Skip to main content

Alex Umansky

Litigation Attorney at Brooklyn, NY

4.9   8 reviews
  • State Years
    New York - NY 13 years
    New Jersey - NJ 13 years
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2011
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State NJ
    Acquired 2010
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Alex

Learn Alex’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Litigation
    35%
    Civil Rights under Section 1983 and Plaintiff's Employment Litigation; Discrimination, retaliation, labor law violations

    14 years, 200 cases

  2. Discrimination
    30%
    Employment discrimination based on race, gender (sexual harassment), age, disability, religion, FMLA, and retaliation

    12 years, 100 cases

  3. Sexual harassment
    25%

    12 years, 100 cases

  4. Employment and labor
    10%
    Labor law violations based on whistleblower and wage an hour; unpaid wages and overtime

    12 years, 70 cases

Dedicated litigator with experience in both State and Federal Court with exceptional trial, oral advocacy and negotiation skills.  I am passionately committed to fighting for each and every client. I have distinguished myself through my excellent work ethic, keen legal insight and judgment, and relentless preparation and attention to detail. My extensive civil litigation experience with years of practice as a plaintiff's attorney allows me to navigate through a minefield of complex employment and civil rights litigation issues to deliver the very best results for my clients.

 

Currently, I represent employees and other individuals in all areas of employment and housing discrimination, including: sexual harassment, pregnancy, age, race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, religion, criminal conviction, hostile work environment, retaliation, and wage-hour cases. I have managed and litigated over 200+ cases with over $8M in settlements and verdicts. 

Photos and videos

Location

Partner at the Law Offices of Yuriy Moshes, P.C.
517 Brighton Beach Avenue
2nd Floor
Brooklyn, NY, 11235

Litigation lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  8 customer reviews
5 Star
 
88%
4 Star
 
13%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Albert | July 22, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Tem Dissability explanation
Alex Contact me for the free consultation. He helps me my case in details. Thank you, Alex, for your time, I accepted Valublel explanation.
Posted by EMILY | January 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional
Alex was professional and detailed along the way.
Posted by anonymous | November 11, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best of the Best
I was very fortunate to find an attorney such as Mr. Umansky. He is professional, knowledgeable, understanding and diligent. From the beginning of my case to the end of my case, he has been my so patient with me and understanding. It's rare to find a professional such as him. I was indeed fortunate to have him represent me.
Posted by Selina | July 31, 2015
Umansky is the best of the best !
Yes . I have to say mr. Umansky is one of the best lawyers I ever worked with. He will fight for you to the very end .His work performance is great . He's brave and I will recommend him . God bless Mr umansky he help change my life .
Posted by Tameeka | July 24, 2015
sexual orientation discrimination in the workplace
I was harassed by my employer for years a well know corporation because of my sexual orientation. I contacted Philips and associates law firm and met attorney Alex Umansky. Mr. Umansky was understanding, helpful ,professional and wasnt afraid to take on the corporation that allowed their supervisor to harass and assault me. Mr. Umansky and Jessenia Maldonado fought for me at trail and won the case. I would recommend Alex Umansky and Jessenia Maldonado.
Read less
Posted by DeeDee | July 23, 2015
Alex kicks butt!!!
I'm a fighter and Alex was on my side 110% and fought hard for me every step of the way!!! Every time someone tells me a story about an unfair situation at their job, I send them straight to Alex. He is Sharp. Smart and he Cares!!!!!
Posted by michelle | July 22, 2015
Above & Beyond Attorney
Alex is very responsive and knowledgeable. He listened to my concerns and provided honest and realistic feedback. I would recommend Alex to anyone looking for quality, expertise and experience that also includes sincere compassion.
Posted by anonymous | July 29, 2015
Great lawyer!
Mr. Umansky is a very nice trustworthy lawyer. From the first phone call with him I felt confident that he could help me in my case, which he successfully did. Just shoot him an email or phone Call And see for your self! Definitely gets my recommendation!
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
  • Contingency 33%-40%

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.7 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • The Law Offices of Yuriy Moshes, P.C.
  • 2015 - Present
  • Lead Counsel
  • Phillips & Associates
  • 2012 - 2015
  • Litigation Associate
  • Law Offices of Jon L. Norinsberg
  • 2011 - 2012
  • Pro Bono Assistant District Attorney
  • Kings County D.A.
  • 2010 - 2011
  • Judicial Intern
  • New York State Supreme Court, New York County
  • 2009 - 2009
  • Legal Intern
  • United States Immigration & Customs Enforcement
  • 2009 - 2010
  • Legal Assistant
  • Ropes & Gray
  • 2005 - 2008
View all work experience

Education

  • New York Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2010
  • New York University
  • MA - Masters
  • 2006
  • Stony Brook University
  • B.A
  • 2002

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Tameeka Roberts v. United Parcel Service, Inc.
  • Plaintiff's verdict of $100,000
  • Fields v. Charles H. Greenthal Management
  • Plaintiff's verdict of $250,000
  • Brandi Johnson v. Strive East Harlem Employment Group
  • Plaintiff's verdict of $280,000
View all legal cases

Associations

  • National Employment Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • National Employment Lawyers Association (New York chapter)
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
  • New York County Lawyers' Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Russian

Honors and Awards

  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2017

Speaking Engagements

  • National Employment Lawyers Association Solo Support Committee
  • "Streamlining Procedures So You Can Take More Cases Without Things Falling Through the Cracks"
  • 2015

Attorney endorsements

Received (5)
Given (1)
Endorse Alex
Employment and labor Attorney | Sep 06
Relationship: Co-worker
"Alex is a leading authority in the Employment and Labor fields. I endorse this attorney."
Litigation Attorney | Jul 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Alex is an excellent attorney who fights aggressively for his clients. I strongly recommend this lawyer."
Employment and labor Attorney | Jul 22
Relationship: Other
"Alex is an excellent attorney. I have had the privilege to see him during trial. He was thoroughly prepared and had excellent courtroom presence. An integral skill set in winning at trial is jury selection. Alex did a remarkable job with that as well. He is a tireless advocate who spends the time necessary to learn his client and the case at hand. Excellent Attorney!"
Litigation Attorney | Jul 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Alex is one of the most intuitive and dedicated attorneys I've had the pleasure of befriending. For the many years we have known one another, I have confidently referred his services for every discrimination and civil rights matter thats popped up. I strongly endorse Alex as an advocate that will tirelessly fight for his clients and their rights."
Employment and labor Attorney | Jul 22
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Alex is a highly intelligent and hard working attorney. He zealously advocates for his clients and seeks the best result given all available information."
Personal injury