Skip to main content
Dustin R. T. Sullivan
Avvo
Pro

Dustin Sullivan’s Answers

820 total


  • What should i do first and how should i go about doing it ?

    I recently had absconded basically from probation my suspended sentence is 10 days it's a driving with no license charge on top of that I have another ticket for driving . I was going to turn myself in and do the 10 days but I can't find no one to...

    Dustin’s Answer

    As the other attorney has already indicated, absconding is serious. However, if you are facing 10 days, you can turn yourself in. But, your case may not be set until well after those 10 days are up. What that means is you may end up doing more time than you were actually facing which sometimes happens. I would encourage you to hire an attorney and simply tell the attorney what you want to do. It would be worth the price of hiring someone rather than risking spending more time than you need to due to the clerks scheduling your court date after the 10 days you would be serving. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Im on probation for burglary & possion of herion in North Carolina &need 2 move 2 Atl Ga.is this possible sinice Im on probation

    Im on probation in North Carolina for burglary & Passion of Herion and need to move to Atlanta Ga. Can I do this?

    Dustin’s Answer

    Yes you may but only with the consent of your probation officer. Additionally, if you do receive consent, you will have to pay a fee of I believe $200 in order to have your probation transferred. Make sure to follow these steps. If you do not, you will be charged with a probation violation and the recommendation will be revocation due to absconding. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • How long can my son stay in jail in NC before going to trial

    My son was accused of rape at a party January of this year. He has been in County jail since his arrest in January 8 2016. He states he blacked out. His Bail is very high and I cannot get him out! He stated he thinks the girl says she was raped ...

    Dustin’s Answer

    The charge of rape (regardless of the degree) carries a significant amount of prison time. That being said, there must be a felony report given to the State of North Carolina by the detective associated with the case. Once there is a report, the ADA will present to the grand jury. Once the case is indicted, the State is required to present the evidence to the court appointed attorney. However, until the indictment, the State is not required to hand over ANY information related to the case as far as evidence is concerned. That being said, if the case has not yet been indicted, the attorney should be working on a bond reduction. Make sure your son communicates his desire to have a bond hearing before his next court date. Due to the nature of the alleged charge, he has a difficult road ahead. If he continues to be unsatisfied with his attorney's work product, etc., look into hiring a private attorney. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Will I go to jail for a first time offense felony?

    Okay so I got caught after stealing something that cost around $320 and also broke an entering. I am getting an court appointed attorney to help me with the case I'm just so scared of going to jail. I confessed right out of the gate while getting ...

    Dustin’s Answer

    No, it is not likely you will be facing any jail time on this charge. However, that being said, you are certainly eligible to enter into a deferred prosecution which would allow you to have these charges dismissed so long as you comply with the terns and conditions of probation. If you can afford to obtain an attorney, I would certainly recommend you retain an attorney. However, if you must go with a court appointed attorney, make sure you tell him or her that you would like to push for a deferred prosecution. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Will I get drug tested for a reckless driving charge thats been reduced to driving 10mph over if Im on probation for possession?

    In January I was placed on unsupervised probation for possession of under one half ounce of marijuana and possession of paraphernalia. If I stay out of trouble for the duration of my probation, the charge will be dismissed on March 9th, 2017. I re...

    Dustin’s Answer

    Anytime that you walk into a courtroom you risk being drug tested. Technically, the speeding conviction itself can violate the terms and conditions of your deferred prosecution of the drug charges as you were ordered not to violate any laws of the State of North Carolina. I would recommend hiring an attorney to handle these matters so that nothing comes in the way of your dismissal. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Can you stop for any purpose en route home with a limited driving privilege?

    Is it okay to stop to buy groceries on the way home from work with a limited driving privilege? My limited driving privilege with an ignition interlock only allows me to drive for work-related purposes but say if there's a grocery store on the sam...

    Dustin’s Answer

    You must only drive for the purposes that your limited driving privilege allows. However, if you choose to use it for another purposes such as going to the grocery store just be very careful! Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Can I get a cardboard box fingerprinted after the crime happen 2 months ago.

    My boyfriends brother was holding $ for boyfriend & the $ got gone. The brother is accused me of breaking in his house & taking it. I didn't do it, if I'd wanted the money I'd asked boyfriend to get it. I've never been in his house except that da...

    Dustin’s Answer

    First, never request a polygraph. Second, you have not been charged so don't worry about. Third, if, and that is a big if, you were charged, DO NOT SAY ANYTHING except that you want to speak to an attorney. NOTHING ELSE! Looks to be a very weak case if anything were to come forward but I seriously doubt anything comes of this!

    See question 
  • Can I drive for household maintenance with limited driving privilege in NC?

    I just received a limited driving privilege. I was convicted of DWI (level 5) with BAC greater 0.15. In the form that I received, boxes 2 & 3 are checked allowing me to drive for work-related, religious worship or educational purposes at any time ...

    Dustin’s Answer

    As the other attorneys have already indicated, yes you cannot drive for maintenance of household goods under the current law with a .15 or higher limited driving privilege. Be careful on the road! Best of luck.

    See question 
  • Can they still be arrested

    My friend sold their prescription two years ago. If her ex snitches can she still be arrested. This was in one state. She has since moved to another state.

    Dustin’s Answer

    As the other attorney already said, your question provides no details as to what states you are talking about. However, that being said, if this occurred in NC, yes the State could still pursue charges. However, the length of time that has passed would probably be the determining factor in whether the State would want to pursue those charges. My guess is no but you did not provide to us how many pills, what state, etc. Best of luck.

    See question 
  • Will I actually get charged for trespassing if I'm banned from all Belk stores and preceded to go to one?

    When I was 15 I got caught shoplifting in Belk, which then I signed a contract saying I would be banned from all Belk stores in the US for one year. However I don't see how anyone would recognize me if I went to a Belk store in another city. Woul...

    Dustin’s Answer

    If it has been less than one year then simply stay away from Belks. Yes, that means all Belks stores from what you have stated above. Find another store to shop until the contract you signed is satisfied. Why even think about taking that chance?

    See question