Skip to main content

Ellene Welsh

Social Security & Disability Attorney at Douglasville, GA

4.8   16 reviews
Free consultation
Free consultation
  • Licensed for 35 years
    State GA
    Acquired 1988
    Status
    Active Member in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Ellene

Learn Ellene’s areas of practice.

I have lived in Georgia my entire life. I am originally from Columbus, attended Emory University in Atlanta, and Mercer Law School in Macon. I have two fully staffed offices in Douglasville and Columbus, and represent disabled individuals all over the state, as well as Alabama.  I sincerely enjoy the type of law that I practice.  My clients constantly amaze me. I am usually meeting them when they are very ill or injured, and in dire financial straits, yet the persistance and kindness they demonstrate is inspiring. I enjoy hearing the stories of their lives, their families, and the interesting work they were once able to do. I consider myself very lucky to serve them all.

Awards

Silver Client Champion
AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating

Photos and videos

Location

Law Office of Ellene Welsh
6488 Spring Street Suite 203
P.O. Box 1331
Douglasville, GA, 30133-1331
Law Office of Ellene Welsh
945 Broadway
Suite 335B
Columbus, GA, 31901
Hide locations

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  16 customer reviews
5 Star
 
94%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
6%
Posted by WANDA | October 14, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Experience!
She and her staff were very professional, and knowledgeable. They walked me through each and every step of the process. I would very highly recommend this firm.
Posted by Robert | April 22, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Effective
I met with Mrs. Welsh and her staff in Oct 2019 were i was treated with patience and kindness. After we discussed my case she accepted me as a client. Throughout the process i was kept informed her and staff as to next steps and by April 2020 my case was approved. The stress she took off of me and my family i couldn't began to explain. I only wish i would have called her sooner....... Highly Recommended
Read less
Posted by Allen | September 29, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Efficient and Professional
After being denied on my initial application, I decided to hire an attorney. I am so glad I found Ellene. She immediately made me feel better about my case, explained to me the challenges and what information would be needed. Ellene and her excellent staff kept me notified during the process and returned every call and email promptly. I received a fully favorable decision at my hearing and am finally getting the benefits I deserve. I highly recommend Mrs. Welsh!
Read less
Posted by Karen | July 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Patient and professional
Ellene and her fantastic staff helped with the very detailed task of preparing my case to gathering all the information needed from doctors. They kept me informed at all stages. They helped me to feel assured in the process. Excellent team of people.
Posted by Joy | February 3, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best in town
Ellene immediately set me at ease on my first appointment! I came to her for SS disability and was expecting to feel a certain judgment. Ellene not only makes you comfortable, she was also very efficient and knows her stuff! I began to feel as if she were more of a friend that lawyer! On the day of my hearing, she did everything in her power to set me at ease and calm my nerves. She was very prepared and professional as we went before the judge. Bottom line, Ellene got me the benefits that I deserved! She is Awesome!!!
Read less
Posted by Darrell & Denise | June 14, 2015
Very Good Disability Attorney
We are so happy we went with Ellene. After being turned down for disability we contacted her to file an appeal. Her staff reviewed my husband's history and advised us on medical records needed, they were honest and upfront about the time it would take to have a hearing and an answer. He finally has been approved for disabiity and was awarded back to the time his health really started to deteriorate. Ellene and her staff always treated us with respect and met with us a few times to make sure they had a good understanding of his case. They were always available by email and telephone and answered questions promptly. We would both highly recommend Ellene and her very capable staff.
Read less
Posted by Stanley | May 9, 2015
A excellent attorney.
Ellene was my attorney in my disability case,she did a wonderful job, and she is highly recommended.Make sure to have all your medical records. Thank you Ellene for helping me win my case.
Posted by Rashell | March 9, 2015
Social Security disability
I found Ellene 2 yrs ago after filling for disability and getting turned down. the day i walked in her office and started explaining everything i was going through she was willing to take my case.Although she informed me it was going to be a hard case cause of my age,but she never gave up. This February we went in in front of the judge and not only was i awarded my case but was awarded from the bench in which this doesn't happen normally as she explained. I was very pleased with the work and effort she put into my case and i would and have already recommended her to other people who were going through what i was until i found her.She is up front and honest an will tell you how everything will go and what she can and can't do which is another reason i was impressed with her.Thank You Ellene for working so hard for me and my family.
Read less
Posted by Mary Ann | June 17, 2014
Getting my life back with social security
She was great..the struggle was getting my case before the judge. once that happened i got to see just how great she is. she won my case and the judge went back to day of diagnosis at least 33 months. that was a true blessing because we struggled those 33 months to keep our heads above water with the bills. now i have been able to pay off quite a bit and catch up on others,. the weight is off my shoulders thanks to Mrs.Welsh
Read less
Posted by Carolyn King | November 21, 2013
Favorable Case.
My brother and I have been fighting for years for him to receive Social Security Disability and have been unsuccessful through all the other attorneys who has failed to help, until Ellene Welsh (Attorney at Law) took my brother's case and it was very favorable in his case and he is now receiving his Social Security benefits every month. Thank You, Ellene Welsh!
Read less
Posted by Bobby | October 13, 2013
Social Secuity Disability Case
Hellene was great to work with. Very knowledgeable. My nerves were shot for 2 years while we went thru the process. I could not have won without her. I would highly recommend Ellene. Thanks again, now I can sleep at night.
Posted by Courtney | April 12, 2013
Greatful Nurse
Ellene was contacted to help my mother who had been fighting for social security disability since 2006. Ellene accepted the case with only 2 weeks to prepare for the hearing and we walked out victoriously. I highly recommend Ellene for your law needs.
Posted by Anita | April 12, 2013
A very satisfied client !!
Ellene Welsh has been a pleasure to work with; She is very professional, courteous, and transparent. When I presented her with my SSI CASE, it was pending an administrative hearing within in 3 months of me hiring her. Prior to requesting an Administrative Hearing, I was denied by SSI twice. Ellene immediately accepted my case & took all the necessary steps to secure & successfully win my case. I would strongly recommend Ellene Welsh as the lawyer for you !!
Read less
Posted by Chris | January 8, 2013
Great Lawyer
I hired Ellene Welsh and I'm glad I did.She was a great person to deal with and helped me through a tough time.I would recommend her to anyone .She was honest I wouldn't think twice about telling other people to go see her and she got me what I deserved
Posted by Rod S. | August 22, 2012
At The Top of Her Class
Ms Welsh always presented herself with excellent professionalism. On our intitial visit she was very thorough and informative of the process to expect in dealing with the Social Security Administration as well as what would be expected of me, and most importantly, what I could expect from her. Over the course of my claim, Ms Welsh or her staff made a point to check in on me from time to time keeping me advised of any developements or needs. I feel that I was treated as an individual and not another number or file as I would expect from a large firm. The level of personal service received can only be described as exceptional. Ms Welsh and her staff were always conscientious of my physical limitations and pain due to my disability and were accomodating with short waiting periods along with meeting me outside in the parking lot to limit the amount of my discomfort. I feel the Ms Welsh and her staff exceeded my expectation of excellent customer service. I know that if I ever find myself in need of legal counsil, I will be contacting the office of Ms Welsh.
Read less
Posted by Allen | January 30, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Felt like I was not worth her time
I called and made a 4:00pm appointment that was 2 weeks away. The lady on the phone was very pleasant and said I would get a packet in the mail that I needed to fill out that details my issues. The packet was received within 2 days. I am writing this review less than 30 minutes after my appointment because I cannot believe what I just experienced. I got to the appointment 5 minutes early and the Mrs. Welsh's assistant greeted me by name as soon as I walked in. She is very nice and has such a pleasant demeanor about her. I thought to myself that I had made the right decision calling this attorney if her assistant is any indication of the kind of service they provide. I did not wait long and Mrs. Welsh came rushing out of her office, said my name, walked past me to her assistant's office, then returned toward me and asked me into her office. No handshake, barely any eye contact, and an extremely rushed demeanor. I came into her office and she asked me to have a seat and asked if I had my denial letter from Social Security. I handed her the denial letter and the packet that they had mailed me to fill out detailing my information on my past and present medical issues. She glanced at the SSI denial letter and then proceeded to say I was only 44 and my case would be very difficult. I was stunned. She did not even look the information packet that they had sent me in the mail. She asked a few questions about my limitations, which if she had taken the time to read the info packet they sent me, she would have known all my limitations in detail. She then said that another attorney may take my case. I asked her if she was turning down my case and she said that she was. I was dumbfounded. This attorney, who gets a very high rating on Google, just denied taking my case without even reading the packet THAT THEY SENT ME TO FILL OUT!! I will not go into my medical issues but it is safe to say I have had my dr telling me for 3 years I need to go on disability and I have finally deteriorated to the point I cannot even sit for more than 25 minutes at a time without laying down. She handed my papers back to me and said Good Luck and got up to see me out. I told her that if my case was difficult it surprises me she got paid at all. As she rushed me to the door, it became apparent to me why I was treated so unprofessionally by Mrs. Welsh. She closed the door behind me and locked the door. I guess she had somewhere more important to be than to actually take the time to get to know me and my case in more detail before just looking at my age and saying Good Luck. THEY COULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT OVER THE PHONE AND SAVED US BOTH A HUGE HASSLE!!!!!
Read less
Response from Ellene Welsh January 31, 2017
Thank you for the feedback! I'm sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience. As we discussed, I strongly encourage you to consult with other attorneys. Not all lawyers have the same opinion about potential claims. The paperwork you completed for me will be useful if and when you do this, because most attorneys will ask you for the same information. Again, I'm sorry you were dissatisfied with your experience, and my decision to decline your case. I wish you the best of luck in the future.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Ellene Welsh, P.C.
  • 1991 - Present
  • Associate
  • Byars and Associates
  • 1989 - 1991
  • Attorney
  • Superior Court Douglas County
  • 1988 - 1989

Education

  • Mercer Univ-W.George L.S
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1988
  • Emory University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1985

Associations

  • Atlanta Bar Association, Sole Practioner/Small Firm
  • 2011 - Present
  • Lawyers Club of Atlanta
  • 2010 - Present
  • GA Association of Women Lawyers
  • 2009 - Present
  • National Organization of Social Security Claimants Representatives
  • 2004 - Present
  • GA Trial Lawyers Association
  • 1998 - Present
  • Douglas County Bar Association
  • Past President 1993
  • 1991 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Speaking Engagements

  • For Your Eyes Only Workers' Compensation Seminar
  • The Role Of Social Security Disability in Catastrophic Cases
  • 2010

Attorney endorsements

Received (17)
Given (13)
Endorse Ellene
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Sep 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. Welsh, she is an asset to the legal profession and is well respected by her peers and her clients. She has gained an excellent reputation as a top tier advocate and she exemplifies all of the characteristics of a top quality lawyer. I recommend to anyone looking for an attorney who knows the law and truly cares about protecting the rights of clients and achieving the most favorable result possible. I endorse this attorney. –Anthony Munoz, Esq."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Aug 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I've known Ellene for years. She is a very smart lawyer and determined to help her clients. She is a tremendous resource to the legal community and her clients. I would not hesitate to recommend Ellene."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Jan 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ellene is a zealous advocate for her clients. Her tremendous reputation is built on years of dedication and a proven track record. On top of that, she gives each and every client guidance and compassion. I know that when I refer a client to Ellene, the client will be in the best hands possible."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Nov 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Sep 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Ellene Welsh is an excellent attorney. She is hard working, knowledgeable, and of the highest character. I recommend her without reservation."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Sep 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ellene is a great attorney who handles her clients with the utmost compassion and provides zealous representation. I highly recommend her for any Social Security issue one may have."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Sep 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ellene is a consummate professional, and it is obvious that she also sincerely cares about her clients. Ellene fully dedicates her practice to fighting for those with physical and mental disabilities and to helping them with the daunting task of applying and qualifying for Social Security benefits. She is extremely knowledgeable about the Social Security process and how to best avoid the pitfalls inherent to it. If you or a family member need help with a social security matter, I would highly recommend you contact Ellene Welsh."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Jul 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. She is knowledgeable. Very approachable and polite. There is no pretense with her. She gets the job done."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Mar 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top notch Social Security attorney: Well-respected in the Atlanta legal community and known for her commitment to achieving the best results for her clients."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Jan 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Ellene is an excellent attorney who represents her clients well. She has both knowledge and compassion which is essential in helping the injured and disabled. I would wholeheartedly endorse this very experienced attorney."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Aug 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ellene is an experienced and well regarded attorney in her field. She works hard for her clients and gets results. I highly recommend her for representation in disability claims."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Ms. Welsh for several years as a legal colleague and resource within the community. Ms. Welsh is knowledgeable in her practice areas and has readily provided me with feedback and advice when needed. I am impressed by her dedication to providing excellent legal services to her clients, and the empathy she provides to those seeking her assistance. I highly endorse Ms. Welsh as an attorney practicing social security disability law and workers compensation."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I refer all my social security clients to Ellene. Her knowledge and skill in the area is unparalleled, and all of my clients have been thrilled with the help she has given them."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Jul 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Ellene is a very experienced, professional Social Security Disability attorney and I recommend her highly."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | Jun 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | May 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work. Ms. Welsh is very knowledgeable and respected in the area of Social Security. She is always available to answer your questions and concerns."
Social Security & Disability Attorney | May 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work. I have referred numerous clients to Ellene and all have been very satisfied with her work. Ellene has the highest professional standards and is clearly an expert in this area of law. Ellene is also an expert in workers compensation and has handled many, many cases over the last 20 years with the highest quality results. I highly recommend Ellene to potential clients."
View more endorsements
Workers compensation
Workers compensation
Social Security & Disability
Criminal defense
Bankruptcy and debt
Personal injury
Workers compensation
Workers compensation
Social Security & Disability
Workers compensation
Workers compensation
Personal injury
Douglasville Social Security & Disability Lawyer Ellene Welsh
Ellene Welsh
Social Security & Disability Attorney
Douglasville, GA
Licensed for 35 years
Free Consultation