Skip to main content

Brenda T. Coppede

Child custody Attorney at Asheville, NC

5.0   17 reviews
  • State Years
    North Carolina - NC 13 years
    Montana - MT 16 years
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State NC
    Acquired 2010
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 16 years
    State MT
    Acquired 2007
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Brenda

Learn Brenda’s areas of practice.

Brenda relocated from Bozeman, Montana to Asheville in 2010.  Following her two judicial clerkships, she has been in private family law practice since 2008.  She is a North Carolina Certified Family Financial Mediator and Parenting Coordinator.

Awards

Client's Choice 2015
Client's Choice
2015

Location

The Law Office of Brenda T. Coppede
56 Central Avenue; Suite 203
Asheville, NC, 28801

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  17 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2015
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Scott | February 2, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Couldn’t be happier
Brenda was the best teammate I could’ve hope for in handling a very challenging legal matter. She was efficient, effective and an all around pleasure to work with. She engaged in my problem as if it were her own and delivered an amazing result. I could not be more pleased.
Posted by Tim | December 31, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Ray of Hope
I had a very difficult emotionally and complicated divorce. My Ex was in the wrong, and turned out to be a narcissist. She tried to sink me, my reputation, and my business that I worked incredibly hard for. Despite my life falling apart and becoming self-destructive in the loss of hope I was feeling, Brenda went above and beyond to help me, consult me, comfort me, and was the strong voice that pushed me to persevere. She became a ray of hope and a friend throughout the long process and court proceedings. Brenda is an incredibly bright, strong, professional and forceful woman and lawyer who is also compassionate and down to earth. She helped me win duel custody of my son, my business, and gave me my life back. Three years later, my business has grown dramatically, my son is doing amazing, I have been given back my reputation, and I am very happy and finally at peace. I am forever in debt to Brenda, and grateful to have found such a wonderful person at a time when I truly needed it.
Read less
Posted by Christian | March 28, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding and Gifted Attorney
It is hard to put into words what a wonderful attorney Brenda Coppede is. She has been my attorney since 2014, and has been a guardian angel to me and my family. Her knowledge of legal matters is advanced, her kindness and skill in communicating are always apparent, her poise and stature in the courtroom is powerful, her written work is of the highest standard in excellence, and her ability to critically synthesize information is exceptional. She takes the time to really be there, explaining the important points and has helped me to understand how the legal system works. I owe her, and my family owes her a deep debt of gratitude for the service and commitment of this truly fine attorney and person.
Read less
Posted by Jason | November 4, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A beacon in the storm
Brenda is an excellent lawyer and person; I highly recommend her. From my first meeting to the last time we spoke I found Brenda to be an empathetic consistent highly capable skilled proffesional. Brenda has the knowledge, experience, talent to handle the most challenging cases. My custody case might have been one of her best challenges to date , I don't know, regardless, Brenda won. I have never felt more compelled to right a review for anything or anyone. This is my first review ever. Brenda, great job, hopefully I have proven myself a better witness for you this time around. I rest my case.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 22, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable, kind, and to the point
I hired Brenda after reading her reviews and being underwhelmed with my previous lawyer. She helped navigate with firm kindness the rollercoaster that is my ex. She helped make a high stress situation and a highly manipulative ex much more manageable. We were able to get a signed parenting agreement that was in the best interest of me and my daughter without ever going to court. She had a firm grasp on the law, and a no nonsense approach. Always respectful and very responsive. I would highly recommend Brenda to anyone.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 25, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and kind.
Brenda made a very difficult process as comfortable as possible. She was always professional and kind in every communication. She explained potential options clearly and in a timely manner. She was fair and I always felt as though she had my best interest in mind. I couldn't have asked for a better attorney and would recommend her to anyone without hesitation.
Read less
Posted by Kathryn | April 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hardworking and Honest
Custody suits are always tough, add to the mix that the person seeking custody is not a parent and it becomes even more tricky. Ms. Coppede was honest from the start, never promising anything but was reassuring about what could be expected. Her knowledge and understanding of NC law won our case. My niece and nephew can now lay their heads down at night without fear of what tomorrow may bring. When the other side tells you they can't stand your attorney, well you know you've got a great one. I would trust Brenda to help me with any legal issues I might have. Thank you, I can not express just how our family feels about what you have done for these children. May you find nothing but blessings in your future.
Read less
Posted by Josh | January 26, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Talented, intelligent, and dependable.
I hired Brenda last year based on her ratings on this website and a couple others. Searching for a lawyer is hard, even when you live in the same town as the case. I however live in California. I spoke to several law firms and read countless lawyer reviews before settling confidentiality with Ms. Coppede. Right from the start she was straight up with me. She didn't try to blind me with false hope nor say something and not follow through. Ms. Coppede was everything I had hoped she would be. She's on time, prepared, organized, level headed and I do not believe another lawyer could have produced the results she has. We won, she was excellent in trial, and it was obvious that nearly everyone we encountered in and around the courthouse has respect for her. Even the judge. Brenda Coppede is a great lawyer. You will be in good hands. Oh, and she has a great vocabulary.... Thank you again Brenda!
Read less
Posted by Sylvia | November 11, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Total Life-Saver
Brenda Coppede went way above and beyond to help our family. She was prompt, intelligent, and professional -- and also honest about the potential outcomes of our case. Her assistance was priceless to us and we will never forget it.
Posted by anonymous | August 6, 2015
Seeking Professional and Compassionate Legal Assistance?
Brenda Coppede assisted me during a lengthy and contentious separation and divorce. She provided expert legal advice, exhibited very high standards of professionalism and offered wise counsel as we navigated numerous twists and turns over almost two years of negotiations. Brenda and her staff were also always available when new issues erupted. On one occasion she even came to my workplace and met with my co-workers and volunteers (on a weekend) after they were exposed to personal and private information related to my divorce. I fully recommend the services of Brenda and Siemens Family Law to anyone seeking professional, ethical and compassionate legal advice.
Read less
Posted by Janice | July 29, 2015
Ms.Coppede is an excellent lawyer!
Ms. Coppede's work is professional; her suggestion to have a mediation was right on the mark. I am grateful to her for her positive outlook and professional demeanor.
Posted by Shipley | May 28, 2015
I will never go anywhere else when it comes to my kids!
Brenda by far exceeded all of my expectations. From the day we met she told me what to expect, what to do and NOT do, kept me informed and at ease. She is not just an attorney wanting a paycheck she really cares and does an amazing job in the court room. I will always recommend Ms. Coppede to my friends and family!
Posted by Kim | February 11, 2015
Amazing Lawyer
Brenda Coppede was the blessing I needed when going through my divorce and custody battle. She was always very upfront, honest, professional and responsive. Brenda was always be very honest and forthright in all aspects of the case. She gave a very realistic view filled with multiple options. I was never in the dark about what to expect and I always felt that I was in the best and most competent hands. I have recommended Brenda to many people since my case and they have all ended very well in her capable hands.
Read less
Posted by Brandon | February 3, 2015
Amazing
Brenda helped my son and I with a new parenting agreement. She was very professional and pleasant to deal with. Everything that took place did so exactly when and how Ms. Coppede said it would. My wife and I couldn't be more pleased with Brenda's services. Without a doubt we will continue using Ms. Coppede in the future if in need and will advise others and friends to do the same.
Read less
Posted by Robert | January 28, 2015
YOUTH AND AMBITION
I found Brenda by searching through the Yellow Pages. Being new to the area and not knowing anybody, I had no one to give me a lead on a attorney. I guess it was here profile that first made me contact her. At first I was some what apprehensive , her being so young. That option changed at the first meeting. (I was in good hands). She was there for me mentally as well as looking over my best interest. It took a year to get my divorce, and I got to know her pretty well. Thank You Brenda!!
Read less
Posted by Meredith | November 10, 2014
Amazing lawyer and person!
It has taken me a little while to post my review because I have not been able to find the words to express how amazing Brenda really is. I had a terrible custody case that stretched from North Carolina to Tennessee and has been going on for years. A great friend of mine had used Brenda for her divorce and suggested her highly. As soon as I met her I knew she was the one to help. She is so kind and comforting. I used a different attorney several years ago in this same issue and never once did I ever feel secure or confident walking into court. Many times I would not even get a call until the morning of court. When I realized I was going back into court, I knew I couldn't do it with someone who didn't work harder to make me feel strong going into court. Brenda did that and much more. She even met with us on her day off just to make my daughter, who had never been on the stand feel more confident in front of a judge. I honestly do not think I would have survived this one without her. I highly suggest Brenda for anyone who really needs a great lawyer who cares about the person as well as the case. She is absolutely amazing!
Read less
Posted by Natalia | July 31, 2014
HIGHLY COMPLICATED CHILD CUSTODY ABUSE CASE OF GRANDPARENTS VS BIOLOGICAL MOTHER
Words will never express our gratitude to this fine lady. Throughout our entire case, she is by far the most professional, compassionate and informative lawyer my husband and I have ever encountered. We initiated a custody case in January of 2010 and had hired six previous lawyers in states of NC and GA (including a guardian ad litem) to represent us in a most highly complicated custody and abuse issue. After spending countless thousands of dollars to no avail and much hardship to our entire family for over four years, we were blessed to have Brenda Coppede enter our lives. We were recommended by another lawyer in the NC community to Siemens Law Group when we had almost lost all hope and we can honestly say that if it were not for this firm, we would still fighting for custody today. Siemens Law Group is highly recommended to the utmost. There is much knowledge and expertise in focusing on the client and having the strong desire of ensuring that justice is served. Every lawyer that we had hired, each and everyone said that it could not be done due to a highly complicated case. One of the biggest issues was being grandparents, since it is known that not many grandparents are granted custody of their grandchildren. On top of this, emergency ex partes are not often given in the state of NC. However, Brenda made everything happen, giving us a sense of security, hope, and her kind words of support to lessen our highly stressful situation. Brenda was on the same page as us and knew exactly what steps needed to be taken, and always thought out the procedure way ahead of time to ensure that a positive result would occur. She was extremely trustworthy, and was always on our side never making us hesitant in that we had made the wrong decision in hiring her........she always listened with attentiveness and compassion and would respond quickly whenever there were deep concerns or upcoming issues. She is extremely honest, has great expertise and dedication and strongly believes in what she stands for. We are honored to have had her in our lives. If it were not for Brenda, these two children's lives would have not been saved and it would have been total devastation to our family. This was not just an ordinary custody issue as to which party gets the children from a regular divorce;this is an issue of severe corporal punishment and exposure to pornography. She took all of the appropriate steps and procedures in gathering the important witnesses to support the case. She did everything with such responsibility and grace and we will never forget her for what she has done. She is highly intelligent, dedicated, professional in every sense of the word and is an ICON of what a lawyer should represent. We love you Brenda........everything that has been said is straight from the heart.....
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.3 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • The Law Office of Brenda T. Coppede
  • 2019 - Present
  • Certified Family Financial Mediator
  • North Carolina
  • 2022 - 2022
  • Certified Parenting Coordinator
  • North Carolina
  • 2019 - 2019
  • Attorney
  • Private Practice, Asheville
  • 2010 - 2019
  • Attorney
  • Kasting, Kauffman & Mersen, Bozeman, MT
  • 2008 - 2010
  • Judicial Law Clerk
  • State of Montana
  • 2007 - 2008
  • Judicial Law Clerk
  • State of Delaware
  • 2006 - 2007
View all work experience

Education

  • Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2006
  • North Carolina State University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2002

Associations

  • Consider Haiti
  • Treasurer
  • 2016 - Present
  • North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys
  • 2014 - Present
  • North Carolina Bar Association
  • 2013 - Present
  • North Carolina State Bar
  • 2010 - Present
  • 28th Judicial District Bar
  • 2010 - Present
  • 28th Judicial District Bar, Nominating Committee
  • 2011 - 2012
  • Montana State Bar
  • 2007 - 2010
  • Montana State Bar, Family Law Section
  • 2007 - 2010
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • 2020 Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2020
  • 2019 Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2019
  • 2018 Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2018
  • 2017 Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Eric D. Turner Award
  • American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
  • N/A
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Updating the Family Lawyer's Toolkit
  • Representing the Dependent Spouse
  • 2016

Attorney endorsements

Received (3)
Given (2)
Endorse Brenda
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jan 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have served as the mediator in dozens of cases in which Ms. Coppede has appeared as the attorney for one of the parties. I have found Ms. Coppede to be intelligent, knowledgeable regarding the law, and committed to helping her clients find solutions to their legal problems. She is an excellent family law attorney who genuinely cares about the best interests of her clients."
Family Attorney | Mar 06
Relationship: Supervised lawyer
"Brenda is an exceedingly bright, prepared and competent advocate. She has a rare blend of intellect, wit and people skills that make her a winning lawyer. It is my honor and privilege to work with her."
Family Attorney | Oct 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Asheville Child custody Lawyer Brenda T. Coppede
Brenda T. Coppede
Child custody Attorney
Asheville, NC
Licensed for 16 years