Skip to main content

Gerald David Grunsfeld

Medical malpractice Attorney at Brooklyn, NY

4.8   21 reviews
  • Licensed for 20 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2003
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Gerald

Learn Gerald’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Medical malpractice
    50%
    I spent the first 11 years of my career defending medical malpractice cases, before switching to representing plaintiffs. During my time on the defense side, I developed close relationships with risk managers, insurance adjusters, defense attorneys and judges. I also learned how to destroy a Plaintiff's case. Now I represent Plaintiffs, and ensure my clients do not fall into these traps. Our firm does not get paid until you get paid, so I do everything in my power to get my clients paid ASAP.

    23 years, 250 cases

  2. Personal injury
    25%
    I spent the first 11 years of my career defending personal injury cases, before switching to representing plaintiffs. During my time on the defense side, I developed close relationships with risk managers, insurance adjusters, defense attorneys and judges. I also learned how to destroy a Plaintiff's case. Now I represent Plaintiffs, and ensure my clients do not fall into these traps. Our firm does not get paid until you get paid, so I do everything in my power to get my clients paid ASAP.

    23 years, 250 cases

  3. Trademark infringement
    25%
    I represent both Defendants and Plaintiffs in many high profile trademark litigation cases that have resulted in numerous reported decisions in my favor.

    12 years

HELPING INJURED VICTIMS GET THE COMPENSATION THEY DESERVE. CALL 929-244-2955

The most important thing in the world to me is my family. The second most important thing is my law firm and our clients.

 

I work crazy hours, and am thinking about my cases virtually 24/7. My pet peeve is people who do not respond to phone calls or messages so I never go to sleep without returning every e-mail or call received.

 

I definitely think outside the box, and I embrace modern technology to receive the best possible results for my clients at the best possible cost.

 

I specialize in Medical Malpractice and Trademark litigation. This is an unusual combination- I doubt there are more than a handful of attorneys in NY who specialize in these two areas. What they have in common is that require the ability to cut through the haze of complex litigation to achieve results.

 

I always try the path of least resistance first. But when I have to be, I aggressively advocate for my clients.

 

 

Awards

AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating

Location

Lazar Grunsfeld Elnadav LLP
1795 Coney Island Avenue
2nd Floor
Brooklyn, NY, 11230

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  21 customer reviews
5 Star
 
95%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
5%
Posted by anonymous | March 19, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you Gerry!
Gerry was able to regain ownership of our trademark the advice that was given was spot on and helped close the issue faster and without breaking the bank!
Posted by anonymous | April 13, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Responsive and professional!
Gerry was very helpful in negotiating our fine. He was responsive and informative through the whole process and ultimately got the fine reduced to 15% of the original amount. He was even able to negotiate the payout term to 3 years. I would highly recommend him and would use him again if the needed.
Posted by anonymous | April 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended
I hired Gerry for a legal matter for my business, he was professional, knowledgeable, and extremely responsive. He made himself available when I needed him. I would highly recommend him.
Posted by Alan | April 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Perfect attorney, A to Z
We have used Gerry several times over the past year. From trademark issues, to litigation issues for us and against us. He has handled our account in the most professional manner expected. His responses via email and by phone are not only timely, but informative and to the point. He is thorough and not only handled each of our situations for us, he guided us with experienced advice on how we should proceed. For us this was amazing as a lot of the situations that came across were new for us and we not only needed representation but someone who could advise our best options. An attorney is someone you hope you never need like a dr but when you do, Gerry is definitely worth speaking with.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
Gerry was professional, meticulous, and always very prepared. He was readily available to answer all of my questions, and was always patient when explaining to me the legal jargon of the case. I appreciated his empathy and his commitment to always doing what was in the client's best interest. I would most certainly recommend Gerry without hesitation.
Read less
Posted by Ivan | December 2, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
I had the pleasure of working with Mr. grunsfeld who was not only empathetic of my case but very aggressive to make sure that I was taken care of . He was always professional during my case and provided me with quick updates and support along the way. I'd work with him again and recommend him to anyone who needs help they will surely not be disappointed to work with Mr. grunsfeld. thank you very much for everything.
Read less
Posted by moshe | May 2, 2014
The best Lawyer
I felt that Gerry helped get the most that i could have gotten. One example is that when we were going to settle with the third party insurance Gerry contacted me to ask if I had on my policy had SUM ,which I did not know and he went out of his way to contact my agent to find out,and I did. I really feel that he went beyond the call of duty. I would use him again if needed and refer him to others.
Read less
Posted by Abe | February 20, 2014
Gerry Rocks
Gerry was great. Very patient and informative about the trademark we were registering. He trawled through many potential company names and gave solid advice throughout the whole process. His rate was fair and he was a pleasure to deal with. Would gladly use him again and would highly recommend him to those in need of a courteous yet ferocious lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Ray | February 18, 2014
Excellent and highly responsive to meet your individual needs
I had a case that involved a banking subpoena that could have been a very big headache. Gerry and his staff were able to walk me through the entire process and quash it in its entirety. The thing about Gerry that was I am most pleased is the time and manner he was able to respond to me when I had a question. It was lightning speed. I was very comforted to know that I had felt that a small case to him was handled very professionally and swiftly which in turn ended up saving me money and extra possible litigation costs. I rarely give out reviews on different services or people, but when I do, it must be for someone who has done exceptional work. Gerry and his staff have definitely proven that and I vouch for them when it comes to their work and the way the handle it with their clients.
Read less
Posted by Samantha | February 18, 2014
Highly Recommend Life Insurance Litigation
I hired Mr. Grunsfeld to handle a life insurance claim on behalf of a family member's deceased estate. I found Mr. Grunsfeld to conduct himself in the most professional manner, with immediate and ongoing feedback, not usually the case with NY attorneys. This case could have easily turned into lengthy drawn out litigation, but with Mr. Grunsfeld's expertise and exceptionally competent grasp of the law, the case was settled considerably higher than our expectations, and with a swift and expedient check in the hands of the family. I highly recommend him and have the highest regard for his competency.
Read less
Posted by Victor | December 11, 2013
A pleasure to work with
Provided us with excellent service, very fair pricing, and even got us a settlement for less than we agreed! His persistence and diligent style is the kind of work ethic you wish everyone had.
Posted by James | December 10, 2013
Gerald Grunsfeld
My case was handled professionally and within a timely manner. I was interviewed as to my wants and goals. They tailored the handling of my case accordingly. I was very satisfied with the results.
Posted by anonymous | December 10, 2013
Debt Collection
My mother needed a lawyer to locate a former tenant and obtain back rent. Gerry was clear in his plan of action. Even when my mother and I thought Gerry would not be able to complete the assignment, Gerry maintained a positive view. He could have walked away with the retainer we gave him. Instead, he persisted and was able to locate the former tenant and obtain payment. Gerry never asked for any reimbursement other than the initially agreed upon sum. He was always courteous and accessible. I would not hesitate in recommending him.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 10, 2013
Great Lawyer
Gerry is extremely attentive and always goes above and beyond to satisfy all of our needs. He is very trustworthy and understands our business needs. He is available whenever we need him, and we have so far received positive results in the matters he has handled for us. I would highly recommend Gerry to those in need of a good litigator.
Read less
Posted by Eli | December 9, 2013
Great Experience
What could have been a very complicated matter, turned out to be a straight forward and well handled case. Gerry was able to mediate a contract between us and the other party in a very delicate way. He took care of our needs and made sure to be equitable to all parties involved. He was diligent and persistent from the very beginning to the final resolution. I was very pleased with the way Gerry handled the case and would definitely use him again in the future.
Read less
Posted by David | May 20, 2013
Review of Gerald Grunsfeld, Esquire
Gerry provides fantastic service! He is extremely thorough in his service, and very knowledgeable. But what sets him apart is that he truly cares. Gerry is also very bright and sharp, possessing the kind of attributes you want to see in your attorney. He's a go-getter, but at the same time pleasant to work with. I give him the highest rating possible.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 20, 2013
Defending the "small guy" from Big Business Greed
If you require legal services, do not hesitate! Just get in touch with Gerry; he is an honor to his profession. Modern information access and communication via the internet made it easy to have Gerry represent me even though I live in upstate NY and Gerry is in Brooklyn, NY. Select the best - select Gerry Grunsfeld!
Posted by Steven | December 19, 2012
Very satisfied client.
Gerry was very helpful in a recent litigation that I was involved in. He kept me constantly informed & explained all of my different options. His advice proved to be excellent as the case against me was dismissed.
Posted by masood | December 19, 2012
recommendation
Mr. Grunsfeld is a real professional. He was highly recommended to our firm by an associate and his conduct has far exceeded our expectation.
Posted by Ben Coleman | December 17, 2012
Highly recommended
Gerry handled our trademark infringement case with honesty and professionalism. His promptness and attention to detail are second to none. We will definitely use him again and we recommend him for your legal needs.
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Lazar Grunsfeld Elnadav LLP
  • 2012 - Present
  • Associate
  • London Fischer, LLP
  • 2010 - 2012
  • Associate
  • Biedermann, Reif, Hoenig & Ruff, PC
  • 2008 - 2010
  • Associate
  • Martin Clearwater & Bell, LLC
  • 2004 - 2008
  • Associate
  • Law Office Of Todd J. Krouner
  • 2003 - 2004
View all work experience

Education

  • King's College London, Dickson Poon School of Law
  • LL.B - Bachelor of Laws
  • 2001

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Ann Arbor T-Shirt Co., LLC v. Lifeguard Licensing Corp., 2016 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 45641
  • Case Dismissed.
  • Pfeifer v Groisman, 123 A.D.3d 684
  • Summary Judgment in favor of client
  • UTC FIRE & SEC. AMERICAS CORP. v. NCS POWER
  • Defeated motion for Summary Judgment

Associations

  • New York State Trial Lawyers Association Medical Malpractice
  • Committee Member
  • 2013 - 2016
  • New York State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - 2005

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Hebrew
  • French
View all languages

Honors and Awards

  • AV Preeminent Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Super Lawyer
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Super Lawyer
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Rising Star
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2015
  • Rising Star
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2014
View all awards

Attorney endorsements

Received (7)
Given (4)
Endorse Gerald
Lawsuits and disputes Attorney | Oct 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse Gerry both as a co-counsel as well as a top tier litigator who would be a trustworthy counsel for any business client. I worked cooperatively with Gerry on a matter for one of his clients. Gerry was a strong advocate for his client's position, was always cost conscious, and extremely easy to work with as a colleague. I welcome the opportunity to work with him in the future and recommend him."
Litigation Attorney | May 05
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I first met Mr. Grunsfeld as an adversary, and I was impressed by his ability to represent his clients zealously and intelligently."
Medical malpractice Attorney | Sep 07
Relationship: Friend
"I endorse Gerry. He is a very skilled and dedicated attorney."
Medical malpractice Attorney | Feb 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have had an opportunity to observe Gerald in court. I was highly impressed by the depth of the legal argument, presentation of the matter to the Judge and overall court presence. Unquestionably, Gerald is an asset to have in your corner."
Litigation Attorney | Dec 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Gerry is a very smart and innovative lawyer. He is results oriented and works extremely hard representing his clients. I wholeheartedly endorse Gerry with any litigation matter."
Litigation Attorney | Dec 20
Relationship: Co-worker
"Mr. Grunsfeld is a bright, articulate detail oriented attorney. Mr. Grunsfeld' takes the time to focus and dedicate all his effort into studying all facets of the matters he is engaged to undertake. Mr. Grunsfeld dedicates the required time and effort to the details of each file and utilizes his keen sense of awareness as to the strenghts and weakneses of a file so as to best maximize his Clients potential on each matter. The effort Mr. Grunsfled expends into working each file are bar none. Mr.Grunsfeld's dedication to the needs of his Clients and his passion to zelously represent and protect their interests surpass expections on a regular basis. I highly recommend Mr. Grunsfled for the Client who is interestd in a 100% success rate on his/her file."
Medical malpractice Attorney | Dec 20
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mr. Grunsfeld is an outstanding lawyer. He covers all his bases and is very thorough in all that he does. His knowledge and ability to strategically analyze his client's cases, is second to none. I very highly recommend Mr. Grunsfeld's services."
View more endorsements
Personal injury
Real estate
Foreclosure
Medical malpractice

Avvo Contributions

20 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
Brooklyn Medical malpractice Lawyer Gerald David Grunsfeld
Gerald David Grunsfeld
Medical malpractice Attorney
Brooklyn, NY
Licensed for 20 years