My license had been suspended for 2 years for 2nd offense DUI(I blew 089) first in 09 and 2nd in 2016. I got pulled over within 50 yrds of my house, i had to move a car from the driveway to let medical transport pickup my father for his cancer...
Well, if you were charged with NJS 2C:40-26, you have been charged with a 4th Degree Crime and not a Disorderly Person's Offense. It is punishable by a MINIMUM of 180 days in jail and unto 18 mos. There is no probation or Pretrial Intervention. There is no possibility of a no jail alternative if you are convicted, In other words, you will be going to jail unless you hire a REAL good lawyer who is willing to conduct a trial and not look to plead you.
Now, you say money is no object. When a potential client says this, money usually is an issue. You will not get a good lawyer to try this case for cheap. In fact, you should not look for a lawyer based on price, but based on a plan for your case. Cheap lawyers are not good and good lawyers are not cheap.
The law is pretty straight forward, so what you need is a trial lawyer. You have mentioned some things that may sway a jury in your favor.
The most important question you should be asking is "have you ever tried a case before a jury?" It amazes me, but I think you'll find that few lawyers have.See question
Can a person who just got his very 1st DUI/DWI in state A. but actually lives in staye B. 'Quickly' b4 said court date flee back to state B w/out any legal issues and loss of license etc....? Ty so much!!!!
First, you are asking lawyers to give you positive advice on becoming a fugitive (for lack of a better word), you gotta be kidding me. Second, the answer to your question is a resounding NO. If you fail to show up, you will get a warrant for your arrest and a suspension from the court. Eventually you will want to renew in your own State your license and/or your registration. You will then have to notify you State of your suspension in NJ. If you don't and you renew, then you will have committed a crime (most likely) in your State and face penalties when your State does eventually find out.
Instead of trying to game the system, why not man up and hire a good lawyer.See question
I was charged with dwi 10 years ago and I never took care of it. Now I have a court date but I live in Arizona. I am also disabled. Can I hire an attorney to go on my behalf or so I have to appear in person?
The answer is probably not. The only way to know is to hire a lawyer and have them make a request. I know of only a hand full who will allow it.See question
I would like to know the reason N.J. does not have a Conditional License when so may other States do? My son-in-law lost his job due to a one time mistake in bad judgement. He ( our family) wrote to legislators who agree with us but 2 yrs later ...
Because the Governor vetoed the bill that would have. You must understand that it is very hard for a politician to say they are strong in crime and then vote to give convicted drunk drivers their licenses back.
It may not be fair, but it's the reality.See question
Got a dui in new jersey. Now reside in florida. No way can i come to new jersey. But want to take care of this. If it is possible around how much will it cost
Very few courts will allow you to resolve it without coming to court. Further, you face serious consequences in both New Jersey and Florida if you are found guilty or plead guilty.See question
Need an attorney. Ticket was given in Ocean Township. 1st Offense. Just happened 11/9. Arrested, Car Pounded, Test an hour later. Released same day. Court date on ticket is 11/17. Limited on money, at risk of losing everything. My job depends on m...
First of all Ocean or Monmouth County? Second, your job depends on you beating it, but you have limited funds...not a good combo. The better attorneys tend to have qualifications that others do not. Look for a lawyer who is Certified in both the Alcotest and Field Sobriety Test. Finally, stop thinking with your wallet as you often get what you pay for.See question
So I had my license suspended for 7 months for my DUI and it is finally over. I still yet to restore my license. In case of a pending emergency, I may have to drive. Am I still on the revoked list under suspension for DUI, or am I just under a reg...
You are not allowed to drive until you are restored and yes, you are still considered suspended for DUI. I find it really bizarre that you would be asking such a question. It shows that you have an intent to drive knowing that you are suspended, regardless of what its for. Get yourself to the MVC and get yourself restored. If you have to have the interlock, get it in. If you are out of State and don't have to have the interlock, try doing it on line.See question
Anyone know if it's offered on the weekends vs during the work week? And if it's always only on the same days during the work week does anyone know what days? Thanks in advance.
It's usually on the weekends. If your lawyer cannot answer this, you might want to get a new one.See question
I always hear it's $83/month but can everyone get this payment plan or does one have to be below the poverty level or some other earnings threshold and if so what is the criteria? Thanks in advance.
The monthly payment does not depend on your income. You can make monthly payments....but don't miss any or your license will get suspended. Best way to avoid a surcharge is to fight. If you don't have a lawyer, hire a DWI specialist. If you have one, I hope he is a specialist and not someone who dabbles in DWI. You may have defenses you were not aware of.See question
Along with the DUI charge I was given 3 other tickets including, no left turn ( but I made a right turn, and used my signal), careless driving, and refusal (which I didn't refuse anything because I participated in their field sobriety tests and to...
Well, it depends a lot on what was in the cups. Beer has a lot less alcohol than liquor, so it depends on how much was in those cups as well. Even though you don't know your readings, an attorney will able to get that information by accessing the internal data downloads. As a DWI specialist, its one of the first things I would do, especially if my client did not know their reading. Contact one today.See question