Skip to main content

Emanuel Nicholas Mouganis

Family Attorney at Brockport, NY

4.8   21 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • State Years
    Florida - FL 16 years
    New York - NY 16 years
  • Licensed for 16 years
    State FL
    Acquired 2008
    Status
    Member in Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 16 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2008
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Emanuel

Learn Emanuel’s areas of practice.

AGGRESSIVE AND EXPERIENCED REPRESENTATION. CALL TODAY 585-672-3487

We will provide you with aggressive representation that will protect your rights, serve your best interests and represent you with the integrity and professionalism you deserve. We have represented citizens seeking justice through litigation in both civil and criminal cases. Our criminal practice consists of representing persons in criminal defense, including DWI/DUI cases, and, traffic violations. Our civil practice strives to meet the varied legal needs of our clients, providing attentive and experienced legal representation in areas of family law and divorce, and a variety of personal injury claims.

Awards

Client's Choice 2014,2012
Client's Choice
2014 2012

Photos and videos

Location

Emanuel Nicholas Mouganis
62 Main Street
Brockport, NY, 14420
Emanuel Nicholas Mouganis
75 S Clinton Ave
Rochester, NY, 14604
Emanuel Nicholas Mouganis
401 Jersey Street
Buffalo, NY, 14213
Hide locations

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  21 customer reviews
5 Star
 
95%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
5%
Client's Choice 2014
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Dennis | August 30, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Handled my circus of a divorce & custody case
I fired Emanuel to represent me in a circus of a divorce and custody case. The case spanned two counties as my estranged spouse had just disappeared and attempted to file for spousal support after being out of mine and the kids' lives for years. Emanuel was able to consolidate all of the case matters to one county and have them heard under one judge for a legal decision on all of the various aspects including the spousal support, child custody, and division of assets. We were able to first locate my estranged spouse and Emanuel was very tactful in his approach and able to get my former spouse served. There were multiple sessions for this case as the estranged spouse was not meeting the bare minimum court requirements or putting any sort of effort forward toward a resolution. Emanuel dealt with frequent last-minute rescheduling of court dates which spawned from constant requests from my former spouse. In the end she lost it a bit and cursed out the entire court and all involved, but Emanuel was able to brush it off and and use the outbursts to our advantage. After multiple warning mail and email messages from the court my former spouse still chose to keep showing up late or postpone the proceedings and finally ended up defaulting on the case. I was able to retain my full custody of both children and all of the marital assets. He was able to strategically play the long chess game and let my estranged spouse move herself into her own checkmate status. During the proceedings this was all obviously new to me so he was able to answer my endless stream of questions as well as explain any legal jargon which I didn't understand with ease. I would recommend him to anyone. Thank you so much from myself and both of my children!
Read less
Posted by Tennille | January 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
amazing lawer
I highly recommend Emanuel Mouganis . I hired him for a very complex child custody and support case. He was very supportive threw out the whole process and exceeded my expectations and outcome. If you are looking for a strong defense attorney that will be there for u every step of the way look no further .
Posted by Elizabeth | October 14, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very satisfied
I retained Mr. Mouganis while going through a rather unpleasant custody dispute with my ex husband. It was a stressful and scary time for me, but I found solace in Emanuel. He was able to not only bring my situation to a satisfactory resolution, but he was able to calm my fears and keep me sane along the way. Emanuel is warm and reassuring, he is quick to respond to calls and emails, never leaving me to wonder about my case, and above all else he is incredibly knowledgeable and amazing at what he does. Emanuel Mouganis is exactly who you want in your corner and I can’t thank him enough.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 24, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thorough & Knowledgeable
Emanuel and his team are strong, client-oriented advocates who take the time to listen to your story and explain the options. They were non-judgmental and Emanuel took the time to get to know me. As things happened, everything was explained to me and put into context. They kept me informed of strategy and were able to obtain excellent results. I strongly recommend.
Read less
Posted by Scott | March 31, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Client focused excellence
Mr. Mouganis represented me in court through a contested divorce. With many years of experience, he comprehensively explained what we could & could not pursue & why. He provided expert advice regarding both financial aspects, as well as child custody. There were aspects within my case that I did not want to concede to my ex-wife. Emanuel explained the favorable points we had achieved, & that by not accepting the terms put forth by the judge, we would risk loosing all that we had achieved thus far. Divorce is rarely easy, & lawyers like Emanuel will truthfully tell you that you aren't going to get everything you want. But then again neither is your ex-spouse. I highly recommend Emanuel. He is knowledgeable, & will explain everything understandably. As such you will always know where you stand, what your options are, & how to ensure the best outcomes for your situation.
Read less
Posted by WAllen | May 2, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Professional Conduct Upon Entry
I opt not to obtain an attorney for a child custody case I called Attorney Mougains to assist me with. I desided to take on the responsibility in protecting my family from the harshness in such a battle. Attorney Mougains was crystal clear in his plan to address such matter effectively. He was precise with just a few questions answered and superior ready to go to work on my behalf. I will put this phone in my speed dial contact; if I am ever traveling to NY again, I am without questions calling Attorney Mougains for representation. After this breif introduction, he is the star power you want to walk in any courtroom with.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 11, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Phone consultation
Contacted Emanuel for a family court case at last minute . He was respectful and ready to take on the case despite the fact that hearing was coming up in few days . He sounded confident and ready to work over the weekend . Case eventually dropped and I never hired him , but appreciate the way he handled the phone consultation .
Posted by Kelly | August 11, 2015
Excellent Lawyer
I hired Emanuel for a child custody case, and was very pleased with his services. He was extremely knowledgeable, and knew the laws inside and out. He was very easy to reach, and always responded back extremely fast. He never seemed bothered with all my questions, and that was a great plus in easing my anxiety! Very detail oriented and professional. I would definitely recommend him for any family law case!
Read less
Posted by Timothy | August 8, 2015
Emanuel
Emanuel was instrumental in obtaining a favorable outcome in my custody case. Through Emanuel's guidance, advise and knowledge of the law and court system, I was awarded equal custody of my son. It was a long and difficult process especially as "the father" in this case, however Emanuel remained focused, positive and professionally pretty tuff through the entire process. I would highly recommend Emanuel Mouganis.
Read less
Posted by evan | February 19, 2015
best lawyer ever!
I met Mr. Mouganis through a mutual friend after running into a serious situation of being charged with Assault in the first degree. He was able to explain thoroughly what the situation was and informed me of my rights has a citizen. It was not a easy case of going to trial but Mr. Mouganis worked really hard in utilizing all the evidence that I provided him with in proving my innocence. I thanked him so much for working hard on my case which resulted in a verdict of not guilty on all four counts charged against me. I will and would recommend Mr. Mouganis to anyone in a similar situation.
Read less
Posted by Sara | September 23, 2014
True Fighter
I recently used Emanuel Mouganis on a very serious injury case. He was not just very concerned about the case, but for me and my personal well-being as well. In Court he was extremely smooth and when it was needed to fight the insurance company...aggressive. He is a true fighter for people who need it most. I would definitely recommend him for others to use. He is and will remain my families lawyer!
Read less
Posted by Ben | September 23, 2014
Excellent Job
We were blessed to have found Emanuel at the right time. We talked to several lawyers and everyone was talking about going to trial or getting the case dismissed in 3 weeks or more time. When we met Emanuel he was very patient , listened and understood our situation. Our case dismissal was a long shot. He made it happen in less than a week. We couldn't have asked for more. We were speechless when he called to inform us that the case was dismissed in such a short time. He is brilliant, he does not promise the stars but delivers results beyond expectations. Emanuel, we cannot thank you enough for what you had done for us. We have our lives back together because of him.
Read less
Posted by Mary | September 23, 2014
Trustworthy Lawyer
Mr. Mouganis was great. He was pleasant, helpful and very knowledgeable. He took the time to listen to all my concerns and provided honest, straightforward answers. I would definitely recommend Mr. Mouganis.
Posted by robert | September 22, 2014
great job
I was charged with criminal trespass, that a very arrogant Orleans county assistant D A was insisting on jail time for. I hired a prominent attorney in the brockport area ,after many meetings and taking my money of course insisted on me to try and plea it down.After giving it a lot of thought I said No!! I felt I did nothing wrong. I fired him and retained Emanuel Mouganis, from the start Emanuel was upfront and honest. He told me it would be difficult but he believed we had a case.Emanuel stayed in constant communication with me and informed me of every single detail. He worked extremely hard on this and was prepared for the trail...WE WON !! NOT GUILTY. I would highly recommend Emanuel to anyone and everyone.He is a great attorney and great man!!
Read less
Posted by Jennifer | September 21, 2014
Emanuel Mouganis
Emanuel Mouganis is a great lawyer, he worked with me, got me the help i needed, worked with the D.A., and negotiated a great plea deal which kept me out of prison. I've never worked with a lawyer before, but wouldn't hesitate to use his again in the future if needed. If you need a lawyer you can trust, Emanuel will do right for you. I'm very thankful that I had him in my corner.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 7, 2012
No games or gimmicks a serious and phenomenal lawyer and above all an excellent person.
I recently contacted Mr. Mouganis with a legal problem I was facing. I found his website courtesy of a search engine. After reading his profile I knew I had to call this guy. It was a Sunday afternoon when I called him, I did not figure him to call me back until Monday. Not only did he call me back, but he even took time out of his day off to meet with me. Emanuel did not just talk about my legal problem he talked to "me." He understood me and listened to me. He not only got my charges dropped, he made sure that the charges never got filed. He didn't stop at that, he helped me with my own personal demons and taught me a lot. I would definitely recommend Mr. Mouganis to anyone for anything. THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!
Read less
Posted by Arie Lilly | September 23, 2011
Great Communication; Amazing Denfense Attorney!
Emanuel Mouganis is, in my opinion, is one of the best criminal defense attorneys in the county. By working with the DA early on he was able to reduce my charge before it was even filed. This saved me from having the original arrest/charge on my record. He was honest, upfront and available throughout the entire process. Each time I discussed my case with Emanuel he was able to answer my questions clearly and in a way that alleviated my concerns. Throughout the process I felt like Emanuel was in my corner fighting for me. Not only did he help my family and me through a difficult time, he actually delivered the desired results in the end. He is truly a talented, dedicated defense attorney. I cannot recommend Emanuel Mouganis highly enough.
Read less
Posted by Karl | September 23, 2011
A time honored friend.
Emanuel Mouganis diligently worked day-after-day on my case. He helped get me through some very, very rough times and was actively there for me when I needed him the most. Without him, I wouldn't be the person I am today. The fact that he is intelligent, resourceful, and a real trooper got me ahead. Without Emanuel I would have lost it all. He provided remedy to my hardship and difficult time. Emanuel went out of his way for me many, many times. I would do anything for him and I am forever grateful that we crossed paths. I truly recommend his services, knowledge, and expertise. Thou shall not settle for less than what you know you deserve, because you deserve the best. And Emanuel Mouganis is the BEST!
Read less
Posted by Mark | September 22, 2011
Best decision I ever made
From the start, Emanuel Mouganis' advice and reassurance is superb. He shares information in a clear and concise way that anyone should understand. He and his staff are extremely patient and will take whatever time is necessary to insure your questions are fully answered. In court, or out, the team is professional, knowledgeable, calm, and courteous. After all is said and done, I wouldn't even consider giving my business to anyone else. Every penny was well spent. They go out of their way to set your mind at ease and calm your fears. Great Job, Emanuel!!!
Read less
Posted by Alexander | August 10, 2010
Great Experience
I cannot thank you enough for the outstanding, professional service you provided me on my case. I greatly appreciate all the time, effort, and hard work that you pit into the preparation for my trial. I feel fortunate to have had you represent me. It was a very stressful time and the process was long and dragged out, however, you are a very competent attorney and I would definitely recommend your services to anyone in need of a competent, well educated attorney such as yourself. Please accept the enclosed gift certificate as a token of my appreciation and gratitude for your hard work and dedication. It was an honor meeting you and I wish you much success in the future. Sincerely Alexander M.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Contingency 25%-33%
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • EMANUEL N. MOUGANIS, Esq.
  • Law Office of Emanuel N. Mouganis
  • 2008 - Present
  • Law Clerk
  • United States Attorney's Office
  • 2006 - 2007
  • Law Clerk
  • State Attorney's Office
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Judicial Law Clerk
  • State Government
  • 2004 - 2005
View all work experience

Education

  • State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law
  • LL.M - Master of Laws
  • 2007
  • State University of New York, College at Brockport
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • N/A
  • St. Thomas University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • N/A

Associations

  • New York State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Monroe County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Bar Association of Erie County
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Nation's Top One Percent
  • National Association of Distinguished Counsel
  • 2015
  • Top 40 under 40
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2015
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Client's Choice Award
  • AVVO
  • 2014
  • Leaderhip Contributions Award
  • University of Buffalo
  • 2007
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Herbert Wechsler Moot Court Competition
  • Attorney Mentor
  • 2014
  • Conference
  • Contracts
  • 2010
  • Conference
  • Estate Planning
  • 2009

Attorney endorsements

Received (88)
Given (83)
Endorse Emanuel
Child custody Attorney | Feb 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Smart, focused and caring attorney. Dedicated to client success. Highly recommended."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 05
Relationship: Other
"Hardworking and determined. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. An extremely talented and well respected attorney in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"A truly excellent attorney well respected in the legal community. I wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone looking for a lawyer who knows the law and truly cares about protecting the rights of his clients and getting them the most favorable result possible."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 05
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Attorney Mouganis without reservation."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 08
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Emanuel Mouganis is a talented and well respected criminal and DUI defense attorney who I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a lawyer who knows the law and truly cares about his clients."
Unknown Attorney | May 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer for his outstanding commitment to serving clients zealously and with great attention to detail."
Personal injury Attorney | Apr 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Competent and reliable."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Emanuel is an upstanding lawyer in the community and is diligent and attentive to his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Mouganis has written useful legal guides and posted helpful answers. If you get in trouble for an alleged DUI/DWI, then you need him on your side. He is appropriately tough and extremely intelligent...neither opposing counsel nor the prosecutor will never sneak anything past him - - guaranteed! I highly recommend his services."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mr. Mouganis. He is a great choice for representation and is highly respected in the legal community."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Mouganis is a recommended member of the AVVO community. He shows his commitment and expertise via his postings. I recommend this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Mouganis is a respected, and resourceful attorney that strongly advocates for his clients. He is a great value to the legal community."
General practice Attorney | Jan 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Child custody
Family
Immigration
DUI and DWI
Chapter 13 bankruptcy
Chapter 13 bankruptcy
Credit repair
Brain injury
Bankruptcy and debt
Consumer protection
Contracts and agreements
Child custody
Bankruptcy and debt
Business

Avvo Contributions

0 Legal Answers 2 Legal Guides
Brockport Family Lawyer Emanuel Nicholas Mouganis
Emanuel Nicholas Mouganis
Family Attorney
Brockport, NY
Licensed for 16 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available