Skip to main content

Greg Curtis Mogel

Divorce and separation Attorney at West Hartford, CT

4.8   17 reviews

Licensed for 32 years

About Greg

Learn Greg’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Divorce and separation
    30%

  2. Family
    25%
    I have been practicing all aspects of family law (divorce, custody, child support, alimony, property division, and drafting pre-nuptial and post-nuptial agreement agreements) for over 20 years. I am effective and caring.

  3. Child custody
    15%

  4. Child support
    15%

  5. Mediation
    15%

I have been a lawyer in Connecticut for over 25 years and I have been practicing family law for over 20 of those. I represent clients in all aspects of family law cases including divorce, custody, child support, alimony, and property divsion. I have handled many hundreds of cases over the years. My cases have ranged from simple uncontested divorces to contentious litigated matters and from those with minimal assets to those with significant wealth. I take pride in successfully helping my clients, whoever they are, through what is often a very difficult time in their lives.  Much of my caseload comes from prior clients who have recommended me to their friends, family, and colleagues and from fellow attorneys recommending me to their clients.  I have lectured on divorce topics to professional groups and college students. Although much of my caseload is handled traditionally (where each side is represented by their own counsel), I also work as a mediator and in the formal and informal collaborative process.

Licensed for 32 years
State CT
Status Active
Acquired 1990
Updated 09/29/2022
State NV
Status Inactive
Acquired 1991
Updated 09/10/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Greg

Law Offices of Greg C. Mogel, LLC

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  17 customer reviews
5 Star
 
94%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
6%
Posted by Patricia | November 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
An Outstanding attorney!
Greg Mogel came highly recommended to me by a good friend who is also an attorney.When I met Greg I was emotionally devastated that my 42 year marriage was over.During the first consultation Greg was very supportive as well as forthright about the obstacles facing me in this divorce.He was always honest, and always available.I was very fortunate with the outcome of my divorce.I owe it all to Greg . I can recommend him without reservation !
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended!
I highly recommend Attorney Mogel! I have hired him several times over the past nine years. He is a true professional, incredibly knowledgable as it relates to the laws surrounding divorce, alimony, division of assets, etc. I have always felt a priority and was sensitive to my concerns. My case was problematic and my ex-husband and his attorney were incredibly difficult. Greg navigated each obstacle, issue, concern like a true professional. I would highly recommend Greg Mogel.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 16, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding divorce attorney!
Greg is an outstanding attorney and deserves 5 stars! He has compassion in his approach and will give rational advice to reduce the cost of your legal fees! He went out out of his way and drove to office just to meet me on 'snow days' when the entire town was shut down. He helped me during the mediation process with the mediator as well as helped me tap into spouses pension accounts that I had never looked into. Greg is just a great guy! Highly recommend him!
Read less
Posted by Marina Dubovyy | November 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney for difficult divorce cases
Greg is an excellent attorney who is equal parts tough, no-nonsense and compassionare. He's an excellent negotiator and litigator. I braced myself for a high conflict divorce when my destructive and difficult marriage came to an end. However, the way he was able to handle my case with my difficult ex spouse and an aggressive attorney that he hired was just phenomenal. Considering my circumstances, he was able to get me the best financial and child custody settlement without involving the court system. I felt that he worked hard on my case while keeping down my stress level, legal costs and my minor children out of the court system. I'd work with Greg again if need be and strongly recommend him to anyone going through easy or difficult divorce.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 18, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney
Greg is not only a wonderful attorney but also a wonderful guy! His experience and thoughtfulness helped guide me through the darkest times, dealing with the most unethical, lying, disgusting excuse for a human being, attorney, representing my ex spouse. If you have to go to court, he's the guy you want representing you! He's a fantastic litigator, honest, aboveboard and tenacious.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 24, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Relocation
I hired him for my relocation with my minor children. We are now able to move out of state. He is an excellent lawyer who really cares about you!
Posted by anonymous | February 24, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Attorney Greg Mogel
I was deciding between two other divorce lawyers before I met with Mr. Mogel. After consulting with him, he proved to me he was the most capable of handling my divorce. He was courteous and witty. I could call him night or day and he would answer any questions. He worked very hard and it payed off in the end for me . I highly recommend Attorney Mogel.
Read less
Posted by Scott | February 14, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
Greg has represented me on several occasions and has always been the consummate professional. During all of our dealings, he was always prompt, courteous, and well informed. In stressful times, I know I can rely on Greg to represent my best interests and get the best possible deal for me. I was extremely pleased with the outcome of each case and would highly recommend Greg to anyone looking for an attorney.
Read less
Posted by Sanford | February 8, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Superior Attorney
Attorney Mogel has represented me over many years. He is astute, competent, and results oriented. He was compassionate and concerned during the entire case. My legal issues were handled professionally and with dignity during a difficult time for me. I strongly recommend Attorney Mogel.
Posted by Sharon | January 27, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent representation
Atty Mogel has provided me with superb legal advice and expert representation over many years. His understanding of the issues and legal process was evident, as was his compassion and support throughout. I couldn't have been happier with the results, and would highly recommend his services.
Posted by Laura | May 11, 2015
Attorney Greg Mogel is an Excellent Choice for Family Law
Attorney Mogel had been been divorce and child custody lawyer for over twelve years. First initially he represented me and my sons in a contentious legal battle. Once the divorce was completed and child issues completed, Attorney Mogel then represented me many times over the years as new issues arose. Attorney Mogel is very knowledgeable, responsive and sensitive to all issues across the entire process. I strongly recommend Attorney Mogel for any family law issue.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 9, 2015
Recommendation for Greg Mogel
I first began working with Greg Mogel based on the recommendation of a friend, who is also an attorney. From my initial meeting with Greg, I knew he was knowledgable, insightful and understood my situation. He was able to diffuse emotions and address the critical issues - which for me were both financial and child custody. Despite the animosity on both sides, Greg was able to negotiate a settlement without a court fight or requiring my children (who were young at the time) to enter into the judicial system. Since that first settlement, I have had to return to court two additional times. On both occasions, I worked with Greg. I trust him to get the job done, settle out of court if possible, but take issues directly to the court when needed. He is profession, highly trustworthy and easy to work with. I would recommend Greg without reservation to anyone who needs a family attorney.
Read less
Posted by John A. O'Toole | May 4, 2015
An excellent Attorney who is every mindful of what the client is trying to accomplish
I used Attorney Greg Mogel in a family court issue. Prior to selecting Greg I spoke with 6 other well regarded Hartford area attorneys. Ultimately I picked Greg because I felt as if he understood what I was trying to accomplish. My instincts were right. Greg is singularly focused on serving his clients. I was able to achieve what I set out to do in record time, minimal expense and with wise counsel.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 2, 2015
Outstanding in a difficult time
I was lost and Greg proved to be my guide through a very difficult divorce. I was inexperienced in working with a lawyer and had met 4 others before meeting Greg. He was professional and direct. I didn't always like what he had to say but he always told me what I needed to know. He did everything possible to assure that my rights were protected. Highly recommended.
Read less
Posted by Lisa | May 1, 2015
Review of Attorney Greg Mogel
Attorney Mogel established a sense of trust at our very first meeting. I felt that he had my best interests at heart while maintaining a sense of fairness to all parties involved. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Posted by Bryan | February 27, 2015
Excellent Attorney
Greg has represented me numerous times since 2007 and I have always been extremely happy with his work. He is always very prepared and has an excellent command of the facts - both in my case and of the law. I always feel that he gives 100% whether we win or lose. From a responsiveness aspect I could never ask for anything more. He makes himself available day and night if needed and always returns inquiries quickly unlike other lawyers. I would definitely use him again and would not hesitate to recommend him.
Read less
Posted by Frank | January 19, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
First Encounter
I had 3 post divorce issues and agreed to meet for a first time and had emailed him all documents he requested. He was late for our first appointment without apologizing and was nothing less than short, snippy and belligerent during the first 20 minutes we met. He asked me to produce documents that were never requested by him in his email to me. He asked me to produce documents that I had already sent him and denying that he ever received them. He never previewed any of the documents that were sent to him, meaning he was completely unprepared for this initial consultation, even though I was supposed to be on his money clock. I would never recommend him to anybody, no matter if it was family, injury or civil court issues.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.9 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Law offices of Greg C. Mogel, LLC
  • 2011 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Louden Legal Group, LLC
  • 2002 - 2011
  • Attorney
  • Law offices of Attorney Foden
  • 1994 - 2002

Education

  • University of Connecticut School of Law
  • JD
  • 1989
  • University of Southern California
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1986

Legal Cases

  • Sanchez v. Sanchez
  • Prevailed for client on appeal,

Associations

  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Connecticut Bar Association
  • member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Hartford County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Distinguished
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2021
  • Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2020
  • BV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Best of Hartford Readers Poll Award Recepient
  • Hartford Advocate
  • 2012
  • Acknowledgement
  • Connecticut Pro Bono Network
  • 2008
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • American Bar Association Negotiation Competition
  • Negotiation Competition
  • 2014
  • University of Connecticut Family Studies course
  • Family Law topic presenter
  • 2009
  • Family Law: Pre and Post-Judgment Complications
  • Family Law
  • 2006
  • National Association of Social Workers- Connecticut Chapter
  • Family Law
  • 2004
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (9)
Given (7)
Divorce and separation Attorney | Feb 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Mogel provides excellent representation for his clients. His reputation among his peers and the judiciary is outstanding. He has a combination of experience, patience, insight and expertise to address these often difficult and personal matters."
Family Attorney | Jan 14
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Greg is absolutely the best. He is tactically smart, genuinely caring, and highly ethical. Without question, Greg is my "go to" attorney for anything dealing with Connecticut Family Law."
Family Attorney | Jan 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Greg Mogel is a highly knowledgeable, seasoned family law attorney with superior litigation skills. Greg brings to his practice a thorough understanding of complex financial issues, top notch negotiation skills, and a tremendous dedication to his work for his clients."
Family Attorney | Dec 09
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I strongly endorse Greg Mogel. He is a top notch attorney who I never hesitate to refer a family/divorce/custody client to. I know that the client will be well taken care of and fairly represented."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jul 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Atty. Mogel and I currently and in the past recommend him to clients who are looking for an experienced divorce and custody Attorney. Attorney Mogel is a strong advocate and for his clients, alwys prepared. Attorney Mogel is an experienced and seasoned divorce and custody attorney and is a credit to the CT Family Bar and an asset to any client who is looking for a highly competent, experienced and professional attorney."
Family Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Greg without reservation. He is knowledgeable, diligent and treats clients with respect and dignity at all times."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jun 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I highly endorse this lawyer. He works hard for his clients, and has over two decades of experience with negotiating and trials. He also works as a mediator and collaborative attorney."
Family Attorney | May 08
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Greg is an experienced family litigator who is both detail oriented and a strong advocate for his clients. I have worked with Greg extensively on a number of family cases and had experience with him as opposing counsel in a contested dissolution matter. I have found him to be professional and in possession of an extensive knowledge of the intricacies of divorce litigation."
Family Attorney | May 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Greg Mogel is among the most accomplished family law attorneys in Connecticut. He is a highly sought after attorney and well respected expert on all matters pertaining to family law. You will be in great hands with this fantastic lawyer."
View more endorsements
Wills and living wills
Bankruptcy and debt
Commercial real estate

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

West Hartford Divorce and separation Lawyer Greg Curtis Mogel
Greg Curtis Mogel
Divorce and separation Attorney
West Hartford, CT
Licensed for 32 years