Skip to main content

Maribel LaFontaine

Immigration Attorney at Rockville, MD

5.0   35 reviews

About Maribel

Learn Maribel’s areas of practice.

2
Practice areas

Maribel LaFontaine is the founding  attorney of the Law Office of Maribel LaFontaine, P.C. which was established in 2000. She obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in History from Fordham University in New York. She later moved to the Washington, DC area and attended The Columbus School of Law of The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC., where she obtained a Juris Doctor in law. She is admitted to practice law in the Maryland and D.C. Bars. Ms. LaFontaine is fluent in English and Spanish. Ms. LaFontaine practices primarily in U.S. immigration law and also handles routine family law cases, such as uncontested divorces. Ms. LaFontaine is a member of the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA), the Maryland Bar Association and the Montgomery County Bar Associations. The firm also employs a competent and mostly bilingual staff (associate attorney, receptionist, legal assistants/paralegals, interns and/or other administrative support as necessary) in order to provide our clients with the best experience and service possible.

Licensed for 25 years
State DC
Status Good Standing
Acquired 1999
Updated 06/08/2022
State MD
Status Active
Acquired 1997
Updated 07/12/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Maribel

Law Office of Maribel LaFontaine, P.C.
600 Jefferson Plaza.
Suite 304
Rockville, MD, 20852-1190

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  35 customer reviews
5 Star
 
97%
4 Star
 
3%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Williams | May 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Perdón y residencia.
Mi caso tenía una enorme dificultad,un alto grado de complejidad. Gracias a Dios encontramos a una abogada con una vasta experiencia en temas migratorios y su asesoramiento fue crucial para resolver el mío. También queremos agradecer a su asistente legal Tania Alvear que tan diligentemente hizo una labor Encomiable y/o personal que trabajan en la oficina, gracias por su cordialidad. Muchas gracias Dra Maribel por sus servicios a la comunidad,que continúen los éxitos profesionales, Bendiciones. Con profundo respeto y gratitud Williams López.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Green Card
Maribel and her assistant Tania Alvear helped my husband and I with our marriage-based green card application. Tania is extremely professional and responsive. No matter what we asked her or when, she responded within a couple of hours at most. Tania is also very methodical and organized which is very important in dealing with the Immigration Service. If you are looking for a professional and down to earth legal counsel, we definitely recommend that you get in touch with Maribel LaFontaine's office.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 18, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience!!
My mom and I had a great experience with this firm and we were able to get my mom her green card because of them!! Our paralegal Cindy was great and explained everything to us and answered all of our questions. Definitely recommend them!
Posted by Rolando | July 1, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best!!
When I first walked into Maribel’s office I met Cindy Melendez my paralegal who helped me understand the process as well as get all the documents needed for my case. Long story short , In Maribel I found a great attorney with an awesome paralegal that helped guide me through that scary process and got the results I needed. I highly recommend this group to anyone that needs their services.
Read less
Posted by Gilian | February 28, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Green card
Nos gustó mucho el profesionalismo de la abogada Maribel y de Tanya siempre estuvieron pendientes de nuestro caso para que todo fuera exitoso , a demás todo el personal que trabaja en la oficina son amables y cordiales, muchas gracias
Posted by anonymous | January 7, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Residencia y perdón
Realmente estoy muy satisfecho por los servicios brindados por la abogada Maribel Lafontaine y su asistente Tania Alvear su asistente ,que siempre estuvieron muy atentas para asesorarme en todo el proceso de mi caso de una manera muy confiable y profesional EN UN CASO MUY COMPLICADO Como fue el mío.y qué se logró con éxito tener mi residencia permanente en este país. Sin temor alguno ,tengo la convicción de que cualquier sea el caso relacionado ; ellas té darán la mejor asesoría con honestidad y la mejor solución. Personalmente me siento muy feliz y honrado por sus servicios profesionales que a mi me brindaron DIOS LES BENDIGA.
Read less
Posted by Ophelia | December 17, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
My successful green card application
Maribel Lafontaine and her team, especially Tania Alvear were very knowledgeable and courteous. Their preparation and representation was on point. All that they advised my husband and I would happen did happen the exact same way. They made our process very easy and stress free and now I am a legal permanent resident of the United States of America from Jamaica.
Read less
Posted by leady | November 4, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent services
Maribel Lafotaine is a great lawyer!! i really like how she prepare me for me green card interview ,given me a peace of mind.. Tania alvear is also Great , the thing i like the most about her is her promptness to answer you, when you either call with a question or send her an email . always willing to help . than you again both to help me with my process .God bless you!!
Read less
Posted by Xiomara | October 30, 2020
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Es una excelente abogada muy buena,
La abogada Maribel y su asistente Tania Alvear son excelentes las recomiendo al 1000%
Posted by Rosa castillo | July 22, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful experience!
Maribel LaFotaine is a great lawyer! She is very kind, responsible and professional. She helped me throughout my entire residency process along with her assistant Tania. Tania Alvear is professional, patient and always willing to help. Thanks to them I am a permanent resident, I would 100% recommend.
Posted by Abel | August 25, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Green card
Estamos muy contentos con al trabajo que ellas hicieron por nosotros muy profecionales en lo que hacen tanto la abogada como su asistente Elizabeth claro que las recomendaria son exelentes Gracias estamos muy satisfechos junto con mi esposa el caso era dificil pero gracias a dios y al trabajo de la abogada obtuve la green card
Posted by Veronica | May 3, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Caso de Asilo Ganado
Yo entre en el 2014 de mi país El Salvador. Contrate a la abogada Maribel LaFontaine para que llevara mi caso de asilo en su oficina. Fue un largo proceso en la corte de inmigración pero gracias a su buen trabajo con su asistente legal Jackie Parra ganamos el caso. La Oficina es muy profesional y Jackie Parra siempre estuvo muy al tanto de mi caso y me explico todo con mucho detalle. Mil gracias al excelente trabajo de Jackie y la abogada Maribel.
Read less
Posted by Adriana | April 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experiencia, honestidad y respeto... EXCELENCIA
Altamente recomendamos a la abogada Maribel LaFontaine y su asistente paralegal Cindy Melendez. Llegamos a la oficina de la abogada Maribel LaFontaine por recomendación de un amigo a quien le resolvió un caso que parecía imposible. Considerando lo delicado de nuestro caso y la poca esperanza que nos daban otros abogado -por tratarse de una petición de madre a hija mayor de edad dentro de los Estados Unidos-decidimos ponernos en manos de su excepcional equipo. Tuvimos la gran suerte de contar con Cindy Melendez, su asistente paralegal, quien desde el primer día demostró su profesionalismo, organización, conocimiento y sobretodo respeto por nuestro caso y nuestra situación. Los cargos son justos y nos impactó posutivamente la forma en que organizaron el proceso, de manera que nos sólo facilitaban el pago, si no que solo cargaban a medida que cada paso era aprobado. Ya fui a Colombia, todo salió súper bien y ahora felizmente estoy de regreso en USA solo esperando mi green card. Listos para continuar trabajando con Cindy Melendez ahora en el caso de mi hijo. Eternamente agradecidos
Read less
Posted by kathy Higgins | March 31, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professionalismo and honestly
Just I want to thank the attorney Maribel LaFontaine and the legal assistant Cindy. I will be really honest.. I am attorney too, I dont practice, however because of that I can recognize perfectly a good or not good attorney. When I went to her office for the firt time after visiting four other attorneys so I could decide which one of these could be responsible for my case satisfactorily. She was the only one who completely convinced me to be the right one, with her knowledge and above all with her honestly!. That is why I hired her to get my first green card, and I was happy with the result! So I kept her services to get my second green card and also my citizenship!. Ms LaFontaine and Cindy (who was very efficient and helpful) were working with me around four years in all these processes with professionalism, respect and kindness. I am completely satisfied and happy with their work, for me it was a pleasure working with them. I definitely highly recommend her and her team. Slolo quiero agraceder a la Abogada Maribel LaFontaine y a la asistente legal Cindy. Voy a ser muy honesta... soy Abogada tambien no ejerso sin embargo puedo darme perfecta cuenta cuando estoy frente a un buen Abogado o no. La primara vez que vi a la Abogada LaFontaine despues de haber entrevistado a otros cuatro Abogados para poder decidir quien podria llevar mi caso satisfactoriamente. Ella fue la unica que me convencio en su totalidad de ser la indicada para poder representarme ya que me pude dar cuenta que tenia los conocimientos necesarios pero sobre todo me di perfecta cuenta que era muy honesta! y eso para mi fue muy importante, entonces la contrate para optener mi primera targeta de residencia la cual fue muy facil y estuve muy feliz con los resultados, por eso decidi seguir contratando sus servios para mi residencia permanente y para mi ciudadania, fueron alrededor de cuatro an~os con estos procesos en los cuales conte con los servicios de la Abogada LaFontaine y de Cindy (quien fue muy eficiente y atenta) y en todo este tiempo el trabajo de ambas fue eficiente, prosesional, respetuoso y muy coordial, estoy completamente satisfecha y feliz con los resultados, fue un placer trabajar con ellas. Por supuesto recomiendo altamente a la Abogada Maribel LaFontaine y a todo su equipo. En adicion quiero decir que es exelente que hable Ingles y espa~ol perfectamente (no que solo sepa espanol si no que lo hable perfecto igual el ingles) tanto ella como Cindy eso es idoneo para todas las personas quienes nuestra primera lengua no es el Ingles y aun que lo hablemos queremos entender a la perfeccion lo que ahi se trate.
Read less
Posted by Alba | January 9, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you Maribel and Jacky
I was the victim of a crime and I did not know I could apply for a Green card until I contacted the law office of Maribel LaFontaine. Maribel and her assistant, Jacqueline P. Parra, gave me good information and helped me with the application process. I am extremely happy that I finally received my Green Card. Now they’re also assisting my husband with his Green Card application. Maribel and Jacky are highly knowledgeable, professional, and dedicated to their clients’ satisfaction. I would definitely recommend the office of Maribel LaFontaine. THANK YOU Jacky for all your help!
Read less
Posted by Ana | December 24, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excelente trabajo
Cuando llegue a la oficina de la licenciada iba sin ninguna esperanza ya que había visitado a otros abogados y por la condición de mi caso me decían que no tenía solución. Ella fue la única abogada que aceptó trabajar en mi caso. Yo sabia que no sería fácil pero teniendo la guía de un buen abogado todo salió bien. Trabajaron en mi caso con mucho profesionalismo y paciencia, un caso que requería eso, paciencia. Siempre que llame estuvieron ahí. Mi asesora Tania siempre fue muy amable, atenta y profesional trabajo lado a lado conmigo guiándome en los documentos que necesitaría y cómo debía de presentarlos, ni las gracias serían suficientes para ella. Muy profesional. Muchas gracias Tania y Maribel Lafontaine por sus servicios y por su profesionalismo. Ana
Read less
Posted by Ana zimmer | December 2, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer and staff
I remember when I went to her office for the first time, after discussing my situation she gave me the encourage to proceed with my case even though wouldn’t be easy. They were with us from day one until the day we received our residence. It wasn’t an easy case, nevertheless they made it easy with their knowledge of laws and her experience as a lawyer. Everyone involved with our case were very courteous and professional and made the whole process lest stressful for us. We as a family are gtateful and we would recommend 100 %.
Read less
Response from Maribel LaFontaine December 3, 2018
We were overjoyed with the results in your case. It was definitely challenging, but we were persistent and you had the patience to stay the course. High five to your legal assistant, Tania. It was a team effort and I am thrilled you selected me to lead the way!
Posted by Richard | July 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent and Honest Lawyer and Staff!!
My husband (Same Sex Marriage) from El Salvador was in Deportation proceedings with no documentations available to provide. Maribel LaFontaine and Cindy (Legal Assistant) experience and honesty help us navigate my husband and I to obtain his legal status and receive his Green Card through Consular Processing in El Salvador. With Fear of arriving back to El Salvador after 12 years illegally in the United States, Maribel and Cindy prepared us every step of the process and interviews. Shortly, after a 4 week stay in El Salvador, my husband received his Green Card with no issues and delays. Amazing Staff and Honest Office!!! I will see them soon for my husband U.S. Citizenship. Thank You Maribel and Cindy and your entire TEAM!!
Read less
Response from Maribel LaFontaine December 3, 2018
We are appreciative that you selected our firm and gave us the opportunity to guide your family through a challenging immigration journey. Your review was so thoughtful and perfectly describes the relationship we strive to achieve with every client.
Posted by Miguel Bonilla | July 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Abogada Excelente y sus asistences
Estoy muy orgulloso del buen trabajo que la abogada Maribel LaFontaine uso por mi caso. Estoy muy feliz con los resultados. Gracias a dios que ya soy ciudadano después de muchos anos finalmente encontré una abogada que si supo luchar junto a mí para poder tener un resultado excelente en mi caso de inmigración. También le quiero dar gracias a los asistentes de la oficina, estoy muy feliz con el servicio que ellos me han brindado. Especialmente mi asistente Tania gracias por la atención y profesionalidad que usted tuvo con mi caso.
Read less
Response from Maribel LaFontaine July 23, 2018
Sr. Bonilla, Felicidades! Estamos agradecidos de haber tenido la oportunidad de ayudarlo con su deseo de convertirse en ciudadano de los EE. UU. Maribel
Posted by anonymous | July 13, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Job
First time ever working with them was on a custody hearing for my husband son, which we worked with another lawyer that no longer a works in the firm but since they did such a great job with that and now we have full custody of my son we decided to stick with them for my husband immigration. Maribel and Tania were so helpful with answering all of our questions making my husband feel better about having to leave (which was his biggest fear) the many times we called to ask the most dumbest questions, the late night emails I would send, just everything leading up to the last meeting before he had to leave for 5 weeks to El Salvador, prepping him, and making sure that he had all the documents ready for his interview; the end result was that he was so prepared for everything there weren’t any problems and he is now with his family, we couldn’t ask for a better team then this one! They did such an amazing job that we will be coming back for his citizenship in the next few years.
Read less
Response from Maribel LaFontaine July 23, 2018
Thank you for choosing our firm. We are glad your family got the results it deserved!
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.0 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Managing Attorney
  • Law Office of Maribel LaFontaine, P.C
  • 2001 - Present
  • Supervising Attorney
  • Salgado & Associates
  • 1999 - 2001
  • Paralegal & Associate Attorney
  • Glinsmann & Glinsmann, Chartered
  • 1996 - 1999
  • Volunteer Law Graduate
  • Ayuda, Inc.
  • 1995 - 1995
  • Law Clerk/Legal Intern
  • Department Of Defense-Pentagon
  • 1992 - 1994
View all work experience

Education

  • Fordham University, N.Y.
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1989
  • Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, D.C.
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • N/A

Associations

  • Greater Washington Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • American Immigration Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • Montgomery County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Maryland State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • English

Awards

  • Internship Mentor
  • Northwest High School
  • 2008

Publications

  • Hispanic Woman (Mujer Hispana)
  • Why Latino Immigrants Are Speaking Out Across the United States?
  • 2006

Speaking Engagements

  • Academy of Finance
  • Practice of Law
  • 2014
  • The Nuts & Bolts of Family Immigration and Naturalization
  • Immigration
  • 2007

Attorney endorsements

Received (7)
Given (5)
Endorse Maribel
Immigration Attorney | Feb 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Maribel is a highly experienced immigration attorney who believes in advising her clients truthfully and does not take a case that she does not believe she can win. I admire her for her candor, her honesty and her talent. I highly recommend her to anyone that needs an immigration attorney."
Immigration Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Maribel is a very experienced and skilled lawyer. She is very committed to helping those in need and offers reasonable rates. She cares about her clients and is a pleasure to work with on related legal matters that need her expertise. I would highly recommend her."
Immigration Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"It is without reservation that I endorse Maribel for anyone looking for a smart, capable immigration attorney. She is honest and trustworthy and works tirelessly on behalf of her clients."
Immigration Attorney | Apr 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Maribel is a strong advocate for her clients and is passionate about helping immigrants obtain and maintain status. She excels in assessing a potential client's immigration matter to determine which options are available. Immigration laws, regulations and policy are constantly changing, and Maribel's experience in immigration law is a huge advantage to her clients."
Immigration Attorney | Apr 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Maribel is a knowledgeable, dedicated attorney who fights hard for her clients. She has over a decade of experience and knows how to win cases in Immigration Court. She regularly wins cases at the Baltimore MD and Arlington VA Immigration Court and the Immigration Judges respect her work ethic. She also has a lot of family immigration experience and will lay out all the options for a client. She is thorough in her research and her diligence shows in the results she gets for her clients. She is a great listener and is creative in her approach to problematic cases. She stays in touch with her clients on a regular basis and her office staff is very professional. I highly recommend Maribel LaFontaine because of her experience, her ability to relate to her clients and her tenacity. She fights hard for her clients."
Immigration Attorney | Nov 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. LaFontaine is my "go-to" lawyer when I seek advice concerning potential immigration consequences for my clients who are facing criminal charges. She is knowledgeable, reliable and responsive. The best evidence of my regard for Ms. LaFontaine's legal abilities is that I have referred two of my staff members to her over the past several years for legal assistance involving their family members."
Immigration Attorney | Jun 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Maribel is a walking encyclopedia of immigration law knowledge. She does not know just the legal doctrine, but how the law is applied locally by immigration officials. She is very committed to her clients and organized. I do not hestitate to recommend her to those looking for an immigration lawyer."
View more endorsements
Child custody
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Employment and labor