Skip to main content

William G. Causey Jr.

DUI and DWI Attorney at Greensboro, NC

5.0   30 reviews
  • Licensed for 35 years
    State NC
    Acquired 1988
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About William

Learn William’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. DUI and DWI
    50%

    36 years, 600 cases

  2. Criminal defense
    25%

    36 years, 2,600 cases

  3. Speeding and traffic ticket
    25%

    36 years, 1,500 cases


I am a life-long resident of High Point, NC, graduating from T. Wingate Andrews High School in 1979. I then enrolled at Appalachian State University, graduating in 1983 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration, majoring in Economics. I then enrolled in law school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, graduating in 1987, subsequently starting my own law practice. I was admitted to practice in Federal Court in me Board Certified in State and Federal Criminal Law by the North Carolina State Bar in 1996. In addition to being Board Certified, I am also a former Assistant District Attorney.

Although a large part of my practice is devoted to DWI cases, I regularly handle cases from speeding tickets all the way up to murder cases. To date I have handled 78 First-Degree Murder cases, with many involving the death penalty, which are the most complex and stressful cases an attorney can handle. I have tried capital murder trials, during my 34 years of practice, in High Point, Greensboro, Winston-Salem, Asheboro, and Lexington. As you can see, although I handle all types of criminal cases such as speeding tickets, DWI and driving revoked cases, shoplifting and theft cases, drug offenses, assaults, robberies; I will not hesitate to take the most complicated and difficult case a lawyer can handle, a First- Degree Capital Murder case, and "put 12 jurors in the box” and try the case to verdict.

Location

Causey Law Office
204 Muirs Chapel Road
Suite 100
Greensboro, NC, 27410

DUI & DWI lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  30 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Henry | September 13, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wholeheartedly recommend this attorney!
Mr. Causey recently represented me on a traffic offense charge and did an outstanding job. From the beginning he was very honest, set fair expectations, was reasonable with costs and communicated in a timely and thorough manner. The outcome was an even better than expected result. I cannot express enough how grateful I am to him and how much I recommend his expertise. He is a true advocate!
Read less
Posted by Karen | December 14, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer!!
Highly recommend!! He answers questions very quickly. Sends updated texts. Very friendly & really helpful. Thanks so much for your help. You are the best!!
Posted by Rachel | July 22, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Lawyer!!
Mr. Causey is a great lawyer. After consulting with a few around the area, I found he was the best fit for me and my DUI case. He was able to tell me everything I should expect after just one consultation. Overall, he was able to give me peace that everything would be handled without me ever having to stress the details. Would recommend for anybody in need of a lawyer! Everything went smoothly and ended up better than I expected, thanks to Mr. Causey.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 29, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
I really needed help; I had never been in trouble. Mr. Causey not only cared for me as his client, but as a person. He was always professional, on-time, and courteous. He is also very good about preparing his clients for what to expect, what comes next, and how he can help. At my first consultation with Mr. Causey he had already done his research on my charge and determined the best defense that he thought would work. After that meeting my stress level was considerably reduced. He explained the legal process in a manner easily understood by someone who is not a lawyer and was not at all condescending. He gave me hope at a time when options appeared limited and the likelihood of a satisfactory resolution seemed impossible. He went above and beyond to help me get the outcome that was best for me. I am extremely grateful for his help and I would highly recommend Mr. Causey.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
At my first consultation with Mr. Causey he had already done his “homework” on my situation and determined the best defense approach. After that meeting my stress level was considerably reduced. He had the felony insurance fraud charge dismissed and expunged from my record without my having to attend court. He is confident and calm in his approach and his lengthy experience with the legal system is highly beneficial.
Read less
Posted by Denise | June 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Service
I hired Attorney Causey to handle an FTA and traffic ticket. He was absolutely amazing! It didn't even take him a week to resolve both. The FTA was dropped along with the charges. Attorney Causey answered my emails promptly and provided excellent customer service. I highly recommend him and would use him in a second.
Posted by anonymous | March 27, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Handled everything within 24 hours
While trying to get my vehicle to pass inspection, I received a ticket for an expired tag. I had rectified the tag situation, and thought I was home free. I missed my court date! I did not realize I had a warrant for my arrest concerning my missed date. I was terrified! My phone call was answered immediately. Atty. Causey, Jr. took all of my information, and cleared everything up! I cannot recommend this attorney enough!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 15, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Second Time Client
William Causey was a beacon of hope to me at a time when options appeared limited and the likelihood of a satisfactory resolution seemed high on impossible. He went up and beyond to help me get the outcome that was best for me. I am eternally grateful for his service and I hereby recommend Mr. Causey without reservation. Best Lawyer in the area.
Read less
Posted by Amanda | November 6, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Decision I Ever Made
Mr. Causey is a wonderful attorney. I hit a rough patch in my life back in December 2017 and I really needed help. I had never been in trouble. Mr. Causey not only cared for me as his client, but as a person. He was always professional, on-time, and courteous. He is excellent with communicating with his clients in a timely manner. He is also wonderful about preparing his clients for what to expect, what comes next, and how he can help. I would highly recommend Mr. Causey. He truly knows that he's doing.
Read less
Posted by Hugh | November 17, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding Ticket
I got a speeding ticket while passing through NC--I am not a resident of the state and the ticket would have required me to return for court, rather than resolve online. I found Bill's info online and called him; he was very clear, helpful, and friendly in the initial consultation and was able to resolve my ticket without requiring me to return to the state, and for much lower cost and effect to my driving record than I expected. I am incredibly pleased by the aid that Bill provided and would definitely recommend him to others who need to resolve traffic tickets in his area.
Read less
Posted by Cheryl Menell Keane | June 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
I hired Attorney Causey, since I was arrested for a misdemeanor-larceny charge, which is bogus. I explained the entire situation in full, the arresting officer believes me to this day. Attorney Causey is always there for you, he answers your calls promptly, well versed in his field and very knowledgeable. He makes you feel at ease and explains things for you to understand I recommend him highly! I thank him for all he has done thus far.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 6, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding Ticket
Mr. Causey is awesome! Got pulled over for the first time in my life going 59 in a 35 and he was able to get it reduced to a non moving violation, improper equipment. I was also charged with failing to pull over in a reasonable amount of time which he was able to get dismissed. Bill will fight for you and deliver the best outcome which for me were court costs and no points on my license!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 2, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Obtained a quick, favorable resolution of my case for a reasonable fee
Bill Causey, Jr. is a true professional, and exactly the kind of lawyer you want on your side. While traveling in North Carolina from out of state, I received a somewhat serious speeding ticket. The officer alleged that I was traveling 20 mph over the speed limit on the interstate, and charged me with misdemeanor speeding (G.S. 20-141(J1)) and reckless driving (G.S. 20-140(B)). I was given a court date. I consulted with several law firms in the Greensboro area before deciding to go with Bill. Bill stood out for a number of reasons: First, he personally answered the phone when I called him. Every other firm I called insisted that I speak with a paralegal or other gatekeeper rather than an attorney. Second, when I called, Bill immediately gave me his full attention and did my consultation on the spot. Most other firms insisted on calling me back and doing the consultation later. At least one firm never ended up calling me back! Third, Bill laid out specifically what I needed to do to deal with the charges, and what he would do to help me. The other firms I spoke with tended to be much less specific about how they would handle my case. Fourth, Bill offered the most competitive fee of any firm I spoke with. These factors led me to hire Bill. I am very glad to have done so. As an attorney myself, I had a lot of questions. Even though my case might have been fairly routine to Bill, it was not routine to me; I am not a criminal lawyer, I do not practice in North Carolina, and I had never been charged with anything more serious than an infraction. Bill was extremely patient with my questions and amazingly responsive. He was always quick to respond to my emails and text messages, even on nights and weekends. Bill laid out the steps I should take to help mitigate the offenses, and advised me each step of the way. When my court date came, Bill was able to get the reckless driving charge dismissed and the misdemeanor speeding charge reduced to a minor infraction. He let me know the outcome of the case as soon as he wrapped up in court. I wholeheartedly recommend Bill Causey Jr. to anyone facing legal problems in North Carolina.
Read less
Posted by Curtis | April 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI/DWI
Mr. Causey is one of the Best Lawyers that you will ever find! He respresented both my fiancé and myself for a DWI/DUI and and abetting dui ticket. He fights like no other, you will not be let down, I promise! He is awesome! I would recommend him to anyone! He doesn't give up easy. He loves to make sure everyone is pleased and satisfied as well as being honest and open with you about your case. Our final results come out beyond our expectations!!!! It a WIN. If you ever need a lawyer, he is the one you want to have on your side!
Read less
Posted by Derezma Little | July 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helpful Lawyer
Mr. Causey provided great customer service! He was prompt with returning my calls, text messages and emails. He served my case and I was pleased with all of the help he provided for me.
Posted by Garry | July 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Miracle worker
We hired Bill Causey after he came highly recommended by a friend. You will not find a more qualified and professional attorney. What sets Bill apart is that he makes himself available to any questions you may have and keeps you informed as to what to expect and how the case is proceeding. With Bill, he takes the time to get to know you and treats you like more than just a client. Bill was able to get us a settlement that far exceeded anything we had dared to hope for. We will always be indebted to Bill for ending our nightmare and letting us resume our lives. Thanks Bill !
Read less
Posted by Dawn | July 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, Trustworthy and Prepared
When our family was seeking legal advising, we began asking around for recommendations. We repeated kept hearing the same name, Bill Causey. It was truly a blessing that we hired Mr. Causey to help us with our case. We have nothing but wonderful comments to say about Mr. Causey and the professional job he did representing us. He was very prepared and left no stone unturned while keeping us well informed throughout this entire procedure. The outcome of this case could have been a life altering impact for our family member. Mr. Causey was simply a phone call away at any time and frequently assured us he would do the very best he could. The outcome he provided for our case far exceeded our greatest expectation. If you are in search of an attorney who is caring, seeks to know you and all the details of your case, an example of Christian character, while being professional and thorough, then Mr. Bill Causey is the man for you. We cannot thank you enough for all your help, Mr. Causey!! Sincerely, Dawn K.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helpful lawyer
Quit response to my call. Help me understand the process of going the court ,fees, and follow ups related to hiring him for my speeding ticket. Make me sastisfied with my hiring.
Posted by Anna Lineberry | June 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The absolute best!
I hired Bill Causey to handle my DWLR with the revocation for a previous DWI charge. I had a long history of driving offenses and was finally on verge of a hearing to reinstate before this charge. He was very clear in communicating what can be done. He was able to achieve the absolute best outcome and I received a prayer for judgement on my case leaving me still eligible for my upcoming hearing without me even needing to miss work for court. I was more than impressed with his work and communication during the process. He has a wonderful staff and will work hard for you! If you need a great lawyer he is the man to hire!
Read less
Posted by Edward Cruz | March 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent on all accounts
I hired Mr. Causey because I was faced with a number of misdemeanors in Greensboro. His legal assistant Candace was extremely courteous and informative. She was able to accurately estimate what the outcome would be, and in fact, the final resolution to my case was even better than what she had predicted. Bottom line: Mr. Causey was able to get all of my charges dismissed. Professional, courteous, understanding, and effective. Excellent.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 90 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Assistant District Attorney
  • State Of North Carolina
  • 1989 - 1990

Education

  • University of North Carolina School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1988
  • Appalachian State University
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1983

Associations

  • North Carolina State Bar
  • Member
  • N/A
  • North Carolina Academy of Trial Lawyers
  • Member
  • N/A
  • North Carolina Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • High Point Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Guilford Inn of Court
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Board Certified Specialist - Criminal Law
  • North Carolina State Bar
  • 1996

Speaking Engagements

  • Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Running an efficient law office
  • 2008

Attorney endorsements

Received (13)
Given (4)
Endorse William
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Oct 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I've seen Bill in court many times over the years and he always fights for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I highly recommend Bill Causey. He strongly advocates for his clients, in and out of the courtroom. He works hard to get the best results possible for his clients while treating them with the utmost respect: Fine qualities in any attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I've known Bill for almost 12 years and have worked against him as an Assistant District Attorney and with him as a fellow Defense Attorney. Bill is extremely knowledgeable about the law and is willing to do what it takes to get great results for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am a Board Certified Specialist in Criminal Defense. I have observed Bill Causey defend clients for 15 years. He is one of the best defense attorneys in the area."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Dec 16
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Bill Causey, Jr. I have known Bill for 14 years. During this time, I have had the privilege of being co-counsel with him on a murder case, and I have also had numerous opportunities to watch him try cases and argue motions. Bill is very knowledgeable and experienced in criminal law, and he also has an excellent demeanor that is very effective when he is arguing cases before a judge or jury. He is also one of the most creative and effective lawyers around in terms of how he presents his arguments. I should also point out that Bill is a very nice person."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Bill Causey. He has a great reputation as a polished and competent litigator. He will do what it takes to find the best result for the client. I enjoy working with Bill because he always treats his clients and colleagues with kindness and respect."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. As a prosecutor I tried many cases with Bill Causey on the other side. Now, as a defense attorney, I have had the chance to work with Bill Causey to protect the rights of our respective clients. He is an excellent trial lawyer who has earned the respect of his peers, judges, prosecutors and law enforcement."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Causey is a Board Certified Specialist in Criminal Law. I have had the occasion to work with him numerous times over the past seven years and he has always been very knowledgable and professional. I absolutely endorse him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I've been practicing in High Point with Billy for more than 25 years. We've worked together on many cases including two capital cases that went to trial where we were co-counsel . Billy has a quick mind and is very eloquent in the courtroom. Always cool under fire. He works tirelessly for his clients. Nobody gets better results than Billy. A great lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Amazing trial attorney, one of the sharpest and smartest individuals I have ever known. Charismatic in front of a jury, a leader before judges, and always the best lawyer in the room! I am proud to endorse him!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse William. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have spoken to several Superior Court Judges about whom they consider to be the better trial attorneys. Billy appears on their respective "lists.""
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense