Skip to main content

Leon Matchin

Criminal defense Attorney at Milltown, NJ

5.0   447 reviews

also known as Leon Matchin, Esq., Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC

Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 21 years
    State NJ
    Acquired 2002
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Leon

Learn Leon’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%
    Request and obtain discovery from the State for all criminal, drug and alcohol related offenses, review the discovery with the client, file all appropriate motions to suppress and or dismiss together with all appropriate objections to the State's evidence and case in chief and if necessary take the case to trial.

    22 years, 100 cases

  2. Speeding and traffic ticket
    40%
    Request and obtain discovery from the State for all traffic related offenses such as driving while suspended, driving uninsured vehicle, speeding, leaving the scene of an accident, reckless driving, passing a school bus, unlicensed driver, driving a vehicle while in possession of CDS, review the discovery with the client, and work out the best possible plea bargain arrangement with the prosecutor or take the case to trial.

    22 years, 1,000 cases

  3. DUI and DWI
    10%
    Request and obtain discovery from the State for drunk driving and or refusal to submit to testing device, review the discovery with the client, file all appropriate motions to suppress and or dismiss together with all appropriate objections to the State's evidence and case in chief and if necessary take the case to trial.

    22 years, 100 cases

SUMMONED TO APPEAR IN COURT?

I always knew I would be an attorney. My uncle was a prosecutor and a successful defense attorney, so why not do what he does? I graduated Cum Laude from the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1998. I started Seton Hall University School of Law at Newark, New Jersey the fall of that same year, part time. Also that year I got a full time job at a law firm in Elizabeth, New Jersey from which it was an easy 15 minute commute to my night classes to law school for four years. I graduated Seton Hall in 2002 and immediately hung my shingles. I never worked for anyone as a practicing attorney. I did everything an attorney does at the firm I worked at, except of course represent clients in court. When I got my license to practice I went out on my own right away. I was 26 years old. My four years working and studying gave me the confidence and knowledge to take such a leap of faith at such a young age. I am still working for myself as a practicing attorney to this day representing clients in court charged with various criminal, drunk driving and traffic offenses. At this point of my career I am a Certified Municipal Court Trial Attorney by the Supreme Court of the State of New Jersey.

Awards

Platinum Client Champion
Client's Choice 2024,2023,2022,2021,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016,2015,2014
Client's Choice
2024 2023 2022 + 8 ...
Top Contributor 2023,2022,2021,2020,2019,2018
Top Contributor
2023 2022 2021 + 3 ...

Photos and videos

Location

The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC
86 Washington Ave, Suite A
Milltown, NJ, 08850
By Appointment Only
50 U.S. 9
#202
Morganville, NJ, 07751
By Appointment Only
37 Robbinsville Allentown Rd
Robbinsville, NJ, 08691
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  447 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2024
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Dave | October 31, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Lawyer, Also really cares about his clients.
When my daughter needed a lawyer i found mr Matchin on this website. I called him i was upset because i wasn't sure as to what would happen to her. Right away he explained in detail what the possible outcomes could be. Then he explained his experience in my type of case. He calmed me down told me what his fee would be with no pressure at all. I hired him right away . When i hired him anytime i had a question he would always return the call. He really understood how worried i was about my daughter he made me feel like we were family. He told me he would do his best to get us the best possible outcome . No lies about what the outcome would be only that what the process will be. I will tell you in my case do to all the hard work and skill of mr Matchin we got the results we were hoping for. But i can honestly say that even if we did not get the results we wanted i believe no one would be able to. This is one of those times where i got really lucky to find such an amazing attorney. My advise to anyone that wants the best representation for yourself or family member. Then Mr Matchin is who you want. Thank you so much Leon i am very grateful for all you have done to help my daughter. Dave.
Read less
Posted by Kyle | January 7, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer I could ever hire
Leon has helped me on numerous occasions. First one was a hit and run case that got me 5 tickets. He was able to clear me of 3 out of the 5 tickets and cleared me of all points and ended up with a charge of paying only around $200. The second time I had a drug charge for carrying marijuana as well as a drug paraphernalia charge. The cop INITIALLY pulled me over for being on the phone and then smelled the marijuana and decided to search the car and they found it. After having a good experience with Leon the first time, I decided to go to straight to him. He was able to free me of all the drug charges and the paraphernalia charge and I ended up with only having to pay for the cell phone ticket which was $230 with no points. Leon is by far the best lawyer that I’ve dealt with and highly recommend him for anyone that needs help getting out of some serious trouble.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 14, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend!
I would definitely hire Leon Matchin again. It was well worth the money. I had several tickets including leaving the scene. He was able to get it reduced to a $100 fine and no points. The stressful situation was so much better because of Mr. Matchin and his team. Courtney, his assistant, was great to deal with from the very first call and she was quick to respond to all my questions. I highly recommend him!
Read less
Posted by Sukanya | May 13, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
I hired them for my traffic violation tickets. I had two tickets carrying two points each. They were able to dismiss one of them and reduce the other to a zero point violation. Extremely satisfied with the outcome. And the lawyer responded over the phone and patiently answered all my questions.
Posted by anonymous | May 2, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Use of cell phone while driving
Second time I was charged with this offence. Was told the first time if I did it again I'd be fined a minimum $400 plus possible points, etc. Attorney Matchin was direct and to the point. He verified what I had been told was possible. I told him my major goal was to avoid the points, etc. and if he could, get the $400 reduced. He did not promise I would get everything I wanted, but his manner and tone made me feel confident he would give it a good try. His office staff was very polite, patient in answering my few questions and came across as very competent and professional. I ended up with a reduced charge and paying just $90 to the court. I was very satisfied with the outcome and working with him and his staff.
Read less
Posted by Kathryn | May 1, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional legal representation
Look no further for exceptional legal representation than Leon Matchin. With an unparalleled understanding of the law and an acute attention to detail, he and his team navigate the complexities of my case with finesse. Their dedication to thoroughness ensures no stone was left unturned, providing me with confidence and peace of mind. If you're seeking an attorney who combines expertise with meticulousness, Leon Matchin is the ONE to call.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 22, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Leon Matchin is the best traffic ticket attorney!
Leon Matchin worked on our tickets and we got excellent results. We recommend Leon Matchin's office as one of the best local attorney in the area.
Posted by Abe | April 8, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helpful
He get the target I need and he is very helpful He gives me the right advice and gets the target with good results and price
Posted by anonymous | March 28, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Would Recommend!
Hired Mr.Matchin to help for a ticket on speed exceeding 10 MPH over the limit carrying two points and he was able to downgrade to a speeding citation with no points. Fast responses and great team to work with overall including his assistant Vanessa! Highly recommend
Posted by Traci | March 18, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very positive experience.
He handled a traffic violation in the best way possible. The team is very professional and communicative.
Posted by Krishna | March 10, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Excellent attorney
Mr Leon is a very great lawyer and explained me clearly about my case and helped me to cancel all my points and paid fines.Mr Leon and his team did a excellent job in communicating promptly and kept informed throughout the entire process.
Posted by Heather | March 9, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best attorneys Ever !
Everyone in this office was so understanding & helpful ! They helped me get my case solved in my favor very easily and kept in constant contact throughout the whole case. They explained the entire process & did everything to help this whole thing go so smoothly. If I ever need an attorney I will definitely use them again & recommend them to anyone looking for their services :)
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 4, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney
Very professional doesn’t settle just to settle went above and beyond, highly recommend them they treat you like family
Posted by anonymous | February 23, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Brown
The best of the best..he was great and did well for me.. I would recommend him 100 percent
Posted by Noshir | February 22, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Job - thanks Leon
Leon Matchin & his team were of tremendous help - they got my ticket resolved out of court. I would recommend them anytime.
Posted by anonymous | February 20, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
FRO
Leon and his team are simply the best. Hands down. My case was my gf got FRO against me & unfortunately she ended up in same gym with me called cops and got me arrested and I’ve had criminal charges agains me I’ve told Mrs. Leon Matchin what exactly happen to me and result at end I’m so happy case dismissed completely without any charges.
Read less
Posted by Jose | February 19, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dui, reckless and a refusal
It was my first experience. Leon was able to get the Dui and reckless dismissed. I pleaded guilty to the refusal. Going through an Interlock for 9 months. Paid 460 in fines plus Dmv surcharges for refusal. I am able to keep my license while on the program. Leon and his team kept me informed throughout the entire process.
Posted by anonymous | February 8, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Prompt action, Excellent Staff who are ready to help.
Mr Mitchin clearly explained what i should expect and he delivered. He was very honest and confident from the beginning.
Posted by anonymous | February 7, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Ticket for leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage
Ticket for leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage, was downgraded to failure to report an accident which carries a fine of $240. Ticket for failure to possess driver's insurance card was a guilty plea carrying $40 of court costs. Including a civil reservation, meaning this guilty plea can not be used against you in civil court. Service was delivered as promised. Thank you.
Read less
Posted by Renata | January 25, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent
Highly recommend. Pleased with the outcome and how my attorney Marc of Law Offices of Leon Matchin handled my case .
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC
  • 2002 - Present
  • Clerk
  • Law offices of Robert Diorio
  • 1999 - Present
  • Adjunct Professor
  • State University of New York Stony Brook
  • 1998 - 1998

Education

  • Seton Hall University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2002
  • Suny at Stoney Brook
  • Bachelors
  • 1998

Sample of Legal Cases

  • DUI Dismissed
  • Dismissed
  • Results Count
  • Dismissed
  • Drug Charge Dismissed
  • Dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • South Jersey Legal Services (Private Attorney Involvement Program)
  • Member
  • 2019 - Present
  • Federal Court Third Circuit
  • Secretary
  • 2017 - Present
  • New Jersey Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2017 - Present
  • Association of Trial Lawyers of America
  • Member
  • 2017 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Russian
  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top 10
  • National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • 2019
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Board Certified - Municipal Court Trial Attorney
  • Supreme Court of New Jersey
  • 2016
  • Featured Attorney
  • Avvo
  • 2015
  • Client's Choice
  • Avvo
  • 2013
  • Accredited Business
  • Better Business Bureau
  • 2011
View all awards

Publications

  • Online Legal Blog
  • Arrest
  • 2015
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Law Club
  • Future Lawyers
  • 2015
  • BNI
  • Criminal and DUI Representation
  • 2012

Attorney endorsements

Received (21)
Given (20)
Endorse Leon
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Matchin is extremely dedicated to his clients, and will work endlessly on their behalf. Additionally, his knowledge and passion for municipal and criminal defense work is superior, making him a highly effective advocate."
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Oct 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Leon is a tireless advocate, always thinking through the issues in order to help his defend his clients most effectively. I wholeheartedly endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 14
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 24
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have dealt with Leon on several matters in my position as a municipal prosecutor. I have always found him to be knowledgeable, professional and gentleman. Leon is passionate in the defense of his clients and often obtains favorable results."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 09
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. When I was an Assistant Prosecutor, Leon Matchin was my adversary on several cases. He always worked very hard on behalf of his clients to secure them the best possible results."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have seen Mr. Matchin in the various local courts many times and know that he is very knowledgeable in the law. He appears very comfortable both with his clients and in front of the Judges when he is advocating for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Highly effective and knowledgeable."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Matchin is a skilled, ethical, intelligent and talented lawyer. He knows all the ins and outs of the court system, and he knows how to get results for his clients. It is my pleasure and honor to endorse him"
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Leon's an incredibly knowledgeable and personable attorney. He knows his files inside and out and searches diligently for any and all legal and factual issues to the benefit of his client. When it comes to municipal court practice in New Jersey he is as well-known and experienced as they come. When I started doing municipal cases Leon was one of the people I would go to when I had a question. I recommend him very highly for all municipal court matters."
Unknown Attorney | Jan 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I give Leon a lot of credit. He graduated law school and immediately opened his own practice so he's fearless, and his business tactics carry over into his law practice. Leon is in multiple criminal courts on a daily basis, in the trenches fighting for his clients. He's not afraid to try cases and do what it takes to get the best results. He has a lot of experience handling felony cases throughout the State."
Unknown Attorney | Dec 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Leon is a well respected member of the legal community. He is very knowledgeable, and always available for advice. I recommend this attorney, and fully endorse him."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Oct 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mr. Matchin for more than a year now, and am constantly impressed with his encyclopedic knowledge of the law, his courtroom presence, and his overall ability to provide his clients with exemplary representation. Leon has also become an attorney I look forward to seeing in court, as I know I will always have a friendly ear in him. I strongly endorse Leon Matchin."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 24
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I give attorney Leon Matchin my strongest recommendation. Mr. Matchin was opposing defense counsel on a number of cases when I was serving as a prosecutor. Mr. Matchin was always very thorough, well prepared and exhausted all potential legal defenses. I was also very impressed by the dynamic between Mr. Matchin and his clients and could readily observe how much Mr. Matchin invested in each case and cared about each client. In short, I would rate Mr. Matchin a 10 out of 10 and give him my strongest recommendation."
Speeding and traffic ticket Attorney | Oct 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"For many years now, I have referred criminal and traffic matters to Mr. Matchin. He has been consistently reliable, communicates well and his knowledge of the local courts and judges shows he's a well seasoned practitioner. That type of advice has been invaluable to our practice. I have often turned to Leon for advice in areas of law outside of my own practice and he's always been informative and patient. If he cannot handle a particular case, he has always provided and recommended the names of other reliable attorneys. I endorse Mr. Matchin for his knowledge of the law, reliability, personal and professional demeanor."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 29
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Leon and I have worked on several cases together and I see him advocate for his clients on a regular basis. He is very thorough and professional and fights extremely hard to achieve the best possible results for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Leon, is a well respected member of the legal community. He understands the law and knows how to fight for his clients'. Leon is professional, knows his way around a courtroom and tells it like it is."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 18
Relationship: Friend
"I endorse this lawyer. He is an excellent aggressive attorney who always does a great job. You can't go wrong with Leon 'Magic Man' Matchin!""
Criminal defense Attorney | May 23
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"As a prosecutor, I had cases with Mr. Matchin and I found him to be tough, knowledgeable, and extremely professional. He knows the law and every person in the Court system and Prosecutor’s office. He is an experienced criminal defense attorney who would be invaluable to any person charged with an offense from Municipal Court to Superior Court. I highly endorse Leon Matchin."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
DUI and DWI
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense

Avvo Contributions

Top Contributor 2023
Top Contributor

Leon earned significant contribution points in 2023.

1415 Legal Answers 1 Legal Guides
Milltown Criminal defense Lawyer Leon Matchin
Leon Matchin
Criminal defense Attorney
Milltown, NJ
Licensed for 21 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available