Skip to main content

Peter Christopher Lomtevas

Family Attorney at Brooklyn, NY

4.6   37 reviews

About Peter

Learn Peter’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Child custody
    20%
    Kids are the new oil. The parent that gets custody gets a tax free stipend called child support. Custody is supposed to be a division of access to a child based upon unique circumstances of the broken family. The government aims to shoe-horn a child into a custodial arrangement on a one-size-fits-all basis that could harm the child but could get the state federal matching funds.

  2. Child support
    20%
    The new litigation weapon. Either this is a tax free stipend, a wrecking ball or a pittance.This is the number one obligation every parent who loses a child must pay under threat of jail. For those parents who can manipulate the system, child support becomes a destroyer of wealth. In extreme cases, it can be used to siphon away property in other states or countries. For some parents, it is a broken promise to support a child.

  3. Divorce and separation
    20%
    Enter the dragon. This is a court proceeding that aims to split a couple's acquisitions during their married life together. It aims to assign parenting time to one parent and it aims to safeguard that child. The matter can become a nightmare costing nerves and property. It is a process requiring careful navigation and behavior modification in order to survive. IT takes patience and determination.

  4. Domestic violence
    20%
    The game changer. I go to trial to establish a record of innocence to preserve access to children in family and divorce court litigation. Challenge family offense petitions that seek to sever ties between parent and child.

  5. Family
    20%
    Procreation is supposed to be a time of apple blossoms and daffodils. However, under current federal legislation, it is a hazardous activity that could lead to incarceration for innocuous conduct. Even having a baby could lead to endless trips to court over neglect/abuse allegations, support or custody.

I provide general representation in a wide array of cases state and federal. I do not represent people in immigration proceedings and I cannot represent people in bankruptcies because I agreed not to with my credit card provider so I can accept your credit cards. I also provide specialized representation in the areas surrounding the family. I defend people falsely accused of child abuse in those instances when domestic relations law is used to gain a tactical advantage in divorce court.


---


Honorably Discharged Veteran

Airborne School, Fort Benning, GA, 1981
Infantry Officer Basic Course, 1982
Infantry Mortar Platoon Officer Course, Fort Benning, GA, 1982
US Army Berlin Brigade July, 1982 through May, 1985
Infantry Officer Advanced Course, Fort Benning, GA, 1985
Fort Dix, October 2, 1985 through March 23rd, 1989
Combined Arms Services Staff School, Ft. Leavenworth, KS, 1987
The University of Delaware Army ROTC, August 14, 1989 through July 1, 1993
Air Assault School, Fort Belvoir, MD, 1991

Meritorious Service Medal
Army Commendation Medal
Army Achievement Medal with OLC
Army of Occupation Medal
National Defense Service Medal
Army Service Ribbon

Captain, Active Date of Rank, September 1, 1985

Discharged July 1, 1993

Retired February 1, 2003

__________
The answers posted by me in internet newsgroups, message boards and websites may not and must not be relied on as legal advice because:

In most cases I don't know what state or country the person with the question or comment (poster) is in, and therefore I cannot know what laws apply.

Even if I know what country and state the poster is in, it is unlikely that I will know anything about the laws of that country or state.

I am sometimes able to give general, academic answers in areas of law that I am not expert in because the questions are sometimes basic. But general, academic answers are good for educational and discussion purposes only and are not reliable when applied to real situations.

I answer only the questions that are asked. The poster and I have only limited opportunity to ask follow-up questions of each other, so I do not expand the answer to include discussion of questions that would have been or should have been asked if we were talking face to face.

I rely on the facts as posted in the question. I have no opportunity to investigate the facts or evaluate the truthfulness of the person who posted the facts behind the question. I have only limited opportunity to inquire about the views on the other side in the dispute.

I have only limited opportunity to examine the poster’s documents pertaining to the question. Even though it is technically possible for a poster to post a contract or other document, I have only limited ability to inquire about correspondence and conversations leading up to or interpreting the document.

The only value anyone can derive from my answers is (a) direction to the legal issues that I think apply to the facts posted, (b) improved ability to do research into the laws of the poster's state or country and (c) improved ability to ask questions of the poster's attorney. My answers have no value as, and must not be relied on as legal advice.


Photos and videos

Licensed for 22 years
State PA
Status Active
Acquired 2021
Updated 10/01/2022
State NY
Status Currently Registered
Acquired 2000
Updated 06/05/2022
State GA
Status Inactive Member in Good Standing
Acquired 2005
Updated 11/03/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Peter

Peter C. Lomtevas, Esq., P.C.
1248 85th Street
Brooklyn, NY, 11228

Reviews

4.6 / 5.0
  37 customer reviews
Posted by Stuart | October 12, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I endorse Peter Lomtevas
Knowledgable, caring, fairly priced zealous representation. You would be lucky to find better.
Posted by anonymous | October 5, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Thank you Peter !
Just the consultation, but such a big impact Most honest, straightforwardly and compassionate attorney you can get
Posted by Rich | September 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
I hired Peter for a custody dispute. Unlike past attorney's I have used he was easy to get a hold of. He answered all my questions, spent numerous amounts of time talking to me and took me step by step. He was familiar with the courts, judges, referees and AFC's and was able to give me the best advice on the situation. Although I ran out of money and couldn't proceed with his advice, I would highly recommend Peter to someone else. He is a relentless advocate.
Read less
Posted by (07/28/2021) You helped place everything into perspective. | July 28, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Expert Legal Advice, Caring, Fair
Mr. Lomtevas is legally as sharp as a knife. Where lawyers may often be cursory or cloaked in their approach, he is transparent, strategic, and essentially, brilliant. He is also very protective of his clients' human rights. I sought expert legal counsel from him and got it! After speaking to him, you will want to retain him permanently. I could only speculate about the kind of litigator he must be. Avvo is very fortunate to have him on their team!
Read less
Posted by William Scott Thomas | July 29, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
William
I would consider myself lucky being able to retain Peter. I should move downstate and keep him on permanent retainer. He could change lives for the better up here. There are very few Knights in the World today. Make sure you Express Gratitude for taking his time. It's worth more than Gold
Posted by Ms. K. | August 18, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Useful advice
I called Peter's office a couple of days ago, asking for an urgent advice with an ACS investigation. Peter spent over half an hour on the phone with me, reviewing the circumstances and giving me practical advice. When I offered to reimburse him for his time he refused saying that he does not milk ppl. He is definitely on top of the list of attorneys I consider for my case. I am really grateful for his time and support.
Read less
Posted by Christine | May 24, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful Family Attorney
Thank you for everything you did while representing me. At a time when I was confused and overwhelmed you were a calming voice of reason. I will not hesitate to call you if the need arises.
Response from Peter Lomtevas May 25, 2018
And we did a job on the scamming adversary. Hopefully he will not return to court for another round.
Posted by anonymous | August 3, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Peter as an Attorney.
The man is exceptional and very straight forward, something which is very appreciated. He Knows What He IS Talking About. Does Not Throw Misguided, Rhetorical or Hypotheticals at You, when He Speaks to His Clients. Spent Over 3 Hours With me Just for Consultation. He Is Worth Every Penny He Gains.
Posted by Mark Solomon | June 13, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
From Disaster to Light at the end of the tunnel...
Peter is a brilliant thinker, he's kind, compassionate and is 100% on your side! He is the first lawyer that I have ever met that couldn't be bought or influenced by the opposing side. When I first retained Peter, opposing counsel called him to suggest that he team up with her to damage me. Not only was Peter shocked by this unprofessional behavior but he bitterly complained about it to appropriate authorities and used this behavior against the lawyer in my proceeding. Peter is available to his clients at all times of the day and night, you literally become a family member. His ability to think outside the box and anticipate the exact legal strategy the opponent will employ has resulted in the complete demolition of the oppositions case. After Peter was done at my trial, opposing counsel, the AFC and most importantly the judge were stunned into speechlessness. Peter is my attorney for life!!
Read less
Posted by Tracey | February 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended!
Peter Lomtevas is smart, highly capable and was able to navigate the complexity of my situation. I'd spoken to a few others lawyers who said there was nothing I could do in regards to a divorce stipulation. I spoke with Peter a few times on the phone, he looked at my paperwork, and offered not only his advice but a solution, which worked in court. And another plus: he charges a flat rate so you don't feel like the clock is ticking when you speak to him on the phone, which is the case with most lawyers. I can't say enough positive things about Peter. He knows and understands the law and will tell you clearly what you are dealing with—and how to navigate the issues at hand.
Read less
Posted by Giovonna | June 15, 2015
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Clear Consice and Swift
I needed a question answered online and I had gotten 4 responses one of which Peter Lomtevas and he was the only one who understood the question and answered it precisely and to the point. it was a refreshing experience for me. Thank you so, so much.
Response from Peter Lomtevas September 2, 2015
I can assure you the government employees and other associated entities absolutely do not like my answers to these questions. I'll have to stop when the First Amendment is repealed.
Posted by Noah | June 3, 2015
Eased my mind...and saved me quite a bit of money...before even taking the case!
What a first impression! Peter spent 35 minutes on the phone with me at no charge, answering my questions and helping me realize I did not need to spend the thousands of dollars I was about to spend on an attorney for a prenup. What a stand-up guy! I can't thank him enough for his time and wisdom, and there's no question that I will use him in the future for a potential custody case that will need to be handled. Thanks, again Peter! You saved me a ton of money and really put my mind at ease.
Read less
Posted by Michael | April 22, 2015
ATTORNEY RECOMMENDED BY HIGHLY RATED ATTORNEYS
Peter Lomtevas represented me for two(2) years on criminal charges.These criminal charges were in Brooklyn Criminal Court.I did not accept a plea.I was not guilty.The trial was non-jury.Peter is a fighter.He never avoids his clients.He is dedicated.He is diligent.I was referred by a top quality attorney to Peter.Clients receive quality for a "FLAT FEE."
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 8, 2015
A Lifesaver!
Mr Lomtevas has an encyclopedic knowledge of Civil procedure, and it's most appropriate application. Listen carefully to his advice and take heed. It is invaluable to have someone like Peter Lomtevas in your corner; someone who is a greater authority on rule of law than most judges. I cannot thank him enough.
Posted by anonymous | November 25, 2014
I GOT CUSTODY OF MY CHILD WITH PETER LOMTEVAS & REGARDING: Avoid This Attorney At All Cost
I have owed Peter a rave review for well over a year. But my tardiness is the testament to his work: I've spent that time living life with my son—maximizing ‘being there’ as he grows up. Peter gave us, rescuing us from a court system that stacks against “the best interests of the child.” He reversed stipulated custody and now our son resides with me full time. I write today, because I read the review, “Avoid This Attorney At All Cost.” It’s simply unfair to Peter and counter to everything I know of the man. I hope my review convinces others to ignore it. To that writer: it’s obvious that you suffered a painful loss. I have been there, multiple times, and feel for you. But one battle does not decide the war. Countless times, judges stole my son. E.g. John Hunt eliminated all contact with my son WITHOUT A TRIAL, even as my son’s own lawyer objected that this would do “irreparable damage” to his child. Lizbeth Gonzales went further, literally telling us there was no basis to mom’s temporary order of protection, yet allowing only mom to testify before removing all contact. She didn’t even allow me to speak in my own defense or present an expert witness! This all happened even though 3 different court forensics evaluators and the child’s law guardian recommended custody to me and directly refuted all accusations. If you approach court like it plays out on TV—where a judge a rules based on an evaluation of fact & evidence—you will be disappointed and steps behind your adversary. Court is a Chess game, where your life & your children’s lives are the pawns, and any judge can knock the whole board over at any time, for no reason at all. Judges are first, creatures of power. They get their position via politics; frequently they begin ruling without ever having been inside a courtroom before. With rare exception, judges regularly ignore basic ethics and due process, and make decisions based upon a template manufactured to cultivate their own career advancement. Half the judges I’ve been before have significant mental and emotional problems. AND they get total immunity from any action they take. Peter comes in like the knight in the Chess game. He plays on the board, but like the underappreciated knight, can make some wickedly unexpected moves. You need that to have a chance in family court. Peter is a “good talker.” And I want that in my lawyer! He’s also an exceptional thinker, knowing when to speak and when it’s best to be silent in court. There are points you can’t win, even when fact and the law are technically on your side. (See experience above) Yes, as a client you are vulnerable, dealing with tremendous loss. No lawyer can guarantee justice, but Peter excels at giving hope. You can’t present your best self in court without it. During our losses, I found having Peter’s whole family part of his practice to be a true asset. (I owe a whole other review to his wife, Vera, who in addition to managing the business, offers a woman’s perspective and insight as a mother of four. Her contribution saved the day on many occasions.) With family at stake, they take you, your children, and your case personally. We’ve had major losses. We’ve had bad judges. We’ve had injustice that hurt my child every step of the way. But what his family practice excels at is plugging along and waiting for opportunity to present. There is no better lawyer to recognize opportunities and turn things around. For me, it took 4 years to undo where my previous lawyer left us (after a year for $80k). Peter’s family was there to see us through it, every step of the way. I highly recommend Peter Lomtevas. p.s. Doing your own legwork and some paperwork is a good thing. It saves Peter’s time so he can charge less, frees him to concentrate on the issues in your case, and it trains you to be able to better represent yourself.
Read less
Posted by Bushra | November 19, 2014
Highly recommended. Helped me when others wouldnt.
I contacted several Attorneys a few years back and was only given a positive response from Peter, whilst being knocked back by others. When I finally had the courage to fight for my rights, Peter's assistance and support was indebted. He went out of his way to contact me and ensure that I was not only fully informed before ,during and after court proceedings, but also was genuinely concerned with my general health and well being during a tough period in my life. I was taken care of by both Peter and his wife when they traveled over 500 miles from NYC to Western New York to the courthouse in hazardous conditions. He had the energy and strength to take a case hundreds of miles from his office and took the case from pleadings through trial before an unfamiliar judge at the opposite end of the state of New York. As I couldn't drive, Peter & his wife picked me up from my home and drove to and from the courthouse, over two hours drive back and forth. They also looked after me for the two days during the court days and I never felt alone in the courtroom or out of the courtroom at any time. Although there was a slight language barrier I always felt at ease and they both helped in every way they could.. Peter's wife/assistant/paralegal traveled across the state to file the pleadings and serve my "husband". I am most grateful for what I have and it wouldnt have been possible without Peter or his wife's support and re-assurance. Thanks to you both.
Read less
Posted by Cinnamon | November 18, 2014
We Won
I went through a nasty custody and divorce battle - I was a victim of parental alienation, with Peters help not only did I get my children back, I have full custody of them again. I would have been lost without Peter and his team. He had no problem standing up to the courts and fighting for my children and my rights, he went toe to toe with a judge and called her out on her behavior, she was recused from my case. Peter stood up and fought when other lawyers would have coward and given in. My children would be forever lost if it had not been for Peter.
Read less
Posted by Marissa | October 28, 2014
Great Guy Great Lawyer
First of all he is an honest man who wants nothing more then to help people! He isnt looking to take your money and drag a case on forever! He tries to do nothing but help you and get a case done and fight for you. I had a lawyer who took me for a lot of money, didnt do a thorough job and really screwed up my custody and restraining order. Peter took a case which was done improperly and fought for me and did it for half the price of what the other lawyer did. he is available to talk all the time when needed, responds to inquiries quickly, and is very well prepared and tries to make this very painful procedure feel as painless as humanly possible I would recommend him time and time again
Read less
Posted by enny | September 1, 2013
Peter Lomtevas - Exceptional attention to details! Landlord-tenant case!
Peter assisted me a year ago, in a landlord-tenant issue. Peter was always available and reachable when I needed to contact him with various questions, and concerns I had. He is a very patient and dedicated person. He listens to you and at the same time he makes sure you understand his point; he has your best interest in mind. His attention to details is exceptional and is rooted in his passion to helping his clients. Without Peter’s assistance, I would have lost my apartment. I am thankful to him for his hard work and prudent advice. I would recommend Peter to anyone who is in need of resolving landlord-tenant issues, or any other real-estate related ones. I considered myself lucky to have had Peter's assistance.
Read less
Posted by Simon | August 28, 2013
Peter Lomtevos - Custody and Civil cases - exceptional representation!
Peter Pan! After 3 years of custody and civil court hell with other lawyers, Peter was able to close the book on my two cases within one month of taking my case. Incredible. Miraculous. Peter will be 1000% straight talk. You need to hear it even if it crushes you. It's therapy. Peter will Dominate the proceedings in everyway. DOMINATE. (Sitting next to him in court was like being guarded by a big bear - he physically shielded me). Peter is 1000% trustworthy. Do not fight him, let him do everything. Peter is like no other lawyer I have met. In fact, I didn't even know what a lawyer was until I met him. ALL OTHER LAWYER PRACTICES In my life seemed to be focuse on money, fees. Peter is PRIMARILY focused on THE LAW. Absolutely. WITHOUT EXCEPTION. I trusted him with my child's life even when he was about to give it all away - but his in the moment genius was just a tactic that actually had the reverse effect - I got what I wanted and much more. TRUST HIM TO THE END. He is the best person to have your back.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 120 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 250-300 per hour
Payment methods
Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.5 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Peter C. Lomtevas, Esq., P.C.
  • 2005 - Present

Education

  • Touro College - Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1996
  • Hofstra University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1981
  • Kew Forest School
  • High School Diploma
  • 1978

Legal Cases

  • Matter of Tercjak
  • No Visitation Until Parenting Trainer Gets Paid
  • Rodriguez v Arroyo
  • Case Manipulation In Parent-Child Relationship
  • Matter of Wright
  • Supervised Visits Did not Destroy Father-Child
View all legal cases

Associations

  • New York State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • Russian

Awards

  • Volunteer Award
  • New York City Council
  • 2015
  • Distinguished Public Service Award
  • Brooklyn Borough President
  • 2006

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Hurricane Sandy Clinics
  • Pro Bono CLE - Sandy Clinics
  • 2013
  • CCLP "Know Your Law" Conference
  • Ritalin and the Foster Care Child
  • 2008
  • CCLP "Know Your Law" Conference
  • Family Law and Procedure
  • 2008

Attorney endorsements

Received (43)
Given (61)
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jun 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I always enjoy and learn from Peter's perspective. Few lawyers combine legal expertise and wisdom. Peter has a wisdom gained from his experience that will be a benefit to any client."
Unknown Attorney | Jul 25
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Feb 24
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Mar 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Sep 11
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Peter Lomtevas is an outstanding attorney. He knows the law and is respected by the legal community. He is responsive to his client's needs and fair with his adversaries. When I have contacted him with respect to an issue, he replies back quickly. He is on time for court and respectful of all court personnel. I wish that all attorneys were as responsible and professional as he is."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jun 17
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer. Peter has exceptional knowledge of divorce law in New York."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Mar 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 20
Relationship: Other
"A highly skilled and respected lawyer in the legal community.I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Dec 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Dec 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am happy to endorse this lawyer. I admire his knowledge and dedication as a family law attorney."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 19
Relationship: Other
"This attorney has an excellent reputation for providing the highest quality representation to clients. Experience and proven results!"
Child custody Attorney | Jul 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Child custody Attorney | May 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"A truly excellent attorney well respected in the legal community. I wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone looking for a lawyer who knows the law and truly cares about protecting the rights of his clients and getting them the most favorable result possible."
Unknown Attorney | Dec 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"With a great track record of hundreds of published answers to consumer questions on Avvo.com and the recommendations from clients and attorneys alike, it is easy to see that attorney Lomtevas is skilled and knows the law well, too. Kudos."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Nov 19
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Very professional, skilled and intelligent. He provided great representation to his client."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Nov 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Its clear he is knowledgeable and perceptive. He has a strong background and a well-earned reputation in the legal community."
Child custody Attorney | Oct 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Sep 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"An attention for detail; a committed advocate."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Personal injury
Child custody
Divorce and separation
Lawsuits and disputes
Criminal defense
Workers compensation
Personal injury
Federal crime
Divorce and separation
Divorce and separation
Divorce and separation
Divorce and separation