I got a Dui in 2004 and DA has never carried it to court
Statute limitations for a DWI in NC is two years. As another respondent indicated you may have grounds for a motion to dismiss on the magistrates order for failure to timely prosecute the charge. The only pause I have is the age of the DWI. It is twelve years old. If you missed a court date and the case is in a state of dismissal with leave you may have triggered a tolling of the statute by your actions. It is a hot bed issue right now and each case is being looked at on its merits. And some trial Judges are dismissing DWI cases on Turner grounds right now following the rule of law that Turner is the current law until a higher court weighs in differently. I hope this helps some. Good luck.See question
I got a DUI n 2005 in North Carolina , I moved out of state never went back, n I have called numerous times for another court date. Never to receive one. How do I get my license back? Is time up?
The three previous answers were all spot on. To add further, some jurisdictions in the state will not reinstate the case without the condition that you plead guilty to the charge. There is likely also an outstanding warrant for a failure to appear if you missed the original court date. Best to seek out competent local counsel to appear by waiver and consent of the court on your behalf to resolve the matter and recall the warrant for your arrest. That puts you on track to getting a license in your home state.See question
She completed a class and charges were dismissed by the District Attorney. State of North Carolina - she is 18 years old.
No question it will appear on her record, but will show as VD which is acronym for or "voluntarily dismissal." What I tell my folks in her age range is get through majority of college and then 6 months out before applying for grad school or jobs get an attorney to help you file the paper work to get it expunged. It leaves the door open to expunge a more serious charge that may also go the way of a deferred prosecution which ends with a VD.See question
I have already plead to 2 but have one pending. Can I be charged/sentenced for the third. Somewhere I heard you can only be charged for 2 at the same time or something to that effect....please advise
Yes. You can be charged with as many DUIs as the evidence supports. If you have plead in to two DUIs recently and I am assuming were revoked at the time you got the third DUI it would be an aggravated punishment. An aggravated Level One DUI in NC can have you facing 4 years in DOC. Wise to seek out an attorney to help you with this charge. Good luck.See question
Can I plead guilty by mail or do I have to worry they will come for me in NJ, Im guilty just want it to go away with minimal problems.
You can not plead guilty by mail. You can however through a proper waiver have an attorney represent you and handle the matter under certain conditions. Namely the prosecutor and the Court have to consent to the representation by waiver and you can not have a prior DUI conviction within 7 years. The prior within 7 years would subject to an active sentence.See question
If a 16 year old and a 25 year old are engaged a sexual relationship, can the 16 year old move out of their parent's home with the 25 year old? Will the 25 year old face any charges?
The 16 year old would have to emancipate in NC. Civilly, until age 18 one is considered a minor.
Also, would be wise to sit down with a criminal attorney to get advice and consult on any criminal concerns if the relationship has been ongoing before the age of consent.See question
Also says "How attacked or committed"...suspects knowledge/Unusual comments
Need more information. I practice in Raleigh. Feel free to email me to set up an appointment for a free consult on your DWI.See question
THIS WAS A FEDERAL SENTENCE IN AL.
Contact the court reporter to get a fee quote to transcribe a copy.See question
In 2011 I was going 75 in a 55, it was reduced and I paid the fine, also it is the only speeding ticket I have on my record. It still shows up on my criminal background as a "criminal record" without any details explaining to employers it is only ...
If it was reduced to 15 or less then it is no longer a traffic misdemeanor. Likely not to cause you to much heartburn in your job search, unless you would be driving a company vehicle.
No way to wipe it off your record, IF it is in fact there and that is a big IF. Pull a current driving record and see if it appears. Good luck.See question
I was coming out of the town I live in & one lane narrows down into the other when my brothers mother in law (who has been charged with harassing him) tried to cut me off. She threw a bottle at my car & flipped me off but I kept driving. She was m...
It is a traffic misdemeanor that happened outside the presence of law enforcement which generally don't get charged short of law enforcement involvement. But the video could be troubling. Obviously, it lead to some official bringing a charge against you. I would hire local counsel to help present your side of the events to the prosecutor in effort to get it thrown out.See question