Skip to main content

Steven Arenson

Employment and labor Attorney at New York, NY

5.0   12 reviews

also known as Arenson Dittmar & Karban

  • Licensed for 37 years
    State NY
    Acquired 1987
    Status
    Due to Register within 30 Days of Birthday No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Steven

Learn Steven’s areas of practice.

Location

Arenson Ditmar & Karban
200 Park Avenue Suite 1700
New York, NY, 10166

Employment lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  12 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Amber | November 17, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
LOOK NO FURTHER!!
If you've been sexually harassed or discriminated against in the workplace... I seriously can't recommend Steven Arenson enough! After countless introductory calls with various attorneys, who only seemed to be interested in money, I thankfully found Steven on Nolo. Desperate to find someone who seemed to care about the wrongdoing and justice over the payout, I scheduled yet another intro call.  From the very first time Steven and I spoke, I knew he would be THE ONLY person to handle my case. During our call, he made me feel so comfortable and really took an interest in even the smallest of details. Not only was steven beyond diligent in his work as my attorney, but he was also a major support system for me as I went through the process of bringing about a sexual harassment lawsuit against my employer. It was such a relief that whenever I called, he would pick up and talk to me or immediately respond by email or text message. Steve always sought out my approval before sending official correspondence and kept me updated as we moved through the process. No secrets and no surprises! From the very beginning, Steven displayed impeccable judgment, kept a calm demeanor, and always knew exactly how to handle situations. We successfully settled the case for an amount beyond what I could have hoped for... ever.  Steven’s deep understanding of the law coupled with his passion for justice was so inspiring that I am now in law school studying to be an attorney! For anyone reading this, I strongly recommend reaching out to him.   
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 6, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
An excellent lawyer!
Steve represented myself and a few other colleagues in a discrimination case and did a great job lining up all the facts and putting together an amazing and compelling argument. He was very thorough and we went over the scenarios multiple times before he presented the case. From beginning to end, Steve proved to be a valuable and caring lawyer. He was very persistent and only offered great advice, even the meditator made a statement about how impressed he felt with Steve’s strong stance. I would highly recommend Steve to represent anyone in any type of employment/discrimination case. Thank you Steve and team!
Read less
Posted by Pedro | July 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Steven went Above and Beyond
From the start of this Journey Steven met me with an open heart, deep listening ears and a whole lot of skills and experience in his field. The process was smooth and he was always in contact with me if I had any questions in a timely matter. Steven believes in the law and he believes in protecting people rights. I would recommend Steven to anyone who has ever encountered unfair treatment at the workplace. I feel super grateful and lucky to have came across his name when I had an issue I needed help dealing with. Friendly, Serious when needed, but also light hearted at times when talking through hard conversations. Steven is all about the HONEST GOOD FIGHT! TENS ACROSS THE BOARD!
Read less
Posted by Nilda | September 13, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Steve is excellent lawyero and human being
Steve is excellent, he takes the time to analyze and study every angle of the case. His attention is personalized, nothing important in the case , will ever be discussed with another person other than him. He knows his field very well, he is specialized Employment and labor, Sexual harassment, Discrimination. Steve has a lot of patience and wisdom to negotiate and keep the client calm, informed and with full confidence. Personally, he is an excellent human being, a family man and that is reflected in the end result when Steve is your lawyer. If you contact Steve you will be in excellent hands. Steve es excelente, se toma el tiempo para analizar y estudiar todos los ángulos del caso. Su atención es personalizada, nada importante en el caso, jamás será discutido con otra persona que no sea él. Conoce muy bien su campo, está especializado en Derecho laboral, Acoso sexual y Discriminacion.. Steve tiene mucha paciencia y sabiduría para negociar y mantener al cliente tranquilo, informado y con total confianza. Personalmente, es un excelente ser humano, un hombre de familia y eso se refleja en el resultado final cuando Steve es tu abogado. Si contactas a Steve estarás en excelentes manos.
Read less
Posted by Josh | December 24, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Steven is informative, helpful and always is invested in your best interest
Steven is a phenomenal advocate to have in your corner. He was quickly able to turn a very stressful situation into a much more manageable and understandable process. Steven was extremely thorough and personally, didn’t pass me off to an associate, took all the time needed to explain and review my matter detail. He was very patient throughout and made sure that I knew exactly what was going on at all times. I really felt as though he truly had my best interest in mind throughout the whole process. Steven is extremely knowledgeable in his area of law and is an excellent negotiator. He ended up securing me more than I ever would have expected. I wouldn’t hesitate at all to use his services again or recommend them to any one else in a similar situation.
Read less
Posted by Lauren | December 19, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Thank you for everything
When I needed someone to help me in a time of need, Steven Arenson was a guide, a calming presence and a forceful advocate. He understood my situation and was extremely thorough in explaining all of the decisions that needed to be made. Steven answered all my questions in a thorough and expedient manner and it is clear he really cares. Steven is kind, attentive, and honest and he always displays integrity in his legal work. I truly cannot say enough great things about him. I highly recommend Steve Arenson.
Read less
Posted by Nancy | November 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Sharp. Highly Effective. Pleasure to Work With.
If you want a win, if you want to feel protected from every angle, if you want a breezy working relationship, call Steven Arenson to represent you. Steven Arenson, a really smart guy with an impressive knowledge base and kind disposition, worked swiftly and intensely (no stone unturned) to get the results I was hoping for. I wish there were more rows of stars to highlight my appreciation and gratitude. Thank you, again.
Read less
Posted by Belkis | July 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you so much!!!
I certainly would recommend Mr. Steven Arenson and his professional team to any one. Mr. Arenson has represented me in a sexual harassment case, he did an outstanding job with a positive outcome and has settled the case out court. Mr. Arenson did and outstanding job with my case, always available on the phone/emails, he responded to my queries and concerns promptly, kept me updated with the progress of the case...above all he is a great human being who truly care for his clients...he is very knowledgeable, communicative, trustworthy, dedicated, honest and professional. I have found an excellent attorney and a great/truly friend as well...excellent service from the beginning to the end!!!
Read less
Posted by Dr BD | June 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you Steve
Steve Arenson's expertise in labor law has been a great resource for our medical practice. Amongst giving genuinely practical and relevant advice Steve has helped us create an employee handbook, overtime work guidelines, and has helped us manage employee issues that have come up. I trust his judgement. He is always concerned about our well being and is attentive, responsive, timely, and reasonable in all aspects of his relationship with us. I highly recommend him as a labor lawyer to anyone requiring such services.
Read less
Posted by Lisa | June 10, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Solid advice
I consulted Steve Arenson regarding employment issues on two different occasions in the past ten years (in both cases, mass layoff situations at prominent financial firms), and I received solid and practical legal advice. Steve was extremely helpful in clarifying my own thinking on my specific situation and gave constructive, prudent advice. He is quick to understand the nuances of individual circumstances. Highly recommend Steve to anyone who is looking for pragmatic and ethical legal counsel.
Read less
Posted by T | May 11, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Justice for the little guy
Ten years ago I was pushed out of a prominent east coast company for being an observant Jew. I was facing horrible daily discrimination and threats. Steve provided me with professional legal defense and I was able to reach a just settlement, which allowed me to move forward with dignity and respect. I am very grateful for Steve's integrity, knowledge and expertise and for guiding me throughout the process. I highly recommend Steve Arenson for legal services to anyone.
Read less
Posted by Ilene | March 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Reccomendation for Steven Arenson
With much confidence and satisfaction, I am happy to recommend Steve Arenson for legal services. Steve is a consummate professional who provided expertise assistance on an important matter and on very short notice. I appreciated his attentiveness to the details and pointing me in the right direction. Steve’s integrity was very evident when working with him. He has a strong eye for detail and more important, a calm demeanor, which was a blessing for me during this legal matter. He is very knowledgeable, available and approachable. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs an employment attorney.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 15 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 600-600 per hour
  • Contingency 33%-40%

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.9 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Arenson, Dittmar & Karban
  • 1992 - Present
  • Instructor, Constitutional Law
  • Yale University
  • 1991 - 1992
  • Associate, Litigation Department
  • Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison
  • 1989 - 1991
  • Instructor, Constitutional Law and Legal Writing and Research
  • University Of Miami School Of Law
  • 1988 - 1989
  • Law Clerk
  • United States District Court, Eastern District of New York, The Honorable Reena Raggi
  • 1987 - 1988
  • Legal Staff
  • Anti Defamation League
  • 1986 - 1987
View all work experience

Education

  • Columbia Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1986
  • Columbia College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1983

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Lora, et al v. J.V. Hand Car Wash. et al, 2015 WL 7302755
  • Case settled on the eve of trial for $1,650,000 for the 18 Plaintiffs, representing the highest per-plaintiff recovery in the low-pay car wash industry. Attorneys fees and costs of over $1,350,000 million dollars awarded separately by the Court.
  • Sandoval, et al v. Galaxy General Contracting Corp., et al
  • Class-wide settlement exceeding $2,200,000
  • Multi-plaintiff sexual and national origin harassment case against mid-size company
  • Case settled for $6,000,000.
View all legal cases

Associations

  • New York City Bar Association
  • Member, Labor and Employment Committee
  • 2014 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Hebrew

Honors and Awards

  • 10 Best
  • American Institute of Legal Counsel
  • 2016
  • Harlan Fiske Stone Scholar
  • Columbia Law School
  • 1986
  • Phi Beta Kappa, Magna Cum Laude
  • Columbia College
  • 1983

Publications

Speaking Engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (5)
Given (11)
Endorse Steven
Employment and labor Attorney | Nov 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Steve and I have worked together on employment matters, and he is a knowledgeable, dedicated, and intelligent attorney. I am proud to endorse him."
Sexual harassment Attorney | Jul 18
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Mr. Arenson was my opposing counsel in a very hard-fought Title VII action. He did his absolute best for his client in all circumstances and was a talented and determined adversary, while never being anything less than 100% courteous and professional. I was impressed in particular with his diligence and thoroughness."
Employment and labor Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Steve is an incredibly talented, passionate, and creative attorney who has achieved very impressive results for his clients. I recommend Steve without reservation."
Employment and labor Attorney | May 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Steve and I have conferred on several matters and I have been impressed by his thoughtful, well-considered approach to employment law issues. Equally impressive is his commitment to best serving his client's needs. He is clever, resourceful, and tenacious, and I have not hesitated in recommending Steve to individuals who need a strong litigator for their employment law matter."
Employment and labor Attorney | Mar 25
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Steve is my go-to attorney to consult and refer on a number of employment law issues. Steve's wealth of experience is evident in his substantive knowledge of the law and command of the issues. More importantly, it's clear that Steve is motivated by his personal dedication to his clients and his belief that their rights matter. You can be confident that he will devote careful, close attention to each case. I recommend him highly."
Employment and labor
Employment and labor
Bankruptcy and debt
Employment and labor
Personal injury
Employment and labor
Employment and labor

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

New York Employment and labor Lawyer Steven Arenson
Steven Arenson
Employment and labor Attorney
New York, NY
Licensed for 37 years
Free Consultation