Skip to main content

Kevin O. Hagan

DUI and DWI Attorney at Newport, RI

5.0   85 reviews
  • State Years
    Rhode Island - RI 22 years
    Massachusetts - MA 22 years
  • Licensed for 22 years
    State RI
    Acquired 2001
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 22 years
    State MA
    Acquired 2002
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Kevin

Learn Kevin’s areas of practice.

Following one year as a Rhode Island Superior Court Law Clerk, I spent six years as a state criminal prosecutor in the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General prosecuting dozens of capital cases and high profile homicides. I later joined the Newport, Rhode Island law firm of Houlihan, Managhan & Kyle, Ltd. After working for HM&K for several years, In 2011 I opened my own practice - Kevin Hagan Attorney At Law - located at 105 Memorial Blvd West, Newport, RI 02840.

Since 2002, I have successfully handled all kinds of criminal cases in Massachusetts and Rhode Island. and I have achieved acquittals at trial and favorable resolutions for my clients at both the trial and investigative stages of my cases. I have defended clients charged with all forms of capital offenses, major felonies and misdemeanors. As a prosecutor, I prosecuted hundreds of major crimes including child abuse, homicide, robbery and white collar crime.

During my years as a Rhode Island state prosecutor, I worked at all levels of the criminal justice system. I established lasting relationships with fellow members of the bar and law enforcement colleagues alike.

As a private practitioner, I now litigate DUI cases, Criminal Defense cases, Family Law cases, Personal Injury cases, Domestic Violence cases, Zoning cases, Traffic cases, and Civil cases of every kind.

I grew up in Worcester, Massachusetts. my father was a college president and my late grandfather was the administrator of probation and parole in Rhode Island. They always put a high priority on helping people, and I try to follow in that tradition as a lawyer.  I am member of the Rhode Island and Massachusetts State bars. I also am a member of the bar for the Rhode Island Federal District Court.

Photos and videos

Location

Kevin O. Hagan Attorney At Law
117 Bellevue Avenue
Unit 200D
Newport, RI, 02840

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  85 customer reviews
5 Star
 
99%
4 Star
 
1%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | March 27, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Newport County resident
Kevin and Craig represented me in a very difficult case where potential of jail time was being considered. They negotiated with the local and state prosecution pointing out flaws in the facts that were presented They protected both my personal and professional interest in making a plea arrangement. I would recommend Kevin and his team to anyone dealing with any of these driving issues in the state of Rhode Island.
Read less
Posted by Adam | October 16, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Adam
Couldn’t be happier with Kevin and CJ! I was in a terrible situation and they immediately made me feel better. They told me exactly what to expect and it all played out exactly how they said it would. I always felt comfortable to call them with any questions even after the case was resolved. Hope I don’t need their help again but if I do I won’t hesitate to call.
Read less
Posted by Slate & Copper Services | October 6, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Lawyer!
Working with Kevin has been an absolute pleasure. I can't thank them enough for their exceptional service. Their deep legal knowledge, responsiveness, and excellent communication made me feel confident throughout my case. Kevin truly cared about our situation and worked to secure a positive outcome. I highly recommend them to anyone seeking top-notch legal representation. Thank you, Kevin, for your outstanding work! Kevin has continued to communicate efficiently afterwards as well, as we had some additional (unrelated) questions about our business.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 7, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
no nonsense
Kevin and his office have been incredible since the beginning. They are a very no-nonsense firm. He did exactly what he said and had everything situated. Would refer him to anyone.
Posted by anonymous | August 29, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Team!
From the first call I knew I was in good hands. Kevin, Domenica and Craig were professional, compassionate and diligent in handling my case. I am so grateful that I had them to help me get through a situation I never thought I would be in. I highly recommend Kevin and his team.
Response from Kevin Hagan September 1, 2023
Thank you for your very thoughtful review and kind words. It is greatly appreciated by us all. Best Regards, Kevin, Domenica and Craig
Posted by anonymous | July 3, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
No Complaints here.
Kevin did a great job with my case he went above and beyond my expectations. I would rate him a 10 if I could. Alway attentive and answered all my questions when ever I had one , did what he said he was going to do. Would not hesitate to call him again. Thank you Kevin and Domenica, Great job.
Posted by anonymous | April 30, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Professional and Reliable
Mr. Hagan is very professional and reliable. He is diligent in his work and provides quick and timely responses to any inquiries I may have. I would highly recommend Mr. Hagan to those in need of an outstanding attorney.
Response from Kevin Hagan May 1, 2023
Thank you for your thoughtful review, and I am happy to hear that you had a good experience working with my office. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by anonymous | November 30, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
First Class
Was given this firm as a highly respected, experienced and well known name in the Northeast for a DUI case. From start to finish, a seamless process. Kevin, Craig, and Domenica did everything they said they were going to do, and followed up to make sure I was happy with everything that was done. Would recommend to anyone needing representation.
Read less
Response from Kevin Hagan December 1, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience working with my office, and I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the result. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by anonymous | October 13, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top notch practice
Kevin was fast to respond, spoke the truth, and kept me educated on findings throughout the process. I could not be happier that Kevin was my attorney.
Posted by Tyrone | October 6, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Expunging past mistakes
Attorney Kevin Hagan put me at ease as I had to rehash past criminal offenses. He didn't sugarcoat my chances of clearing my record, providing me with the pros and cons of my standing in court. All I had to do was sign the necessary paperwork, and he succeeded in getting the outcome I desired! I highly recommend Attorney Kevin Hagan.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Kevin and his entire team is amazing.
Prior to working with this firm, I was embarrassed to speak about the situation that required me to hire a lawyer at all. A coworker sent me their way, and they turned this entire experience from a nightmare dominating my every thought, to barely an afterthought. Professional, helpful, intelligent, respectful. Everything I could ask for and more. Now, I am not ashamed to speak about my experience, this firm, why I hired them, and how amazing everyone involved was from start to finish. I will recommend this firm to anyone they could possibly help 100% of the time.
Read less
Response from Kevin Hagan June 16, 2022
Thank you for your outstanding review. We greatly appreciate your kind works and are happy to hear that you had a good experience working with my office. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by anonymous | May 16, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional Proactive
Kevin represented me with respect to a false allegation against me from my former spouse. After a Trial, Kevin was able to cross-examine the witnesses against me and the Judge found that the allegation was not credible. I was exonerated and the case was dismissed, which was a huge relief for me because I was innocent. After the dismissal, Kevin was able to expunge the case from my record and have it completely destroyed. His Trial skills were excellent, and I would recommend him to anyone for a contested matter that will ultimately proceed to Trial.
Read less
Response from Kevin Hagan May 17, 2022
Thank you for choosing my office to assist you with your legal matter. I am glad we were able to obtain a satisfactory result for you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you in the future. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by Todd | April 20, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce attorney
From the first call to the last, Kevin and Dominica were outstanding. My divorce was stressful and toxic which didn't make it easy for them but they walked me through the process and made sure I understood the implications for myself and my family of going through the divorce. Most of what I had to go through worked out in the end and overall my experience with Kevin and Dominca was excellent. I would recommend them to anyone.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 31, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Federal Matter
Attorney Hagan helped me negotiate a complicated federal matter. He was present and clear on how the matter needed to be handled and ensured that I was protected throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend attorney Hagan to anyone looking for a great and supportive attorney.
Response from Kevin Hagan March 31, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I greatly appreciate your recommendation and am pleased to hear that you had a good experience working with my office. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by Kenny | March 4, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing lawyer and legal team
Absolutely amazing lawyer and legal team This firm gave me my life back. Applied for a passport and was told I had a 17 year old felony warrant. Contacted Kevin and had my life back 2 days later clean and expunged. Super informative and very timely on responses.
Response from Kevin Hagan March 31, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience working with my office. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the result. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by Eric | January 15, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Services
Kevin Hagan's office was professional and quick in overseeing my DUI case. Craig Hein was the handled the majority of case proceedings but Kevin was there with prompt responses and explanations to any questions I had. Paralegal Domenica was also a great resource for answering my concerns and assisting me through the process. Would highly recommend.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 20, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Attorney
Mr. Hagan was outstanding to work with and came highly recommended. Truly incredible at managing client expectations while delivering the best possible legal outcome.
Response from Kevin Hagan December 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience working with my office. Your comments and positive feedback is greatly appreciated. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by SB | June 16, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Well Balanced Team of Professionals
Kevin was recommended to me by a family friend. He was my divorce attorney. He made an excruciating tribulation the best it could be. In the words of Thomas Sowell, "There are no solutions. There are only trade-offs." No truer words could be used to describe a divorce and Kevin was adept at determining the trade-offs necessary to put me in the best position possible. He is a reasonable diplomat, but unafraid to lock horns with a despicable adversary. He is a good listener and very competent. He absorbed the facts of my case quickly and completely and used that knowledge effectively. He navigated me through an unimaginable storm and I am grateful that he was at the helm. He is well-liked and respected by his peers, so he belongs to an extensive network of diverse professionals. As such, he was able to recommend an excellent Guardian Ad Litem and the perfect therapist for my youngest child. He always had the best interests of my children at the top of his mind. Domenica, his right hand, is a consummate professional. She is responsive, proficient and courteous. Her kindness and empathy assuages the torrent of negative emotions suffered during a divorce and is an invaluable addition to the service provided. I cannot recommend them highly enough. They are a well balanced team of professionals.
Read less
Response from Kevin Hagan June 21, 2021
Thank you for your extremely thoughtful and kind review. It is always a pleasure to hear when someone has had a good experience working with my office. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by anonymous | May 28, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great experience
Kevin is a great attorney, made my legal process' very smoothly and made me feel very comfortable! Highly recommend him for all your legal services.
Response from Kevin Hagan June 1, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience working with my office. Best Regards, Kevin
Posted by anonymous | May 25, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional
Will take your case seriously and provide excellent service. Highly recommemded
Response from Kevin Hagan June 1, 2021
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. Best Regards, Kevin
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.3 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Kevin O. Hagan Attorney at Law
  • 2011 - Present
  • Bail Commissioner
  • Rhode Island Judiciary
  • 2010 - Present
  • Adjunct Professor
  • Community College of Rhode Island
  • 2008 - Present
  • Associate
  • Houlihan, Managhan, Kyle, LLP
  • 2009 - 2011
  • Special Assistant Attorney General
  • State of Rhode Island Office of the Attorney General
  • 2003 - 2009
  • Law Clerk
  • Rhode Island Judiciary
  • 2001 - 2002
View all work experience

Education

  • Roger Williams University, Ralph R. Papitto School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2001
  • Providence College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1998

Associations

  • Newport County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Federal District Court of Rhode Island
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Rhode Island Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • Rhode Island State Bar
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • Roger Williams Law School Alumni Board
  • Board Member
  • 2004 - 2007
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • Citizens Citation
  • City of Providence
  • 2010
  • Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition
  • United States Senator Sheldon Whitehouse
  • 2010
  • Men Who Make a Difference
  • Women's Resource Center of Rhode Island
  • 2010
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (12)
Given (3)
Endorse Kevin
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kevin is a great guy and lawyer. I have worked with him for many years and he is a solid guy you will be happy to have in your corner."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kevin is an outstanding criminal defense attorney. When I have a question on a legal matter, he is usually my first call. He has a wealth of experience, and is highly regarded by state/local prosecutors and by our judges. No one can find holes in a prosecutor's case like Kevin Hagan!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I refer all my criminal matters to Mr. Hagen. He always does an outstanding job."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kevin is an excellent attorney who is attentive to his client's interests. He is a former prosecutor who is particularly skilled in criminal defense. Kevin is admirable in that he takes hard cases."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I can truly endorse Kevin with boundless enthusiasm in all his chosen areas of practice. He is a consummate professional; knowledgeable, articulate, up to date with an innate ability to discuss matters clearly and understandably for his wide range of clients. He is well respected in all communities:legal, law enforcement and social. In all matters in which i have worked with Attorney Hagan, they have proved a learning experience for me, as well. Without reservation, I recommend him as an excellent, devoted, steadfast practitioner. I am proud to be a member of the same legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse attorney Kevin Hagan. He is an excellent trial attorney. He is a skillful advocate who consistently gets exceptional results for his clients. I have had the privilege of working alongside Kevin for several years, and I am always impressed with his professionalism, knowledge of the law and demeanor in the courtroom."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kevin is one of the preeminent Rhode Island criminal defense attorneys. He has been both a mentor and a friend to me throughout my legal career. I fully endorse him without hesitation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 05
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Kevin is an excellent criminal defense attorney. He has an unmatched ability to build lasting relationships with members in the community, including attorneys and law enforcement professionals, as well as his clients. Kevin's tenacity is exhibited in every case he is involved. I highly recommend Kevin."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 04
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"Kevin Hagan's prior experience as a Prosecutor for the Rhode Island Attorney General's Office provided him with the great opportunity to understand both sides of the law. Kevin has turned his experience into a great benefit for his client, routinely providing superb legal advice and service to his clients. Kevin Hagan is a top-notch attorney and you should not feel worried about securing Kevin Hagan as your legal counsel. I would recommend any criminal defense client to Kevin Hagan."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Kevin is a former Rhode Island state prosecutor and knows the law, the process, and how to get things done for his clients. You will be well served by Mr. Hagan."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Outstanding lawyer. Proven record and his clients have the benefit of his experience as a Rhode Island prosecutor. He is well respected by the criminal bar in Rhode Island."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Divorce and separation
Workers compensation

Avvo Contributions

1 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
Newport DUI and DWI Lawyer Kevin O. Hagan
Kevin O. Hagan
DUI and DWI Attorney
Newport, RI
Licensed for 22 years