly want Arturo in my corner!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo is honest, brilliant, and a passionate attorney. He is well-respected and considered in the legal community to be one of the best. I highly recommend him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo Corso is the consummate professional. I have seem him argue very difficult cases with skill and finesse. He truly cares about his clients and their cases. He is tenacious and dedicated to case at hand. Attorney Corso is well respected with the lawyers and judges. You are in very good hands when you pick Arturo Corso to be your attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"As a new attorney in town, Arturo has taken every opportunity to welcome me. I have watched Arturo zealously advocate for his clients numerous times in court. Arturo is well respected in the community for his passion for criminal defense and immigration issues."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Arturo has the experience and work ethic to give excellent representation to all of his clients, give well thought out advice, and give honest, if hard, assessments of cases to the people he represents. He takes his clients seriously and gives them the time and attention they deserve.."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Bankruptcy and debt
Criminal defense
Workers compensation
Criminal defense
General practice
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense