I was hired at. Dunkin donuts and 2 days later I told a coworker that I was pregnant and the manager let me go after my first week and said he'll call me and never called me back I feel discriminated for being pregnant even though I didn't tell hi...
I am sorry this happened to you.
It is illegal for an employer to fire someone because of their pregnancy. You should contact a competent employment attorney and discuss your rights. Any claims under Connecticut law need to be made within 180 days so don't delay.
Hayber Law Firm, LLC
I lost my job because a company was violating my rights. Working alone during my graveyard shift at a popular restaurant chain off the highway. I wasn't allowed to take breaks because I was the only worker working. They felt threatened and refused...
Employees in Connecticut are entitled to meal breaks of at least 30 consecutive minutes if you have worked for 7 and one-half or more consecutive hours. However, the Labor Commissioner will exempt your employer from this requirement if one of the following conditions is present:
a. complying with this requirement would endanger public safety;
b. the duties of the position can only be performed by one employee;
c. the employer employs less than 5 employees on that shift at that one business location (this only applies to that particular shift); or,
d. the employer's operation requires that employees be available to respond to urgent conditions, and that the employees are compensated for the meal period.
If you were taken off the schedule because you complained about this, you've been the victim of illegal retaliation. You should not sign any legal documents until you see an attorney.
Additionally, restaurant employees are frequently the victims of minimum wage violations. They are sometimes paid below $9.15 (the current minimum wage) for non-service work like cleaning, stocking, dishwashing, etc...These claims can entitle you to back pay and other damages.See question
I work at a business where 1/3 of my hours are paid hourly, and 2/3 is comission. I work roughly 50 hours a week and we do not receive over-time or compesation for hours where no money is being made (slow business). I am aware in CT an employer ...
This is a very complicated issue, but there is an answer. Overtime wages must be paid when you work more than 40 hours per week unless you fall into an exemption. I can't tell what exemption your employer might claim until I learn more about your duties. There is an "inside sales" exemption as well as others. Also, Connecticut law is slightly different than Federal law on this. A job description and pay stubs will have to be reviewed but it seems to me like there could be a claim.See question
I'm not in healthcare field and I'm hourly .
Generally, the rule is that once you've worked 40 hours per week, you should be paid one and half times your regular rate. You also have the right to have one day off per calendar week. I am not aware of a law which prohibits triple shifts but to the extent that it may make you so tired that you are at risk of being injured, I believe you could refuse. You should probably consult with an experienced wage / hour lawyer to get a thorough analysis.See question
I am a non-exempt employee working for a private manufacturing firm in Connecticut for the past one year. My employer docked a day's pay for being 30 minutes late without my knowledge or any warning or writing me up even though I worked for rest ...
Employers are required to pay employees for all hours worked. They may not dock you a whole day for being 30 minutes late. You should ask to be paid in full for the hours you worked. If they don't pay, you can either file a Statement of Claim for Wages with the Connecticut Department of Labor or hire a lawyer to help you. Is this the employer's normal practice? Are others affected?See question
I am an Audio Video Installation technician and hold no level of authority within the company, yet I just realized that on my employment contract it says that the position I'm being hired for is an "exempt" salary position. My question is basic...
The previous answers are correct in that you cannot waive your overtime rights by contract. The larger question is whether or not you'll win. We represent employees frequently in overtime claims. Generally, unless you manage at least 2 full time employees or perform administrative duties, you are entitled to overtime pay. It seems to me that an Audio Video Installation technician is more of a production worker. The courts in our jurisdiction have consistently ruled that production workers are entitled to overtime. We have many cases like that pending. Of course, this only matters if you work more than 40 hours per week. If you take the job, and work over 40, you should ask to be paid overtime for the extra hours. If they don't pay, ask why. You might also seek legal advice at that point.See question
My daughter has now worked 28 hours with no pay at all ( not even tips) and they want her to work one more shift before paying her? Is this right?
This is most definitely not right. We have minimum wage laws in Connecticut and the 13th Amendment abolished slavery!See question
If my employer calls me in on "non-working" time (nights/weekends/holidays) can they require me to leave early another day during that pay period so they don't have to pay me extra for when they called me in?
Comp time is generally not a legal substitute for overtime pay. So, if you worked 44 hours in a week, the 4 extra hours must be paid at time and a half. Letting you work only 36 hours in the next week is not sufficient.See question
I have to email my time sheet to the office even though i clock in and out every time i work. If my time sheet isnt emailed by 10:00 every monday morning i have to pay a 25.00 late fee. i get paid every other week and they have taken out 50.00 out...
No. This is not legal. In Connecticut, employers may not make deductions from paychecks without your expressed written consent!See question
I was terminated today for reporting my manager for taking a sale he shouldn't have.I worked at a furniture store & it's commissioned based.I had a large phone order & he put his name on my paperwork.He did NOTHING to help me.He received commissio...
Yes. To the extent that you were complaining about not being paid compensation that you earned, it is illegal to fire you for this. Hire a good lawyer and sue!
Richard HayberSee question