Skip to main content
David Ivan Bliven
Avvo
Pro

David Bliven’s reviews

     4.5 stars 40 total

Review David Bliven
  • Divorce

    1.0 star

    Anonymous review posted on

    I retained David in August 2012, since then I tried to make things work out with my wife, moved out moved back in, to make a long story short, in October 2014 we signed a Stipulation of Discontinuance it was mailed to his office , they did not receive it, the usps must still be using horses , they received it May 2016, in the meantime I had told him we had gotten a mediator to settle this , so instead of looking at the date it was signed and letting me know they finally received it a year and a half later they went and filed it anyways , so now we have to refile and it is going to cost hundreds of dollars more for court costs and such , anyway thank your office for keeping on top of things, A simple email letting me know that you received it finally would have been nice especially since you knew we had gotten a mediator .

    More 
    Hired attorney
    David Ivan Bliven’s response: “This former client's issues stem from a lack of communication - but not on my offices' part, as I will demonstrate. This person did indeed retain me in August, 2012 on a divorce matter. I scheduled a 4-way settlement conference at his request, and he subsequently asked that it be cancelled as he & his wife were going to marriage counseling. This was in early 2013. My office then sent him 5 letters (7/8/13, 8/21/13, 12/30/13, 1/31/14 & 2/27/14) before he replied at all. Thus, he went nearly a year in completely ignoring his own attorney's attempts to contact him. At the time, he asked us to keep his file "on hold." We did so, but then periodically contacted him to ascertain his desires. He went another 8 months with no contact back to us whatsoever. In the meanwhile, it took another 3 letters just to get any response out of him (6/5/14, 8/4/14, 10/4/14). He finally said in October, 2014 that he and his wife wanted to withdraw the divorce case. Fine. We sent him a stipulation to discontinue the case on 10/21/14. It then took another 3 attempts to contact him over the span of nearly 4 months just to get any response out of him as to why we hadn't received the signed stipulation back from him (those 3 attempts were 11/10/14, 12/4/14, 1/8/15). He claimed he had "sent the stip back a month ago" and questioned why we hadn't received it. We speculated that he may not have written our suite number on the envelope, but nevertheless asked that he send it out again. Should have been simple enough. However, not only did he not send the stip back, but he amazingly went well over another YEAR of completely ignoring our office's numerous attempts to contact him to follow-up (letters sent to him on 3/9/15, 5/8/15, 6/29/15, 8/27/15, 11/7/15, 12/29/15, 3/1/16 & 4/27/16). Interestingly, we finally received his signed stip to discontinue the case in early May, 2016 - and it was the ORIGINAL stip signed back in October, 2014. This completely undercuts this person's credibility as he implied both to our office - as well as in this Avvo posting - that he mailed out that stip in October, 2014 - when clearly he had it at his house the whole time & simply forgot to mail it! Nevertheless, the person sent it back to us, never said anything to us that he did NOT want us to file it with the Court - so we did so. Indeed, we then sent him a closing letter dated 6/6/16, noting his case was withdrawn and the stip had been filed with the Court. He never replied to that letter saying anything like "oh, hey, I didn't want you to do that." Just a couple of days ago, this person contacted my office questioning why we received his stip back "a year and a half" after he mailed it to us. He never stated in this most recent correspondence that he hadn't wanted me to file the stip. He only subsequently questioned why I hadn't contacted his mediator after I received his stip to discontinue the case. Even this concern of his is belied by my letter to him, dated 5/3/16, in which I stated I would "await her contact" if she needed anything from me. Neither he - nor the mediator - ever followed up with me. As such, I believe I've clearly demonstrated this person's present troubles (if any) stem from an inability to effectively communicate. But rather than seeing it this way and attempting to improve himself in this regard, he sees fit to try blaming others from his self-created problems. This review should be seen thru those lenses - and compared to the many, many other people who are very pleased with my services.”
  • Paternity Case a Breeze

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Matthew

    I actually found David Bliven on Avvo.com while I was looking for an attorney to assist me on my paternity case. I consider myself to be a pretty intelligent person and capable of filing all required documents on my own behalf. But due to time constraints, I wasn't able to fully prepare. With that being said, my choice on choosing Mr. Bliven has been a godsend. I feel like that I'm talking to more of a colleague than a lawyer. He is very efficient, direct, logical and great at what he does and has made my paternity case process a breeze. Very professional and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend his services to any family, friends and colleague's who are looking for family law based services.

    More 
    Hired attorney
  • Gets the job done

    4.0 stars

    Posted by Cynthia

    I hired Mr. Bliven to represent me in a Divorce. From the outset he was knowledgeable, honest, and presented me with my options. I was cc'd on every correspondence, and kept informed every step of the way, eliminating the need for me to call for regular updates. Monthly bills were itemized, and clearly delineated the scope of services that were being billed for. Is he full of warm fuzzies? No. He is matter of fact, and tells it like it is. But he got the job done, and did it in a timely manner. I've already referred a friend to his office.

    More 
    Hired attorney
  • Family advice session

    5.0 stars

    Anonymous review posted on

    Verified review

    It was very informative

    More 
  • a down to earth person

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Anthony

    helped me in every step of the way about a year an a half ago. the outcome was more than i could of ask for, thank you David. just talked a couple of days ago about some questions i had,and he took the time to answer all of them.if your looking for someone to be there for you he's the man. thanks again, Anthony

    More 
  • Divorce can be messy -- David Bliven made it easy!

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Brian

    David Bliven got me through my divorce process easily and painlessly. He helped me think through every step of the process, kept my costs to a minimum, and got it done. He was worth every penny. Thank you, David Bliven!

    More 
  • Mr Bliven was very nasty and condescending

    1.0 star

    Anonymous review posted on

    My experience with Mr Bliven was horrible. At no time during my experience with him that I felt he was looking out for my best interest. Any inquiries made by me received a condescending response. Mr Bliven on two court appearance arrived late and didn't appear interested in my case. My case involved vacating a childcare and child support decision which involved submitting almost 90 percent of my income due to me missing a court date due medical issues. I've worked in law enforcement for 25 years and I've seen lawyers worker harder for people on crack.

    More 
    David Ivan Bliven’s response: “This review is a good example of an ex-client digging themselves a deep hole, then hiring a lawyer & thinking the lawyer can solve everything. First, I only represented this client for about 3 months, and at no time prior to the decision on his case (5/26/15) did he ever voice any complaint about myself or my services - implicit or otherwise. He only voiced a complaint for the first time when he lost his case. This guy not only acted as his own lawyer prior to hiring me, but also acted as his own doctor. He skipped a court date because he was "in too much pain," yet didn't bother to get a "no work/no school" letter from his Dr. which might have saved him. He also never called the Court or anyone else to say he wasn't coming to Court - just made a self-diagnoses that his pain was too great to travel. What did him in wasn't anything I did or didn't do, but the fact that it came out in the wash (after submitting our motion to dismiss) that he not only texted the other party that same day, but also wasn't in enough pain to stop visiting his children. Opps! The Judge then decided if he could send a text, he should have called the Court to request an adjournment. As for me "arriving late," most NYC Family Court Judges don't start their morning calendar until 9:30a.m. & their afternoon calendar until 2:30p.m. (unless they give the case a "time-certain"). Thus, while the time on the printed calendar may say 9:00a.m., the lawyers are not considered "late" if they arrive at 9:30a.m., since that's the time most of the cases begin to be called in. On the day in question (5/26/15), I arrived to Court just a few minutes after 9:30, but only because an accident had just occurred on the highway I was traveling on (& thus my GPS didn't read it until I arrived at the traffic jam), causing an unexpected delay. It should be noted that, in an ironic twist of the facts (though not mentioned by this ex-client), HE arrived nearly 45 minutes late - and that's 45 minutes AFTER 9:30! If he was holding himself to the same standard as he was holding me, then he would have been 1 hour, 15 minutes late to his own case (and a case he previously lost because he was defaulted). Quite obviously, however, this person would rather blame everyone else in the world for his own, self-created problems. This review should thus be viewed through that lens.”
  • Top Notch Lawyer!

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Lou

    Mr. Bliven represented me in a child support case. I was very pleased with the services provided by Mr. Bliven. He is professional, courteous, and knows his stuff! I am completely gratified with the outcome of my case thanks to Mr. Bliven knowledge of family law. Mr. Bliven kept me up to date on all matters pertaining to my case and his billing is fair and accurate for the work he puts into the case. I would certainly recommend him to anyone that is seeking a top notch lawyer in the area family court.

    More 
  • Child Custody Matter

    5.0 stars

    Posted by Teri Colon

    Although I have not met with Mr. Bliven yet. I contacted his office on a Friday of a Holiday Weekend. His office's response was immediate and I was treated with the respect as if I was already a client. His staff took the time to email me immediately and when I called I was given an appointment that accommodates my schedule. Custody matters are very sensitive and clients can be emotional. It was a relief to speak with someone who was not only professional and courtesy, but also showed genuine concern. I look forward to my consultation with Mr. Bliven.

    More 
  • Family problem

    5.0 stars

    Anonymous review posted on

    Let me start by apologizing if I did anything to offend you guys period. Of all the attorneys that I heard from, he was the best. I felt that he was one of the attorneys that I could grow to trust. I have read other comments and realized other people saw him the same way. I would very much so like him to read my current question, with a bit more information, and answer it. I also would, possibly, like to hire him to defend me in this case.

    More 
    David Ivan Bliven’s response: “No offense taken at all. You were a good client and are a good person! Thank you for the review & I look forward to doing business with you in the future. All the best!”