Skip to main content

John T. Orcutt

Chapter 13 bankruptcy Attorney at Raleigh, NC

3.8   49 reviews

also known as John Tyrrel Orcutt, John T. Orcutt


Licensed for 46 years

Free consultation

About John

Learn John’s areas of practice.

I have been practicing bankruptcy law in the state of North Carolina since 1987. I practice nothing but consumer debtor bankruptcy and have 6 offices to better serves those who could be facing debt problems. 

Photos and videos

Licensed for 46 years
State NC
Status Active
Acquired 1982
Updated 10/03/2022
State NY
Status Resigned
Acquired 1976
Updated 07/09/2022

Contact John

Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
2 N. Front Street
5th Floor
Wilmington, NC, 28401
Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
934 Cambridge Street
Fayetteville, NC, 28303
Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
1738 Hillandale Road
Suite D
Durham, NC, 27705
Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
2860 Ward Boulevard
Suite D
Wilson, NC, 27893
Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
600 Green Valley Road
Suite 210
Greensboro, NC, 27408
Hide locations

Reviews

3.8 / 5.0
  49 customer reviews
Posted by anonymous | December 14, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Great Service
Today I met with a paralegal for my initial consultation. She was very down to earth, professional and easy to talk to. She explained everything in great detail and answered all of my questions. I felt very comfortable and would certainly recommend this office for anyone who is need of services. I look forward to being able to start over and feel very confident that my case in in great hands.
Read less
Posted by Ashely | April 24, 2013
Great personal experience
John Orcutt met with me personally because my case was very unique and involved a divorce. I knew I needed to file bankruptcy but at the time my husband who was seperated from me was being vindicitive and would not conscent to bankruptcy. Mr. Orcutt was able to inform me how it was possible to file without my husband interferring with my debts.
Read less
Posted by Sandra | November 11, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
My reveiw
I'm very pleased at the service that I have received this far. My parallel legal Joe(Raleigh office) is fantastic.
Posted by anonymous | June 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Connie Nichols
This was my first time actually coming in to seek help with bankruptcy. I always heard bad things about bankruptcy, but my sister explained the process to me. When I call in for a consultation the return call was returned quickly. I also recieved an appointment to come in quick. I was nervous, but when I came in the staff was excellent. They took me step by Step and if I had questions they answered. I was introduced to every person that would have a part in my case. I met Connie Nichols she has went way and beyond her job to talk with the lawyer about the issues I had. The lawyer was nice to respond. Yes I am in the process of hiring this law firm to handle my needs that I needed help on.
Read less
Posted by Judith | May 4, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very good Law firm usually
This law firm has been very good with my bankruptcy case until last year. My paralegal use to be Patty and she was awesome. I could email her and get an answer in two days. I have Jannell R. and I have called her for a status on several occasion and she said she would call me back and I never get a phone call or email back from her. My bankruptcy ended last year and I have not received the final papers as of yet. I do not think it take a year to close a bankruptcy case. I do not know if Jannell R. is new or just got a lot of clients but I wish she would find time in her busy schedule to let me know what is going on with my case. The last email I received from her was December 2017.
Read less
Posted by Keshia | January 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Chapter 7 Bankruptcy
It's been a year since filing a chapter 7 bankruptcy and it's been a new lease on life! I was drowning in bills after a divorce and an extended unemployment. Once back to work I didn't realize bankruptcy was an option until my townhouse flooded and my renters insurance lapsed. Now I am saving for emergencies and back on track financially! Thank you!
Read less
Posted by Bob | August 23, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Reiew fo Joe Nichols
My wife and I worked on our bankruptcy material with Joe. He took us through the process smoothly and efficiently. His information was very helpful and a big relief. I would certainly work with him again. He is very professional
Posted by G.W. | July 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thanks!!
Tuesday was my first visit to John Orcutt's Greensboro office. Everyone was very nice. I would especially like to thank Connie for being so thorough and helpful with All of my questions! And, for being so kind and understanding to what I am going through during this difficult process!
Posted by Ann | January 25, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent employee
My contact in the Greensboro office was Connie Nichols. She is a total professional who has gone out of her way to be helpful to me. She was very informative about the process and was available whenever I had a question or concern. She has made a difficult situation much easier. The law firm should feel very proud that Ms. Nichols is their representative.
Read less
Posted by Rob | August 9, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great paralegal
I am a new client with John Orcutt. My first contact with his firm was Connie Nichols. I just want to take this time to express how professional she is. She put me at ease and answered all my questions during the initial consultation and after. So far I would recommend this office to anyone that needs financial care without worry and stress. Thank you Connie!
Read less
Posted by Natasha | April 26, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jessica Mayo's review
This was my first time ever needing help from an attorney's office. Jessica Mayo handled my case and made my experience with your office very pleasant. I will definately recommend your office to anyone that i know that may need assistance. Thank you so much for everything.
Posted by anonymous | April 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Chapter 13
In my Chapter 13 Bankruptcy case Mr. Orcutt"s office and staff were very professional and courteous with me in explaining the procedure and my obligations. They were very helpful and understanding of people with financial hardships.
Posted by John | March 24, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
the best bankruptcy law office around!
Before this law office I tried another attorney and was told I needed thousands of dollars just to file regardless of the chapter, but Johns office proved that to be a big fat lie and had me filed in a few weeks. The biggest thing is that it costed me nothing down....naddda...zero...nothing until my firat trustee payment. The other guys should learn from John the right way to do business!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer
I hired John T. Orcutt in August 2013 to handle a bankruptcy case. I made my appointment for a free counseltation. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this lawyer to my closest family and friend.
Posted by Jason | January 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank for helping with my case
I just wanted to thank Amy Hodges for the professionalism and the people skills she has in dealing with a tough situation for many people. She made the process easy and handled everything with integrity.
Posted by Durwood | January 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and Experienced Client Services from Paralegal Ms. Amy Hodge.
When roadblocks in Life come your way and you lose your job and see no alternative but Bankruptcy and with low self-esteem you enter the office of Ms. Amy Hodge, Paralegal for Mr. John Orcutt. The first minute of our initial conversation was her making me see a future that I could not see with a debt relief solution. As we progress it got better and better knowing that my life was not over but I can hold me head back up and know that I was going to be ok. Suicidal thoughts diminished and yes... I could see a light at the end of that dark tunnel. She guided me all the way with a kindness and sincerity that is often forgotten in customer service. Now, I am going to be ok thanks to the professional and diligent work of Ms. Amy Hodge. She was not only my Paralegal but now I consider her a Friend that cares about her customers. Please convey a heartfelt Thank you to her.
Read less
Posted by Stephen F. | December 18, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dear Mr Orcutt:
I would first like to say you have a fantastic staff at your Wilson , NC office. I would especially like to thank your paralegal Jessica. She showed impeccable professionalism and yet she put me at ease by helping me construct my case from beginning to end. Again I wish to thank you and I will highly recommend your office to anyone that may be in need as I was. Thank you, your the best.
Read less
Posted by dale | December 1, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
"get the facts"
Like the commercials say folks--- Please Please get the facts about bankruptcy from the professionals, not friends and family... the entire staff did a great job from start to finish, it was no where near as hard as I thought it would be and the staff was available at all times to answer questions and check numbers etc etc... the paperwork involved has been so well laid out and simplified by the firm I wish I had done this a couple of years earlier... so please, if your in over your head--- and you know if you are--- go see these folks, they really are going to help you... and best of luck to all of you... dale
Read less
Posted by Charlisa | November 25, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome Staff
The staff at John Orcutt office in Wilson was awesome! I really enjoyed working with Amy Hodge. She made me feel like we was friends from school. Know question was a silly question. Thanks everyone for your help!!
Posted by Stephen B. | November 25, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Down to earth expects!
They made a very uncomfortable situation very comfortable. Answered all my questions and let me know it was okay, and they would help me fix things. They helped me keep my house, and save my family! My initial contact, Amy Hodge was the best! She was so friendly and I immediately got the feeling she cared about my case from the start. This kind of attitude goes along way and is the main reason I choose this law firm. Highly recommend!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 120 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Professional misconduct

This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2011.

Censure issued in NC, 2011
updated on 01/28/2013

This means the attorney did something wrong, but the Bar did not suspend the lawyer. Typically in this case the lawyer's poor behavior is exposed to the public in hopes that he or she will not repeat the behavior.

Suspension Stayed issued in NC, 1999
updated on 04/08/2013

Suspension stayed means the attorney has been disciplined, but that the discipline is placed on hold (and ultimately removed) if the attorney complies with certain requirements.

Reprimand issued in NC, 1995
updated on 01/28/2013

Typically in this case the lawyer's poor behavior is exposed to the public in hopes that he or she will not repeat the behavior.

Work Experience

  • President
  • Law Offices of John T. Orcutt
  • 1987 - Present

Education

  • Albany Law School of Union University
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1975
  • University of Rochester
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1972

Legal Cases

  • In re Temple
  • Bankruptcy Court Affirmed John T. Orcutt's Argument.
  • In re Belanger: (EDNC)
  • Bankruptcy Court Affirmed John T. Orcutt's Argument.

Associations

  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • North Carolina Academy of Trial Lawyers, Bankruptcy Law Section
  • Chair
  • 2001 - 2002

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • Champion of the Order of Protectors of Consumer Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • 2005
  • Champion of the Order of Protectors of Consumer Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • 2004
  • Champion of the Order of Protectors of Consumer Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • 2003
  • Champion of the Order of Protectors of Consumer Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • 2002
View all awards

Publications

  • NACBA
  • Named Champion of the Order of Protectors of Consumer Debtors
  • 2002

Speaking Engagements

  • NC Bar 4All
  • Bankruptcy
  • 2014
  • Welcome to the wonderful world of HotDocs
  • HotDocs Demonstration
  • 2013
  • EBI
  • Chapter 13 Issues
  • 1999
  • Eastern Bankruptcy Institute
  • A Misnomer: How To Succeed In Chapter 13 Without Really Trying
  • 1997
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (13)
Given (11)
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Feb 17
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Friend
"I endorse Mr. Orcutt wholeheartedly. John is a seasoned practitioner with an understanding of how issues impact the households of North Carolina citizens. He and his partners have grown the firm with an exceptional eye for detail and professional service. I refer my own clients to him; each have been glad I did. I've been most impressed how he can make sense of changes in the economy that will impact his clients."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 24
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"John has long fought for consumer rights. He believes that good, honest, hard-working people deserve a chance at a fresh start."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 23
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. John Orcutt is a phenomenal consumer bankruptcy attorney in the state of North Carolina."
Chapter 13 bankruptcy Attorney | Apr 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse John Orcutt. He is a leader in the field of personal bankruptcy and has brought debt relief within the reach of thousands with his pioneering ideas that have transformed debtor representation. It is a joy to watch John work."
Chapter 13 bankruptcy Attorney | Apr 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. He is exceptional in both legal knowledge and character. This is how I'd summarize John Orcutt as a professional: 1. He solves the most complex problems in consumer law as well as any attorney I have ever met. 2. He has an incredible work ethic. I have seen him spend months worth of 60 hour weeks in a row. 3. John has incredible character -- I do not know a single consumer law attorney in the ENTIRE COUNTRY who has greater respect from his peers. I don't hesitate to refer to him, and I work with him every chance I get."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Co-worker
"John Orcutt is a tremendous contributor to consumer bankruptcy law in the state of North Carolina."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Co-worker
"John Orcutt is a great teacher and practitioner of bankruptcy,"
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Co-worker
"John Orcutt is a top North Carolina bankruptcy attorney and has thought me much about consumer bankruptcy law."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"If you live in North Carolina and are in need of a great bankruptcy attorney, John T. Orcutt is the name that comes to mind."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. John Orcutt is an excellent teacher and pioneer in his field of consumer bankruptcy."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. John Orcutt is the grand daddy of bankruptcy in North Carolina who I have had the privilage to not only work for but learn from."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Oct 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse John. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
View more endorsements
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt
Bankruptcy and debt

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Raleigh Chapter 13 bankruptcy Lawyer John T. Orcutt
John T. Orcutt
Chapter 13 bankruptcy Attorney
Raleigh, NC
Licensed for 46 years
Free Consultation