Skip to main content

Adelola Sheralynn Dow

Divorce and separation Attorney at Staten Island, NY

5.0   48 reviews
Virtual consultation available
Virtual consultation available
  • State Years
    New York - NY 15 years
    New Jersey - NJ 17 years
  • Licensed for 15 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2008
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 17 years
    State NJ
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Adelola

Learn Adelola’s areas of practice.

TURNING FEAR INTO POWER WHEN HAPPILY EVER AFTER FADES AWAY ®

Divorce and family law issues can be difficult to navigate without the use of skilled legal counsel. As the child of divorced parents, and having initiated my own divorce, I understand the importance of counseling my clients on methods they can use to move their divorce along in a manner which does not negatively impact their children or their dignity. I also understand the fear that often comes by engaging in this foreign process and know full well how to help you harness that fear by turning it into power while you navigate through this process.

I founded this law practice to bring integrity to the practice of divorce law in a time when mistrust of divorce lawyers and the matrimonial (divorce) law system is at an all-time high. The training I received as a law clerk and law secretary (Judge’s Personal Attorney) to two divorce/family law judges has given me a unique understanding of the way judges make decisions in family law matters. I pride myself in providing teaching-based representation so that you understand the law and the way it will work in your case. It is that knowledge which we will use to turn your fear of the divorce process into your power as we work together to protect your legal interests and the best interests of your children.

If you aren’t yet married and you want to protect your assets in the event of a divorce, or if you have rekindled a marriage and want to limit the legal argument you would have in the event of an eventual divorce, I will help you craft an agreement which fairly and properly protects your assets and those of your children.

While most cases settle without going to trial, it is important to hire an attorney who can litigate your matter in the event a trial becomes necessary. Skilled litigators can advise you about whether your case has the potential to be litigated and about ways to avoid trial, if that is possible. Approximately 10% of cases go to trial. If your case is one of the 10%, we are here to help.

While I am an adept litigator, I also know that it is important to hire an attorney who can assess when your interests can be better served with non-litigation tactics, such as collaborative law and mediation. I am a trained collaborative divorce lawyer and can help you to navigate the waters of divorce without the cost and emotional expense of litigation.

Born in Manhattan and raised in Brooklyn, New York, I am a truth-speaker who “keeps it real” even when what I have to say isn’t necessarily what my client wants to hear. I relocated to Staten Island at the age of 16 and attended Wagner College, Grymes Hill, where I received my Bachelor’s degree in English and minored in Sociology. After taking a few years off to sell real estate and save money for law school, I attended the City University School of Law in Flushing, Queens, where I received my Juris Doctorate degree. I have been practicing law for over a decade and enjoy helping and developing long-lasting relationships with my clients. I reside with my husband, Michael E. Dow, Jr., a Staten Island native, and our two children.

Awards

Client's Choice 2023,2022,2018,2012
Client's Choice
2023 2022 2018 + 1 ...

Photos and videos

View more

Location

Dow Divorce Law, P.L.L.C.
900 South Avenue
Suite 46
Staten Island, NY, 10314

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  48 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
2%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2023
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Noelle Yodice | March 27, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best attorney
Ms.Dow is the best attorney I have ever worked with .From our first meeting in 2015 ,She explained to me in terms I could easily understand and was always very responsive when I had a question. I have hired Ms. Dow on several occasions from divorce to child custody questions.
Posted by anonymous | March 6, 2024
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Second consultation
Ms Dow is very caring when she speaks to you doesn’t make you feel rushed and annoyed. She really cares for her clients I would definitely recommend her to friends or colleagues if they need her help in a divorce. Thank you
Posted by Ashanti | January 29, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional service guaranteed
I was very satisfied with the level of professionalism that Ms.Dows office showed during my divorce. Ms. Dow is very knowledgeable. She handled every aspect and made sure I was getting everything I needed to be secure once the divorce was finalized. I would definitely recommend her to everyone I know,if you want someone who will go the extra mile and get you what you deserve in a very timely manner I say Ms. Dow is the best!!
Read less
Posted by Sean | September 13, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The "BEST" Attorney for any man looking to defy the odds
Extremely experienced and highly recommended Attorney. I could not ask for a better person to represent me in my challenges with my ex-wife and children. I had the pleasure of working with Ms. Dow for many years on multiple court cases. She handles all matters with compassion and integrity. In the end, we defied the odds. Believe or not, a "man" got custody of his special needs child. Guys, with Ms, Dow by your side, you will stand the best chance possible. She will fight for you and your rights!!!
Read less
Response from Adelola Dow October 1, 2023
It was such an honor to represent you and to help you as a Dad!! Thank you for trusting us!
Posted by Wil | September 12, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
APPEALS SUPERSTAR
I retained Ms. Dow for her services in my divorce proceeding for which, I had three appeals, two were heard and we won both..! One of which is now case law due to Ms. Dow's expertise and knowledge of divorce law. Ms. Dow truly goes to bat for you and leaves no stone unturned. Ms. Dow advocates for the rights of her clients and comes through each and every time.
Read less
Response from Adelola Dow October 1, 2023
Whew!!! So thrilled to have gotten this done for you!
Posted by Michael | May 31, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
5 STARS are not enough!
After speaking to Ms. Dow initially, I felt a sense of security and hope for the first time in 3 years. She is direct, honest, efficient, and reasonable with her charges. Ms. Dow looked out for mine and my children's best interests at ALL times. She was always trying to finalize and settle the case as soon as possible instead of dragging it on. I had a negative experience with my previous attorney, and I only wished that I had found Ms. Dow earlier. I quickly understood why she is an absolute expert in her field, practicing only divorce law. She is highly respected by judges and feared by opposing counsel. On the other hand, she is also very personable and always knew and remembered every detail of my case, including my children's names. To summarize, just like the slogan on the website says: "TURNING FEAR INTO POWER." Very grateful, Michael Grinman
Read less
Posted by Evelyn | March 22, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Satisfied
She was very helpful and informative! She was very clear in explaining things to me! She made sure I understood her and did her best to break down things as simply as she could to help me better understand my divorce decree! I truly appreciated her expertise!
Response from Adelola Dow March 22, 2023
I am so grateful to have been able to assist you! Our conversation was lively and productive. Thank you for trusting me to help you!
Posted by Anne | March 21, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Extremely extremely knowledgeable
This is my second encounter with Ms. Dow. She handled my daughters international divorce with amazing skill, and in a timely fashion. My daughter went to her after paying another attorney, a substantial amount of money. Her previous attorney did absolutely nothing and didn’t even show up in court when she was supposed to. Ms. Dow had everything under control within a few months. I also just went to her for a consult and will definitely be using her. I felt like I was talking to a friend. She answered my questions within a few minutes, and I felt such a weight was lifted off my shoulders. I could go on and on about her. Suffice to say she is Amazing!!!!!!
Read less
Response from Adelola Dow March 22, 2023
It's a pleasure to have reconnected with you again! I remember your daughter's case--like it was yesterday! So glad to have been able to help you both!!
Posted by anonymous | November 4, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent
I met with Ms. Dow for a consultation and she was amazing. Not only did she answer all my questions (before I even asked most of them!) But she was so down to earth and genuine. If I need to retain a lawyer in the future I will 1000% choose her. Thank you so much!! You gave me such peace of mind!
Posted by Elizabeth | November 2, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Confidence, Empowerment, Clarity, Security
I use those 4 words in my title because these words are what sums up how I left my experience with Ms. Dow. This was my 3rd strategy session with Ms. Dow since 2017 and each time I’ve left the meeting and followed her advice, I ended up victorious! She was and continues to be my guiding light concerning my family and Supreme Court cases and in other areas of my life as well. Ms. Dow is down to earth and easy to talk to. I will be hiring her for my current case, confident that I am on the winning side!!
Read less
Posted by Kevin | August 31, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Confidence inspiring, caring and thorough!!
I had been on many different consultations with other lawyers and had left each one no better off than when I walked in. Within minutes of speaking to A. Sheralynn Dow I had decided that she was who I wanted to represent me. Every aspect of my situation was thoroughly broken down and explained to me in plain English. I could clearly tell that my best interests were first priority. I would highly recommend A. Sheralynn Dow to anyone seeking a divorce or on the receiving end of being divorced.
Read less
Posted by Jay | August 31, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing!
Ms. Dow is amazing and very knowledgeable. She made me feel at ease and provided me with the information I needed to know that reassured my position in the case. At the end of the consultation I was empowered and ready to hire her as my attorney.
Posted by anonymous | August 10, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
An amazing experience
Could not be more pleased with my strategy session. She is warm and inviting and makes a difficult situation easier. Highly recommend!
Posted by anonymous | June 29, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
The BEST!!
Mrs. Dow is amazing.! She is very knowledgeable, kind and understanding. She is extremely honest and always has your best interest in mind.
Posted by anonymous | May 4, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Knowledgeable, Friendly and Experienced
Meeting with Ms. Dow felt like talking to a friend. She was very approachable and easy to talk to. Her confidence was very assuring and she is very knowledgeable. Speaking to her definitely put me at ease and I would highly recommend her to anyone in need of legal assistance.
Posted by Otha | April 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Comforting
She definitely eased the uncertainty of what might be forthcoming and had me relieved
Posted by Jerome | February 19, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Family Court issue
Our virtual meeting on Feb 17/2022 made me feel that I have chosen a qualified attorney. I have great trust and confidence in you and your firm. Thank you Mrs. Dow
Posted by anonymous | February 14, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Perfect divorce attorney
Getting Divorced is already a tough and long process, but getting divorced during a pandemic has its own difficulties. The office of Adelola Sheralynn Dow helped me with every question (and there were many) in a quick and timely manner. The team is very professional and knowledgeable. The entire process was effortless thankful to Mrs Dow and her team.
Read less
Posted by Michael | February 3, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you for the wonderful representation
In an effort to find great representation I believe I found the best lawyer a person could find. The process went smoother than I thought. Watching others in the courtroom pre Covid I quickly realized I chose wisely. Forever success!
Posted by Angela | December 28, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Using Ms. Dow was the best decision ever
Sheralynn Dow was referred by my previous attorney, if a competing attorney recommending her doesn’t speak volumes, what does? Out of all the advice my previous attorney offered, using Ms. Dow was by far the best advice ever given. Ms. Dow and her staff are just amazing. Her knowledge is second to none, she is tough but professional. When facing a stubborn former spouse who puts you in a desperate and hopeless position, Ms. Dow is who you want on your side fighting for you and your children. She is motivated and determined when you are her client. Her and her staff are readily available and respond in a timely manner when called or emailed. In the event she can’t get right back to you she will be sure someone from her staff reaches out to give you an update. Ms. Dow makes your fight her fight. She was so excited to tell me that the court granted my petition and “we won” that she called me after hours the night before Thanksgiving – I believe she called me from a carwash! Sheralynn was just as happy and excited as I was that night – that is the type of attorney you NEED for your family. Should I ever find myself in the position of having to navigate the Family Courts again, she will be my first phone call.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 350-450 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Assistant Court Attorney
  • New York State Unified Court System
  • 2008 - 2009
  • Matrimonial Associate
  • The Law Office of Steven P. Monaghan, LLC
  • 2007 - 2008
  • Law Clerk to the Honorable Paul A. Kapalko, J.S.C.
  • New Jersey Superior Court, Monmouth Vicinage
  • 2006 - 2007

Education

  • CUNY School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2006
  • Wagner College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2001

Sample of Legal Cases

  • NBM v. JM
  • Our client prevalied at having the court deny his wife's attempt to set the parties' 15-year old separation agreement aside.
  • M.G. v. D.G.
  • Our client was afforded a separate property credit. This case was published within the New York Law Journal.
  • MF v. JF
  • FRO granted.

Associations

  • National Association of Professsional Women
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • New York State Bar Association
  • Staten Island District Representative for Young Lawyers Section
  • 2010 - Present
  • Staten Island Women's Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Richmond County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • New Jersey State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • New York State Unified Court System's Volunteer Attorney Program
  • Volunteer Attorney
  • N/A
  • Richmond County Bar Association's Volunteer Lawyers program
  • Volunteer Attorney
  • N/A
  • Monmouth County Black Lawyers Caucus
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Community Legal Resource Network
  • Member
  • N/A
  • New York State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Rising Star
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2015
  • Rising Star
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Rising Star
  • New York Super Lawyers
  • 2013
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Guest on a Cable Television Show
  • 2010 Revisions to NYS Divorce and Family Laws
  • 2011
  • Passing The Bar Exam
  • Bar Exam Preparation
  • 2007

Attorney endorsements

Received (11)
Given (12)
Endorse Adelola
Divorce and separation Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Nov 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Ms. Dow is an intelligent hardworking attorney. She has handled numerous family cases with many success stories. She is great at what she does because she is compassionate. If you need a lawyer passionate about your case, then call Ms. DOW."
Family Attorney | Dec 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Ade for several years and I know her to be bright and a zealous advocate for her clients. She truly cares about helping her clients."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jan 24
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Ms. Dow is one tough cookie. We've had several rather challenging matters against each other- and she has shown herself to be a real master of her profession."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jan 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mrs. Dow is a great attorney. I have represented a number of her family law clients who were arrested for violations of orders of protections. Each and everyone of the clients raved about how great of an attorney she is. Not one person said a bad thing about her. Furthermore, I have referred a number of my clients that had family problems and her representation of them was second to none. Mrs. Dow is a great attorney and I highly recommend her services."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Nov 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Ade Dow for 10 years. We attended law school together and became fast friends. Ade is a rare jewel. She is the person I turn to when I am in need of advice. She is a counsel to counselors. I can't think of a better person, or attorney to have as an advocate when enduring the stresses of divorce or separation. Ade is unwavering in her dedication to her clients and seeking the outcome that allows them to move on with dignity. I give Ade my highest recommendation."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jun 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Adelola is an excellent attorney who goes the extra mile for her clients. I have referred matters to her in the past with great results."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Apr 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Dec 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Adelola Sheralynn Dow, Esq. is a very competent, very knowledgeable, and very approachable attorney within the fields of Divorce/Domestic Relations Law and Family Law. She is thorough in her work both in and out of the courtroom. She is also the type of attorney that will maintain her determination and poise in fields of law in which the stakes and pressure is high. A client that she represents can rest assured that they are going to get the best possible outcome in their matter."
Family Attorney | Dec 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I met Attorney Dow during her Clerkship with a well known Family Law Division Presiding Judge at the Monmouth County Vicinage. As a law clerk, she authored legal opinions regarding high-conflict divorces including alimony and custody matters. In private practice, she is an experienced family lawyer with a proven track record serving the community with integrity and competence. If you want aggressive and zealous legal representation, retain attorney Adelola Sheralynn Dow."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Nov 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer, because she is smart, thoughtful and caring about her client needs and objectives."
View more endorsements