Skip to main content

Troy Paul Hendrick

Criminal defense Attorney at Decatur, GA

4.9   12 reviews
  • Licensed for 20 years
    State GA
    Acquired 2003
    Status
    Active Member in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Troy

Learn Troy’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    25%
    We represent clients with all types of criminal charges stemming from minor traffic tickets to serious violations including violent crimes and drugs. Our specialties include DUI charges, charges with scientific evidence, and other complicated evidentiary cases. With partner Michael Maloof, Jr., a graduate of Georgia Tech, we concentrate on dissecting complex scientific evidence and exposing problems when criminal charges are based on this type of evidence.

    21 years, 5,000 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    25%
    As a former DUI prosecutor, and trainer of DUI prosecutors and officers, Troy Hendrick's experience is invaluable in analyzing all aspect of a case, and setting up viable defenses.

    21 years

  3. Personal injury
    25%

  4. Speeding and traffic ticket
    25%
    For years, we have successfully defended clients in the traffic courts of the state of Georgia. We are more familiar with many of these courts than any law firm in the state, because we have handled more cumulative cases than any law firm in the state. Insurance premiums can be very expensive, and every traffic ticket can have an effect on those premiums. We have been creatively representing our clients to protect their pocketbooks from these expensive collateral effects for years.

    21 years, 5,000 cases

I pride myself on hard work from a creative perspective. Always studying the ever-changing the law, and shaping it to get justice for my clients. I spend my free time with my wife in East Atlanta Village, and we enjoy both road cycling and mountain biking, whitewater paddling, and motorcycling.

Location

Troy Paul Hendrick
215 N. Mcdonough St.
Decatur, GA, 30030
The Law Offices of Troy P. Hendrick, PC
215 N. McDonough St.
Decatur, GA, 30030
Hide locations

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  12 customer reviews
5 Star
 
92%
4 Star
 
8%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Tim Christian | May 21, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Couldn't have asked for better
Used the Account app late Friday, heard from Troy Saturday morning. Troy explained or options and potential outcomes. He and his team did everything promised and was able to get my daughter's ticket completely dropped. Wish I had called him for a previous ticket my wife had a few years back! Definitely recommend.
Posted by Alisha | March 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fantastic lawyer
Troy was a really good lawyer for me. He is as hardworking as he is thorough. He listened to me but gave me great advice and help as well. I would recommend him to anyone looking for help.
Posted by anonymous | July 1, 2015
Yay!
As so far I've had fantastic results from this stand-up gentleman. I was referred by friends and my trust is now higher in then for such a wonderful referral! Thanks Troy!!!!
Posted by Maurice | October 30, 2014
Traffic Case
I want to personally thank Mr. Troy Hendrick for his outstanding legal representation. He represented my daughter in a traffic case and in the end the outcome was better than what we had expected. Thank you so much for the aggressive attitude in which you took on our case. Without a doubt your diligence and knowledge of the law allowed it to work for us and not against us. He proved to us the pride in which he takes in his profession and his no nonsense attitude is certainly one to be emulated by any defense attorney. Thank you so much Mr. Hendrick. Words simply can not express my gratitude. You have truly been a blessing to us.
Read less
Posted by Jake | March 11, 2014
Excellent experience overall, pleasant lawyer and team with positive result
Excellent experience. Responded quickly to the initial request. His staff was helpful in moving information along quickly and always stuck to the schedule. I enjoyed the personalized phone call with the results after the traffic hearing. It sounded like he did some intuitive work to clear two traffic citations and not let one conflict with the other.
Read less
Posted by Juan | September 11, 2013
3 TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS DISMISSED
Words cannot describe the gratitude and the joy of hiring Mr. Troy Hendrick as my attorney to represent me and a friend with 3 violations that seemed unbeatable. I research about 7 to 12 attorneys to represent me and friends for speeding at 87 mph on a 55 mph limit on 75 north in Fulton county after the speeding stop by a state patrol my friend was also given a violation of littering on highway and no seat belt. Other attorneys with many endorsements and references were charging above $1,200.00 to represent us. Mr. Hendricks office gave us a quote at half the price of what other attorneys were quoting to take our case. To make this true story short, Mr. Hendrick got the tickets dismissed!! We were very surprised based on the video evidence and the troopers’ testimony. Mr. Hendricks fought and challenged the evidence, the trooper and the radar device. The Judge and the prosecutor then moved to dismiss the case!! WE WON!!
Read less
Posted by David | August 12, 2013
Would recommend
I used Troy's services recently for a traffic issue. He took my info and basically handled everything for me from there. He knew what to do and when, it was pretty painless for me. I hope to never need this type of service again, but if I do I will be calling him.
Posted by Martin | July 15, 2013
He saved me money.
Troy Hendrick helped me with several traffic citations. It saved me money, and my insurance rates did not go up. I recommended him to several friends.
Posted by anonymous | July 12, 2013
Ms. Smith
Troy was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in dealings with my traffic ticket. He is the best and I would trust him again if needed.
Posted by Arlo | July 12, 2013
Very dependable and attentive to client needs
I had a traffic incident that Troy was able to handle for me. He was very responsive to my initial inquiry, and asked me to provide some minor details and pictures of the intersection where the incident occurred. From there, he went on my behalf to the hearing, and the issue was resolved without having to miss any work or put any significant time into dealing with the issue. He's also helped my wife out with a traffic issue, and we had the same great and professional experience in that case as well. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Troy to any family or friends in need of Defense help. He is certainly a lawyer with character and respect for the law and his clients.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 12, 2013
Excellent Representation
Troy did an excellent job representing me. His office was quick and courteous. I felt like he went "the extra mile" in helping me to achieve the result I was looking for.
Posted by Paul | June 21, 2015
Thank you
I want to take the time out to thank the law firm for there diligents and dedication in handling my case.When my case was complete I still received great service,thank you again.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Contingency 1%-33%
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Founding Partner
  • The Law Offices of Troy P. Hendrick, PC
  • 2009 - Present
  • Partner
  • Hendrick and Maloof
  • 2005 - 2009
  • Prosecuting Attorney
  • Dekalb County
  • 2003 - 2005
  • Travel Writer
  • RoadRunner Motorcycle Cruising and Touring
  • 2001 - 2003
View all work experience

Education

  • Wake Forest University
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2002
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1998

Sample of Legal Cases

  • State of Georgia v. Kevin Lynch
  • District Attorney complied with requested relief
  • Moore v. State No. A06A1556
  • Judge was overruled.
  • Jones v. State No. A05A0859
  • Upheld

Associations

  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • DeKalb Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • President's Commitment to Justice Award
  • Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (GACDL)
  • 2015
  • Rising Star
  • Thomson Reuters
  • 2015
  • Legal Elite
  • Georgia Trend Magazine
  • 2014
  • Rising Star
  • Thomson Reuters
  • 2014
  • Legal Elite
  • Georgia Trend Magazine
  • 2013
  • Legal Elite
  • Georgia Trend Magazine
  • 2012
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Powerpoint in Closing Statements
  • Using technology to enhance closing statement
  • 2007

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (7)
Endorse Troy
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Troy. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Troy is one of the most prepared attorneys in the legal community. I have consistently been impressed with the results he earns for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Troy Hendrick is a natural criminal defense lawyer. His intricate knowledge of the law and personable nature set him apart from most other attorneys. He has this natural way of getting exactly what he wants in the courtroom. I endorse Troy Hendrick"
Criminal defense Attorney | May 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"As a lawyer that often sees Troy in court, I can say with confidence that he is one of the top defense attorneys around. From felony cases to traffic citations, Troy takes every case and every client seriously, and shows up to court prepared and 5 steps ahead of the opposition. Troy not only knows the law up and down, but knows how a client's situation is best handled viewing the big picture. I would not hesitate to send someone Troy's way when they are in a bind."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Troy has the natural instinct of a criminal defense lawyer. He is poised in front of the jury and demonstrates a sincerity that people want to get behind. He's a seriously smart attorney who will out work anyone."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Troy works tirelessly on behalf of his clients. He has the respect of the local bar and judiciary. His clients are lucky to have him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 05
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Troy is a tireless advocate for his clients. He has the tenacity to fight the difficult cases, and the disposition to put his clients at ease while working with opposing counsel for the best possible result. Whether you are facing a tough battle, or seeking a quick, positive resolution, Troy Hendrick is your man."
View more endorsements
Speeding and traffic ticket
Criminal defense
Workers compensation
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense