Skip to main content

David Charles Harbin

Criminal defense Attorney at Hagerstown, MD

5.0   13 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • State Years
    Dist. of Columbia - DC 18 years
    Maryland - MD 19 years
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State DC
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 19 years
    State MD
    Acquired 2004
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About David

Learn David’s areas of practice.

2
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%
    Over fifteen years experience handling felonies and misdemeanors in Hagerstown, Washington County and Frederick County. Experienced handling homicides, drug charges, sex offenses and all other types of charges.

    19 years, 5,000 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    50%
    Experienced handling driving under the influence (DUI) cases in Hagerstown, Washington County and Frederick County.

    19 years, 5,000 cases

HAGERSTOWN AND FREDERICK, WE ARE HERE FOR YOU. CHARGED WITH A CRIMINAL OFFENSE OR A DUI IN EITHER COUNTY? CONTACT US AND FIND OUT WHY WE ARE DIFFERENT. WE HAVE MERGED THE SOPHISTICATION OF A LARGE LAW FIRM WITH THE PERSONAL ATTENTION YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM YOUR HOMETOWN LAWYER.

I am an experienced criminal defense attorney with offices in Hagerstown and Frederick. I handle all types of criminal and traffic cases, including felonies, misdemeanors, and must appear triaffic offenses like driving under the influence and driving while impaired.  I offer a free 30 minute initial consultation.  

Awards

Client's Choice 2017
Client's Choice
2017

Location

Harbin Law Office
82 West Washington Street
Suite 608
Hagerstown, MD, 21740
Harbin Law Office
129 West Patrick Street
Suite 2
Frederick, MD, 21701
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  13 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2017
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Michelle | September 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fabulous Lawyer and staff !
Let’s start with the staff , they are the nicest people . Very kind and so helpful ! Mr Harbin was an AMAZING attorney ! From the moment I met Mr Harbin I knew he was very genuine and caring ! Truly an amazing attorney ! I would and will recommend Mr Harbin to anyone seeking the best attorney in the Maryland and surrounding area !
Read less
Posted by James | February 6, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Harbin got me through the fire1
Harbin Law Firm has multiple attorneys that are excellent and well versed in the legal system. Harbin Law Firm handled multiple serious cases for me in the year of 2022. The firm was able to end my criminal cases without any trials along with a very favorable and desirable outcomes for me. The staff is extremely friendly, professional, and hard-working. I'm a black guy; and I say that, so I can convey the notion that the Harbin Law Firm works hard for all of their clients without any discrimination of any sort. I hope I never have any legal issues again; but if I do I'll be hiring Harbin Law Firm again. I also highly advise anyone to take a FREE consultation with the firm. I highly advise that you retain the firm's services. Why? When I was incarcerated; Harbin Law Firm answered multiple phone calls from me while I was in incarcerated. Harbin Law Firm prides themselves with high communication with all their clients. They also visited me multiple occasions. I felt very confident having Harbin Law Firm with my multiple charges and cases. Harbin Law Firm is the reason I'm NOT in prison and I have my freedom to write this review. Harbin Law Firm is definitely an asset that is more than worthy of the investment. I value my professional relationship with Harbin Law Firm.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 2, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
3rd DUI with Possession Charge "Not Marijuana"
I am a Director of Computer Engineering for Government Services in Washington, DC. Everyday, I manage 15 mechanical, electrical, computer, and civil engineers for my job. The best day of my life turned into the worst. I got a huge promotion at work and wanted to celebrate with friends, but later that night I was in arrested in Hagerstown for DUI and Possession of Substance "Not Marijuana". I was looking at minimum of (2) years jail. I met with (3) Lawyers prior to David, all of which told me that I would probably do jail time for this situation. When I walked in to the Harbin office Molly made me feel like I wasn't a criminal and David made me feel the most comfortable with my situation. He continued to tell me exactly what he could do for me in this situation, but explain that I needed to do my part to increase my odds of staying out of jail. I did 90 "AA classes" in 90 days, I attended treatment classes, and most of all kept out of trouble. My trial was delayed for (1) year due to COVID. The day of my trial finally came. I met David a few minutes prior to court; once again he told me I would be ok and he was going to do everything in his power to get everything reduced or dropped. He was able to get my possession charge dropped "off record", reduce my sentence to only (1) year of supervised probation, got the court to move my probation to my local jurisdiction, reduced court cost by thousands, and successfully explained to the judge and prosecutor why I should be able to keep my guns/bows for hunting purposes. The judge agreed to everything he proposed. I was able to keep my job, still go hunting, and take this a learning lesson that even though life gets hard keep your head up. I plan to keep my head up and stay out of trouble from here on out as I can not afford to loose everything I've ever worked for in life. There is not question in my mind that I would hands down HIRE David Harbin and recommend David over any Lawyer I have met. Trust me when I tell you I am not perfect as you already read I have had (3) DUI's and possession charge. If you are looking for a Lawyer that will go fight for your rights, provide you reassurance during hard times, and fight to reduce your sentence; DAVID HARBIN IS THAT LAWYER. I WOULD LIKE TO TAKE THIS TIME TO THANK DAVID FOR EVERYTHING HE DID FOR ME!!!!!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 22, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Client of Defense Attorney, David Harbin
David Harbin and his Legal Assistant Molly Allen, provide stellar legal counsel. David and Molly’s legal knowledge and expertise are exceptional. David and his legal assistant Molly, know the law inside and out and they are able to take an impossible situation and provide you with an excellent outcome. David and Molly are both super nice and easy to talk to about anything and everything. Be straight up with David and follow everything he advises you to do and he will not let you down and never stop working for you to provide a first-rate outcome for you. I now have a future that I can look forward to because of his superb legal defense. David and Molly are the best lawyers on the planet!
Read less
Posted by Korey Starnes | May 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome lawyer
I hired David harbin as my lawyer is 2014 or 2015 for a charge I have gotten. He was very professional and gave me a second chance at life. If someone asked me do you know a lawyer I can use, David harbin would be the one I would recommend. If was simply just awesome in general. Thank you again David harbin. Korey
Posted by anonymous | May 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Sympathetic and effective
Mr. Harbin represented me on a must-appear. It was dismissed, and I was found not guilty on a related charge. He and his assistant Molly were great through the whole process.
Posted by Sharon | February 17, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
He's the best!!
I couldn't ask for a better attorney to have in my corner. He has gone and beyond in every aspect of my life when legal services were needed. Identity fraud, business and real estate.
Posted by anonymous | February 3, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr Harbin
Was very comforting and helped through a tough time time in my life. Thanks for all your help!
Posted by Lori | January 18, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Attorney
Our son needed an attorney and David Harbin came highly recommended. Dave was thorough and extremely knowledgeable. He made a difficult time much easier. Dave was available every step of the way, answering all our questions and giving us all the legal support needed from start to finish. He never made us feel as though we were bothering him. Dave and his staff are very professional and caring people. We are forever grateful to him for all he has done for us. I highly recommend Dave.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 18, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI and Legal Document Review
Fantastic attorney! Beyond professional! Dave was all over my DUI case, moved quickly to petition the court to retain my driving rights (which was granted) and got me unsupervised probation with my PBJ. Since then, Dave has reviewed various documents for me: contracts, background check information, etc. and he's receptive and always responds swiftly. You want this guy on your team!
Read less
Posted by Rick and Pam | January 18, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
Mr. Harbin is an excellent attorney. He really came through for us during a stressful situation with our family. He has a great heart for people. He is also very thorough with everything. We would definitely recommend him. His staff, especially his secretary is always courteous and friendly.
Posted by Sue | January 17, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
David Harbin - Highly Recommended
David Harbin was recommended to us by an attorney we had previously used. During the initial consultation, Mr. Harbin was knowledgeable, friendly, and competent. He gave us a fair price and we hired him immediately. He kept us informed throughout the process and worked to get the best outcome possible. I would recommend him highly to anyone needing an attorney.
Read less
Posted by Missy | January 15, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
An experienced lawyer who really cares
Dave was hired by a family member to represent them for several charges including a DUI charge. With this situation not being something we were familiar with and knowing the possible sentences could really interfere with several positive changes that our family member had made since the incident, we relied on Dave's expertise. Dave was not only thorough, determined, reliable, personable, compassionate, helpful, caring, available, supportive, but he helped put together a compelling enough case that delivered the results (sentence) that we were hoping for with a situation that seemed like the odds were against our family member. He did not shy away from the difficult details and went above and beyond to get the needed details for his case. Despite being one of his busiest times of the year, he responded to every email in a timely manner and gave his undivided attention. We are so grateful for Dave and the experience he brings and would highly recommend him. We have happily been able to move on, but Dave will always hold a special place in our hearts for all of his hard work and compassion.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.2 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Harbin Law Office
  • 2009 - Present
  • Assistant Public Defender
  • Maryland Office Of The Public Defender
  • 2005 - 2009

Education

  • Duquesne University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2004
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2001

Sample of Legal Cases

  • State v. Gonzalez
  • Charges dismissed
  • State v. Dennis Udo Smith
  • NOT GUILTY

Associations

  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Member
  • 2023 - Present
  • Frederick County Criminal Justice Commission
  • Member
  • 2023 - Present
  • Maryland Public Defender System
  • Board of Trustees
  • 2022 - Present
  • Frederick County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2022 - Present
  • Washington County Bar Association
  • President
  • 2021 - Present
  • Maryland Criminal Defense Attorneys' Association
  • Board of Directors
  • 2020 - Present
  • Washington County Criminal Justice Coordinating Committee
  • Member
  • 2019 - Present
  • Judicial Nominating Commission
  • Member
  • 2019 - Present
  • Washington County Criminal Defense Bar
  • President
  • 2017 - Present
  • Washington County Bar Association
  • Vice President
  • 2019 - 2020
  • Washington County Bar Association
  • Board of Directors
  • 2018 - 2018
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Power List - Criminal Law
  • Maryland Daily Record
  • 2022
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • 2020
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • 2019
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • American Civil Liberties Union
  • 2002
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (0)
Given (7)
Endorse David
Endorsements from fellow lawyers are an important consideration for many when selecting the right attorney.
Hagerstown Criminal defense Lawyer David Charles Harbin
David Charles Harbin
Criminal defense Attorney
Hagerstown, MD
Licensed for 19 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available