Skip to main content

Douglas E. Portnoy

Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney at Raleigh, NC

5.0   60 reviews
  • Licensed for 32 years
    State NC
    Acquired 1991
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Douglas

Learn Douglas’s areas of practice.

1
Practice area
  1. Speeding and traffic ticket
    100%

    34 years, 15,000 cases

I have helped clients with traffic tickets for over 20 years.   In that time I have developed strong relationships with my clients, with my fellow attorneys and with court officials.  My goal as a traffic lawyer is to minimize the impact a ticket will have on my client's insurance and license.   At the same time I try to make the process as convenient and informative as possible.  It is no fun getting stopped by a police officer but with my help I can make the best of a bad situation.   If you or someone you know has received a traffic ticket then I would be happy to speak with them.   You can also chat with me directly by going to my website. 

 

Personally, I went to college in Boston and graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill.  I love living in the Raleigh area.  I am married and have two wonderful kids.  I like to fish, play golf and volleyball.  

Photos and videos

Location

Law Office of Douglas Portnoy
2840 Plaza Place
Suite 315
Raleigh, NC, 27612-8061

Speeding Ticket lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  60 customer reviews
Posted by anonymous | July 31, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and Quick to help
He is very professional and answers the phone when you call for advice. Douglas explained to me the options based on my call and ticket. I hired him and then received my confirmation email that he was able to reduce my ticket. This saved me from getting points and a mark on my record.
Posted by Johnny rojas | July 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend!
Mr. Douglas handled my speeding ticket and he made it so easy. I was able to do it all over the phone and email, I never even had to make an appointment to go to his office so I didn't have to miss work. He was professional, always answered his phone, returned emails and texts promptly. He got it dismissed and emailed all the court info the same day he went to court for me. Highly recommend Mr. Douglas!
Read less
Posted by Mike | December 2, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A1 TOP NOTCH LAWYER
I have CDLS and got a speeding ticket while on the work truck and I contacted Attorney Portney and he told me that he could handle it and well he called me back and told me that he ran into a roadblock handling my case...he kept in contact with me and I expressed to him that I I really wanted this gone with no points because of my CDLS plus my insurance....he said let him keep grinding on it and boom he emailed me 3wks later and said it was taken care of with no points on my LICENSE OR INSURANCE!! Attorney Portney pulled a Tom Cruise Mission Impossible with this one!!! He is a BAD MAN!!! AND VERY REASONABLE WITH HIS FEE!! GREAT MAN!! YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH HIM!!
Read less
Posted by Rochelle | September 24, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful Lawyer!
Doulas is a wonderful attorney. He responds to questions and is not only efficient, but he wins. He has been a huge blessing. ( We have had to hire him on more then one occasion.) We have six kids and several teens driving who have gotten tickets. Thank you Douglas! Your amazing!
Posted by Josue_lenin | March 2, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent LAWYER
I'm extremely thankful for attorney Douglas ha did such a incredible job took the case I had 3 FTA from like 3 years ago and to tell you the truth I was worried praying to god I wouldn't have to do jail time or have to travel to nc ... I live in Virginia now but he looked at my case without a consultation fee .. he didn't even know if I was actually going to be hiring him but he gave me all the information about my case and thanks to god and his highly motivated spirit got 3 charges dropped and a RECKLESS 30+ to a 15 which is a huge difference in........now I honestly expected this to take at least a month but in a matter of days he had everything thing fixed I'm super grateful and I never even had to show up mannn BLESSED not only was he proactive but he charged me LESS then anyone else AMAZING... I COULDN'T BELIEVE IT BUT THANK GOD NOW I CAN CONTINUE TO MOVE FORWARD
Read less
Posted by AB | January 25, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Traffic Ticket
Mr. Douglas was able to get my wife's speeding ticket reduced to an improper equipment charge. He went to court on the court date and took care of the traffic ticket, emailed the outcome in the afternoon. It was easy process and very satisfied with his service.
Posted by Garrett | August 23, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
In 2002 I was victim of identity theft and financial fraud. When I went to renew my drivers license in 2019. I learned the stolen identity from 17 years ago had been used and was involved in a traffic related incident which resulted in a failure to appear and warrant for arrest. I was able to obtain documents from the State of California to support the fraud and the drivers license number was associated with identity theft. Doug was amazing and was able to work with the DA to get the charges dismissed for identity theft. He is an excellent lawyer, who picked up my case and had the issues resolved within 3 weeks.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 4, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helped make things easier for me; would recommend!
Douglas handled my case in a way that made it easy for me. He was able to successfully decrease my speeidng ticket into improper equipment, and he sent me the link to pay the court fines online. I didn't even need to appear in court, which would have been costly for me as I live more than 2 hours away. I would definately recommend hiring Douglas to help with your speeding ticket concerns!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 16, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
speeding ticket
I had an issue with a speeding ticket, and Mr. Portnoy qent to court for me to get it taken care of. I was informed to afternoon of the court date that everything was taken care of. Very pleased and happy with the outcome.
Posted by Chris | January 12, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Miracle Worker!
My wife was driving her new car down an empty road and not paying attention to her speed. She got pulled over going a good bit over the limit. Doug was so helpful and made everything painless. He lifted a large burden off of our shoulders and got us out with no points on her license, no affect on our insurance, and no ticket fine besides the court fees.
Read less
Posted by Carroll | April 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Unsafe Movement Charge
My daughter was in a car accident and finding a good attorney can be hit or miss. Mr. Portnoy was very pleasant over the phone and I'm very glad that I hired him. I didn't have to meet with him in person, he made the entire process extremely easy. I sent him all the information via email, and he was able to dismiss all the charges. I will definitely be recommending him.
Read less
Posted by Eduardo | March 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer!
This is my second time around having Douglas as my lawyer and I am highly satisfied. First time he helped me keep my license even though it was almost certainly going to get taken, and this time around he made my expungement process very straight forward and easy. Thanks Doug!
Posted by Kevin | January 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome Experience Very Happy with Outcome of Traffic Ticket!
From start to finish the process of taking care of my speeding ticket was a breeze. Doug was able to get the ticket reduced to an improper equipment charge which doesn't add points to my insurance or license. Not only did he reduce the charge to an improper equipment, but he also did it 3 weeks earlier than the posted court date on the ticket! Doug was very responsive as he answered the phone almost every time I called and responded to my emails in very short order. The best thing about the entire process was that I didn't have to leave my chair, as all communication was completed over the phone, web, and email saving me a lot of time and hassle! I definitely recommend Doug as he will represent you to the best of his ability and will do it with the greatest of convenience to you!
Read less
Posted by Mike | December 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Traffic ticket
Douglas got my ticket dismissed in 3 days at a very reasonable price. A lot less expensive than the fine and insurance costs. I would recommend him to anyone. Thanks Douglas.
Posted by ronald | October 25, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
very happy
i am a plumbing contractor in atlanta georgia i went to renew my georgia drivers license ,to find out they had been suspended, i paid off some tickets in raleigh nc 1985 and apparently i was supposed to have had a hearing which never happened, douglas had to go back 30 years to have those tickets overturned,so there would be no need for a hearing. thank you douglas
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 28, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top Notch
I searched for a lawyer I thought could help me with my traffic ticket and when I came across attorney Portnoy, his positive reviews from previous customers definitely sold me. I reached out to attorney Portnoy and he was so easy to talk to about my case. He took care of my case and I was so happy to be able to reinstate my license the same day. I already tell people about him and out of all my tickets in the past along with lawyers I've spoke to, he is by far the best lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Jared | August 11, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great and simple process
I emailed over all the necessary documentation and he showed up to court for me and took care of it! Easiest process ever. He took the headache away.
Posted by Jeff | June 13, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and reasonable!
Doug assisted me with a ticket I received. The process could not have been any easier. He was able to get it quickly dismissed without me having to appear and the fee was VERY reasonable.
Posted by Andrew | April 16, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent work
All I can say is he is the best and good at his work. He took care of my ticket easily when another team had let me down.
Posted by LISA R. | April 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding ticket
I consulted Mr. Portnoy about a speeding ticket that my son had got. I talked with Mr. Portnoy about the ticket, and he told me what we needed to do. I therfore asked Mr. Portnoy to handle my son's ticket, and Mr. Portnoy did just that. I didn't have to kiss work, and my son didn't have to miss school. I live in a different town from where my son goes to school, and it was a relief for me knowing that my son's ticket would be handled. This was my first time hiring a lawyer out of town, but Mr. Portnoy eased my mind, and made me feel confident that everything was going to be fine, and it was. Thanks to Mr. Portnoy there was no points and no increase in my insurance. I would certainly recommend Mr. Doug Portnoyfor anybody that needs a good lawyer. I will certaintly get Mr. Portney again in the future if I need a lawyer again. THANK YOU MR. PORTNOY!!!!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.5 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Law Office of Douglas Portnoy, P.L.L.C
  • 2014 - Present
  • Partner
  • Adams, Portnoy @ Berggren
  • 2000 - 2014
  • Associate
  • Devay & Coleman
  • 1995 - 2000
  • Intern
  • NC Prisoner's Legal Services
  • 1991 - 1992
View all work experience

Education

  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1991
  • Tufts University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1988

Sample of Legal Cases

  • High Speed Case
  • PJC - no points
  • Case Dismissed
  • Dismissed
  • Dog Breeder
  • Dog ownership given to homeowner
View all legal cases

Associations

  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • Member
  • 2017 - Present
  • North Carolina State Bar, IOLTA
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
  • Wake County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
  • 10th Judicial District Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Distinguished
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • Client Champion Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • Top 5 Best Traffic Lawyer in Raleigh
  • Lawyerratingz.com
  • 2017
  • Clients Choice
  • AVVO
  • 2015
  • Top Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2015
  • Top Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2014
  • Client Choice Award
  • AVVO
  • 2014
  • BV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • Volunteer Lawyer Award
  • Wake County Bar Association
  • 2002
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • TATA Membership Conference
  • Wills and Estates
  • 2014
  • First Time HomeBuyers Seminar
  • Real Estate Law
  • 2010
  • Human Resources Benefits
  • Wills and Estates
  • 2003
  • Teacher
  • Paralegal Program
  • 2001
  • Teacher
  • Paralegal Program
  • 2000
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (20)
Given (13)
Endorse Douglas
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Jul 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I work beside Doug in court almost every day. He's a good traffic attorney and I would highly recommend him."
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Feb 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Doug is a top notch lawyer! Not only does he have a brilliant legal mind, he is a super person and goes above and beyond for his clients! I highly recommend Doug!"
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Dec 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Doug is an excellent lawyer who does top-notch work. I know that when a client has Wake County traffic and criminal issues that they are in safe hands with Doug."
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Aug 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. For many years I have seen him handle numerous traffic matters of all degrees. He is a zealous advocate and gets the job done for his client."
Car accident Attorney | Jan 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Car accident Attorney | Sep 28
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I strongly endorse Douglas. Highly respected in the legal community with an outstanding reputation for client advocacy and dedication."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He knows his law and procedure and is a valued to contributor to the avvo community. His library of answers is a benefit both to those seeking advice but also to other lawyers as a learning tool. You would be wise to seek his counsel if you are any where near or in Raleigh."
Car accident Attorney | May 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. A highly skilled and respected lawyer in the legal community."
Car accident Attorney | Apr 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. A highly skilled and respected lawyer in the legal community."
Real estate Attorney | Feb 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer in the practice areas of traffic offenses and real estate. Mr. Portnoy is a highly skilled, competent, and relatable attorney; these characteristics are essential when choosing to hire an attorney to resolve your legal needs. Attorney Portnoy ranks highly among the top lawyers in his practice areas in his local community."
Car accident Attorney | Feb 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer four your auto accident needs."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Portnoy is an excellent attorney who knows the law and vigorously advocates for his clients. He is well-respected among his peers and is an honorable man."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Portnoy spends a great deal of time on this site demonstrating his compassion and genuine desire to use his abilities to help others."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Litigation
Personal injury
Personal injury
Raleigh Speeding and traffic ticket Lawyer Douglas E. Portnoy
Douglas E. Portnoy
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney
Raleigh, NC
Licensed for 32 years