Skip to main content

Zachary B Setzer

Estate planning Attorney at Weddington, NC

5.0   30 reviews
Virtual consultation available
Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State NC
    Acquired 2010
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Zachary

Learn Zachary’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Estate planning
    55%
    Basic Estate Planning Includes Wills, Powers of Attorney for Finances and Health Care, Living Wills, Living Trusts. More Complex Planning Involves Business Succession, Estate Tax Planning, Insurance Planning, Planning for Beneficiaries with Special Needs, and Asset Protection.

    13 years

  2. Elder law
    10%

  3. Probate
    10%

  4. Trusts
    10%

    13 years

  5. Wills and living wills
    10%

  6. Business
    5%
    Business Planning

    13 years

BOARD CERTIFIED SPECIALIST IN ESTATE PLANNING AND PROBATE LAW

***To request information about our services or to schedule an appointment, please contact our office directly at the phone number in my profile below rather than through the Avvo messaging platform.***

I strive to provide not only the best legal and planning advice possible, but also the best client experience available.  There are lots of factors that can cause an estate plan to fail.  We make sure yours won't!  And we help pass on more than money by capturing your personal legacy.  Have minor kids? Be sure to ask about our proprietary guardianship planning package: the Kids Protection Plan.

I used to believe that I went to law school a year too late. I needed to take a year after graduating from Chapel Hill to figure out whether I wanted to go to law school or divinity school. Taking that year off meant the difference between having my choice of prestigious jobs at major law firms, as the law school class ahead of me had, versus entering the job market during the height of the worst legal job market in living memory. Despite graduating with honors from one of the best law schools in the country and being a law review editor, I couldn’t get a job with one of those big law firms. I couldn’t even get a job at a smaller law firm. In that one year, law firms had stopped hiring. I thought, “What rotten luck.”

To make a very long story a whole lot shorter, I went out on my own.  I was on a journey to find myself and run a successful business at the same time.  I eventually found my niche in the estate planning field.  I loved that instead of trying to resolve (or worse, perpetuate) conflict, I could help families prevent conflict before it happened.  But being the new guy with no experience, I felt like I had no choice but to be the bare-bones, low budget guy.

As you can imagine, that didnt' make me happy, and worse, it didn't make most of my clients very happy either.  I quickly discovered that I needed to take the opposite approach and offer as much value as possible to my clients by doing things differently from other estate planning attorneys. It changed my life.

First, we never charge an hourly fee. All of our services are offered on a flat fee basis with several flexible payment options. Our fees are always quoted up front so that you will never suffer the shock of an unexpected invoice. This means that you can always feel free to call us with your questions as they arise without fearing the bill that will follow.

Second, we commit to an ongoing relationship with every client. Instead of sending you home with a binder full of documents and never seeing you again, we will give you all the assistance you need to put your plan into effect. Not only that, but we will even call regularly to follow up and make sure that everything gets done right. And if you are uncomfortable doing it yourself, we will do it for you!

But the relationship doesn’t end there. All of our service levels include a free estate plan check-up every three years so that we can ensure that your plan keeps up with your changing life. You can also sign up for one of our membership plans to take advantage of our many enhanced services, including annual estate plan check-ups, unlimited plan revisions, 24/7 online access to copies of your estate planning documents, and even comprehensive planning meetings with your other trusted advisors to ensure that all aspects of your financial and life planning are in sync.

Third, we help you ensure that your kids will never end up in the custody of someone you would never choose in the event you are killed or hospitalized. Nearly all lawyers will give you a guardianship provision in your will and stop there. That’s just not enough. A guardianship provision in a will does nothing until your will is probated and a legal guardianship proceeding is completed. This can take weeks or even months! And a guardianship provision in your will does absolutely nothing if you are hospitalized or otherwise incapacitated. Our comprehensive Kids Protection Plans ensure that your kids are cared for by someone you trust at all times and in all circumstances.

Finally, we help you preserve and pass on the aspects of your legacy that traditional estate planning ignores—the human aspects. I learned the importance of preserving a personal legacy first-hand. In August of 2010, my grandfather (we called him PawPaw), gave me a birthday check for $100. When I went to cash it, I noticed he had accidentally dated the check “20010”. Realizing I would probably not live to see the year 20010, I kept the check in my wallet, meaning to have him write a new check with the right date. But soon after my birthday he started getting sick. Prostate cancer took him away from us on All Saints Day, November 1.

He didn’t leave much behind. My family has cherished every random bit of paper we could find that had his handwriting on it. I still carry that birthday check in my wallet to remind me of my PawPaw.

There is so much we could have done to preserve more of his personal legacy—his stories, his values, his religious convictions, and even the sound of his voice. Instead, all we have are fading memories. Through our process, you will leave your family a lasting record of who you are as a person and the things that are important to you in life. Believe me when I say that they will be so thankful you did.

I hope you can tell how excited I am about all of the new and different ways we have found to serve our clients! I began this story by saying that I used to think I had rotten luck because of the way that extra year between college and law school changed my career path. I couldn’t have been more wrong! I realize now that it was one of the greatest blessings of my life. If I had ended up working at a big law firm, I would never have ended up where I am today, offering what I honestly believe is the best, most comprehensive estate planning service for families in the Charlotte area. If you have a busy life, love your kids, and want to make sure they will be taken care of no matter what happens, give us a call to request a free information packet that will tell you all about our unique approach to family estate planning.

Awards

Client's Choice 2024,2023,2015
Client's Choice
2024 2023 2015

Photos and videos

Location

Providence Wills and Trusts

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  30 customer reviews
5 Star
 
97%
4 Star
 
3%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2024
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Michael | October 1, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Just What We Needed - Twice!
My wife and I were initially referred to Mr. Setzer for a very specific type of trust, as he is one of the few NC experts that could handle our narrow need. We were very impressed with his knowledge in that area and were quite thankful for his patience for that arcane trust setup. So we were happy with the outcome. We are a nearing-retirement Baby-Boom couple already quite conversant in financial matters (CPA/MBA types) so we have rather high expectations for anyone who provides advice relating to money, inheritances, and taxes. We already had many of the normal legal/family/health/estate documents, but feared they were out of date or ran counter to our current wishes. Additionally, we had experienced the loss of a family member who had young children but no will and another family member who was declining from dementia. We had seen the legal and financial difficulties these situations created and were determined to avoid them. Because of that first assignment, we contacted Mr. Setzer again a month after completing that initial service. This time, we asked for his advice and recommendations for our then-current financial situation. Mr. Setzer listened carefully to our specific concerns and probed for other required information. The result was that he provided us an integrated package of documents that handles our needs as older parents of grown children, covering everything from healthcare Powers of Attorney to several trusts that reflect our peculiar requests and goals. What we want to compliment Mr. Setzer on is that combination of listening carefully, taking the time and effort to provide exactly what we requested, and making sure the result as a whole was complete and integrated. And, as with the first assignment, we very much appreciated the time and patience he provided to resolve our numerous questions. By comparison, we know of many people who have gone for cookie-cutter legal documents with minimal Q&A help, and that may work for some people. But in our case, we had specific concerns, fears, and goals that could not be handled with copy and paste forms. Our feeling is that if you are going to have legal documents to control your retirement, declining health, and ultimate demise, then you should have ones that do exactly what you want them to rather than a generic one-size-fits-all outcome. And that comfort-of-fit, along with flexibility and completeness, is what Mr. Setzer provided us. Having gone through this process with him, we now have a great sense of relief looking forward. The contingencies of failing mental or physical health, disability, retirement, and death are all securely addressed. Future family problems, changing tax laws, and other things that could derail an ordinary plan have been incorporated. We don't have to worry about burdening our children with decisions they may not want to deal with or may not be prepared for. We highly recommend Mr. Setzer and his office staff for the reasons above. He is our go-to attorney even though we live 40 miles away!
Read less
Posted by Virginia | September 29, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Endorsing my Attorney
My family has used Zachary Setzer's services for two different matters, Estate Planning and formation of two Trusts. With each of these Mr. Setzer was very thorough and explained anything that was confusing. He prepared Health Care Power of Attorney, Power of Attorney, Wills and Trusts for me and my husband. When the documents were ready we brought our three sons aged 19 to 24 with us for signing. As Mr. Setzer went through the documents he explained them to our sons. The boys all understand what my husband's and my end-of-life desires/choices are and they are comfortable with that knowledge.
Read less
Posted by Laurann | May 26, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mrs.
Our experience with all the staff was very good. We had a lot to learn about setting up our Trust and the process went smoothly. We feel secure that our assets will be protected in the future.
Posted by Sue | April 30, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
Mr. Setzer and his associates were efficient and my needs were addressed. He is truly competent and extremely knowledgeable! I can rest easy now that I have confidence that all my concerns were solved.
Posted by Derry | March 15, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
My experience
Very professional, office very good, if there was a hold up it was me. So far very happy.
Posted by Marysue | February 14, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review
I contacted Providence Will and Trust to have my Will drawn up! My attorney, Darius Jenkins, AND all the staff were professional, kind, knowledgeable and caring! I can't even find all the words to express my gratitude for each and everyone involved! I highly recommend them. As a matter of fact, my daughter-in-law was with me, and before we left the signing, she texted a friend with all of there information. The friend and her Mom are planning on calling for an appointment!
Read less
Posted by William | February 12, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very easy & helpful with Trust formation
My wife & I received a through & insightful explanation of the benefits & costs involved in setting up a Trust so that our kids don’t have to go through the trouble & expense of probate. We’re very pleased, while not overly wealthy this saves time & money for our loved ones.
Posted by Diane | November 21, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
My husband and were recommended to Providence Will and Trust for our estate planning. Richard Fox was great, answering all of our questions and explaining everything in an understandable manner. We highly recommend this firm.
Posted by Scott | November 15, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Rating
Thanks for the professional help with completing a Trust. Would recommend to others.
Posted by Lorraine H. | October 1, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Makes the process easy
Zachary and his staff made the process of creating a Will & Trust easier than I thought it would be. They were patient and kind and willing to help every step of the way. In fact, I have handed their business card out to my neighbors who are looking for an estate planning attorney as well.
Posted by David | July 22, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Renfro Will & Trust
My wife and I met with Richard Fox. Richard was tremendous. He throughly explained in detail all aspects of our Will & Trust. He was really patient with us as we had several questions. Additionally we met with Sarah who explained the remaining parts of our trust. Both were very professional.
Posted by Paul | July 12, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Good job
Zachary did a wonderful job explaining the program and working with us in a personal manner to ensure everything was completed per our request . Staff were friendly and professional. Sarah did. It give me the correct location of where to file the deed at the courthouse but I eventually found it.
Posted by anonymous | June 1, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great service
Excellent service. One all inclusive price. They made a scary task easy. Friendly service.
Posted by Joe | May 22, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wills
Very nice & helpful& professional. They were very courteous & patient. I would highly recommend them go for any and all of your legal needs.
Posted by David | March 10, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Detail oriented Professional
Very thorough, Very detailed, Very pleased jowefh[iuerjiocju21hir=ru23irpujh2fu[nobefrgwiughoegriuhgeuqprihgruhgueorgherhuuhrugrwquhgqhurquhorgohuhurgwhouqwrpuwghorguhrghourghur
Posted by Cynthia | November 12, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Superior Service
The entire process was easy, convenient, and thorough. I would recommend this firm to all. Now I have all in place for hassle free for my famil.y. Many thanks!
Posted by Joan | November 10, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Good Experience
Zach and his staff were very professional and thorough. He did a great job of explaining all the options to consider and answsering our many questions. Highly recommend him and his team for estate planning.
Posted by George | December 23, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Appreciate the time and service provided
I had four legal documents prepred and updated regarding personal final circumstances. There was no pressure to end discussions regarding my personal circumstances. Sufficient time was provided in all matters. Questions were well addressed in my circumstances. If additional quesions were to arise after my final appointment, the office indicated I would just need to call to make a telephone appointment. I was satisfied with Mr. Setzer's service and I would use his services again.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 28, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you
Zach was fantastic through the entire process of setting up our living trust. Very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions.
Posted by Nancy | March 25, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome
Zach was friendly, caring, and professional. He answered all our questions and was very patient. He walked us through everything and never made us feel rushed. I’d highly recommend him.
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Member/Manager
  • Providence Wills and Trusts
  • 2011 - Present
  • Principal Attorney
  • Law Office of Zachary B. Setzer PLLC
  • 2011 - Present
  • Owner
  • LegalWiseNC.com
  • 2011 - Present
  • Summer Associate
  • Harrington Law Firm
  • 2009 - 2009
View all work experience

Education

  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2010
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2006
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2006

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Ranney v. Honigman
  • Ongoing
  • Moore v. Moore
  • Favorable settlement

Associations

  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • American Bar Association, Real Property, Trust and Estate Law Section
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • Union County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • North Carolina State Bar
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, Special Needs Law Section
  • Member
  • 2013 - 2014
  • National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2012 - 2014
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • French

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • Lawyer of Distinction - Nominated
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • 2017
  • Board Certified Specialist in Estate Planning and Probate Law
  • North Carolina State Bar Board of Legal Specialization
  • 2017
  • Elite Service Provider 2016
  • ARAG
  • 2016
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • Elite Service Provider
  • ARAG
  • 2015
  • Top Attorneys of North America
  • Who's Who Legal
  • 2015
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • James C.C. Treadway Law Scholarship
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • 2010
  • J.D. cum laude
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • 2010
  • Lead Articles Editor
  • Washington and Lee Law Review
  • 2009
  • James C.C. Treadway Law Scholarship
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • 2009
  • Staff Writer
  • Washington and Lee Law Review
  • 2008
  • James C.C. Treadway Law Scholarship
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • 2008
  • James C.C. Treadway Law Scholarship
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • 2007
View all awards

Publications

  • Providence Wills and Trusts
  • Kids Protection Planning Guide
  • 2015
  • Providence Wills and Trusts
  • How To Leave Behind Retirement Assets The Right Way
  • 2015
  • Providence Wills and Trusts
  • Guide to NFA Gun Trusts
  • 2015
  • National Business Institute
  • Advanced Elder Law Ethics
  • 2014
  • Washington and Lee Law Review
  • Washington and Lee Law Review: Volume 67 (Lead Articles Editor)
  • 2010
  • Washington and Lee Law Review
  • Washington and Lee Law Review: Volume 66 (Staff Writer)
  • 2009
  • SSRN
  • Twombly Reinterpreted: A Response to Professor Thomas’s "Why the Motion to Dismiss is Now Unconstitutional"
  • 2009
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Keeping Your Business and Personal Lives Separate
  • Business Planning and Limited Liability
  • 2014
  • How To Avoid Probate
  • Probate Avoidance
  • 2014
  • Grandparents as Guardians
  • Guardianship Planning
  • 2014
  • Estate Planning for Special Needs Beneficiaries
  • Special Needs Planning
  • 2014
  • Advanced Elder Law
  • Legal Ethics in Elder Law
  • 2014
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (6)
Given (18)
Endorse Zachary
Unknown Attorney | Mar 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am impressed with Mr. Setzer's thoughtful advice and answers to legal questions on Avvo. He has an in-depth understanding of the law and an ability to communicate legal concepts clearly and effectively. I endorse this lawyer!"
Estate planning Attorney | Jul 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He understands the need for detailed and attentive estate planning services and provides his services accordingly."
Estate planning Attorney | Nov 19
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Zachary is one of the most informed and knowledgeable attorneys I have worked with. Zach, will take the time to listen to you and your needs then implement a plan specific to your needs. I highly recommend him."
Estate planning Attorney | Nov 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Zachary is a thorough and compassionate attorney. He takes a unique approach to estate planning beyond simply preparing documents, ensuring that each plan works throughout life and after."
Estate planning Attorney | Oct 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Zack is a great attorney with a vast amount of knowledge in his practice area. I am very confident in his ability to help others in the very important area of estate planning. You cannot go wrong retaining his services."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Wills and living wills
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Estate planning
Employment and labor
Chapter 11 bankruptcy