Skip to main content

Richard R. Shaw

Criminal defense Attorney at Cheektowaga, NY

4.9   62 reviews
  • Licensed for 24 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2000
    Status
    Currently Registered Lawyer disciplined by state licensing authority in 2016

About Richard

Learn Richard’s areas of practice.

Sometimes you're in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Sometimes you're hanging around the wrong people.      

And sometimes, good people just make mistakes.

Regardless of how you ended up in your current situation, you need a good lawyer who will listen to you, fight for you, and get you the result you need at a reasonable price. 

That's why I have retainers starting at $350. Call me today and let's get started on getting you the result you deserve.

 

Location

Richard R. Shaw
3099 William St
Cheektowaga, NY, 14227-1919

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  62 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
2%
Posted by Deb | December 20, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
Richard treated me with dignity and respect on my arrest for a DWI. His solid knowledge and background gave me clear and realistic expectations for my case. I would hire him again if needed.
Posted by Ash | November 16, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer
It had been our pleasure working with mr. Richard on our case. He has been very meticulous in handling the matter alongside us and has been excellent in his demeanour. We have felt very taken care of especially as he always made us feel he was really involved and concerned for us. Beyond his excellent work ethic and our great outcome he has very competitive pricing which makes using his service a no brainer. Thank you again Mr. Richard, we are very grateful for your help and services!
Read less
Posted by Henry | December 5, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
To the point and fast help
Had an issue with my license and could not get anyone on phone to figure out what to do. Instead of driving to district personally to get someone’s attention I hired Richard and just over a week later paperwork was sent to me and I’m in process of taking care of this issue. Thank you Richard Shaw!
Posted by anonymous | October 20, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review
From Ryan S. I've dealt with alot of lawyers in my life.Not to say I'm a big time criminal. If you want a lawyer or someone who will treat you like family and or your big brother. Someone who will respect and know what you are going through. I can assure you if you see and or find Richard you are in the right place. He will be with you every step of the way. Not ignoring a single phone call or message. A lawyer that stands out by far. This is who you need. I trusted him with my whole life and will never go to anyone else again. Ryan.
Read less
Posted by John S | October 19, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
Attorney Richard Shaw is by far the best attorney in WNY..His professionalism, knowledge of the law is impeccable.. He's a fighter and I would recommend him to anyone including my family and friends.
Posted by Feliesha | September 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing
I have never dealt with legal issues, but if I could give this amazing man 100 stars I would he is amazingly priced, respectful, doesn’t judge anyone by any means. He is one hell of a lawyer and if I ever need one again I have his number.
Posted by Olatunji | June 26, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Traffic ticket
Best lawyer so far, reasonable price, made me understand isn’t about the money but getting the job well done, saved me getting suspended, you the best
Posted by anonymous | September 11, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lawyer for my son
I was panicked over my sons car accident and tickets. Mr Shaw Was extremely patient, reassuring and most of all knowledgeable.
Posted by Louis | March 10, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
Was a great lawyer...was on time stood by his word that he gave me...and delivered even more then promised ...got EVERYTHING taken care of
Posted by Kristamarie | March 6, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Richard Shaw
I contacted Mr. Shaw after I recieved a speeding and cell phone ticket. I hired him immediately after consulting with Mr. Shaw. His prices are extremely fair and he is very efficient! Thank you!
Posted by Matt | March 2, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
Richard got my traffic ticket reduced to a parking ticket, with no points and no school, and spared me a visit to traffic court which would have cost me money at work. He was also very reasonably priced and was a great communicator through the whole process.
Posted by anonymous | September 19, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Spot on case analysis and outcome
This was something not expected for us. We had limited time and funds because we were from out of state. Mr Shaw consulted with us and advised us on how to proceed. He didn’t sugar coat anything but gave honest insight on what could occur which Included the best outcome and a possible worse outcome. He was confident that he could get good results and he did exactly what he shared. In less than 2 hours we were on our way home with charges dropped, a sealed record and at a fraction of the fee other NY lawyers were charging. We are grateful to God for leading us to Mr Shaw and even more grateful for the outcome!
Read less
Posted by Matthew | August 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Shaw is AMAZING!!!
Mr. Shaw is hands down the best attorney in WNY! I have had lingering issues for years and even high end, very well advertised attorneys couldn't get done what Mr. Shaw did. His prices were beyond reasonable and he went above and beyond to get resolution, in my favor, for my decades old charge, history clearing. For certificates of relief from disability he is the ONLY one of the attorneys I had try to resolve this, to actually get it done. I wish I could give a 100 star review!!! Use Mr. Shaw for all of your legal needs, he WILL NOT let you down!! Thank you again Richard for the amazing work!!!!
Read less
Posted by Julie | August 29, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very accommodating
I Retained services with Richard Shaw for a friend of mine. My first contact with him was on a Wednesday evening at about 8pm. He went out of his way to meet me on Thursday evening and was in court for the case on Friday morning. The resolution was exactly as he promised. His price was reasonable and I couldn't believe he took care of things so quickly. He followed up with me right after court since I couldn't attend and he has continued to answer questions and lend a helping hand even though the his work in the case is finished. I highly recommend him.
Read less
Posted by Evans | August 29, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent and experienced lawyer
I hired Mr Richard Shaw on a criminal charge that I was charged with and he proved to be a well knowledgeable and experienced attorney. I was in and out of court cleared that quick. I won't hesitate to recommend him to anyone.
Posted by NURUL | August 28, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Easy to access
He returned my call and messages right away. Was able to get appointment on the same day. Answered all my questions promptly. Highly recommend.
Posted by Jacob | August 28, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lawyer
One of the best lawyers in Cheektowaga, he does a very thorough job, got my case from 5 tickets dropped to 1 ticket (25$) , also very fair pricing, highly recommend Mr Shaw !!!!!
Posted by JASON | August 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Service Provided
Richard Shaw is a top notch professional. The services he provided were impeccable. He returned all phone calls promptly and answered all of my questions while also offering informed suggestions that benefitted me greatly before we when before the judge. He was willing to travel and provided a very fair price to come to court outside the Buffalo area. He was very friendly and intentive to all the details provided in regards to my defense. Though I was quite worried about the outcome of my case, his understanding of my charges and ability to state a positive spin on the situation was quite a relief. The verdict was basically exactly what he expected and i couldn’t be more happy with how things turned out. Look no further, this is the man you want in your corner if you have legal issues. 10/10 review... thanks again, Mr. Shaw.
Read less
Posted by Morgan Herlan | May 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Boss
Richard you were very helpful today and I truly appreciate it. Very talented at your job you picked your true calling. Keep it up boss
Posted by Brenda | July 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Assertive, attentive
I used Mr Shaw in Cheektowaga and the outcome was more than I expected. Mr Shaw is concerned about his clients, answers questions immediately. Always a professional. Mr Shaw always returned my phone calls in a timely manner and gave me the best advice. I hope I don't need an attorney again, but, if I do, I will definitely call Mr Shaw. Thank you so much fgir your help Mr Shaw.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.0 (Excellent)

Professional misconduct

This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2016.

Censured issued in NY, 2016
updated on 12/20/2016

When an attorney is censured it means he or she did something wrong but may still practice law. Typically in this case the lawyer's poor behavior is exposed to the public in hopes that he or she will not repeat the behavior.

Richard's comment: “I received a censure in March 2016 for an incident in April of 2015, during a time of great stress surrounding my then 6 month old son's diagnosis of a rare genetic disease that less than 50 people on the planet have. Since then, we have been able to address his health concerns and he is now doing fantastic. Prior to the point reduction on my rating due to the censure, I had a rating of 9.3. Please consider using me as the censure and my current rating are not reflective of my legal abilities.”

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Law Office of Richard R. Shaw II
  • 2006 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Labin & Buffomante
  • 2000 - 2006
  • Law clerk
  • R. Thomas Burgasser, P.C.
  • 1998 - 1999
  • Volunteer
  • Amherst Town Court
  • 1997 - 1997
View all work experience

Education

  • State University of New York at Buffalo
  • JD- Juris Doctor
  • 1999
  • State University of New York, College at Buffalo (Buffalo State College)
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1996

Sample of Legal Cases

  • People v. Matthew Lennert
  • Client pled guilty to two misdemeanors and sesentenced to 60 days incarceration
  • People v. Omoro Colvin
  • Client pled guilty to a misdemeanor and granted a conditional discharge
  • People v. Jennifer Merkling
  • Client pled guilty to violation DWAI and granted a conditional discharge
View all legal cases

Associations

  • MRRJ Properties, Inc
  • Secretary
  • 2009 - Present
  • Buffalo Niagara Mock Trial Competition
  • Evaluator
  • 2007 - Present
  • Bar Association of Erie County
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • New York State Defenders Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • UB Law School Philanthropic Group
  • Contributor
  • 2000 - Present
  • UB Law School Alumni
  • Member
  • 1999 - Present
  • SPCA
  • Contributor
  • N/A
  • Joyful Rescues
  • Contributor
  • N/A
  • WNY Food Bank
  • Contributor
  • N/A
  • Nativity of Our Lord Food Pantry
  • Volunteer
  • N/A
  • Erie County Aid to Indigent Prisoners Society
  • Attorney
  • 2000 - 2015
  • Phi Alpha Delta
  • Vice President
  • 1998 - 1999
  • Jessup Mock Trial
  • Advocate
  • 1998 - 1998
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Client's Choice Award
  • Avvo.com
  • 2016
  • Superb Rating
  • Avvo.com
  • 2016
  • Clients' Choice Award
  • Avvo.com
  • 2015
  • Contributor
  • UB Law School
  • 2012
  • President's Award
  • Buffalo State College
  • 1996
  • President's Award
  • Buffalo State College
  • 1995
View all awards

Publications

View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • The Blackcat Lounge
  • Criminal Trespass Laws
  • 2016
  • DWI Symposium
  • Leandra's Law
  • 2016
  • Commom Criminal Law Issues
  • Criminal Law
  • 2015
  • Criminal Case Conference
  • Criminal Law
  • 2012
  • Citizen's Police Academy
  • Criminal Law
  • 2010
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (23)
Given (39)
Endorse Richard
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is 100% devoted to his clients, always striving to obtain the best outcome for them. Well versed in the law, and an excellent trial attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Rich is a highly skilled practitioner with a deep understanding of the law and courts. He is a great advocate for his clients and is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have known Richard Shaw for over 10 years and seen him work consistently and diligently for the needs of his clients. I enjoy working with him due to his professionalism as well as his friendly personality."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Richard on both a personal and professional level for almost 20 years. I have personally observed his level of preparation and dedication with regard to his clients and their cases and will say that they are of the highest standards. I strongly endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Richard is highly experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney. He has a great communicative relationship with Courts, DA's, and clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Richard is a very knowledgeable attorney, who works tirelessly to advocate for his clients. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Richard from my time both spent as a Prosecutor and Defense Attorney. Richard knows the law and have seen him get good results for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Shaw is an excellent attorney who will work tirelessly for his client. His knowledge of the law makes him an excellent choice for anyone facing criminal charges, misdemeanor or felony."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Apr 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Rich fights hard for his clients and ensures you get fair and quality legal representation."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Having spent hours answering questions in the Avvo legal community myself, I endorse Mr. Shaw as a consistent contributor to the Avvo community and offering sound legal advice."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Richard is a capable and caring attorney who will fight for a client to get the best result possible. I have worked with Richard on numerous matters and whole heatedly recommend him to anyone seeking criminal defense representation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Richard Shaw is an experienced and hardworking attorney who delivers top results for his clients. He is the premiere justice court attorney in Erie County."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mr. Shaw for over 10 years. He fights hard for his clients and goes the extra mile. I would highly recommend Mr. Shaw as counsel on criminal matters. You would not be disappointed with the results."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Rich goes the extra mile and fights tooth and nail to ensure the best possible results for his clients are obtained."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Rich does a remarkable job on behalf of his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Excellent lawyer. Richard is a consummate professional who delivers the best results for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Richard is a hard-working knowledgable attorney. He knows how to navigate the criminal justice system, and obtains solid results for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Richard is a terrific attorney. He is hard working, reliable, smart and he knows how to get results."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Apr 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Shaw is an experienced attorney in any type of Criminal defense, DUI/DWI and/or traffic related matters. Mr. Shaw has been practicing law for over 16 years and has represented 1000s of people since then. He is one of the best criminal defense attorneys in Upstate, New York area. I highly recommend him to anyone looking for an attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Shaw is an asset to the avvo community and to the profession. His advice on avvo shows a great deal of knowledge of New York criminal law and procedure."
View more endorsements
Speeding and traffic ticket
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Immigration
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Medical malpractice
Litigation
Divorce and separation
Car accident
Federal crime
Personal injury
Personal injury
Cheektowaga Criminal defense Lawyer Richard R. Shaw
Richard R. Shaw
Criminal defense Attorney
Cheektowaga, NY
Licensed for 24 years
Free Consultation
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2016. See details