Skip to main content
Daniel Allen Meier
Avvo
Pro

Daniel Meier’s Answers

537 total


  • I posted bail and he didn't show, what now?

    A few months ago my boyfriend was arrested for a DWI. I contacted a bondsman, paid $200 (on a $2000 bail) to have him released. He went to his first court date in May but left me (we were also living together) after I discovered some other issues....

    Daniel’s Answer

    You have a contract for the remaining balance. The bondsman can sue you, just like anyone else you owe money to. They can't take you to jail or anything else, but they can take the same actions to you that your credit card company, or anyone else, can if you owed them $1,800.

    See question 
  • Can a 21 year old be charged for dating and/or having sex with a 16 year old?

    I understand that 16 is the legal age of consent in North Carolina, but I don't know all the laws for statutory rape. My boyfriend is 21 and I have been seeing him since I was 15 and he was 20. My father is threatening to call law enforcement on h...

    Daniel’s Answer

    If you had sex before you turned 16, yes, he can be charged - if you were just dating, but didn't have sex until you were 16, then he cannot be charged with Statutory Rape. The issue is when you first had sex - and don't make admissions on a public forum.

    See question 
  • Can a DV charge be Reinstated

    I asked this earlier but am unsure, the DV charged happened in 2007, I appeared in court and the plaintiff dismissed the charges while in court. I since have married and moved clear across the country and haven't been near this person for almost 6...

    Daniel’s Answer

    The Statute of limitations is 2 years on a misdemeanor, so long as they were dismissed while you were in Court - if you were FTA (Failure to Appear) the SOL is tolled. If they were felony charges, the SOL is longer - but if you went to Court and they were dismissed, she is just bluffing - she can't bring up 7 or 8 year old events and try and pursue criminal charges except in extremely limited circumstances, which are unlikely to apply to a DV case, and she can't do it at all if the case was already prosecuted and dismissed, absent a failure to comply or something similar.

    See question 
  • Will a juvenile charge, not a conviction show up on a background check for a fast food job?

    I am 16. I was charged in April for misdemeanor larceny. My case was dismissed when I went to court. They gave me an option to take 12 hours of behavioral classes and I must show a certificate of completion on a further court date.

    Daniel’s Answer

    In North Carolina, the day you turn 16 you are treated as an adult for Criminal Law purposes (we are the only state that does that). The charge will show up. Once you get it successfully dismissed, you need to get it expunged.

    See question 
  • My ex receives disability money for him and the kids. Am I entitled to half of the kids money?

    He receives a check for himself and two separate checks for the 2 kids.

    Daniel’s Answer

    The money belongs to the kids - neither of you are entitled to it. Depending on your custody arrangement, that amount of money could be used to help determine what amount of child support you get (or he gets), but the money belongs to the kids, regardless of who gets the check.

    See question 
  • What happens to a sex offender in North Carolina if they don't have an address?

    I have been a sex offender in NC for almost 6 years now and have always had an address. I have had a job for two years now, but cannot support myself. My mom and step dad are divorcing, and I have no address to go to once the process is done. What...

    Daniel’s Answer

    The first step is to make sure you keep Law Enforcement informed. Most counties (where you report) have a mechanism for people who are homeless. You would generally report that you are homeless, and they often ask you to check in every few days and keep them updated. You cannot be violated simply because you are homeless (though they may try).

    Keep looking for a place, but make sure the Sheriff has no reason to think you have vanished or absconded. Keep them informed.

    See question 
  • So my question is should i hire a attorney or go with the court appointed lawyer?

    My friend got arrested, his case just went federal. its a drug charge. when the his charges where still state we hired a attorney but he doesn't do federal cases, so now we need to find a new lawyer but we don't have the money to hire a new lawyer...

    Daniel’s Answer

    You answered your own question - you don't have the money to hire a new lawyer. If you can't afford a lawyer, use Court Appointed. Most are very experienced, and also do private work. Just because they are Court Appointed doesn't mean they are a bad lawyer. Ask around - the lawyer he's appointed to may well be someone you would have hired.

    See question 
  • When do I need to hire an attorney for a misdemeanor theft charge?

    I was recently questioned and admitted to stealing over $1000 worth of product from my work place. I wrote and signed an admittance letter and agreed to pay back the sum. I was fired and they let me leave. They did not call the police or anythi...

    Daniel’s Answer

    You should have hired a lawyer before you confessed to everything - and that amount is a felony level. Can they still charge you? Yes. Will they? Who knows, that's up to them.

    Unless you are charged with a crime it will not show up. If you are charged, I would hire an attorney immediately and stop talking.

    See question 
  • Someone is threatening to use my work as their own, without permission. I have recorded all communications concerning this.

    A "friend" came to me asking me for a logo for a organization he's affiliated with. He wanted to pay $50. I never officially accepted the job. But because we are friends, I started sharing early concept designs with him, to give him a idea of wha...

    Daniel’s Answer

    You definitely own the copyright, and can make him stop using it - however if the dispute is over $75, it will cost you significantly more than that to get a lawyer to pursue the matter.

    See question 
  • Can I cancel a contingency retainer if representation not needed

    I signed a retainer on contingency. It doesn't look like I'm going to need the services as insurance is cooperating fully. Can I "cancel" the retainer? The attorney has not done any work yet. What happens if I cancel it (if you answer yes to a...

    Daniel’s Answer

    You can always fire your attorney - especially if litigation has not been initiated. If you do fire your attorney, you cannot simply go back to the original agreement - it's up to him if he wants you as a client anymore.

    However, he is entitled to reimbursement for the work he has actually done - so you need to speak with him and see what you might owe him if you cancel the contract.

    See question