Skip to main content

Laurie Phillips Mullen

Mediation Attorney at Fall River, MA

4.7   37 reviews
  • State Years
    Massachusetts - MA 34 years
    Rhode Island - RI 33 years
  • Licensed for 34 years
    State MA
    Acquired 1989
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 33 years
    State RI
    Acquired 1990
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Laurie

Learn Laurie’s areas of practice.

I am dedicated to providing superior legal services to my clients. My main goal is client satisfaction and best possible outcomes for my clients. 

Location

Laurie Phillips Mullen
161 Lindsey Street
Fall River, MA, 02720
Laurie Phillips Mullen
239 Winthrop Street
Rehoboth, MA, 02769
Hide locations

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
  37 customer reviews
Posted by Kathy | November 9, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding
Laurie's advice was invaluable to me, and she was beyond prepared every step of the way. I highly recommend her to anyone needing legal advice in her specialty. Grateful for her counsel and outcome.
Response from Laurie Mullen November 10, 2020
Thank you so much for leaving this review, Kathy. I am glad you were happy with my services. I really enjoyed working with you on this. Best of luck to you always!
Posted by Maria | November 5, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
Laurie is an excellent lawyer ! She helped me with my divorce , which she explained everything in detail that I would be going through and she was so helpful every step of the way . I would 100 percent recommend her services
Response from Laurie Mullen November 6, 2020
Dear Maria, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your kindness is appreciated! Best Laurie
Posted by Julie | November 2, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
First-rate family lawyer
Attorney Mullen represented me when I went through my divorce a few years ago. She is an extremely savvy attorney, looked out for my bests interests and guided and helped me through the very difficult process. I would recommend Attorney Mullen to anyone in need of a first-rate family lawyer.
Response from Laurie Mullen November 4, 2019
Thanks for taking time to write a review, Julie. I am glad to know you were happy with my services. Best to you. Laurie
Posted by Maria | May 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable and well prepared
I found Attorney Mullen to be a very knowledgeable attorney. I interviewed several other attorneys before choosing her and I am so pleased with my choice! She was able to answer all of my questions and I found her calm approach very reassuring. When we went to Court I could see that she was well known and well respected by the Court staff and the Judge. Excellent attorney!
Read less
Response from Laurie Mullen May 22, 2018
I really appreciate your review and comments, Maria. Thanks for taking the time to write it!
Posted by Lorraine | May 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
True Advocate
I hired Laurie to be my Divorce Attorney. She worked hard to ensure my settlement was fair and practical. She is very knowledgeable and is strategic in her planning. I felt she was truly and advocate for me and would recommend her in the future.
Response from Laurie Mullen May 22, 2018
Thank you very much for this great review, Lorraine. Despite the difficulties in your case, I really enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you. I know your future is bright and you deserve it!
Posted by Karen | March 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce
I had a long term marraige and never had hired a Lawyer before. Laurie and I got along well and she kept me informed! Thank You!
Response from Laurie Mullen April 6, 2018
Thank you so much, Karen. I really enjoyed working with you.
Posted by anonymous | March 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Happy client
She was all around great. Very pleased. Communication was great through the entire process. Again very happy with her services.
Response from Laurie Mullen April 6, 2018
Thanks for the nice comment. I am glad you were happy with my services.
Posted by Val | June 19, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fantastic!
I am so glad I hired Laurie for my divorce. She is very caring and knowledgable. After hearing so many nightmares from people who went through divorces, I was expecting the worst. Somehow, she managed to cut through all the bs and get the job done. If it wasn't for all of her attention to the file, my divorce would not have settled so quickly. I recommend her to anyone I know who is going through a divorce.
Read less
Response from Laurie Mullen April 11, 2018
Thanks for the great review, Val. I am so glad I could help you with your case.
Posted by Chris | May 4, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Confident & Competent !
Going through divorce and child custody is not a fun experience. Laurie was extremely helpful with legal advice and the "reality check" of how to handle tough issues around separation and child visitation arrangements. I was always glad to know that Laurie would give me the 'pros' and 'cons' of situations I would ask her about-- helped me to make some tough decisions that would be best for my child. I would recommend her to anyone.
Read less
Response from Laurie Mullen April 11, 2018
Thanks for taking time to write a review, Chris. I am glad I could help guide you through the difficult process of divorce.
Posted by Jessica Moffat Ressler | May 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended phenomenal divorce attorney
Attorney Mullen is incredibly easy to talk to, explains everything in great detail, and made the entire process of going through a divorce less stressful. I truly felt that she cared about me and my situation and had my best interest at heart. Attorney Mullen is a true partner and is extremely responsive to calls and emails. I would recommend her without hesitation.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
AWESOME
Attorney Laurie Mullen is dedicated, caring, and very professional. my case is over 30 years old with an ex husband who owes over $60.000.00 and never gave two cents for his 3 children. Attorney Laurie Mullen is the one to call she is AWESOME.
Posted by anonymous | February 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent divorce attorney
The first hour of consultation with Ms. Mullen I felt comfortable and confident that she was the best choice for me. I have never regretted this decision. Ms. Mullen put me at ease she was able to explain complicated legal issues in a language that is easily understood. She is very reliable, every time I had a question or concern she has personally returned my phone calls or emails in a timely fashion. She's a very knowledgeable and experienced attorney. The strategy that she has worked out for my case, and her skills in court negotiating with the other attorney has given me the result better than I could hope for. If ever in the future I need legal representation I would turn to Ms. Mullen for guidance. I would definitely recommend her as a great divorce attorney, especially for cases involving child custody.
Read less
Posted by Thomas | October 22, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Attorney for Divorce?Child Support
Competent, Professional, Prepared and Knowledgeable. I went from paying support to receiving support for a minor child that resided with me. She waste no time, money and plays no games. If you need legal assistance, don't rely on a friend of a friend or someone who talks a good game. (that's exactly what I did and it hurt and delayed my case) . Attorney Mullen explained my case, my rights and walked me through the process the entire way. Don't waste time or money with anyone else, get it right the first time.
Read less
Posted by Jim | February 14, 2015
Great Attorney
Attorney Mullen represented me in a child custody case. I would highly recommend her services if you are looking for a great attorney.
Posted by Jennifer | February 13, 2015
Excellent, thoughtful advice
Laurie helped me tremendously during a very difficult time. She offered very sound, practical advice and was able to take a situation that seemed overwhelming to me, and made it much simpler and understandable. I have a lot of respect for her and would highly recommend her for legal advice and action. The money was very well spent, and I truly appreciated her experience and personal integrity.
Read less
Posted by Peter | February 12, 2015
Excellent Divorce Case Litigator
I first met with Laurie to discuss my pending divorce. (Laurie also handles divorce mediation but my ex-spouse was not interested in going that route. I would highly recommend mediation over litigation if is at all possible as I believe my case could have been resolved with pretty much the same outcome at a far lower cost.) This was my first divorce so I had very little knowledge in this area. Laurie explained the process in detail in a very straightforward way and gave me a good idea how the process worked and what I could expect. I hired Laurie to handle my divorce case and she did an excellent job. She worked hard to make sure my interests were well represented and made sure I received a fair settlement. She always responded promptly and thoroughly to my calls and emails. She was very knowledgeable and provided valuable advice to help settle the case without having to go to trial. In my opinion, the biggest challenge in this type of case is to reach consensus where you and your ex-spouse can agree (and meet the legal requirements of course) and I believe Laurie did as much as humanly possible to get there as quickly as possible. The other lawyer tended to put things off and drag things out so Laurie did more than the lion's share of paperwork (including drafting a separation agreement) to keep things moving as much as possible. I am very pleased with Laurie's services and I would highly recommend her to anyone needing a divorce attorney.
Read less
Posted by Donna | February 5, 2015
making divorce less difficult
After doing quite a bit of research I selected attorney Mullen to handle our mediated divorce. At our mediation, she was very knowledgeable and very clear on how to handle the division of assets. Fortunately we were already in agreement about most things, but she made sure we understood everything. She had the legal paperwork ready quickly and accurately with directions on how and where to file. On the date of our hearing we watched several people ahead of us be turned away because of incomplete or incorrect information. The clerk told us we had made a good choice with Attorney Mullen and, after looking over our paperwork our divorce was granted quite quickly with no questions or problems. I was so pleased with the outcome, and the fact that we didn't have to spend large amounts off money to divorce. I would strongly recommend Laurie Mullen for anyone looking for a mediated divorce
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 24, 2014
Highly Recommended
My previous attorney for family / child support case dropped the ball. With it being a very stressful time I needed to find someone that I could depend on and trust. Laurie not only did that but fought tooth and nail on my behalf even when I could not be present in court. I live out of state and she communicated with me throughout the whole process. Laurie will represent you with the highest of standards and will fight for the best outcome for you. If I ever need an attorney again I will not hesitate to call her.
Read less
Posted by Dolores | March 24, 2014
Mrs Dolores Medeiros
My accident happened in 2012 and Being 60 years old and never needing a lawyer before I was petrified and lost. My husband knew her and her father and said they were a trusted family with a great reputation for being honest and fair. I am so grateful that I had her for my lawyer because she was so caring and went above and beyond trying to help us. I would recommend her in a heartbeat and I would call if I ever need a lawyer again (I hope that will not be too soon)! She made this unpleasant and terrifying accident a lot easier to handle. God Bless Her.
Read less
Posted by Jackie and Liz | October 17, 2013
Appreciate Laurie's excellent representation
We have had the privilege of retaining Laurie as our attorney for over 20 years. She provides us with legal advise, creates legal documents on our behalf, while addressing any questions or legal issues we may pose to her. Laurie is very professional, bright, and personable. She also responds to our inquiries in a timely fashion. Though we have had no reason to go to court, we wouldn’t hesitate to have Laurie represent us should such a situation arise. We have referred family members and friends to Laurie, and encourage anyone looking for legal assistance to contact Laurie Mullen as soon as needed.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.2 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Law Offices of Laurie P. Mullen
  • 1998 - Present
  • Managing Partner
  • Mullen & Murphy, P.C.
  • 1992 - 1998
  • Associate
  • Wynn & Wynn, PC
  • 1989 - 1992

Education

  • New England School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1989

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Effective solutions and problem solving

Associations

  • Rehoboth Business Association
  • Board Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • Bristol County Bar Association
  • 2013 - Present
  • Massachusetts Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Rhode Island Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Fall River Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Rehoboth Business Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - 2016
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • 10 Best Client Satisfaction
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2016
  • Top 100 Family Lawyers in MA 2016
  • The American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2015

Attorney endorsements

Received (4)
Given (14)
Endorse Laurie
Family Attorney | Feb 13
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Attorney Mullen is an excellent attorney who is very knowledgeable and experienced in all aspects of family law. I have had many cases with her and have found her to be fair, reasonable, approachable and creative. She is a very well respected attorney in the Probate and Family Courts."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Feb 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Attorney Mullen professionally for approximately eighteen years. My enthusiastic endorsement is founded upon my frequent observations of Ms. Mullen’s performance as an outstanding litigator and negotiator. I believe that Ms. Mullen is possessed of the highest moral and ethical standards. In many of the cases upon which we have worked together, she is always well prepared. She is very intelligent and well versed in the laws pertaining to domestic relations. Ms. Mullen is a confident and very capable individual, hard-working, and enthusiastic about the ways in which the law can be used to bring fair results and justice to the lives of people in the community of South Eastern Massachusetts."
Family Attorney | Dec 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Laurie is an honest, hard working and very professional lawyer with a fantastic track record of success and results. I confidently refer all family law clients to her office."
Unknown Attorney | Jul 28
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation
Divorce and separation
Bankruptcy and debt
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Child custody
Divorce and separation
Divorce and separation
Divorce and separation