Skip to main content

Paul H Begemann

Real estate Attorney at Hamden, CT

5.0   21 reviews

About Paul

Learn Paul’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Real estate
    50%
    All aspects of reseidential and commercial real estate; buy, sell, lease, mortgage lending, closings, real estate settlement agent.

    32 years

  2. Business
    30%
    Business (corporation and LLC) formation and management issues. Commercial leasing and commercial contracts. Acquisition and sale of businesses.

    32 years

  3. Contracts and agreements
    20%
    Reviewing and drafting all types of consumer and commercial contracts and agreements

    32 years

Attorney Begemann’s practice is primarily focused on the areas of real estate and business law. Prior to joining Gesmonde, Pietrosimone & Sgrignari, LLC, Attorney Begemann maintained his own law practice in Hamden. His previous legal experience includes practicing real estate, litigation and business law with a large law firm in Fairfield County, working as a manager and title underwriter in the title insurance industry, working as Counsel to a national mortgage lender and home builder, and working for a local real estate lawyer and title company performing real estate closings, title searches, and the resolution of complicated title issues. Attorney Begemann currently handles residential and commercial real estate transactions for buyers and sellers; residential and commercial lease and financing transactions; the establishment of business entities, and the review of business contracts. He also handles residential and commercial evictions and mortgage foreclosures.

Attorney Begemann is admitted to practice in both Connecticut State Court and the United States District Court for Connecticut.

Attorney Begemann is a lifelong resident of New Haven County, Connecticut. He grew up in Hamden, CT, graduating from Hamden High School. He then attended the University of Connecticut at Storrs, where he majored in Political Science, graduating in 1984 with a Bachelor of Arts, cum laude. After working as a Legislative Aide in the Connecticut General Assembly, he attended the George Washington University Law School, graduating in 1990 with Honors. He then returned to Hamden, where he now resides.

He is active in the local community, including the Hamden Regional Chamber of Commerce, The Hamden Land Conservation Trust, the Hamden Rotary Club and Commissioner of the Hamden Planning and Zoning Commission.

Membership:
Connecticut Bar Association (Member, Real Estate Committee)
State Bar of Connecticut (Member in good standing since 1990)
New Haven County Bar Association (Member, Real Estate Committee)

Miscellaneous Information:
Hamden Regional Chamber of Commerce
Hamden Land Conservation Trust (Board Member, Vice President, Chair of Acquisition Committee)
Hamden Rotary Club
Commissioner of the Hamden Planning and Zoning Commission

Photos and videos

View more
Licensed for 31 years
State CT
Status Active
Acquired 1990
Updated 11/27/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Paul

Gesmonde, Pietrosimone & Sgrignari, LLC
3127 Whitney Avenue
Hamden, CT, 06518
Gesmonde, Pietrosimone & Sgrignari, LLC - East Haven Office
42 Thompson Street - Suite 1C
By Appointment Only
East Haven, CT, 06513
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  21 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Husein | February 9, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Home Buyer
Atty Paul was very professional and helpful in clarifying all my questions .
Posted by anonymous | October 14, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Eviction notice
Hired this attorney to process an eviction notice for an apartment I own. Office was very responsive to all my inquiries. Attorney Begemann returned my phone calls and emails promptly.He was courteous, professional and gave me specific advise and instructions on how to proceed. The office processed and served the notice promptly and professionally. Would use this office again for further legal expertise.
Read less
Response from Paul Begemann October 16, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always strive to provide prompt and personal service to our clients. So glad you had a good experience with our firm - thank you for allowing us to represent your interests.
Posted by Sandy | July 29, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Real Estate
Attorney Begemann is a pleasure to work with; very respectable man. He is ALWAYS pleasant, on target with the job, prompt in responses, listens and gives his utmost attention to the circumstance, concerns, and gives his all to get the job done right and on time. His staff as well is a pleasure to work with - kind, attentive, prompt. We would recommend him without a doubt to anyone we know.
Read less
Response from Paul Begemann July 30, 2019
Thank you Sandy for the review, and for the appreciation of our efforts on your behalf. We have a great team here!
Posted by Mary | May 25, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
sale of home
Attorney Begemann was professional, personable and courteous, and his staff was outstanding. Every question answered promptly and clearly, and everything was handled to my liking.
Response from Paul Begemann July 30, 2019
Thank you for your comments Mary - So glad you had a positive experience!
Posted by Aaron | February 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent
I worked with attorney Begemann on a real estate transaction. He was professional, thorough, informative, fast and affordable.
Response from Paul Begemann February 7, 2019
Thank you for the kind words Aaron - Glad you had a positive experience!
Posted by anonymous | July 7, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
House Closing
Our real estate agent referred us to Attorney Begemann when we needed someone to handle the closing on property we sold in New Haven. Attorney Begemann was very professional. He and his staff answered all of our questions and concerns promptly. On the day of the closing, we encountered an unexpected problem created by the buyer’s attorney; but Attorney Begemann was able to avert a delay of the closing. We were extremely satisfied with our representation.
Read less
Response from Paul Begemann February 7, 2019
So glad everything worked out in the end and you were pleased with the results! Thank you for your comments!
Posted by Jennifer | May 30, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Service!
Paul represented me in the purchase and sale of my homes. He is very responsive and communicative throughout the entire process. Both closings were a breeze! I would definitely recommend his services.
Response from Paul Begemann June 7, 2018
Thanks for the review and it was a pleasure working with you Jennifer!
Posted by Sonny | August 7, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney
I have used Paul for all of my personal and business transactions for several years. Paul has reviewed contracts for selling and purchasing homes as well as lease creation and reviews for several of my businesses. He is quick to respond to phone calls and emails and is always available for questions. I would highly recommend his services to any new clients. I've always been very satisfied with his work .
Read less
Posted by Rob D | October 26, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience
Had a very good experience with this attorney. He was extremely knowledgeable, detail oriented and took the time to explain everything and answered our questions. Highly recommend
Posted by Sue | March 6, 2014
A pleasure working with
Paul walked my husband and I through every step of the way for the closing on our condo. I had many questions and he was very knowledgeable in his answers. His fee was very reasonable and he was a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend him.
Posted by Julia | September 27, 2013
Very Helpful
Attorney has worked with me for almost year now on three separate matters. In each instance he has been professional and extremely helpful. He goes out of his way. I truly appreciate him helping me, first with a landlord tenant matter and then again with a contract matter.
Posted by Vikas | October 2, 2012
Very straightforward and transparent
I thoroughly enjoyed working with attorney Paul. He seems to be very humble, honest and straightforward and last but not the least he tries to help in best possible way. For the related fields he will be my first choice for future needs.
Posted by Yasin Ozcelik | April 29, 2012
Great Attorney!
I worked with Paul to refinance my condo in Stamford. He is knowledgeable and very responsive. We closed fast and smooth. He prepared and brought all the documents to his Fairfield office, and we have just signed the documents. It cannot be easier. I highly recommend him. I will definitely choose him again if I refinance or buy a property. Yasin [removed by Avvo Staff] [removed by Avvo Staff]
Read less
Posted by Rajul | March 23, 2012
Best Professional Technology Savvy Lawyer I have worked with!
We used Paul's services on a business purchase. He was extremely fast in responding to emails and other communications. Moved the paperwork fast so that we could close quickly. He is detail oriented and took the time to understand what was involved and came up with documentation that got the job done without having to go back and forth. We plan on engaging him again on other deals or other transactions. Would highly recommend him to others.
Read less
Posted by Chris | January 21, 2011
Refinance
Paul helped me out with the refinancing of my 2-family investment property in November 2010. He explained things in simple terms and was upfront with his fees and what I could expect at the closing. I plan to use Paul on my home refinance as well.
Posted by Patti | January 20, 2011
Real Estate Closing
Very personable as well as thorough from beginning until closing; offered good advice along the way. Paul gave us the confidence that things were being handled efficiently and with our best interest in mind.
Posted by anonymous | July 13, 2009
Real Estate Closing
Very prompt and efficient lawyer. Everything went smooth
Posted by anonymous | July 13, 2009
Helpful & friendly attorney
We worked with Paul recently during the process of buying our first house. We called a number of lawyers and chose Paul because, after talking to several other people, we felt that Paul was the most upfront and straightforward. During the process, Paul was always helpful, patient with our many questions, prompt in returning emails and phone calls, and completely friendly. Also, he charged us a very reasonable amount for his services. It was a pleasure working with him and we will absolutely recommend him to friends in the future.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 9, 2009
Paul Begemann - A Very Knowledgable, Diligent and Results-Oriented Attorney
I have known and worked with Paul Begemann for more than 11 years on a wide variety of legal matters from mortgage closings to complex foreclosures and litigation and through a contentious Chapter 11 reorganization of my company. I have found Paul to be very knowledgeable and competent with respect to the law and his direct and tenacious approach to solving problems makes him an excellent attorney. I recommend Paul wholeheartedly and without hesitation.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 5, 2009
Paul's review
Paul was very thorough and informative during this whole process. This is the 2nd time we have used Paul for mortgage services and we would definitely use him again.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 225-350 per hour
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.5 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Gesmonde, Pietrosimone & Sgrignari, LLC
  • 2014 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Attorney Paul H. Begemann
  • 2008 - 2014
  • Attorney
  • Law Offices of Joseph C. Sanfilippo
  • 2003 - 2007
  • Branch Counsel/Manager
  • Stewart Title Guaranty Company
  • 2001 - 2002
  • Associate General Counsel
  • DeGeorge Home Alliance
  • 1996 - 2001
View all work experience

Education

  • George Washington University National Law Center
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1990
  • University of Connecticut
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1984

Legal Cases

  • First Constitution Bank v. Harbor Village Ltd Partnership
  • Court upheld validity of mechanic's lien

Associations

  • Hamden Rotary Club
  • President
  • 2015 - Present
  • New Haven County Bar Association
  • Chair, Real Estate Committee
  • 2014 - Present
  • New Haven County Bar Association
  • Chair, Real Estate Closing Customs Subcommittee
  • 2014 - Present
  • Hamden Chamber of Commerce
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • New Haven County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Real Estate Committee, New Haven County Bar
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Connecticut Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
  • Real Estate Section, CT Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
  • Business Law Section, CT Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
  • Hamden Land Conservation Trust
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Honors
  • George Washington University Law School
  • 1990
  • Cum Laude
  • University of Connecticut
  • 1984

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (2)
Real estate Attorney | May 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Paul is a highly skilled residential and commercial real estate attorney. I refer clients to Paul because of the depth of his experience in a wide range of real estate matters and his diligent approach to detail and problem solving. Among his many positive attributes Paul is empathetic to the needs of the client and is result oriented. With Paul on the team I have great confidence that my clients are well served."
Bankruptcy and debt