Skip to main content
Greggory M Marootian
Avvo
Pro

Greggory Marootian’s Answers

206 total


  • Should I plead guilty or not guilty for a driving while suspended ticket?

    I was pulled over yesterday and the officer told me that my license was suspended. He gave me a ticket with a court date on it. I did not know my license was suspended and two days later I received the letter in the mail stating it. It was for ...

    Greggory’s Answer

    You should plead not guilty. If you plead guilty, the court will impose a $500 fine, the court can suspend your license (up to 6-months), the NJ MVC will surcharge you $250 a year for three years and your car insurance will increase. You should not plead guilty to any provision of the driving while suspended statute (N.J.S. 39:3-40), even the subsection that carries a $100 fine and no suspension (a common plea-offer). If you do, you will still be subject to the surcharge ($100 a year for three years) and insurance rate increases. There are other plea options that would not negatively impact you. You might be able to resolve the case favorably on your own, but you would be best served by hiring an experienced and knowledgeable NJ Municipal Court Lawyer.

    See question 
  • Can points from the speeding ticket in Virginia transferred to New Jersey if I reside in NJ and just got a speeding ticket in VA

    Got a speeding ticket for driving at 82 mph in a 70 mph zone on I-81 South in Virginia

    Greggory’s Answer

    Out of State moving violations transfer on a NJ MVC driving abstract as two-points: http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/penalties_pointSchedule.htm

    See question 
  • NJ DUI with NY License

    I refused a breathalizer test and was released with 3 tickets but was not given a summons for refusal. Any suggestions or knowledge on what is next for me. My license is NY and this happened in NJ

    Greggory’s Answer

    Under N.J.S. 39:5-3, The State must file and serve a Complaint charging Refusal within 90-days (of the alleged refusal). New Jersey Courts do not have the authority to suspend your New York license, only your NJ driving privileges. If however, you are convicted of DWI in NJ, the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission will notify the NY DMV of the conviction. In turn, the NY DMV will take action against your NY license, which will be based on their (NY) laws of reciprocity: https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/penalties-alcohol-or-drug-related-violations. Regarding the Refusal, some States do not impose reciprocal suspension for out-of-state (Refusal) convictions. You should speak with a New York Lawyer regarding the consequences of a NJ Refusal conviction (and a NJ DWI conviction) and you will likely want to hire a NJ lawyer for the Englewood matters.

    See question 
  • Can the police activate their flashing lights miles down the road prior to a traffic stop? Can they run red lights for a stop?

    I was pulled over and cited for going 100mph in a 55mph zone, reckless driving, improper lane change, and tinted windows. I was cruising in the left lane on the high way, took my exit ramp, and as I'm getting off of the ramp and onto the next high...

    Greggory’s Answer

    In answer to your question, yes. That being said, given your sentencing exposure including court-imposed license loss, points (12) and a NJ MVC administrative license suspension, I suggest that your focus should be on how to best defend against the charges. There are many good NJ traffic lawyers on avvo. I suggest that you retain an experienced professional to guide you and protect your interests.

    See question 
  • What are the consequences I am looking at?

    Hello. Just about 5 yrs ago maybe 6 I got ticketa for dui in nj. Rough time in life my mom passed sudden, I found her and just and a 1000 mile stare running wild for help. So after the dui I got scared and wanted help lawyer told me to go to rehab...

    Greggory’s Answer

    Sorry about your mother and the circumstances surrounding her passing. First, the consequences if you are convicted depend on whether this is a 1st, 2nd or 3rd (or subsequent) DWI. Regarding the "speedy trial", the fact that you left the jurisdiction will most likely work against you on this issue.

    It is possible that the 5-year time delay can benefit you. I have had similar cases where witnesses and evidence are missing. It is a good idea to poke around to see whether the witnesses (including the arresting officer) are still around. At this point, there is likely a warrant for your arrest, so you will have to post bail (many courts allow this to be done by mail although some want you to appear in person) to vacate the warrant. This will place the case back on track. At this point, the State's case can be carefully examined to determine the best course of action. While you want to move on, a quick approach may not be as beneficial as a slow and methodical one.

    See question 
  • Should I fight this ticket in Court, to eliminate points, and insurance premium to rise?

    I was given a ticket, while driving and using my cell phone. I have explained to the officer, that I have just received a long distance call from California, letting me know of the passing away of my uncle. I was waiting for this news, to happen,...

    Greggory’s Answer

    Sorry about the loss of your Uncle. Assuming this is your first offense, the NJ MVC does not impose points - although your insurance company might adjust your rates so I suggest that you contact your insurance company. The reason for your taking the call does not fall within the two recognized expectations in the statute; "[t]he operator has reason to fear for his life or safety, or believes that a criminal act may be perpetrated against himself or another person or …is using the telephone to report to appropriate authorities a fire, a traffic accident, a serious road hazard or medical or hazardous materials emergency, or to report the operator of another motor vehicle who is driving in a reckless, careless or otherwise unsafe manner or who appears to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs." The officer could have issued a "warning" although technically, you were in violation of the statute. You can plead not guilty and appeal to the Prosecutor's sense of justice - and seek a dismissal with court costs. Bring in evidence of your Uncle's death, your cell phone records showing the call from CA and what I am assuming is your decent NJ MVC driving history. Maybe someone else has another approach but this seems to be the only play you have. Best regards and again, sorry for your loss.

    See question 
  • How can I get info from the township PD regarding statistics on accidents at that intersection? Previous year or a quarter?

    My wife had a car accident in a North NJ town (not our hometown). The police had issued her a ticket for "failure to yield". She will challenge that ticket on the basis that the intersection is not properly designed and is particularly dangerous....

    Greggory’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    File a request under the New Jersey Open Public Records Act (N.J.S. 47:1A-1, Et. Al.) for relevant accident reports. Accident reports fall within the ambit of 47:1A-1.1. (“… any paper, written or printed book, document, drawing, map, plan, photograph, microfilm, data processed or image processed document, information stored or maintained electronically or by sound-recording or in a similar device, or any copy thereof, that has been made, maintained or kept on file … or that has been received in the course of his or its official business …”).

    N.J.S. 39:4-131 requires "[e]very law enforcement officer who investigates a vehicle accident of which report must be made as required in this Title, or who otherwise prepares a written report as a result of an accident or thereafter by interviewing the participants or witnesses, shall forward a written report of such accident to the commission, on forms furnished by it, within five days after his investigation of the accident."

    See question 
  • How can I make the Prosecutor understand that it was ME who was driving- not him?

    I have a friend that was arrested for a third drunk driving charge in NJ. But in this particular circumstance he was not driving- I was. He and I had gotten into an argument while driving to a condominium dumpster to dump garbage. At the dumpster ...

    Greggory’s Answer

    Your friend's lawyer is duty-bound to protect your friend's interests and defend him against the DWI charge. The defense lawyer is in the best position to assess the State's case and determine a defense strategy, including whether to call you as a witness to testify at trial. However, since you may be exposed to a charge (or charges), you should consider hiring your own lawyer, or at least consulting with a lawyer before making any statements or admissions to anyone.

    See question 
  • What should i do?

    I had a dui and was required to complete 48hrs idrc and get ignition interlock im on awaiting list for idrc and they said to call back by the end of march 2016 but i had court in april 20th 2015 my licensed suspended for 7mths and interlock for 6m...

    Greggory’s Answer

    I suggest that you speak with the attorney who represented you in Hanover. Your attorney should be able to best guide you. You can, however, contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC) and confirm that you are eligible for restoration. As long as the IDRC did not place you into non-compliance, you should be eligible for restoration. If so, you will have to pay a restoration fee and install the ignition interlock.

    See question