Skip to main content

Joshua Garet Prince

Federal regulation Attorney at Bechtelsville, PA

4.9   57 reviews
  • State Years
    Maryland - MD 7 years
    Pennsylvania - PA 14 years
  • Licensed for 7 years
    State MD
    Acquired 2017
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 14 years
    State PA
    Acquired 2009
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Joshua

Learn Joshua’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Federal regulation
    40%
    Representing Federal Firearms Licensees (FFL) at the state and federal level in all issues from procurement of an FFL, to firing range implementation, to issues with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, such as warning letters/meeting and forfeitures.

  2. State, local, and municipal law
    30%
    Representing individuals at the state level with any type of firearms issue, including firearms relief petitions, mental health challenges, estate issues and planning, gun trusts, and obtaining licenses to carry firearms.

  3. Constitutional
    20%
    Protecting our inalienable Rights as reflected in the Bill of Rights.

  4. Trusts
    10%
    Drafting National Firearms Act (NFA) Trusts for clients to purchase, own, and possess NFA firearms, where the Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO) will not sign or there is a desire for multiple individuals to possess.

With our 2nd Amendment rights being attacked at both the Federal and State level, and the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives) trying to close down FFLs (Federal Firearms Licensees) for minor infractions while making FFLs the scapegoat when the ATF's records are inaccurate, I want to taking this opportunity to introduce myself. I am one of only a handful of attorneys across the US that practices in the niche area of law known as firearms law. I decided to concentrate my legal practice on firearms law not only because I am a shooter and firearms enthusiast, but also to ensure that our inalienable Right to Keep and Bear Arms is never encroached upon.

 

I handle cases at the Federal and State level for both FFLs and individuals. At the federal and state levels for individuals, I actively defend the 2nd Amendment of the US Constitution and Section 21 of the PA Constitution, as well as, help individuals with:

 

  • License to Carry Firearms Denials and Revocation;
  • Self-Defense Situational Shootings;
  • Challenges to Erroneous PICS Denials;
  • Relief from Firearms Disabilities;
  • Estate Planning Advice;
  • Gun/NFA Trusts; and
  • 42 USC 1983 Actions for Deprivation of Civil Rights

 

At both the state and federal levels, I represent FFLs and SOTs throughout Pennsylvania and the US regarding:

 

  • ATF Compliance Inspections;
  • Warning Letters and Hearings;
  • FFL Revocations;
  • Corporate Structure Advice
  • Indoor/Outdoor Range Implementation; and
  • Forfeiture Proceedings

 

In following my love for firearms and firearms law, I have taught several Continuing Legal Education (CLE) seminars on Firearms in Estates and Trusts and Firearms Law 101 for several Bar Associations, including Berks, Cumberland, and Dauphin Counties. I also planned and taught several Firearms in Estates CLE classes for the Pennsylvania Bar Institute (PBI).

 

While at Widener Law School, I was a member of the Widener Law Journal. I wrote an article on the Inaccuracy of the National Firearms Registration and Transfer Record (NFRTR). I also had an article published on Fee Disputes in Workers Compensation cases in the Widener Law Journal, Volume 18, No. 2.

 

You can often find me posting on several internet forums, including Subguns, Uzitalk, AR15, and PAFOA. I also hold PA Firearms Law classes for local ranges to inform the public on the firearm laws of the Commonwealth.

 

Following in my father's footsteps, I am also a Board member for the Pottstown Police Athletic League (PAL).

 

Photos and videos

Location

Joshua Garet Prince
Prince Law Offices P.C.
646 Lenape Rd
Bechtelsville, PA, 19505
Prince Law Offices, P.C.
2081 East High Street
Pottstown, PA, 19464
Prince Law Offices, P.C.
42 South Fifth Street
Reading, PA, 19602
Prince Law Offices, P.C.
2015 Hamilton St., Suite 101
Allentown, PA, 18101
Prince Law Offices, P.C.
313 West Liberty Street
Lancaster, PA, 17603
Hide locations

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  57 customer reviews
5 Star
 
96%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
4%
Posted by Nicholas | October 24, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolutely brilliant and precise
I contacted Joshua originally back in 2016 about a matter. He walked me through the process and met every goal he said he would. All I had to do was follow his lead. He is extremely knowledgeable and seemed to know the answer to any question I could throw at him. His office was very organized and nobody ever missed a beat. This was long process since it was dealing with the state. He told me how long it would be right from the start. I never had any surprises and years later I've finally received my very favorable outcome. This guy is a bulldog and I would absolutely trust him with any matter going forward.
Read less
Posted by J | June 16, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
PICS reversal
After being denied the ability to make a firearm purchase, I looked around for legal help. Joshua’s name came up a lot so I called his office and scheduled a consultation call. In addition to putting my mind at ease, Joshua made me very confident that hiring him to assist with my appeal would give me my best chance at reversal. I was not wrong, I’m currently holding my reversal letter and a legally purchased firearm. I would recommend to anyone needing assistance with a gun related legal concern to stop thinking and stressing and call Joshua to see what he can do for you.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 17, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Worth every penny
The bureaucracy thought they could try to take away my 2nd amendment rights because of some bogus charges brought against me due to local police trying to save themselves from embarrassment. Joshua was able to author a very specific and detailed letter to the state police that got my firearm rights restored. As far as I'm concerned there are no other 2A rights lawyers in the state that compare to Joshua and his staff. He is extremely knowledgeable and professional. I was dumbfounded how quick and easy it was to make an appointment as well; other lawyers I called didn't even answer nor return my call after leaving a voicemail. I only wish we had lawyers with as much experience and proficiency on my side of the state.
Read less
Posted by Al | June 15, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
PICS challenge
Joesph Prince knows his stuff. He and his staff were very professional and friendly. Absolutely helpful in all aspects of helping with a PICS challenge. I will highly recommend him to anyone.
Posted by anonymous | May 25, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professionalism and expertise
To say he has been one of the most professional and knowledgable people I have ever done business with is an understatement. He is the best at what he does. He knows the 2A as well as all the legal hoops that will need unraveled. My case was complex. I needed the best. I got the best. He won for me. Josh Prince as great of an attorney as he is, is also staffed with some great people. I can't remember their names but they were grade A.
Read less
Posted by Will | April 13, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Industry Expert You Need
Deep knowledge of case law is table stakes. Joshua knows the people, personalities, and inclinations of Philadelphia's judges, city attorneys, politicians, and the police. When choosing an attorney to help you navigate difficult, politically contentious cases, you'll need both. Joshua provided me with expert guidance and the likelihoods of various outcomes at each decision point of my case, allowing me to reach the best possible outcome. Highly recommended.
Read less
Posted by Dave | March 19, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
I am completely satisfied with Joshua and his firm. He was very professional and courteous. He responds right away to questions and treats his clients with respect. Most knowledgeable attorney in firearms and civil rights. Happy with my outcome.
Posted by anonymous | February 6, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great experience
Josh was very helpful throughout the entire process. He answered all of my questions and his office did a great job following up after the case was over. Definitely recommend.
Posted by Dave Dalton | October 8, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
THE best 2A attorneym hands down
Josh took a case that I had been talking to several other lawyers about for years, each of them telling there was nothing that could be done and turned it into a class action and was able to pressure the defendants to make a $4,000,000 settlement. Again this after several other lawyers said there was nothing that could be done. Absolutely the best
Read less
Posted by Biajja | October 7, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellence is an understatement
Joshua and his team were professional at every step, explained every detail of the process, and were very courteous. During the uncertain times of COVID and with everything shut down, Joshua was able to get my issue resolved in a very timely manner and he even found ways to save me money wherever possible! He knows his stuff for sure, and he gets results!
Read less
Posted by Brandon | August 5, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Josh & His Team
I moved to PA from another state with my concealed carry. PA denied me trying to side with another state’s law over Federal law. I contact Josh and his team and he represented me throughout the process. His knowledge of Federal vs PA state law interpretations are second to none. Josh and his staff provided excellent customer service and Josh told me the truth about how the process worked. He represented me extremely well during my hearing. Yesterday I received my PA concealed carry after almost two years of fighting the state of PA for my rights! I will always be grateful to Josh and his team for allowing me to legally protect my family again. Thank you!
Read less
Posted by Tom | December 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Justuce starts with Joshua
My wife attended a gun rights seminar sponsored by one of our local PA legislators where Joshua Prince was speaking. After speaking to him, she knew he was just who I needed to help me. I contacted his office and he and his staff were very prompt in getting back to me regarding my issue. After many years of battling over my guns rights, PROBLEM SOLVED within 24 hours. He is hands-down THE most knowledgeable attorney in the firearms and civil rights arena. Thank you, Joshua!
Read less
Posted by Joe | December 2, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Joshua saved my carrier and gave me a real second chance
Joshua is the definition of professionalism and a gentleman on top of. He is prompt to respond, understands the system in and out, and truly cares about his clients. He is in a class all of his own. His entire family is wonderful and I am happy to have worked with them over the past few years. His services are worth every single cent!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended
Joshua represented me incredibly well - he is extremely knowledgeable in firearms law and operates with a high degree of professionalism. Should I need additional representation in the future or decide to place anything in an NFA trust I wouldn't hesitate to reach out to Joshua for his expertise. Great experience end-to-end.
Read less
Posted by Peter | July 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommmend
Prince law was great to work with. They resolved my case in a timely manner. I had a pics denial that when consulted with Joshua was handled very quickly and efficiently. Thank you very much.....
Posted by Michael | June 6, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Effective counsel for PICS appeal
I hired Joshua as counsel to help restore my firearms rights. This was in PA at the appeal stage of the PICS process after the PA state police denied my PICS challenge. In my case, the PSP's record was inaccurate and they had no basis for the denial. Joshua was able to resolve the case in my favor without a hearing. I definitely recommend Joshua--he is an aggressive, tireless, and knowledgeable advocate. I felt confident with him on my side.
Read less
Posted by sarah | May 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
OUTSTANDING attorney and assistant
Joshua and his assistant, Howard, worked very hard on my case. Luckily, because of his reputation, the police department pretty much went right along with his requests and my case was handled promptly, professionally, and at a very reasonable cost. I am VERY happy with the assistance I received!
Posted by Pete D | August 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer, highly recommended
After waiting 60 days to find out I was denied my LTCF, I asked around and Joshua Prince's name was recommended. I gave him a call and knew he was the right guy for the job. Very professional to deal with. Any question I ever had he responded within minutes. Always kept me up to date with my case and at the end he had my LCTF issued. If anyone has any legal issues I highly recommend him 100%.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Attorney and Staff
I woke up one day dealing with a nightmare for any avid firearms owner. I found myself fighting for my 2nd amendment rights. I previously had wasted time and money on other firms eager to acccept a large retainer but could not produce results. I called the NRA and they recommended Joshua Prince and his firm. While it was a process Joshua and his team specifically Eric Winter turned out to be the right ones for the job. These guys will not waste your time and if they can help you they will be honest and relentless to that end. I am back with my license to carry and several new firearms and could not be happier. They gave me my life back. In have already referred others in need and would not hesitate to work with this firm for all other matters. Prince law is more than a firm they are constitutionally sound patriots who are in the know on all the latest news and are motivated by our founding fathers principals.
Read less
Posted by Dominic | December 23, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended
Josh has been fantastic to work with in drafting my firearms trust. All of my questions were answered quickly and completely. On several occasions, he even answered questions that I asked him via email within minutes on a Sunday evening! I would highly recommend using Josh Prince for any legal services regarding firearms trusts.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 375-450 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.4 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Chief Counsel
  • Civil Rights Defense Firm, P.C.
  • 2016 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Prince Law Offices, P.C.
  • 2009 - Present

Education

  • Widener University School of Law, Harrisburg PA
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2009
  • McGill University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2005

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Commonwealth v. Goslin
  • Win
  • Yox v. Lynch
  • Win
  • John Doe, et al., v. County of Franklin, et al.
  • Win
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Berks County Bar Association
  • 2009 - Present
  • Montgomery County Bar Association
  • 2009 - Present
  • National Rifle Association
  • 1994 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Defender of Justice
  • National Rifle Association
  • 2017
  • Defender of Justice
  • National Rifle Association
  • 2016

Publications

  • Widener Law Journal - Vol 18, No 2
  • The Weidner/Hendricks Headache - Fee Disputes in Workers' Compensation Matters
  • 2009
  • Pennsylvania Bar Association publication (Real Property, Probate and Trust Law, Issue # 64, Fall 2007)
  • I Bequeath My Machine Gun to. . .
  • 2007
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Penn State Law School
  • The 4473 and You
  • 2018
  • 96th Annual Pennsylvania Sheriffs’ Association Conference
  • Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms Overview
  • 2018
  • USCCA Expo
  • Understanding the Second Amendment, Mental Health Prohibitors and Federal Firearms Right Restoration
  • 2017
  • National Business Institute (NBI)
  • Gun Law: Advanced Issues
  • 2017
  • Firearms and Real Estate in Estates
  • Firearms and Real Estate in Estates
  • 2013
  • Berks County Sheriff's Brigade Monthly Meeting
  • PA's Stand Your Ground Law
  • 2013
  • 2012 Firearms Law & The Second Amendment Symposium
  • Firearms Law
  • 2012
  • Weapons in an Estate or Trust: What to do with the Guns
  • Firearms in Estates and Trusts
  • 2009
  • Weapons in an Estate or Trust: What to do with the Guns
  • Firearms in Estates and Trusts
  • 2008
  • Weapons in an Estate or Trust: What to do with the Guns
  • Firearms in Estates and Trusts
  • 2008
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (6)
Given (5)
Endorse Joshua
Federal regulation Attorney | Oct 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Josh is the foremost expert in firearms law, and relentlessly fights for our second amendment rights. He passionately educates his clients, fellow attorneys, and the firearms community about everything from Supreme Court decisions to hidden ATF rules."
Federal regulation Attorney | Dec 21
Relationship: Friend
"I endorse this lawyer. He is in the forefront of gun owners rights and is extremely knowledgeable and well respected on the subject."
Unknown Attorney | May 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
Federal regulation Attorney | Nov 11
Relationship: Co-worker
"I have known Joshua for many years and have the privilege of working with him on all types of firearms-related legal issues. He is extremely well-versed in this area of law and passionate about his practice. His hard work and dedication are evident to his clients and colleagues. I also had the honor to be involved in the development of a new division of our firm, the Firearms Industry Consulting Group, headed by Joshua. FICG is dedicated to the preservation of firearms rights and the Second Amendment, as well as the protection of individuals and businesses involved in the industry. In his area of practice, Joshua regularly publishes blogs and articles, and also conducts seminars for attorneys, industry professionals, nonprofit organizations and the public. Without reservation, I would recommend Joshua to anyone seeking answers or advice in the area of firearms law."
Civil rights Attorney | Dec 03
Relationship: Co-worker
"Attorney Prince is an ardent defender of civil rights. He enjoys a deep passion for the Second Amendment and is quickly becoming a national leader in firearms law. His practice is driven by a genuine belief in our Constitution and its promise of an individual's right to life and liberty. I have had the pleasure of working with Attorney Prince on several projects over the past few years. Most notably, we recently handled an appeal to the Superior Court of Pennsylvania defending our client's Second Amendment right to bear arms. Attorney Prince is known for his aggressiveness, organization, and ability to consider all angles of a case by thinking outside the box. He always earns the respect and appreciation of his clients. If I ever personally suffer a violation of my civil rights, particularly with respect to the Second Amendment, I would call Attorney Prince for representation. In my opinion, this is the highest compliment an attorney can extend to a colleague."
Civil rights Attorney | May 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Josh is becoming a nationally recognized attorney in the area of gun ownership and protecting the rights of gun owners. He is dedicated, passionate and an extremely knowledgeable attorney."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Real estate
Personal injury
Estate planning

Avvo Contributions

32 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
Bechtelsville Federal regulation Lawyer Joshua Garet Prince
Joshua Garet Prince
Federal regulation Attorney
Bechtelsville, PA
Licensed for 14 years